General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Gunna Do on April 16, 2009, 01:39:06 PM

Title: What Fridge do you use Poll.
Post by: Gunna Do on April 16, 2009, 01:39:06 PM
I have been reading with interest what fridges and eskys everyone uses and was wondering if this Post could be turned into a poll to display the totals for each fridge.  These poll results would come in very handy for anyone contemplating purchasing a new or used fridge/esky.

Similar format to the which camper poll and which 4x4 poll.  Not sure of the logistics to setting this up so I will leave it in the capable hands of the all mighty MODERATORS.
Title: Re: What Fridge do you use Poll.
Post by: Joff on April 16, 2009, 01:58:43 PM
Wouldn't work real well coz a lot of us have 2 fridges. 1 in the car and 1 in the camper. I don't think the poll function is that smart.
Post by: cm4x4nut on April 16, 2009, 02:34:15 PM
Wouldn't work real well coz a lot of us have 2 fridges. 1 in the car and 1 in the camper. I don't think the poll function is that smart.

Yep poll function is that smart, I have currently set to max 3 votes per person and we can change that as we go along, but you need to add them all up front. Once you hit Vote, yours is locked in. But you can only vote for one brand once, ie if you have two waecos, you only get one vote.

Will need to add brands as people request them though
Post by: McGirr on April 16, 2009, 02:38:18 PM

I ticked all three. The reason is, ice chest for day trips, 40 ltre engle for over night trips and 80 ltr waeco for longer trips.

Post by: Pipeliner on April 16, 2009, 02:44:16 PM
Add EvaKool and I'll vote!
Post by: Ben... on April 16, 2009, 03:16:30 PM
add explorer and ill vote
Post by: Gunna Do on April 16, 2009, 04:42:12 PM
Thanks cam-champion, I thought we would have the technology.  :cup:

I may have created a bit of work for you though.  I will require Autofridge and Isotherm (by Indel Marine), thanks.

Post by: jwb on April 16, 2009, 05:14:01 PM
can you add Trailblaza please?
Post by: shane on April 17, 2009, 04:49:30 PM
Dont forget Bushman.
Post by: Joff on April 17, 2009, 05:04:46 PM
And that, my dear friends, is why I'm not a technohead  :angel: :cheers:

Engel/Evakool
Post by: Shemdaph on April 18, 2009, 10:58:07 PM
I got the ABR Sidewinder fridge. Works great. I also have engel
Post by: Troyk on April 19, 2009, 11:01:20 AM
I went for the 60kL evakool because they are more efficient, cheaper and aussie made. All confirmed in Choice magazine. The onlly downside that I have found is that its a bit more of ackward shape.

I also have a 82 tropical ice box, which we use for longer trips with the fridge. We vacuum pack our food, freeze it and then into the ice box with 1/3 ice and it lasts a week. Makes a good stand for the evakool at camp too.
Post by: Rossco on April 19, 2009, 01:08:51 PM
   Waeco X2. A 50lt in the troll and a 25lt in the trailer.   Rossco.
Post by: Marie_R on April 20, 2009, 09:14:00 AM
Waeco x2 here as well - 50 litre in the camper, old 35 litre behind the seat in the truck
Post by: jk on April 20, 2009, 10:16:00 AM
we had a trailblazer 60lt and found it to be great but it was BIG as it had the 4in insulation, sold the trailblazer and bought 2 x 40lt Engels, very happy with their current draw and reliability. sometimes we have both in the gullwing box on the camper and other times one in the camper and the other on a slide in the back of the cruiser.     i guess it comes down to each persons needs.
Post by: Defensor on April 26, 2009, 05:57:23 PM
Waeco 50 lts for the last 4 years ( 3 years running 24hrs, 7 days a week.
When she go it will be a Trailblazar
Post by: Bill on April 27, 2009, 02:47:36 PM
40L Engel with 2 Zone...
Bill and Morag
Post by: blackstump on April 27, 2009, 08:39:48 PM
Waeco 50 ltr.
Had it running in our cabin at Tolmie off the solar panel for 4 years so far. Never missed a beat, and we just have it in the back of the Discovery when tavelling.
Post by: Matto on April 28, 2009, 03:29:24 PM
Currently we have the mighty IceKool icebox. But the plan is to add a 50L Waeco when funds allow. It seems to be the best size for us. The IceKool (cheapy brand of EvaKool) is great for what we use it for now though - holds block ice (2L milk containers frozen) for 4 days no worries at all, despite it being used for food and drinks, and used here in the tropics. Only thing I want to do to it is paint it white to help reflect a bit of sun's heat away - couldn't tell you if it would be worth it or not, but it seems like a good/cheap idea.

Of course, before we can get a fridge, we need the dual battery, and that means fabricating a battery holder into the rear of the car, and then if we're doing that, we might as well...  ;D

Post by: Defensor on April 28, 2009, 04:22:26 PM
Matto, the Evakool fridge have the same compressor than the Waeco but the thermsotat nob is bullet proof and cheap to repair. The Waeco circuit board on my fridge have to be replaced twice because the board burn with spikes on the line.The reair shop in Bundaberg was full of them.
Also the Evakool invertor for use the fridge on 240 volts is om metal allowing the heat to disperse.
Before your get the Waeco (excellent box) do a bit of more research with the authorised repearers.
Post by: Matto on April 29, 2009, 08:57:31 AM
Hey Defensor,

I like the Evakool fridges, it's just the odd size that I wasn't too sure about. How do you go with packing around it and so forth?

And the almighty question - what are they like on price? I'm planning to pick up a factory second waeco from this mob : http://www.getawaeco.com.au/ - the F.I.L. picked up a 35L 3-way last year for under $200 simply because it had a scratch on the front of the plastic case. They were retailing here in BCF for $450 at the time, so he was pretty happy with that. I don't expect the same sort of discount myself, but would be happy paying around $750-$800.

I've got to admit though, I would much rather support a local, AUS business, and I've been more than happy with the icebox.

Food for thought!
Post by: Defensor on April 29, 2009, 09:48:22 AM
The Evakool 50 lts cost the same money than tha Waeco. Shop arround and you will have a good deal.
I agree with you regarding the shape of the Evakool, it is not the best but easy to service it in case of compressor faliure.
Did you have done some research about the Bushman? (http://www.bushman.com.au/Default.htm)

Have a look this link for the Evakool prices:

http://stores.shop.ebay.com.au/Australian-Direct-4wd-Outdoor__W0QQ_armrsZ1QQ_fsubZ15965956

Post by: Chris-Vi on April 29, 2009, 10:40:32 AM
We have and Evakool 60 litre. Like the idea that on a trip we can use part as a freezer. On a weekend trip just take out the divider and use as a fridge. Just have to be careful that nothing can fall around the vents on the outside of the motor.
Post by: Captain on April 29, 2009, 11:46:54 PM
I use 2 x 40L engels, one with a two zone. This gives me a fridge, a freezer and a crisper (two zone) for longer trips or just a single engel for short trips.

Can the Two Zone be added to the poll?

Captain
Post by: Brett on April 30, 2009, 09:16:13 PM
Ok girl-guides the poll was reset by mishap so you will need to vote again...  ;D

And it wasn't my mishap that did it! hey Gunna Do!  ;D ;D ;D
Title: Re: What Fridge do you use Poll. (Please Revote)
Post by: Gunna Do on April 30, 2009, 09:28:44 PM
No I'll own up and take the rap.  :police:  Don't mess around with what you don't know about (I keep tell my kids that, I wish I would take my own advice sometime).  :-[

Thanks anyway Brett.  And I thought you would fix it up and no one would notice.  ::)
Post by: Sharky on April 30, 2009, 11:15:33 PM
Waeco CF-50 in the truck and an Evakool 60L in the trailer.
Truck fridge for storage and Trailer fridge for ready use.
Also have a CF-25 Waeco at home which used to be our second fridge before we got the Odyssey. Still usefull for BBQ's and day trips.

