Author Topic: Fraser Advice  (Read 16389 times)

Re: Fraser Advice
« Reply #25 on: February 21, 2017, 03:23:08 AM »
Bringing this one back to life...

Do guys think i need a snorkel for Fraser?

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

Only if you roll off the barge.

« Reply #26 on: February 21, 2017, 06:30:46 AM »
You wont  need them over there,[  ###   But just be aware of the air inlet height ### ]  when crossing Eli  / Wyuna  creeks and if theres been a sh*te load of rain, the big lagoon that forms behind Indian Head or unless you want to go submarining in the bigger salt creeks .. Awinya, Wathumba or the salt water beach  lagoons at Waddy Point .
that waterhole that forms on the track off the beach to Indian Head has caught quite a few people out over the years, surprising how deep it can get there.

« Reply #27 on: February 21, 2017, 07:38:35 AM »

« Reply #28 on: February 21, 2017, 08:05:38 AM »
Nah you will be fine honestly we took a 3 door rav4 up there one year in the group and the bloody thing is so light it went better than the prado to the point that we spent most of the week driving it around

Offline DrewXT

« Reply #29 on: March 25, 2017, 07:35:22 PM »
SWMBO has asked, and Google hasn't answered... Are there any laundry facilities at Waddy Point Upper Campground, and are there power points in the shower block?  (Personally I don't care, but she wants to know as she apparently needs to run her hairdryer)...

Also, what gold coins do we need for the showers?

2013 Amarok Highline
2015 Customline Adventure Walkup

« Reply #30 on: March 25, 2017, 11:20:18 PM »
SWMBO has asked, and Google hasn't answered... Are there any laundry facilities at Waddy Point Upper Campground, and are there power points in the shower block?  (Personally I don't care, but she wants to know as she apparently needs to run her hairdryer)...

Also, what gold coins do we need for the showers?

been a while since I was last there, but No and No from memory. I vaguely recall a laundry being at Eurong, think it was around near the public toilets / across the road from them downstairs  of one of the buildings.

« Reply #31 on: March 25, 2017, 11:21:40 PM »
Hey Drew, Cant recall any power points in the shower blocks and nothing mentioned on the QPWS sites ., hand wash clothes only in dishes or buckets, the sinks can get a work out from people washing up greasy plates / kids etc ..
From what I understand the showers it the QPWS camp grounds are now $2 [ coin ] per 3 minutes [ Take a good quantity as change is limited on the island ].., Make sure you turn the taps off before dropping the coin in .
Cathedral beach Resort has powered sites and washing machines, but you would have to be booked into them to use ..
Think you will find a hand wash in cold water and a good wring out will be more than ok for your clothes, They  realy only get a bit sweaty is all , and they will dry fairly quick .
« Last Edit: March 25, 2017, 11:31:56 PM by edz »

Offline DrewXT

« Reply #32 on: March 26, 2017, 07:58:08 AM »
Thanks guys... What's the go with the turning taps off before inserting coins?  I've read it elsewhere, but nothing about why - isn't the coin mech in the shower itself or something?

2013 Amarok Highline

« Reply #33 on: March 26, 2017, 08:39:08 AM »
The money box is out side the shower cubicle door, We have had times when the taps etc had been left turned on full and made it difficult  for the missus / kids to get under the shower to turn them down to a proper levels. [ depends how close you are to the heaters as to how  quick they get hot too ] ..

« Reply #34 on: March 29, 2017, 09:19:26 PM »
Hey Drew, Dont forget to call in to the Shell servo / Bakery at Rainbow Beach, "  Bloody Good pies "  and fresh baked breads for the trip up Fraser ..[ ED's  Bakery, Just coincidence with the name ]  ;D ;D.
IMO better than the bakery at Eurong on Fraser ..
Ohh and take a few extra $$$ [ Aprox $80 pp ] for a flight off the beach over the Island ..Just approach the pilots directly to organise .. Just ads a bit more to the adventure ..

« Reply #35 on: March 30, 2017, 06:58:05 AM »
Sand should be very firm ;D

Eli could be a touch deep at times too

Weather should be passed by the time you get there.

