Author Topic: Alice Springs . Did you feel safe?  (Read 6409 times)

Offline Hodgies

• Hodgies
Alice Springs . Did you feel safe?
« on: August 06, 2017, 08:39:03 AM »
We are off to Alice Springs1 in 6 weeks??, but was wonderig if anyone had any safety issues out there.
My FIL was listening to John Laws on the radio the other day and he was saying there is a lot of issues there at the moment. ( the locals)
Is this just a beat up story...?
We are thinking of staying in the Gday mate park in Alice  which by all accounts looks secure.
We have 4 weeks so will be seeing all around the rock, West McDonald ranges and the Merine Loop.
Looking forward to hearing your experiences.
Cheers Hodgies

2011 Ford Ranger
2001 K.K

Re: Alice Springs . Did you feel safe?
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2017, 08:59:29 AM »
The Alice is like traveling to a Whole Other Country in your own ( out ) back yard .Guards on the doors of bottle shops , photo ID to buy grog .Interesting people doing interesting things in interesting places ,,,,,,,,,,,,,, Enjoy
To me Alice is a hub to restock , refuel & GO       :cheers:
The following users thanked this post: Hodgies

« Reply #2 on: August 06, 2017, 09:31:31 AM »
It is not that it is unsafe, but it is not like a capital city CBD during the day. Keep your wits about you, don't leave valuables/vehicles unattended, generally just be more cautious than you normally would. Try to avoid eye contact and conversation, and keep walking if approached making sure you have an exit and are not boxed in.

Offline DCP

« Reply #3 on: August 06, 2017, 09:56:00 AM »
G`day Hodge.
Worked up in the Alice and it`s not too bad, CP is ok but as said don`t leave things out or unlocked plenty to see around the place as well, Couple of days and you`ll get accustomed to the place.
Marinee loop now that can be very corrugated at times so allow plenty of time. Try and fit in Kings canyon and do the walk around the top you won`t be disappointed.
Safe travels mate.

« Reply #4 on: August 06, 2017, 10:34:04 AM »
It is not that it is unsafe, but it is not like a capital city CBD during the day. Keep your wits about you, don't leave valuables/vehicles unattended, generally just be more cautious than you normally would. Try to avoid eye contact and conversation, and keep walking if approached making sure you have an exit and are not boxed in.
Keep your wits about you, don't leave valuables/vehicles unattended, generally just be more cautious than you normally would...sounds just like a capital city to me!

As someone who lived in Nhulunbuy in East Arnhem Land, all I can say is that the positive experiences will probably far outweigh any negatives.

« Reply #5 on: August 06, 2017, 10:46:44 AM »
Quote from: D4D
that sounds pretty unsafe to me... I think Speewa said it.. stock up and **** off out in a hurry

Offline marvellous_matt

« Reply #6 on: August 06, 2017, 11:25:42 AM »
Try to avoid eye contact and conversation, and keep walking if approached making sure you have an exit and are not boxed in.
D4D I do think that is a bit of a stretch.
I have been here for 9 years and have never felt unsafe during the day.
Most black fella's and white fellas are very friendly and would nod and acknowledge you like any smaller town throughout Australia.
There are problems with alcohol abuse, and anti social behavior, which are rarely seen through the day. In the same way I wouldn't walk the back streets of any city at midnight, I wouldnt do it here. Tourist cars parked in the CBD overnight are often a target for thieves.
Problems at any of the caravan parks is a bit unusual.
Alice has a lot to offer, some great tourist attractions (RFDS, Transport museum, Desert park, old telegraph station to name a few) great bike trails (both paved and some of the best single track MTB you will find). It is a great place for exploring the east and west mac's, Rainbow valley and Owen Springs. Numerous supermarkets, some great cafes (reasonable coffee but not always melbourne standard) 
By the way john laws was on at work that day, many of the voices recognized were using fake names, I wouldn't put too much faith in talkback radio for giving the best summary of any subject, you get 2% of the extremes and not much of the real 96%.
Have a great trip.
The following users thanked this post: Troopy_03, Hodgies, GBC

« Reply #7 on: August 06, 2017, 11:36:31 AM »
Alice is worth a few days, the Desert Park is definitely worth doing, and a full day on its own. Dont be put off by the stories. I reckon Katherine is worse. Besides the opportunistic thieves, day time is ok. Bottle shops are safe, cause they're all got armed guards. Just dont park far from the entrance.
We stayed at Temple Bar caravan park which is about 10km out of town. Its cheap, neat and tidy, without any bells or whistles, and away from the town issues. I wouldnt stay in the town parks, but some want 5 star with bouncy castles for the kids. Peak season the town parks get chockers.

« Reply #8 on: August 06, 2017, 11:36:52 AM »
Spent about 8 days in total at Alice 10 years ago.

Never once felt unsafe and enjoyed the place.  Like any town, they all have there sketchy parts.