Haven't had a problem with any of them.

My Mum, however, has an 18L Waeco (not a compressor fridge) and has had no end of trouble with the thermostat. Been repaired three times in 18 months and is particulalry unimpressive (The fridge, not my mum :D ).

Title: Re: What Fridge do you use Poll. (1442 member - 34 votes?)
Post by: Gunna Do on May 24, 2009, 06:39:38 AM
We have 1442 members on Myswag now, and only 34 have voted?  >:(  There must be a lot of campers out there drinking warm beer.  :cheers:

Live on the edge and indicate what keeps your drinks and food cool.
Post by: Ben... on May 24, 2009, 06:53:26 AM
not everyone runs a fridge, and you havnt given options for eskies....
EDIT:oooops yes you do.... im blind.
Post by: Bushman on May 24, 2009, 08:54:34 AM
Waeco CF50 in the 4b  Standard 90ltr Dometic 3way in the Jayco
Post by: Redback on May 24, 2009, 09:04:24 AM
You didn't have my 3rd option,

a 3 way ;D

Post by: Gunna Do on June 24, 2009, 05:57:46 PM
Bit late getting back to you Redback, but what brand of 3-way fridge?
Post by: ezza on June 24, 2009, 07:07:01 PM
I have a 40 L waeco  in the truck that i can move to the back of the jeep for storage on extended trips and a 60 L Engel in the trailer   
Post by: DaveL on June 24, 2009, 08:54:14 PM
I have 4 Engel's and one Waeco.

That's what happens when you drink to much rum,  you end up an Waeco owner.

- David.
Post by: red t ute on June 25, 2009, 12:03:01 PM
got a 60 l waeco it got the most room of all friges and still with a small footprint
Post by: rossow on June 25, 2009, 03:25:21 PM
Pick my 60L Evakool and CT saturday   :cheers:
Post by: DiverBob on June 25, 2009, 04:05:14 PM
My ARB is an Engle.... under the sticker  >:D

Post by: chisel on June 25, 2009, 09:50:16 PM
Waeco CF50.  Picked it up for $750 at factory seconds sale at Waeco's outlet on the gold coast.  It was just superceded, not marked or used. 
I'm thinking of getting a 25L waeco as a second fridge to act as permanent freezer.  But I need a camper trailer to fit the extra fridge in!  (Yes I'm an imposter here - no CT yet :-) )
Post by: shanegtr on June 25, 2009, 11:03:21 PM
I've currently got a 60L engel and I love it. Its a little on the big side for overnight trips (unless its a heavy drinking overnight trip, then its perfect :cheers:) but for most of our use its brillant. We are looking at a twozone to use with it for the real long trips
Post by: Cozzie on June 26, 2009, 08:10:05 AM
We have a 60L Engel in the CT and a 32L Engel in the Colorado they both work a treat.
Post by: sparksy on June 26, 2009, 05:15:16 PM
What about DIY.
Ive got a 70 litre poly "esky" from BigW and i had a Italian camper fridge with a Danfos compressor in it , Took the guts out and fitted to the esky. then covered the whole lot in ali checker plate, good and tough. Much the same result as a Evercool.
Besides that have two 29L engels that I bought back in 83 and also have two 15 L engels that I seem to keep just because I dont know how old they are.They both work great, they are the original ones with exposed evap coils.  Just cant kill a Engel.

Sparksy
Post by: Gunna Do on October 09, 2009, 06:33:16 AM
Now over 2000 Myswag members and only 132 votes.   ???
Post by: darren on October 09, 2009, 06:54:55 AM
G'Day
 Id like to see waco's and the like last this long
Post by: Snow on October 09, 2009, 07:02:46 AM
A old B series Engel. I have the exact same model. Thirsty on the 12v but runs a treat on 240v. How does yours perform on 12v Darren?
Post by: darren on October 09, 2009, 07:17:43 AM
G'Day Snow
 That fridge isn't mine. It was in the rd transport hall of fame in alice springs. I liked the look of it so i took a few pics. I have the next model and has been previously mentioned it has done easily over 100k km's, been rolled, imersed in salt water and is still powering on. It now has a fair bit of wear in the inner plastic tub from the lid seal rubing and the basket doing the same. Im going to retire it to the Kamper and buy a new one of the same next year
Darren
Post by: blackcat on October 09, 2009, 07:22:45 AM
60 Litre evakool here.
Post by: seqfisho on October 09, 2009, 02:49:17 PM
The old 39lt engel here, has been doing sterling service for the last 12 years, and currently on bar duty at present, 1.5 on the dial makes for a very refreshing brewskie :cheers:

Also run a 85lt poly esky that does alcohol duty in the camper. :angel:
Post by: stevo on October 09, 2009, 09:15:06 PM
We've had a 40L Engel in the car for quite a few years and have just bought a 50L Waeco to go in the camper  (when it gets here)
Post by: shanegtr on October 12, 2009, 05:05:17 PM
G'Day
 Id like to see waco's and the like last this long

My old man's got one of those, still going strong, but as snow mentioned, they suck through 12v bloody quick.
Post by: 4runnernomore on October 12, 2009, 09:04:12 PM
i have a 50 litre waeco. Bought it as it fited perfectically in my old 4runnerwith the false floor and the remmovable lid was extremelly handy to gain access when it was in the runner.
I will never forget my first trip away with a fridge instead of dealing with soggy and waterlogged items in the esky. What a revelation and I couldn't believe I had waited so long.

A 60 litre engel which I picked up for nix  :angel: >:D

And too many eskies of varoius shapes and sizes.

Post by: toad on October 13, 2009, 10:57:50 AM
 ABR Sidewinder 55L (beer fridge) ;D ;D in the ute and a 60L Everkool in the CT.
Heck! I think mrs toad (aka froggy) is helping herself to my beer in the piccie below!
Post by: Gunna Do on October 13, 2009, 06:15:41 PM
Toad I hope your EvaKool in the camper is still going strong and not blowing any more fuses.  Hope it was a one off.
Post by: Followme1 on October 14, 2009, 08:44:53 AM
I use Everkool tough as nails.
The new fridges use a circuit breaker so you don't have to worry about fuse
Post by: toad on October 14, 2009, 10:54:23 AM
Hi Gunnado, last time I checked the Everkool is going OK! I bought some 10A fuses, but the 5A  you gave me is going strong so I'll leave it in.
Post by: Duchess on October 14, 2009, 06:03:35 PM
I've voted for the Waeco and the good old trusty ice box...

The Waeco was chosen because I really detested the latch system on the Engel, and the Waeco is awesome because it has an internal LIGHT!  ;D
Post by: NewcastleKnight on October 14, 2009, 06:10:25 PM
I've voted for the Waeco and the good old trusty ice box...

The Waeco was chosen because I really detested the latch system on the Engel, and the Waeco is awesome because it has an internal LIGHT!  ;D

It's always interesting to read differing opinions.  I had a Waeco and I hated their latch system and in comparison I love the way that ARB have made a similar style of fridge and really improved the latch system.  I now have an Engel and whilst I admit the latch system could be better I like it alot more then the Waeco.  Thank God we all have differing ideas because it keeps the world a lot more interesting.... ;D  :cheers:
Post by: Duchess on October 14, 2009, 06:16:47 PM
I guess I neglected to say, NCKnight, that I don't think that the Waeco is all that big an improvement on the Engel latch (but I still thought it better) and in general think that all these fridges we pay exxy dollars for should really have something as simple as this figured out better.

