Matson
DownUnder
Gasmate
Companion
BushBoy
Aldi, the wonder fridge
Techni Ice
Kings

Author Topic: What Fridge do you use Poll.  (Read 265560 times)

Offline poppasmurf

Re: What Fridge do you use Poll.
« Reply #150 on: October 07, 2010, 06:36:59 PM »

This is a comment from one of the Mods shortly after I set the Poll up.

Yeah just had a look and no option to vote a second time . This may be because I have previously voted, as stated in the quote you added once you hit vote its locked in. I will try logging out and back in to see what happens.
tried that and still no option to add second vote unless I am missing something.
« Last Edit: October 07, 2010, 06:40:36 PM by poppasmurf »
06 Terracan, 2010 cub kamperoo brumby

Offline grumpah

« Reply #151 on: November 03, 2010, 10:38:57 PM »
What? No mention of a 35 year old 3 way Companion Norseman Model 3150? Still going as good as gold (or should that be cold) after all those years.

Offline Mitch59

« Reply #152 on: November 19, 2010, 05:35:07 PM »
What about a bright orange 3 way FINCH, about 25 years old, still looks like new and works fine.
Growing Old Disgracefully

« Reply #153 on: November 19, 2010, 05:44:02 PM »
Mitch the Poll has been edited so that you can include a vote for your Finch.
« Last Edit: November 19, 2010, 05:58:58 PM by Gunna Do »

Offline Old Codger

« Reply #154 on: November 20, 2010, 03:37:50 PM »
Does anyone know of or has heard a report on the 'WAECO' 55 litre being sold on eBay?  The buyers all seem happy in their posted comments.

It looks exactly like a WAECO but has no brand name on it . The seller claims it is produced in the WAECO factory,and has all WAECO parts.

$399 +$75 freight.

OC

« Reply #155 on: November 20, 2010, 03:56:06 PM »
Warning Will Robinson!!!!!!
« Last Edit: November 20, 2010, 04:01:08 PM by Gunna Do »

Offline OffRoadDave

• If I think I can build it I will!
« Reply #156 on: November 20, 2010, 04:11:49 PM »
Does anyone know of or has heard a report on the 'WAECO' 55 litre being sold on eBay?  The buyers all seem happy in their posted comments.

It looks exactly like a WAECO but has no brand name on it . The seller claims it is produced in the WAECO factory,and has all WAECO parts.

$399 +$75 freight.

OC

I assume you know that is a 3 way fridge, not a 12/24v compressor type fridge, for a 3 way they are probably alright, but 3 way fridges are only ever average when compared to the compressor variety.

Offline Arunda

• Pass me a beer please
    • All Drive Subaroo – All Subaru Specialists
« Reply #157 on: December 09, 2010, 07:36:50 AM »
We have had ARB 47l fridge for a year and half now and its great, last xmas 4 weeks in the bush at 43c and did not
miss a beat. It gets used twice a month for weekends away, a mate of mine has a waeco 38 about 5 years old and the ARB is the same size on the outside but heaps bigger on the inside he is upgrading this xmas to the ARB fridge.

We have used it as a freezer a few times and its great kept frozen on battery power with no problems at all.

2002 D22 3.0 Turbo Diesel 2 inch lift Old Man Emu suspension 4x4 Ezy-Trail CT

« Reply #158 on: December 09, 2010, 07:43:15 AM »
I just swapped a bottle of Chivas Regal for a fridge and freezer. I don't know the brand or sizes but I was given the scotch by a supplier so as freebies I guess I cant go wrong....unless they are absolutely crap and all our food goes off and I then have no scotch to drown my sorrows

Offline Maîneÿ . . .

• Watch videos below
    • S0LAR power charging videos
« Reply #159 on: December 09, 2010, 10:15:26 AM »
I have a Reefer Professional 70 Litre Fridge/Freezer, it's predecessor the REEFER DT50 was nominated as the fastest freezing fridge available.

4WD Action Magazine did a huge review of the main portable Fridge/Freezer Manufacturers in Australia and is the most comprehensive review I’ve seen.

The fridges tested were:
* ARB – MT45FARB
* BUSHMAN
* ENGEL MT45
* EVAKOOL RF47-DT
* EVAKOOL RF85-DT
* EXPLORER DC-56
* EXPLORER DC-70
* REEFER DT50
* REEFER ST70
* VITRIFRIGO C41
* VITRIFRIGO C65
* WAECO CF-40
* WAECO CF-80

Testing was carried out at the Australian Defence Industries facility in a National Association of Testing Authorities (NATA) approved, climate-controlled chamber. 
The fridges were loaded with the exact same contents and were all powered with the same custom leads and plugs.

« Reply #160 on: December 09, 2010, 10:25:07 AM »
The Reefer has been added to the Poll options Mainey for your vote.

How long ago was the test done, as the new ARB fridges have been out for quite a while now?

Offline Maîneÿ . . .