I'd feel more unsafe listening to John Laws...

The following users thanked this post: slave, Troopy_03, Hodgies

Offline Hodgies

• Hodgies
« Reply #9 on: August 06, 2017, 12:16:06 PM »
Thanks everyone for replying.
Yes I do agree that listening to J. Laws isn't the best  ways to receive info.😎
We definately want to stay for a few days to see the sights.
I guess my main concern is leaving our camper (kk) which can't be locked obviously whilst we do sightseeing.
The gday mate C/P  is about 6 ks out of town.
Looking forward to the trip and as usual common sense is the key.
Thanks again all.???
2011 Ford Ranger
2001 K.K

Offline marvellous_matt

« Reply #10 on: August 06, 2017, 12:27:11 PM »
I think what you would do when leaving your camper any caravan park would be appropriate here.
There a bunch of caravan parks out where G'day mate is.  I know the Big 4 gets great reviews.

« Reply #11 on: August 06, 2017, 12:32:50 PM »
We did 8 days there last year and felt ok all the time, pretty much the same as any other large town, just leave your valuables out of sight

The following users thanked this post: geopaj, Hodgies

« Reply #12 on: August 06, 2017, 12:36:09 PM »
Most black fella's and white fellas are very friendly and would nod and acknowledge you like any smaller town throughout Australia.
There are problems with alcohol abuse, and anti social behavior, which are rarely seen through the day. In the same way I wouldn't walk the back streets of any city at midnight, I wouldnt do it here. Tourist cars parked in the CBD overnight are often a target for thieves.
Alice has a lot to offer, some great tourist attractions (RFDS, Transport museum, Desert park, old telegraph station to name a few) great bike trails (both paved and some of the best single track MTB you will find). It is a great place for exploring the east and west mac's, Rainbow valley and Owen Springs. Numerous supermarkets, some great cafes (reasonable coffee but not always melbourne standard) 
By the way john laws was on at work that day, many of the voices recognized were using fake names, I wouldn't put too much faith in talkback radio for giving the best summary of any subject, you get 2% of the extremes and not much of the real 96%.
Have a great trip.
X2  :cheers:

Offline MrCruza

« Reply #13 on: August 06, 2017, 02:32:30 PM »
We spent a couple of days at the GDay mate park in July, same time as the Finke Desert race was on. Park is pretty good with friendly staff, however they do warn you not to leave any valuables at your campsite and ALWAYS lock your car. Unfortunately one of our party failed to lock his car one night and had some cash and a credit card stolen. An unfortunate and inconvenient situation that could have happened at any campsite.

Can't say I ever felt unsafe though, just need to exercise a bit more caution than normal.
Cheers, John.

'12 Cruiser
2020 NextGen Blackline

Offline latestarter

« Reply #14 on: August 06, 2017, 03:35:31 PM »
Well, we're into our 7th week of tripping around oz and safety was always a concern. Alice was a nice place but it has been the only place I have slept with a 20" length of wate pipe. We were in the Big4 park passing thru, 9pm washing up with my wife in the camp kitchen and a bloke walks in and just starts trying to pick a fight. We call security and the bloke says he wasn't doing anything .... Security leave and that was the last we saw of them. Complained in the morning and said if the a#*hole told them he was Mary Poppins would they believe him.

Anyway....he was white.

Not happy with that park, but Alice is worth a visit. The Royal Flying Doctors is well worth a visit ... And across the road is a great little reptile park just to name a couple of worth while attractions.

Just be security conscience and enjoy

The following users thanked this post: Squalo, Hodgies

« Reply #15 on: August 06, 2017, 06:23:10 PM »
Stayed in Alice four times for just over a week each time, in the last few years. (June for the Finke Desert Race). Never had a problem either daytime or night. But just use common sense at night, don't go wandering around on your own half p*ssed, same as any town. We stayed at the Big 4, across from the G'Day Mate, and the only time I ever got robbed, was paying $11.00 each for 2 cans of Bourbon & Dry at the pub up the road. Alice is a great place to look around, and I don't think it's anymore unsafe than many other places you'd be happy to visit.
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan.

Offline Juzzman

« Reply #16 on: August 06, 2017, 07:06:23 PM »
Stayed in Alice Springs for 5 nights 2 years ago. No dramas. Just upped our street smartness for those days.
Going that way again next year but will stay out at Ross River resort camp ground, approx 90 mins east of Alice. We found it 2 years ago when exploring around the East McDonnells and looks like a gorgeous spot.

NT Pajero, Lots of nice stuff
Camel Camper, More nice stuff!!!