The Engel's I've seen over the years seem to have an issue with the lid moving on the hinges over time and so would end up slightly off side on the latch. (if you know what I mean here.)

I do agree with you on it making life interesting that we can have differing opinions! yay!  :cheers:
Post by: NewcastleKnight on October 14, 2009, 06:28:49 PM
I agree Duchess, I was not having a go just pointing out how we all perceive things differently.  I know what you mean about the hinges moving mine does it but not too bad.  Have you seen the ARB Fridge?  I reckon they have the best lid system out of the lot them.
Post by: cranky on October 14, 2009, 06:39:25 PM
I use a 39 Litre Engel as a freezer had it since 1988 still going strong & recently purchased an 80 Litre engel to use as a fridge.
Post by: Duchess on October 14, 2009, 06:42:52 PM
No that's ok, NCKnight, didn't think you were having a go, just wanted to explain myself a bit better!

Now that you've mentioned the ARB fridges, no I don't think I have ever seen them but I'll be sure to keep my eye out for them. I'll be interested to see their latch system for sure.
Post by: Gunna Do on December 08, 2009, 07:11:40 PM
Moderators, would it be possible for this Poll to be modified to stay at the top of the General Discussion Topics similar to the way the "How did you find out about MySwag.org - Poll" remains up there.  To me it is a good reference for anyone considering buying a fridge, just to see what most Myswaggers are using to cool their essentials.  Hope this request receives a favourable responce.
Post by: Footloose on December 08, 2009, 09:22:02 PM
Standard 90l dometic in the Jayco.50l dometic as a second fridge because I didn't have 12 volt in my customline camper.
Might enventually buy an Engel or Waeco for a longer trip.dometic is a great fridge on gas.  :D

Miles 
Post by: Gunna Do on December 09, 2009, 05:04:35 AM
Footloose, I have added Dometic to the poll for you to complete your vote.  Thanks for taking the time.

Thanks also Moderators, which ever one helped me out with the sticky bit.
Post by: bigcol on December 24, 2009, 11:31:25 PM
Just found this post..... so I will add my "thoughts"
I have an old 60L engel (with obligitory bent hinges) for long trips in the back of the car
a 27L for in the shorter trips in the car
a Dometic in the Flamingo
and Ive just scored one of those silly little Waeco XX can holder coolers for on the seat (dunno how many cans it holds, havent filled it up yet)- to stop having to stop the car to get a cool drink out while on the move
Post by: morgue on December 25, 2009, 01:21:18 PM
You will get all sorts of opinions when it comes to portable fridges as this poll has shown. Kevin Rudd gave me $900.00 to spend, bless his heart, "go forth and spend it for Australia", the government said,so I did, went straight to the Brisbane C&C show and bought myself a Bushman.
So far the fridge has been great, goes from 40 to 52Ltr and all combinations in between, draws 16A/H per day and was good value.
Post by: stooge on January 07, 2010, 12:21:15 PM
Just a question on firdges... I dont have one at the moment, looking into them now.  The thing is, what size is best for 2 adults, a teenager (adult) and a child?  Need to be big enough to store for all as we only have an ice box to support it.

Looking at the Trailblaza brand (as they are now used in the service) so must be good!?

Post by: Gunna Do on January 07, 2010, 01:14:23 PM
My family consist of two adults and two almost teenage kids.  We currently have a 47ltr ARB fridge in the Patrol and a 65 ltr Isotherm fridge in the camper, which leaves us a bit spoilt for fridge space, therefore I can load all my drinks in the ARB fridge for the entire weekend away and keep the Isotherm fridge in the camper exclusively for food.

Before buying the camper we had a camp trailer which had a 60ltr Trailblazer fridge in it, which we used to use just for food and then also took an EvaKool esky (about 49 ltr) for the drinks.

I have also owned an Autofridge (39 ltr ?) which I found soon filled up and was only just big enough for our needs, hense the reason I started looking at the slightly bigger ARB one.  I also considered the Waeco fridge of a similar size.

We had a great run out of our Trailblazer fridge, however found it a little rugged in its construction for keeping in the rear of the Patrol (bit sharp around the edges as well as a bit bulky).

60 ltrs of fridge space will be more than enough space for your family, especially with the ice box, and perhaps a smaller fridge (39 - 40 ltr) would also serve you well.  I think too much space is better than not enough, and once you have made the expensive outlay for the fridge it is too late to say it's not big enough, but better to say it's a bit too big and can throw in a few more drinks.
Post by: Barry G on January 07, 2010, 08:48:39 PM
I am one of the Autofridge entries in the poll.  39 litre model, purchased 2nd hand recently for $850.

My priority is maximum period of use from any given battery capacity.  Ideally I want to be able to pitch under a tree for up to a week.  The Autofridge is the best option for me because it can run in 'eutectic' mode for just 5 hours / day and keep stuff frozen.  (Have just purchased a 12volt timer switch to achieve this!)

However, if I was purchasing a new fridge for more general use I would not hesitate to get the 'Bushman'.  $1195 for fridge, collar, high lid, thermal bag and multiple baskets.  It is a well thought out, flexible package and, for Victorians like me, is distributed from Melbourne, so convenient for any parts and warranty.

If (when ;D) I get a 2nd fridge I'm pretty sure it will be a Bushman.
Post by: Ricey on January 07, 2010, 09:22:43 PM
How do you see the results of the Poll?

Maybe I am missing something obvious but I can't see it.
Post by: DAZnBEC on January 07, 2010, 10:06:10 PM
You have to vote then you will be able to see the results!
Post by: Ricey on January 07, 2010, 10:15:25 PM

Maybe this is something for the Moderator.

My Liemack soon to be upgraded is not listed and I would like to see what is the most popular brand.

Yes I could just vote and see the results but a running total would be good and I assume its 1 vote per member.
Post by: kylarama on January 07, 2010, 10:49:45 PM
Here you go rodeo2002.

Ice Box/Esky  47 (13.9%)
Waeco  86 (25.5%)
Engel  126 (37.4%)
EvaKool  36 (10.7%)
Explorer  3 (0.9%)
Autofridge  6 (1.8%)
Isotherm  2 (0.6%)
Trailblaza  6 (1.8%)
Bushman  8 (2.4%)
ABR Sidewinder  3 (0.9%)
ARB  9 (2.7%)
Dometic  5 (1.5%)

Total Voters: 273

P.S.  I voted Evakool ;)
Post by: Ricey on January 07, 2010, 10:55:44 PM
Thanks kylarama

The Evakool is leading for me but I am interested in the explorer just need to find a dealer for prices etc. then decide.

Rodeo2002
Post by: 95cruza on January 08, 2010, 03:19:59 AM
40 l engel with 21 litre twozone for us, got the ARB insulation cover for it also, the beauty of this is the ability to add the extra litres only when needed (usually the longer trips).  My lad has 40 l engel also.  Very happy so far (about 4-5 years I guess).
Post by: Gunna Do on January 08, 2010, 07:56:17 AM

I assume its 1 vote per member.

I think when this poll was set up you could place three votes, as most of us have at least two fridges and then some an esky as well.
Post by: GSK33 on January 14, 2010, 11:32:57 PM
40l Engel  :cheers: model before LCD display and inside light >:(
Post by: brettk on January 18, 2010, 03:35:10 AM
40L engel the new model with the light & digital Dislpay GSK33
Post by: graylyn on January 18, 2010, 05:57:08 AM
I have a 60l Engel.  Works brilliantly although I wish I had got the 2 zone model.

