Author Topic: Decent Tattoo Parlour Atherton/ Cairns region.  (Read 4787 times)

Offline Scolers

Decent Tattoo Parlour Atherton/ Cairns region.
« on: October 24, 2014, 09:06:37 AM »

I've just moved up to the Atherton area from Hervey Bay and am looking for a decent Tattoo shop. I know there is one in Mareeba which is my closest one but I would consider going to Cairns in order to have the artwork (which is fairly simple)  done properly.

Has anyone here had any positive or negative reports from the Mareeba shop? OR has anyone a recommendation of a decent Cairns tattooist?

Many thanks for any input.

Scolers.
veni vidi vici

Re: Decent Tattoo Parlour Atherton/ Cairns region.
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2014, 09:33:42 AM »
There are lots of young tattooists in Cairns that have limited experience, limited skills and will charge you top dollar.
I recommend Adam. He is in his 40's, has a lifetime of experience, brilliant skills, gives a great consultation and his prices are cheaper than the 20 yo working at one of the big parlours.

http://labombalocatattoo.com/tattoo/crazy-adam/

Offline Scolers

« Reply #2 on: October 25, 2014, 07:59:55 AM »
Many thanks for that Muzzza!

I'll check him out ... I know what you mean about young blokes charging top dollar.  Much prefer an experienced hand when it comes to inking the skin.

8)

Scol.
veni vidi vici

« Reply #3 on: October 25, 2014, 08:57:54 PM »
G'day Scolers,

Mate i'd recomend Duane Cash, he's been tattooing in Cairns for over 30 years. Tattooing me on and off since '87

He has a great reputation for his work and anyone that tattoos for him are top tattooist's........

His latest shop is in the Cairns Mall area, corner Lake and Sheilds.

« Reply #4 on: October 25, 2014, 09:14:01 PM »
Scolers I know nothing of a tattoo parlours, but if you have just moved to the Atherton area have you seen this thread.

http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=39221.0
« Last Edit: October 26, 2014, 01:22:22 PM by jclures »

Offline FNQBunyip

« Reply #5 on: October 26, 2014, 12:55:02 PM »
Duane gets my vote as well , I haven't got any of his work but wish like hell I did .. But a few mates have his and its great ...

Offline Scolers

« Reply #6 on: October 28, 2014, 08:27:40 AM »
Thanks very much to everyone who replied ... especially jclures for the headsup re the meet and greet.  Having a look at the thread now.

8)

Cheers!

Scol.
veni vidi vici

« Reply #7 on: October 28, 2014, 09:41:00 PM »
I haven't got any of his work but wish like hell I did ..

Best you go see him too mate............. get a bit of ink under the skin!!  ;D

Offline FNQBunyip

« Reply #8 on: October 30, 2014, 08:29:09 AM »
Best you go see him too mate............. get a bit of ink under the skin!!  ;D

I've got a bit of ink under the skin , just not of Duane's class... lol 

I have got plans for something but not the cash at this stage .

Offline Scolers

« Reply #9 on: October 30, 2014, 08:58:23 AM »
Yeah I was surprised at the cost ... I'll be waiting a little bit longer now ...  >:(

Scol.
veni vidi vici

« Reply #10 on: October 30, 2014, 05:30:02 PM »
Yeah I was surprised at the cost ... I'll be waiting a little bit longer now ...  >:(

Scol.
i always laugh when people covered in tatt's complain how hard it is to make ends meet, it's not a cheap habit by any means...lol

« Reply #11 on: October 30, 2014, 07:09:34 PM »
i always laugh when people covered in tatt's complain how hard it is to make ends meet, it's not a cheap habit by any means...lol

Or the ones on welfare ( and smoking ) lining up outside a tat parlour with the little snotter in tow....who looks like he could do with a feed and some new shoes !!!

« Reply #12 on: October 31, 2014, 12:00:27 AM »

Geez Rumpig.... Reckon you'd pi55 yourself laughing than, if a bloke with a nice Tug n Trailer mentioned he was all of a sudden doing it tough................ :cheers:

« Reply #13 on: October 31, 2014, 10:02:18 AM »
Geez Rumpig.... Reckon you'd pi55 yourself laughing than, if a bloke with a nice Tug n Trailer mentioned he was all of a sudden doing it tough................ :cheers:
yeah that's exactly what I meant by that....NOT!!!...seems Gronk kinda understood where I was coming from though. The young kids I see at work covered in them complaining they can't of ford to buy a house came to mind also as I wrote that reply.

« Reply #14 on: October 31, 2014, 11:02:51 PM »
yeah that's exactly what I meant by that....NOT!!!...seems Gronk kinda understood where I was coming from though. The young kids I see at work covered in them complaining they can't of ford to buy a house came to mind also as I wrote that reply.

Yeah no worries mate................. i get ya!!

There does appear to be a bit of a Tattoo revolution the last few years........... reckon the tatt shops are loving it. There's around 13 different shops in Cairns at the moment...... all seem to have a steady stream of customers.....