• Watch videos below
    • S0LAR power charging videos
« Reply #161 on: December 09, 2010, 11:12:48 AM »
The Reefer has been added to the Poll options Mainey for your vote.

How long ago was the test done, as the new ARB fridges have been out for quite a while now?

July 2008

Ramsay

« Reply #162 on: December 13, 2010, 12:30:37 AM »
        I voted Engel. This fridge we use in our house and its is really convenient and I got no problem to it. My mom always telling to buy her a Engel fridge at home. Maybe a gift this Christmas will do.

Offline mikew

« Reply #163 on: December 13, 2010, 06:43:36 AM »
Vote for the ARB47lt, love that fridge, has been in the car now for 18months and still going strong.
2016 MY16 VX TTD White Landcruiser
2008 D4D Prado
2016 Lifestyle Reconn

Offline kiwipete

« Reply #164 on: December 24, 2010, 07:35:52 AM »
How do I choose a second one?   :)   We just bought a Weaco CF40 to use as a freezer and leave the ARB in the Tug as a Fridge....
KiwiPete
1991 HDJ80
Explorer Campers & Canvas - Lawson Off Road
http://www.explorercampers.com.au/
Canberra

« Reply #165 on: December 24, 2010, 08:28:07 AM »
Warning Will Robinson!!!!!!

Arh.. Your also a lost in space fan.. Couldn't wait for after school to watch that  ;D

« Reply #166 on: December 24, 2010, 08:31:02 AM »
I have a Reefer Professional 70 Litre Fridge/Freezer, it's predecessor the REEFER DT50 was nominated as the fastest freezing fridge available.

4WD Action Magazine did a huge review of the main portable Fridge/Freezer Manufacturers in Australia and is the most comprehensive review I’ve seen.

The fridges tested were:
* ARB – MT45FARB
* BUSHMAN
* ENGEL MT45
* EVAKOOL RF47-DT
* EVAKOOL RF85-DT
* EXPLORER DC-56
* EXPLORER DC-70
* REEFER DT50
* REEFER ST70
* VITRIFRIGO C41
* VITRIFRIGO C65
* WAECO CF-40
* WAECO CF-80

Testing was carried out at the Australian Defence Industries facility in a National Association of Testing Authorities (NATA) approved, climate-controlled chamber. 
The fridges were loaded with the exact same contents and were all powered with the same custom leads and plugs.

And the Waeco 40 was the best at keeping the temp not ever going 1c either side of set temp and was the best for power consumption for it's size.

Offline kiwipete

« Reply #167 on: December 24, 2010, 03:52:08 PM »
And the Waeco 40 was the best at keeping the temp not ever going 1c either side of set temp and was the best for power consumption for it's size.

And very quite compared to the new ARB fridge....   I still prefer the look and feel of the ARB though...
KiwiPete
1991 HDJ80
Explorer Campers & Canvas - Lawson Off Road
http://www.explorercampers.com.au/
Canberra

Offline theflyingbadger

« Reply #168 on: December 28, 2010, 04:33:44 PM »
how can i remove my vote? I've had changes in my fridge config since i voted!
Jon

CRD TD42TI Patrol - Ultimate Xtrk TBD

« Reply #169 on: December 28, 2010, 04:41:28 PM »
Airbornebadger, I'm not sure how to get the "Remove Vote" option in the poll area.  I've noticed some polls come up with this option, and some don't.  Perhaps a Moderator would be able to help out here.

Last time I tried to alter things on a poll, I ended up resetting all the votes to zero.

Offline sbadman

« Reply #170 on: January 04, 2011, 11:08:43 AM »
Older style Engel 40L, generally run off a 12V outlet hardwired in the back of the Jeep and connected directly to the aux battery.  Hasn't missed a beat :D

« Reply #171 on: January 04, 2011, 06:07:17 PM »
Just got a second hand Waeco CF-25, great little fridge gets cold in no time :cup:

Offline davidy61

• Jayco Poptop
« Reply #172 on: January 04, 2011, 07:15:50 PM »
Waeco 37l in the back of the Grand Vitara.  Works a treat and is perfect for our needs (so far).

2010 Suzuki Grand Vitara 3.2l V6 with 2" lift and other goodies

« Reply #173 on: January 08, 2011, 12:28:08 PM »
Ice box/esky at the moment but SWMBO is getting sick of this idea (woo hoo  ;D) I will probably get a 70 litre Evakool Fridgemate so it fits under the stupid hardcover on the MN Triton.

Offline baldy1

« Reply #174 on: January 11, 2011, 12:03:42 PM »
I have been investigating fridges for a while now and settled with a 110l Evakool. Was tempted with a 60l Engel but the Evakool was $100 cheaper, 10kg or so lighter and as have a Evakool icebox which is brilliant, the fridge could only be good too.
gave it it's maiden voyage over Christmas with 4 days beach camping on the south coast. Excellent. The white colour keeps its surface cool even when it was in full sun for a while. Unlike Engels and Wacoes, being darker.
'95 80 Series aftermarket turbo/intercooler, 33" MT MTZs, home made trailer