Graham
Post by: gjc074 on January 18, 2010, 06:14:11 AM
I have a 60L Engel.Couldn't ask for better.
Glen
Post by: GSK33 on January 18, 2010, 10:13:17 PM
I have a 60l Engel.  Works brilliantly although I wish I had got the 2 zone model.

Graham

Just buy a 40l engel and use as a freezer ;D
Post by: Craig.td42 on January 18, 2010, 11:28:04 PM
G'day,

2 x 40l engel in the back of the wagon. 1 fridge, 1 freezer.

Craig
Post by: Barry G on January 19, 2010, 11:16:08 AM
WAECO sale at Anaconda until Jan 24 30% off CF-32 31lt 'Unplugged Fridge'  ;D
Post by: Red1 on February 23, 2010, 08:33:39 PM
60 l trailblazer, 30 l waeco and a 110 l waeco in the jaco swan
Post by: retired on February 25, 2010, 01:13:55 PM
Ive got a 50l Waeco & run it as a freezer.Uses 5.5 amps constantly thought it alittle high and had it checked out everything checked ok apart from that couldnt be happier
Post by: leachy_9 on February 25, 2010, 01:39:08 PM
2 x 40L Engels
Post by: markeaust on February 26, 2010, 10:26:53 PM
Just got my new 75l Autofridge.  Boy it's shiny and white.....

Best add me to the list .....

Recently sold the 39l after 14 years of trouble free fridgering...

Post by: Barry G on February 27, 2010, 12:52:48 PM
Just got my new 75l Autofridge.  Boy it's shiny and white.....

Best add me to the list .....

Recently sold the 39l after 14 years of trouble free fridgering...

G'day Mark, good to see you on MySwag.

You'll be pleased (but not surprised) that your old 39l hasn't missed a beat.  :cup:

Make sure you have given Autofridge a vote in the poll.  Cant have the waengelcos having it all to themselves.  ;D

Barry
Post by: dlowen on February 27, 2010, 03:53:57 PM
could you add 50L National Lunar to the poll list & I'll vote also
Post by: Gunna Do on February 27, 2010, 05:48:33 PM
Option added dlowen.
Post by: SteveandViv on March 01, 2010, 04:02:49 PM
Ive got a 50l Waeco & run it as a freezer.Uses 5.5 amps constantly thought it alittle high and had it checked out everything checked ok apart from that couldnt be happier

Sure you would have tried this but I also thought it was a bit high so I tried it at -14 instead of -18 and can run it now it with a 150amp battery for 2.5 days. Thought i'd share. The meat etc is still frozen as are the kids ice blocks and that is all that matters  ;D
Post by: doubleshot on March 15, 2010, 03:15:32 PM
have a 80 litre stainless fridge/freezer engel :cup: 60lcombo engel :cup: 2x40l waecos >:(
Post by: TOPNDR on March 19, 2010, 12:19:40 AM
Quantum, Supa Camper, came with a 60 litre EvaKool, and just purchased a Waeco CF60 to replace a buggered CF50, and will live in the back of the Cruiser.    8)
Post by: pepiman on March 21, 2010, 12:03:59 PM
50 litre Chescold
Post by: Damos on March 22, 2010, 08:15:24 PM
40l Fridge, 10l Freezer National Lunar and a 45l EvaKool and a 90l Dometic
Post by: panda on March 26, 2010, 06:08:57 PM
Have an 80ltr Waeco on spare battery and an dometic 110ltr  3 way in the van.
Post by: OffRoadDave on March 27, 2010, 10:12:30 PM
Have 2 x 35Ltr Waecos, if they aren't in the car or camper they are running 24/7 on 240v at home performing 2nd fridge and freezer duties.
Post by: Flocky on April 01, 2010, 10:18:40 PM
We have a 110L Waeco. It is a great fridge/freezer.
You can never go to big if you have the room I think (Does that make sense) fridge in car!!
I have two kids so on big trips I remove the single second row seat from my cruiser and put the Waeco there.
It sit on a custom made cradle bolted to the seat mounts then ratchet straps hold it to floor anchors (Don't want it coming loose).
On small trips it goes in the back behind the cargo barrier.
I had to run 6mm cable for it to work properly and I fit Clipsal 32v two pin plugs for good connection.
It does not drain the battery that fast but it does like good clean power.
It will freeze stuff you pick up on the trip and keep the coke cold to add to my rum at the end of the day. :cheers:

That's what it is all about ;D
Post by: markeaust on April 02, 2010, 05:33:34 PM

You'll be pleased (but not surprised) that your old 39l hasn't missed a beat.  :cup:

Make sure you have given Autofridge a vote in the poll.  Cant have the waengelcos having it all to themselves.  ;D

Barry

No probs Barry...  glad to hear the 39l has been going great. :D

75l is a beauty, but I have had to modify my setup in the back of the 105.  Didn't measure very accurately.  Black Widow state it won't fit, but I have squeezed it in just fine with a little tweaking of the cargo barrier position.  Saves me having to replace the whole cargo area setup... ;D

Post by: Simon Tressel on April 07, 2010, 01:04:41 PM
i use the engel one. they are awesome. 40l, got it put on rollers in the back of our patrol. best one i have ever had. i saw them on spider everitts tv show Great Australian Doorstep.

Post by: Blueboy on April 14, 2010, 07:29:44 PM
We have had a 40L Engel in the Pajero for almost 4 years now, no problems and a 50L Waeco in the Aussie Swag for 2 years, no problems there either. The BOSS reckons that she finds the Waeco more user friendly.I find that they cool the cans OK.
Regards,Ken.
Post by: aocc on April 22, 2010, 04:04:07 PM
I have a 55ltr Fridgemate A Hardy version of the Eva-coo. Great unit I been in 49+ temps and still have Ice cold beer. can`t ask for more than that ;D
Andrew
Post by: Blackdog on April 25, 2010, 10:14:56 AM
Hi gang, I have a Waeco 50L works great, HOWEVER,  Waeco owners just check your lighter plug on your 12V lead.  Quick story, no cold beer??? (checked fuses , all good) pulled the plug apart and found that "positive" wire was sitting on top of the "negative" wire and through the vibration of travel it wore through the heatshrink and insulation (bad design??), "not happy Jane". Bought better plug and all fine now. Cheers

Post by: ziggy on April 29, 2010, 02:21:18 PM
Just came back from a weekend away with my old Evalcool .

