17 (43.6%)
The Prado will break down
5 (12.8%)
Danny will have to walk home
9 (23.1%)
The tyres will be turned around before the end of the trip
4 (10.3%)

Total Members Voted: 22

Author Topic: Brokeback Tassie Crossing RUNNING REPORT  (Read 35136 times)

Re: Brokeback Tassie Crossing RUNNING REPORT
« Reply #75 on: October 17, 2014, 08:55:31 PM »

Sorry I missed you guys this arvo, it was all planned until I had a last minute 4-5 meeting :(

No problems GeoffA had the pleasure of joining the brokeback boys ;)

« Reply #76 on: October 17, 2014, 09:30:07 PM »
No problems GeoffA had the pleasure of joining the brokeback boys ;)

Was good......but I felt like the third wheel....... ;D ;D

« Reply #77 on: October 17, 2014, 09:34:25 PM »
Quote from: GeoffA
Was good......but I felt like the third wheel....... ;D ;D
3rd leg?

Offline Black-Pig

• Everything is Subject to change...
« Reply #78 on: October 17, 2014, 09:35:28 PM »
One last night on the romantic cruise south? What happens on the boat stays on the boat?
05 SR5 Hilux  - With Fruit...
2012 Outback Sturt - with some modifications

« Reply #79 on: October 18, 2014, 05:19:51 AM »

One last night on the romantic cruise south? What happens on the boat stays on the boat?

Not when you've got a GoPro :)

Sent from the machine that goes..... Bing!
The following users thanked this post: fishfinder

« Reply #80 on: October 19, 2014, 09:02:54 AM »
We are home and settling into the post holiday depression and realisation that its back to work tomorrow!

Everything went really well as we expected. The actual crossing took a day or so to meet our expectations but whilst neither of us will do it the same way again we are both stoked that we have finally done it.
The French Line and QAA Line is very rough which is fine but the entry to the majority of the dunes is very rough making it extremely hard on the equiptment if the dune required any sort of run up or momentum.
Obviously being so late in the season meant it was well used and it was very hot and we only saw one other 4wd during our crossing. It took us 3 days to get across which was quite quick really but because of the heat and flies we chose to put in a couple of big days in the car and Bathurst being on was also a motivation to keep the show on the road and be at Birdsville by the Sunday to watch it ;)
We met Woodsie and his gang at Dalhousie who had just come over in the opposite direction. Disappointingly we couldn't stay with them for too long as it was getting late in the arvo and we wanted to get into it to avoid the Dalhousie mozzies but it was nice to meet them all.
I am happy to announce even though Marcus tried his hardest, I am still happily married to my wife............ LOL We laughed all the way up and all the way back and even though he drives a Toyota I couldn't have picked a better brokeback partner to have done this trip with ;)

Here is a very small collection of pics of the trip up to the Simpson. The rest will follow.

The crossing pics to follow..........

« Reply #81 on: October 19, 2014, 09:20:57 AM »
So the actual crossing as I have already said was not what we were expecting. We probably shouldn't have had any preconceived ideas but most do i suppose.

The combination of the 45 degree days, the fact that we averaged less than 17 kph and the sand being silly hot meant the underside of the car way in extreme heat conditions. Our only real issue we had the whole trip, besides Marcus' farting in public was the fuel tank didn't seem to be able to vent properly under this heat and we could smell petrol inside the car. As it turned out we depressurised the tank every hour or two and that solved that issue but I admit the heat coming out of the fuel filler was to hot to hold your hand over!

So after around 3 days the crossing didn't disappoint in the end. There were a few dunes we had to have a second crack at, mainly due to the entry not allowing us the momentum required to get over them the first time. We learnt a bit about the benefits of traction control when the tyres can find a solid base and we learnt a bit about the benefit of air conditioning ;)

So anyway here a small collection of the crossing pics.........

« Reply #82 on: October 19, 2014, 09:22:41 AM »
So the actual crossing as I have already said was not what we were expecting. We probably shouldn't have had any preconceived ideas but most do i suppose.

The combination of the 45 degree days, the fact that we averaged less than 17 kph and the sand being silly hot meant the underside of the car way in extreme heat conditions. Our only real issue we had the whole trip, besides Marcus' farting in public was the fuel tank didn't seem to be able to vent properly under this heat and we could smell petrol inside the car. As it turned out we depressurised the tank every hour or two and that solved that issue but I admit the heat coming out of the fuel filler was to hot to hold your hand over!

So after around 3 days the crossing didn't disappoint in the end. There were a few dunes we had to have a second crack at, mainly due to the entry not allowing us the momentum required to get over them the first time. We learnt a bit about the benefits of traction control when the tyres can find a solid base and we learnt a bit about the benefit of air conditioning ;)

So anyway here a small collection of the crossing pics.........
blocked tank breather?? or kinked?

« Reply #83 on: October 19, 2014, 09:24:38 AM »
blocked tank breather?? or kinked?

Not 100% sure yet, Marcus will chime in at some stage but I suspect the venting systems just couldn't cope with the silly amount of pressure the tank was instantly creating as soon as we put the cap back on but I could be wrong.

« Reply #84 on: October 19, 2014, 09:35:00 AM »
Whoops better add the crossing pics........

The trip home to follow.......

« Reply #85 on: October 19, 2014, 09:36:53 AM »
Great pics Danny.

« Reply #86 on: October 19, 2014, 09:50:11 AM »
noice fotoz

« Reply #87 on: October 19, 2014, 02:53:35 PM »
We had mixed feeling after driving over Big Red and heading towards Birdsville. On one hand we were happy to be over the very rough, hot and slow going that was the Simpson, although the last day was far better than the first two but it was also the end of the whole purpose of the trip.
However we were still on holidays and had planned to get a cabin at the caravan park and watch Bathurst which we did. From there is was pretty much the drive back down to the boat via Broken Hill, Tiboorurra, Mildura and Swan Hill.
We caught up with GeoffA at Port Melbourne for a coffee which is becoming a regular gig anytime we are returning from holidays and always good to catch up. We boarded the boat and had an uneventful ride home.
Time to start planning the next adventure :)

Some of the pics of the trip home........

Marcus gets all the women ;)

Ill get some videos organised as soon as I can

« Reply #88 on: October 19, 2014, 03:03:27 PM »
Marcus gets all the women ;)

...... :P

« Reply #89 on: October 19, 2014, 07:25:58 PM »
Fuel pressurising issue...sorry about the goose giving commentary ;)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lFqqn1hLDTA

« Reply #90 on: October 19, 2014, 08:12:24 PM »
Lol,, nice one mate, that's some serious pressure built up

« Reply #91 on: October 19, 2014, 08:21:31 PM »
Shoulda taken the mighty GU.......oh, hang on a minute.......

« Reply #92 on: October 19, 2014, 08:48:19 PM »
Thanks gents

Shoulda taken the mighty GU.......oh, hang on a minute.......

He didn't tell the full story......I still have a GU ;) we just ran out of time to talk about it!