Offline stevo

• I used to have a handle on life........but it broke
« Reply #17 on: August 06, 2017, 09:26:32 PM »
Nothing wrong with staying in Alice. Just take normal precautions as you would elsewhere. We stayed there for 5 nights a few years back and did day trips out to the west and east Macs. Also were there for the Henly on Todd regatta which was a fun day out.
If you are going to Kings Canyon the Kings Creek Station just near it is a good place to stay. Palm valley is a definite to visit also and Rainbow Valley south of Alice at sunset.
If you wanna buy alcohol we couldn't get any before I think it was 2pm and the wife who is no spring chicken had to show ID which quite amused her.
Enjoy the trip
Stevo
Isuzu MU-X Coronet caravan
The hearse does not stop at the bank on the way to the cemetery.

« Reply #18 on: August 07, 2017, 08:41:30 AM »
I went to Alice about 5 years for a work conference and have to be honest it was an eye opener. Due to the size of the conference we booked out the casino and another hotel 200m up the road. Both across the road from the creek bed.

When we checked in the reception staff were very quick to advise don’t walk between the hotels at night (very embarrassing getting a cab 200m) and if you hear calls from help coming from creek do not go and help. Sure enough every night we heard screams of both Men & Women being beaten or assaulted.

On the last night we had a large outside dinner on the lawn of our hotels and found it unnerving seeing 5 or 6 security guards with a couple of dogs walking the boundary all night.

During the day a couple of us went into town. Again the hotel advised to go in pairs and never had a problem.

« Reply #19 on: August 07, 2017, 09:44:23 AM »
Its been about 15 years since I was there. I didn't feel particularly unsafe or scared, just cautious. And I was pretty sheltered back then (country town kid) and was wary of everyone and travelling ANYWHERE. LOL.

It appears the place we stayed at has since closed. Probably not surprising given the time-frame. It was a great little spot as the wallabies would come down for a feed of an evening... It was right on the Todd River though, and we did see/hear a lot of locals through there that made us a bit cautious. I recall seeing some of them sleeping on the side of the road even in the mornings when we'd head off on whatever excursion we were doing that day...

Sounds like things haven't particularly changed since then from what others are saying. Be cautious but not scared. Don't do anything stupid, don't wander the streets at night. Don't leave valuables around where they can get stolen. Lock what you can, and make friends with your neighbours at the caravan parks so if they're around they'll notice if it's not you foraging through your trailer... Same kind of rules as other places that are known to be a little rough around the edges.

I think there are sights worth seeing. RFDS if you haven't done that anywhere else, the old Telegraph station (that said I hated it back then! But would probably enjoy it more now, LOL)...

Offline db

« Reply #20 on: August 07, 2017, 12:53:04 PM »
I've been there a few times for work in the last couple of years (3 day visits) staying in a hotel near the river. I didn't feel any more unsafe there than staying in Sydney (Parramatta or Kings Cross). We've stayed in the Big 4 about 4 times in the last 5 years, going up or down the track. Same result, no more unsafe than any other park, definitely don't leave any valuables in site or accessible, opportunistic theft occurs.
Modcon Quattro
NW Pajero GLX-R

Offline Hodgies

• Hodgies
« Reply #21 on: August 07, 2017, 03:47:49 PM »
Thanks everyone for replying and sharing your experiences. Thanks also for the tips on where to visit.👌👌
We are looking forward to the trip and will take everyone's comments on board.
Common sense prevails.😎😎
I will definately make sure my beveridges are hidden😆😆
Now for the countdown.
Cheers Hodgies
2011 Ford Ranger
2001 K.K

« Reply #22 on: August 08, 2017, 06:33:25 AM »
Have a great trip.
I was only talking to a couple over the weekend I met at a charity Ball.    Moved to Cairns a month or two ago from Alice. They tell a different story of how bad the crime has gotten particularly over the last two years. They had had a gut full after numerous break ins, car stolen and other issues. They both said how they used to love the place but their words" is a Shithole now".  They are only living in Cairns for a short time before moving to Weipa.  I don't remember too much more about the conversation as I was drinking and meeting a lot of people that night.

Offline richo9923

« Reply #23 on: August 08, 2017, 07:44:41 AM »
Was there 12 months ago for a week, stayed at the G'day caravan park and yes it is secured, to get in after hours you have a code to open the gates, otherwise I have to be honest and say I felt safer there than I do in certain parts of Melbourne, maybe we didnt venture into the rough parts but as a tourist why would you, most tourist attractions anywhere are away from dodgy areas.

Offline pommiedic

« Reply #24 on: August 08, 2017, 08:36:22 AM »
Stayed their a couple of years back at a secured camp site.  Felt safe walking/driving around town.  There was a permanent beggar posted outside the ATM; but apart from that no trouble.

I did not feel any less safe compared to Sydney or anywhere else.  We were locked in the campsite by 20:00 though, so did not get to see any of the night life.

Go and enjoy the place, it was fascinating to see and I feel comfortable enough to go back with the kids.

dic

Why is the 1st Tea of the day the best?