Highly impressed. Ran for 3 nights and 2 days , and tried to turn it down to 1/4 on its dial, and the milk and OJ froze, but the best part, I get back and put the 100AH gel battery (commander) on to charge and it still read 12.8 V, and I would believe it as it only took 2 hours @ 11 A to start turning down the amps to 8 A and was full 10 hrs later
Post by: maca76 on May 06, 2010, 06:22:12 PM
35 litre finch fridge, 3 way, made by electrolux had it for 10 years and still going strong
 :)
Post by: Gunna Do on May 06, 2010, 07:15:32 PM
Maca, added Electrolux as an option rather than Finch.
Post by: NewcastleKnight on May 06, 2010, 07:24:44 PM
I was in a camping store in Tamworth the other day and I noticed that Evakool is making a different fridge these days.  They have some that look like Waecos.
Post by: Hairs on May 07, 2010, 08:40:19 PM
The Swan has a RM360 2 way. which works a treat on gas or 240v.
My beer & drink Fridge, frozen meat/frozen vegies storage while camping is a 15+ year old Chescold 50lt 3 way, 2 years ago I had the thermostat and jet replaced, Works like a new one. Also have a Finch 33lt, that we use for day trips, works great on 12v. We also have a 72lt plastic Big Chilli ice box, Freeze down 5x 4lt ice cream container of water to make block ice and they'll last well over a week.
We're pretty well sorted after a few years of trial and error.
Post by: sellit99 on May 08, 2010, 02:37:15 PM
Weaco
Post by: RWS on May 08, 2010, 08:16:26 PM
Engeeel!
Post by: graham on May 10, 2010, 03:10:48 PM
currently running 2 engels brought the first one in 1988 still running strong and true(29 litres) . brought the second one one year ago (39litres) ,and that runs in the back of the Patrol 24/7 (nice to have a frothy brown water after work ,oh yeah keeps my salad nice too ha ha) also run a 10.5volt cutoff switch, batteries last for quite a while now  :cheers:
Post by: poppasmurf on May 25, 2010, 06:57:53 PM
We have been using a couple of old esky's for years with home made ice. Apart from soggy food after a couple of days they work ok. Currently researching 12V fridge options to go in the CUB when it arrives, this thread is very helpful, except I wasn't aware of the amount of available options. ???

Cheers poppasmurf AKA Shane
Post by: ozi-2-d-bone on June 05, 2010, 05:30:20 PM
cant go wrong with a ice buckets I reckon
Post by: Juggs on June 12, 2010, 01:32:11 PM
nothing better then being at a non powered bush camp ground on a stinking hot day
sitting under your awning looking around at everyone sweating their backsides off and pulling out a few paddlepop ice blocks for the kids and yourself :)

waeco 60l as fridge and waeco 50l as freezer for longer trips

Post by: JCAT on June 14, 2010, 09:48:07 PM
Engel 40 Litre.
As good as, if not better than the fridge at home.
Post by: ozi-2-d-bone on June 25, 2010, 10:18:35 AM
I have a Waeco as it runs like a dream
Problem is when the stuff up they cost a fortune to fix
Post by: xmasbaby67 on June 25, 2010, 01:18:40 PM
We have a 60L Primus 2 way..... can you add that to the list please.

Also use and esky for cold beverages!!! :cheers:
Post by: trackaboutlover on June 25, 2010, 03:40:12 PM
I was in a camping store in Tamworth the other day and I noticed that Evakool is making a different fridge these days.  They have some that look like Waecos.

yeah i saw them at the camping show up here.
they look almost an exact copy i think they are called a travelmate.
Post by: karrathaprado2 on June 25, 2010, 04:07:51 PM
EvaKool all the way
Post by: albany_nomads on July 01, 2010, 07:51:29 PM
70 litre Eva Kool Fridge Mate
Post by: rescue1 on July 02, 2010, 12:12:53 PM
ARB plastic fantastic that was a freebie with the bullbar, mounted on a false floor in the rear of the cab

(http://i769.photobucket.com/albums/xx340/rescue_oz/Mansfield%20Holiday/DSC00718.jpg)
Post by: rabmail on July 11, 2010, 08:58:42 AM

I have two of the Yellow 70 litre Evakool's

Dick
in Phuket
Post by: graylyn on July 11, 2010, 09:26:45 AM
G'day Dick.  I was there for a few weeks in November.  What a bloody awesome place.  Have a Tiger for me.
Post by: DeBe on July 11, 2010, 09:09:25 PM
Hi, Use 3 Waecos CF40, CDF40, CR80.  Daryl
Post by: farmer6 on July 13, 2010, 09:11:12 AM
We have a 60 lt Trailblazer that we got about 15 years ago to do an around Aust trip that we never ended up going on. Its been a fantastic fridge and mainly sits on the deck keeping the coke at the right temp to add to the Bundy. Now we will have a 60 lt engel in the new camper as it will fit into the kitchen better and we are finding with the kids we are loking for some more fridge and freezer capacity.
Post by: Alloy C/T on July 23, 2010, 09:55:51 AM
80lt Waeco used as intended ,fridge and freezer, ice for the scotch and Gin and tonic and icecream in the middle of nowhere + a 15lt Engle for the amber fluid.
Post by: dug on July 31, 2010, 11:31:03 AM
110L waeco for fridge, 40L engel use as a frezzer. The engel is used as my fridge during work bolted in the back of the lux.
Post by: hutchie62 on August 07, 2010, 10:07:15 AM
We have a 80 Ltr waeco used as fridge & freezer.
Post by: Al on August 07, 2010, 10:46:13 PM
Im looking at getting my first portable fridge/freezer for a 6mth trip and dont mind the look of the Primus model. Anyone else using them and how do they go?
Post by: Eaglereach on August 09, 2010, 09:09:17 PM
mark another ice box user down.....
Post by: Ranga on August 11, 2010, 07:19:04 PM
Engel all the way for me! Had it for about 8 years now and never missed a beat. Also have an Evakool, nothing beats beer on ice! :cheers:
Post by: coconut_rough on August 11, 2010, 10:52:41 PM
Waeco 80L fridge/freezer and esky for the amber nectar of the gods. Significant other wont allow nectar in the family food fridge :(
Post by: Paul.Helm on August 12, 2010, 07:58:15 AM
Engel 39ltr for me & an Ice box also   :cup:
Post by: Moopla on August 12, 2010, 05:22:33 PM
waeco cf80 in camper and couple of eskys
Post by: kim on August 14, 2010, 09:08:20 PM
We use a Engal 40LTR & Icekool esky with our camper.Ian
Post by: yogi on August 16, 2010, 03:15:50 PM
I want to vote again ..... I got rind of the 80L Waeco and got an 80L Engel and 40L Engel :cheers:
Post by: Gunna Do on August 16, 2010, 03:56:57 PM
I want to vote again ..... I got rind of the 80L Waeco and got an 80L Engel and 40L Engel :cheers:

Not sure if the Mods can help us out here.  I know on some of the polls you can remove your vote and resubmit your new choice.
Post by: Pebble on August 19, 2010, 05:51:37 PM
We had a 39L Engel, went to a 60L after buying a flash new camper trailer. After we sold the last camper and changed vehicles we also brought a Evakool Ice Box (didn't have dual batteries etc any more).

So at the moment we have a 60L Engel and an Evakool Ice Box, but I think I'd like to go back to a 40L, or perhaps 2 x 40L engels, one in the car and one in the trailer when we eventually get one. Well depends if I can convince Hubby, I think he's a fridge man rather than an eski man so the two 40L engels might be enough to sway him to give the 60L up!

We've got two kids who are growing fast, but a while till they're teenagers yet. Yet I must say we don't have any problem filling up the 60L even on short camping trips so perhaps downsizing isn't the best idea. Oh don't worry my Husband actually likes warm beer too (yuck!).
Post by: theflyingbadger on August 19, 2010, 10:50:54 PM

me too. i ditched the dometic, and now i've got a 110l Waeco to go with my 40l Engel
Post by: Rinda on August 27, 2010, 09:08:57 PM
We have the fridge that comes in the Jayco Eagle, but as our camping trips are mostly unpowered, and so far have not been longer than 6 days, we use 80L Techni Ice Boxes.  These are fantastic ice boxes, the ice lasts extremely well in them and they are as cheap as chips off EBAY.  We use a blue one for food and a yellow one for drinks. This is so the kids know which esky holds the drinks and  :Dare not constantly into the food esky.
Post by: Black Diamond on September 06, 2010, 09:25:07 PM
I run the Ironman 4x4 'ice cube' 45L fridge/freezer. Runs the Danfoss Compressor(same as Waeco CF50)
Great little unit with Battery Protector, 12v/240 and digital readout and fridge light. Runs very quiet and cools very Quickly with low voltage usage. Great looking unit as well and comes with a thermal bag.
(http://ironman4x4.com/accessories/images/fridge1.jpg)
Post by: Gunna Do on September 07, 2010, 05:25:29 AM
Blackdiamond, I've added Ironman as an option on the poll.