Offline DrewXT

« Reply #36 on: March 30, 2017, 12:32:59 PM »
Thanks guys, currently in the road to the mid coast of NSW, and through to Brisvegas to pick up the family? tomorrow evening....

Expecting a wet drive once I get over the divide, and a few wet days on the island once we get there...

My mate rang as they went through Narrabri, and the weather has vis and speed down to 50 on the highway...

2013 Amarok Highline

« Reply #37 on: March 30, 2017, 04:38:17 PM »
Rain supposed to ease / stop overnight here in Brisbane, but will be interesting if highways are cut from flood waters. Weather forum is saying by midnight rain will be stopped, but wind is supposed to kick in from now till we'll into tomorrow sometime.

« Reply #38 on: March 31, 2017, 09:55:13 AM »
Thanks guys, currently in the road to the mid coast of NSW, and through to Brisvegas to pick up the family? tomorrow evening....

May be too late for you Drew, but Pacific Hwy apparently cut at Clothiers Creek, near Murwillumbah.

https://www.livetraffic.com/desktop.html

Good luck!

Offline DrewXT

« Reply #39 on: March 31, 2017, 10:17:23 AM »
Thanks Fizzie.... Currently at Kempsey, taking my time, and will I guess deal with whatever conditions I come across...

Considering getting North West at South Grafton to avoid Tweed Heads...  Any feedback from guys who know that area?

2013 Amarok Highline

« Reply #40 on: March 31, 2017, 10:22:00 AM »
M1 Highway at Chinderah,  South of the Big BP is under too.. High tide in about 10 m with the fresh coming downstream is expected to push the river 2.3 m and flood quite a large section .

Offline wetduck

« Reply #41 on: March 31, 2017, 10:30:11 AM »
what about heading west to the New England Hwy, Warwick then Brisbane?

« Reply #42 on: March 31, 2017, 11:13:45 AM »
Thanks Fizzie.... Currently at Kempsey, taking my time, and will I guess deal with whatever conditions I come across...

Considering getting North West at South Grafton to avoid Tweed Heads...  Any feedback from guys who know that area?

Currently the only way into Qld is the Gwydir highway from Grafton to glen Innes then the New England to Brisbane. We are sitting at home in brissy contemplating our options to head south and watching closely. Currently my best option is to set the camper up in the front yard and get pissed. I am supposed to be setting up camp at south west rocks right now.

« Reply #43 on: March 31, 2017, 12:15:58 PM »
Currently the only way into Qld is the Gwydir highway from Grafton to glen Innes then the New England to Brisbane.

That may be a problem as well ??? Cunningham Hwy cut by flooding at Warrill View (south of Amberley)

The following users thanked this post: GBC

« Reply #44 on: March 31, 2017, 12:42:57 PM »
Ya might be able to go the back way through lightning ridge north, and turn right at Roma..

yes I'm jealous of your ****in holiday

Offline DrewXT

« Reply #45 on: March 31, 2017, 12:49:11 PM »
Mate just got past Tweed along the Tweed Coast Road, via signed detour...

2013 Amarok Highline

« Reply #46 on: March 31, 2017, 12:56:36 PM »
Just got this from a mate

** Big Tip for anyone heading North on the Bruce Highway out off Rockhampton Queensland 
You will be stopped at Marlborough and weighed ! There is a 5 ton weight limit on some bridges

« Last Edit: March 31, 2017, 01:17:25 PM by Bird »

« Reply #47 on: March 31, 2017, 01:16:27 PM »
Mate just got past Tweed along the Tweed Coast Road, via signed detour...

Was he past the tugun tunnel already? Nothing southbound getting through apparently?

Offline DrewXT

« Reply #48 on: March 31, 2017, 01:17:19 PM »
Was he past the tugun tunnel already? Nothing southbound getting through apparently?
Yeah, it's only flooded southbound

2013 Amarok Highline

« Reply #49 on: March 31, 2017, 01:38:39 PM »
Nice fine sunny day at Tin Can Bay and Fraser should be great.

The wind at Double Island is around 15 knots.

I would expect you'll have a lovely time.