I've never seen this fridge before, how long have they been around?
Post by: Silvo on September 07, 2010, 04:21:41 PM
I run the Ironman 4x4 'ice cube' 45L fridge/freezer. Runs the Danfoss Compressor(same as Waeco CF50)
Great little unit with Battery Protector, 12v/240 and digital readout and fridge light. Runs very quiet and cools very Quickly with low voltage usage. Great looking unit as well and comes with a thermal bag.
(http://ironman4x4.com/accessories/images/fridge1.jpg)

does it have handles? it looks very streamlined.
Post by: Black Diamond on September 07, 2010, 09:12:10 PM
I think the have been around for a year or so. Had some really good write ups, i had the oppurtunity to pick one up for half price and thought they cant be too bad with german engineering.
The fridge itself does not have handles, but the thermal bag has them along with anchor points. Probably not the ideal setup to have jumping around in a camper trailer, but for what i needed it for (freezing mainly as the Swan has the 3way dometic) and basically sitting in the annexe it suits me nicely, and so far are rapt with it and looks to be well made.

cheers John
Post by: Gonewalkabouts on October 05, 2010, 07:51:00 AM
I went for the 60kL evakool because they are more efficient, cheaper and aussie made. All confirmed in Choice magazine. The onlly downside that I have found is that its a bit more of ackward shape.

I also have a 82 tropical ice box, which we use for longer trips with the fridge. We vacuum pack our food, freeze it and then into the ice box with 1/3 ice and it lasts a week. Makes a good stand for the evakool at camp too.

Interesting comment, Ive been looking at getting a better quality esky instead of $50 Bunnings job I have already when I couldnt be bother dragging around and setting up the Chescold 3 way 40 litre gas fridge. I have been seriously considering the Evakool box icebox from BCF.

Gonewalkabouts
Post by: poppasmurf on October 07, 2010, 02:56:17 PM
I just bought a 45l Lumina 3 way absorbsion fridge, not sure how it will go but it was cheap and will do untill I can get a better one if needed.

Cheers Shane
Post by: Gunna Do on October 07, 2010, 03:32:08 PM
Lumina added to the Poll Options for you Poppa.
Post by: poppasmurf on October 07, 2010, 03:40:22 PM
Thanks Gunna, love ya work.
Post by: poppasmurf on October 07, 2010, 03:43:26 PM
Only problem is I have already voted for icebox/esky which I will still be using as well at the moment.

Shane
Post by: Gunna Do on October 07, 2010, 03:45:40 PM
I thought there was the option to make multiple votes, have you tried adding a second choice?
Post by: Gunna Do on October 07, 2010, 03:47:27 PM
Yep poll function is that smart, I have currently set to max 3 votes per person and we can change that as we go along, but you need to add them all up front. Once you hit Vote, yours is locked in. But you can only vote for one brand once, ie if you have two waecos, you only get one vote.

Will need to add brands as people request them though

This is a comment from one of the Mods shortly after I set the Poll up.
Post by: poppasmurf on October 07, 2010, 06:36:59 PM

This is a comment from one of the Mods shortly after I set the Poll up.

Yeah just had a look and no option to vote a second time . This may be because I have previously voted, as stated in the quote you added once you hit vote its locked in. I will try logging out and back in to see what happens.
tried that and still no option to add second vote unless I am missing something.
Post by: grumpah on November 03, 2010, 10:38:57 PM
What? No mention of a 35 year old 3 way Companion Norseman Model 3150? Still going as good as gold (or should that be cold) after all those years.
Post by: Mitch59 on November 19, 2010, 05:35:07 PM
What about a bright orange 3 way FINCH, about 25 years old, still looks like new and works fine.
Post by: Gunna Do on November 19, 2010, 05:44:02 PM
Mitch the Poll has been edited so that you can include a vote for your Finch.
Post by: Old Codger on November 20, 2010, 03:37:50 PM
Does anyone know of or has heard a report on the 'WAECO' 55 litre being sold on eBay?  The buyers all seem happy in their posted comments.

It looks exactly like a WAECO but has no brand name on it . The seller claims it is produced in the WAECO factory,and has all WAECO parts.

$399 +$75 freight.

OC
Post by: Gunna Do on November 20, 2010, 03:56:06 PM
Warning Will Robinson!!!!!!
Post by: OffRoadDave on November 20, 2010, 04:11:49 PM
Does anyone know of or has heard a report on the 'WAECO' 55 litre being sold on eBay?  The buyers all seem happy in their posted comments.

It looks exactly like a WAECO but has no brand name on it . The seller claims it is produced in the WAECO factory,and has all WAECO parts.

$399 +$75 freight.

OC

I assume you know that is a 3 way fridge, not a 12/24v compressor type fridge, for a 3 way they are probably alright, but 3 way fridges are only ever average when compared to the compressor variety.
Post by: Arunda on December 09, 2010, 07:36:50 AM
We have had ARB 47l fridge for a year and half now and its great, last xmas 4 weeks in the bush at 43c and did not
miss a beat. It gets used twice a month for weekends away, a mate of mine has a waeco 38 about 5 years old and the ARB is the same size on the outside but heaps bigger on the inside he is upgrading this xmas to the ARB fridge.

We have used it as a freezer a few times and its great kept frozen on battery power with no problems at all.

Post by: cancan on December 09, 2010, 07:43:15 AM
I just swapped a bottle of Chivas Regal for a fridge and freezer. I don't know the brand or sizes but I was given the scotch by a supplier so as freebies I guess I cant go wrong....unless they are absolutely crap and all our food goes off and I then have no scotch to drown my sorrows
Post by: Maîneÿ . . . on December 09, 2010, 10:15:26 AM
I have a Reefer Professional 70 Litre Fridge/Freezer, it's predecessor the REEFER DT50 was nominated as the fastest freezing fridge available.

4WD Action Magazine did a huge review of the main portable Fridge/Freezer Manufacturers in Australia and is the most comprehensive review I’ve seen.

The fridges tested were:
* ARB – MT45FARB
* BUSHMAN
* ENGEL MT45
* EVAKOOL RF47-DT
* EVAKOOL RF85-DT
* EXPLORER DC-56
* EXPLORER DC-70
* REEFER DT50
* REEFER ST70
* VITRIFRIGO C41
* VITRIFRIGO C65
* WAECO CF-40
* WAECO CF-80

Testing was carried out at the Australian Defence Industries facility in a National Association of Testing Authorities (NATA) approved, climate-controlled chamber. 
The fridges were loaded with the exact same contents and were all powered with the same custom leads and plugs.
Post by: Gunna Do on December 09, 2010, 10:25:07 AM
The Reefer has been added to the Poll options Mainey for your vote.

How long ago was the test done, as the new ARB fridges have been out for quite a while now?
Post by: Maîneÿ . . . on December 09, 2010, 11:12:48 AM
The Reefer has been added to the Poll options Mainey for your vote.

How long ago was the test done, as the new ARB fridges have been out for quite a while now?

July 2008

Post by: Ramsay on December 13, 2010, 12:30:37 AM
        I voted Engel. This fridge we use in our house and its is really convenient and I got no problem to it. My mom always telling to buy her a Engel fridge at home. Maybe a gift this Christmas will do.
Post by: mikew on December 13, 2010, 06:43:36 AM
Vote for the ARB47lt, love that fridge, has been in the car now for 18months and still going strong.
Post by: kiwipete on December 24, 2010, 07:35:52 AM
How do I choose a second one?   :)   We just bought a Weaco CF40 to use as a freezer and leave the ARB in the Tug as a Fridge....
Post by: SteveandViv on December 24, 2010, 08:28:07 AM
Warning Will Robinson!!!!!!

Arh.. Your also a lost in space fan.. Couldn't wait for after school to watch that  ;D
Post by: SteveandViv on December 24, 2010, 08:31:02 AM
I have a Reefer Professional 70 Litre Fridge/Freezer, it's predecessor the REEFER DT50 was nominated as the fastest freezing fridge available.

4WD Action Magazine did a huge review of the main portable Fridge/Freezer Manufacturers in Australia and is the most comprehensive review I’ve seen.

The fridges tested were:
* ARB – MT45FARB
* BUSHMAN
* ENGEL MT45
* EVAKOOL RF47-DT
* EVAKOOL RF85-DT
* EXPLORER DC-56
* EXPLORER DC-70
* REEFER DT50
* REEFER ST70
* VITRIFRIGO C41
* VITRIFRIGO C65
* WAECO CF-40
* WAECO CF-80

Testing was carried out at the Australian Defence Industries facility in a National Association of Testing Authorities (NATA) approved, climate-controlled chamber. 
The fridges were loaded with the exact same contents and were all powered with the same custom leads and plugs.

And the Waeco 40 was the best at keeping the temp not ever going 1c either side of set temp and was the best for power consumption for it's size.
Post by: kiwipete on December 24, 2010, 03:52:08 PM
And the Waeco 40 was the best at keeping the temp not ever going 1c either side of set temp and was the best for power consumption for it's size.

And very quite compared to the new ARB fridge....   I still prefer the look and feel of the ARB though...
Post by: theflyingbadger on December 28, 2010, 04:33:44 PM
how can i remove my vote? I've had changes in my fridge config since i voted!
Post by: Gunna Do on December 28, 2010, 04:41:28 PM
Airbornebadger, I'm not sure how to get the "Remove Vote" option in the poll area.  I've noticed some polls come up with this option, and some don't.  Perhaps a Moderator would be able to help out here.

Last time I tried to alter things on a poll, I ended up resetting all the votes to zero.
Post by: sbadman on January 04, 2011, 11:08:43 AM
Older style Engel 40L, generally run off a 12V outlet hardwired in the back of the Jeep and connected directly to the aux battery.  Hasn't missed a beat :D
Post by: mystq on January 04, 2011, 06:07:17 PM
Just got a second hand Waeco CF-25, great little fridge gets cold in no time :cup:
Post by: davidy61 on January 04, 2011, 07:15:50 PM
Waeco 37l in the back of the Grand Vitara.  Works a treat and is perfect for our needs (so far).
Post by: Heiny on January 08, 2011, 12:28:08 PM
Ice box/esky at the moment but SWMBO is getting sick of this idea (woo hoo  ;D) I will probably get a 70 litre Evakool Fridgemate so it fits under the stupid hardcover on the MN Triton.
Post by: baldy1 on January 11, 2011, 12:03:42 PM
I have been investigating fridges for a while now and settled with a 110l Evakool. Was tempted with a 60l Engel but the Evakool was $100 cheaper, 10kg or so lighter and as have a Evakool icebox which is brilliant, the fridge could only be good too.
gave it it's maiden voyage over Christmas with 4 days beach camping on the south coast. Excellent. The white colour keeps its surface cool even when it was in full sun for a while. Unlike Engels and Wacoes, being darker.
Post by: DX grunt on January 22, 2011, 09:10:22 AM
Just graduated from an esky to a 95lt EVAKOOL.

Ummed and arred about going a big one, but because we live out in the sticks with not much variety, we go to the city for most of our shopping and I hate eating warm salad.

Anyway, I have to fill the back of my Patrol Ute's pod up - remembering to leave enough room for the double bed.

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/95L-EVAKOOL-FRIDGEMATE-PORTABLE-CAMPING-FRIDGE-FREEZER-/250751423417?pt=AU_Sport_Camping_Hiking_Food_Storage&hash=item3a61f313b9

If you read the link, keep scrolling down.  I dealt with them direct.  Lotsa goodies.  Next item I want is a 120w solar panel.

Take care out there.

DX grunt
Post by: Smokey2.8 on January 22, 2011, 10:35:28 PM
Started life out in a seven year old Engel 39L.
Went great for many number of years (and noisy). Cooling ability was starting to lessen, and found a buyer willing to revive it.

Then moved onto a 'family' fridge Explorer DC85.
Bloody huge and with fridge / freezer is great for the mrs and kids. If your wondering it does with mods fits into the rear of the GU rear draws and cargo barrier - just.

Then needed a smaller fridge fo boys weekends etc and scored a great price on ARB 47L.
Awesome fridge, does everything and more with next to no current draw.

Can't have to many fridges, and they work great in the shed keeping the beer cold!!
Post by: MDS69 on February 04, 2011, 12:10:42 PM
Hi guys. I have only read the 1st and 12th pages but I have a 60L Matson. Basically a Waeco knock off with a different compressor.
Post by: Gunna Do on February 04, 2011, 02:33:15 PM
Hi guys. I have only read the 1st and 12th pages but I have a 60L Matson. Basically a Waeco knock off with a different compressor.

Matson added to Poll choices, waiting on your vote.
Post by: maca76 on February 04, 2011, 07:29:42 PM
Just picked up our EvaKool travel mate 60lt from Austrack campers, using it as my beer fridge until we go camping again. This fridge will join the old finch fridge on longer trips. Also picked up a wireless thermometer thingy awesome.

Just have to get out there now and use it

Ryan
Post by: beigewagon on February 18, 2011, 06:56:11 PM

Engel 40lt. Has its own power socket in the back of the Subie, running on the Aux battery. Also have a temp gauge set up to read in the front of the cab, so I can monitor the fridge temp. Learnt the hard way that offroding can bump the plug out of the socket, and things are not so 'cool' when you get to camp.

Beigewagon.
Post by: alnjan on February 18, 2011, 07:15:46 PM
Have a 60l Trailblazer for about, don't know how many years now, well over 15years, using it a permanent freezer at present.  As we still need a fridge/freezer we just bought one of the ARB 47l ones.  Ticked all the boxes for us when compared to the others
Post by: swagger1 on February 19, 2011, 01:47:57 AM
Second vehicle with eskie...what can i say?  ;D
Post by: duggie on March 01, 2011, 08:09:19 PM
Hi , I've had a 80ltr Trailblazer since 1989 , bloody good fridge. I have just last week purschased a Waeco 40 ltr fridge so that I can access my beer with more ease while doing the 2011 cape trip in June/July. Cheers duggie
Post by: discoteddy on March 19, 2011, 05:41:23 PM
2 x 40 ltr Engels. One is 2001 vintage and the newest one is 6 months old. Almost better then what you put in them, not even a blown fuse. ;D
Post by: Variflex on March 19, 2011, 05:47:14 PM
I currently have an engel but its now time to upgrade and it looks like the new fridge will be the evakool due to the dimensions I can't fit the engel into my camper where as the evakool is a little shorter
Post by: zed on March 21, 2011, 06:46:21 PM
Woo Hoo, Picked up my new 47L ARB fridge this arvo  :cheers:
Post by: Gunna Do on March 21, 2011, 06:48:41 PM
Woo Hoo, Picked up my new 47L ARB fridge this arvo  :cheers:

You won't be sorry.  We've had a brilliant run out of ours so far.
Post by: zed on March 22, 2011, 06:43:26 AM
After doing some searching and reading some positive comments about them including yours Gunna. :cheers:
the size was also a winning factor, the outside demensions where just right with good interial size.
Thanks to Active4x4 in beresfield for smashing all the arb shops with price too. :cup:
Post by: Bill on March 22, 2011, 08:16:36 AM
We now have a Waeco 35l to sit alongside the Engel 40l on our longer trips.
So now Bill cant talk crap about either brand  :'(
Thank goodness they still make Toyotas  ;D
Bill and Morag
Post by: two+four on March 22, 2011, 05:33:29 PM
A 60 litre Engel user, usually in the back of the car on a platnium drop slide. If all six of us go away for just the weekend we usually only use an eski as we need the space in the car.
Post by: bobro on March 23, 2011, 05:32:45 PM
 :worthles: :worthles: :worthles: :worthles: without fridgemate
Post by: Johnno convert on March 26, 2011, 11:20:44 AM
We use a second hand bar fridge from ebay $30 ha ha ha!! Works for us at present but no 12v option >:(
Post by: carinya on April 13, 2011, 10:06:39 AM
We got a 40 l Dometic ( chescold/ electrolux) 3 way  ages ago before we even had a camper, put 6mm wire through the old ute and the Camry, and thought we did real well.   This thing pulls 10A so a trickle feed system will probably not be any good.  Runs off the battery while travelling, put in a relay in case we forget the switch at lunch, and it's a real good insulator so put in on the gas if we are somewhere for more than a day or so.
Post by: Adds on April 13, 2011, 05:19:21 PM
put me down for an engle 60l combo  :cup:
Post by: gibbo301 on April 19, 2011, 09:36:29 AM
40lt Engel in back of patrol 60lt chescold 3 way fridge freezer in camp trailer
Post by: Racer on April 19, 2011, 11:58:43 AM
After doing some searching and reading some positive comments about them including yours Gunna. :cheers:
the size was also a winning factor, the outside demensions where just right with good interial size.
Thanks to Active4x4 in beresfield for smashing all the arb shops with price too. :cup:

How much did Active charge you Zed?
Post by: ralphedward on April 25, 2011, 09:50:18 PM
Just got back from 4 days away with the new Evacool 60ltr.  Love it, ran off the battery for 4 days (cool down south in Vic) I didn't turn it off the lowest possible setting and it kept the internals between -3 and +1 degree.  I threw the battery on charge when I got home and it has bugger all usage(120amp\hr) .  Happy little vegemite am I.
Post by: Jason 70 on April 25, 2011, 10:43:40 PM
Just graduated from an esky to a 95lt EVAKOOL Fridgemate. It is great.
Post by: Gaz the Photog on April 26, 2011, 03:59:28 PM
The wife and I just bought a 70lt 3way PRIMUS fridge, and its an absolute gem... nothings better than a cold beer (Very Cold Beer) on a hot campers day! :cup: :cheers:
Post by: oldblade on May 01, 2011, 09:41:40 PM
just bought a second evakool today for the camper
Post by: andy4946 on May 10, 2011, 09:00:43 PM
Autofridge the way to go. Australian built!
Post by: @fnq4now on May 15, 2011, 04:39:44 PM
Just bought a 78L ARB @ the ARB open day in Cairns. It holds 120 cans.  :cheers: Not sure what were going to put the food in yet.
Post by: MR MAC GU on May 19, 2011, 09:21:50 PM
I have the 75lt Autofridge in the trailer, 40lt Engel in the back of the 4wd and 25lt waeco behind the seat for drinks and snacks on the run or sometimes used as the freezer when we dont take the trailer...all great fridges but i would have to say the Autofridge is the most economical on power consumption by far...only have to run it a couple of hours per day to keep everything icy cold...
Post by: Butsy on May 20, 2011, 07:45:28 PM
I will be getting a 12v one when I get the CT, guess I'll wait and see which one to buy when the poll is finished. I have a 65l campmaster from BigW and use it for food. It was a gift and I was a bit skeptical, but the new version is great. After 5 days, only had 1/4 inch water in the bottom, the bag of ice was still 90% there and the 2 x 2.4l frozen waters were still solid after the 5 days. Couldn't believe it from an ordinary brand and am impressed. The drinks fridge was a borrowed 60 older model campmaster and had to replace the ice every day. I know which one the beer fridge will be next time.
Post by: jaycamrie on May 28, 2011, 09:57:20 PM
bought one of those TECHNI ICE eskys on ebay ice lasted a week no problems
Post by: harvs on May 28, 2011, 10:49:53 PM
We have had a Weaco CF-40 for about  4-5 years. Has been great so far. Our new CT came with an old Weaco cool matic 90 lt. It's not pretty but I love this old fridge. It can take a carton of beer in the bottom. and still hold all the food we need for a family of 4 for a long week end in the bush
Post by: timbo on May 30, 2011, 05:11:51 PM
where do we see the results of this poll.
Post by: Gunna Do on May 30, 2011, 05:17:28 PM
As far as I know, you should see the results after you vote, or there should be a tab near the choices something like "View Poll Results" click on that.
Post by: Gunna Do on May 30, 2011, 05:19:12 PM
If you still can't see it here is the results to date.
Post by: timbo on May 30, 2011, 05:38:21 PM
Thanks for that,I hadn't voted as I don't have a fridge yet and was interested to see the results to hel[ me choose.
Post by: mystq on July 28, 2011, 05:32:50 AM
Sold the CF25 and got a CF50DZ :)

Never had a issue with Waeco  :cup:
Post by: Mel87 on August 03, 2011, 04:17:44 PM
Engel 60L & Chestcold in the Eagle  :cup:
Post by: Mav on August 03, 2011, 06:10:04 PM
Mine is a DownUnder 51 litre frdige/freezer. I bought it off a store in Taree a few years ago that was selling off some older (new) stock on ebay and got it for a bargain. It has the same compressor as the Waeco. Hasn't missed a beat in all the years we have had it and for about 2 years it was being used as the main house fridge at my parents place.
Post by: Gunna Do on August 04, 2011, 04:19:16 PM
Mav, I've added DownUnder to the list of fridges for you to add your vote.
Post by: Stylemaster70 on August 25, 2011, 07:56:21 AM
I picked up my new EvaKool 60lt. on Tuesday and love it. Frooze my beer on the first night as the factory setting is -15deg. Brand new off ebay.............................................$580! I'm stoked. Off to Waratah Bay today and I will give it a good run on the 12v.
Post by: Desert lover on August 29, 2011, 08:52:21 AM
We have voted.... have two waeco's .... a 50 ltr and a 40 ltr.  Just love the waeco  brand as it is easy to clean.  The 40 is used for shorter trips/day trips and alike and also in the boat where it will still run at constant 30degree angle as the boat heels to windward. 
Sue
Desert Lover
Post by: crackacoldie on August 29, 2011, 11:21:38 AM
Can we have 2 votes, I have a Waeco 40l and an Engel 80l ???? :cheers: Cracka
Post by: Gunna Do on August 29, 2011, 11:24:57 AM
Can we have 2 votes, I have a Waeco 40l and an Engel 80l ???? :cheers: Cracka

From memory the Poll is setup to allow two votes, as well as being able to remove your vote if things change with your cooling products.
Post by: Snow on August 29, 2011, 07:03:09 PM
The remove vote option has been restored. So if you want to amend your vote just remove your vote and resubmit vote with a maximum of 3 selections.  :cheers:
Post by: bluedogman on September 29, 2011, 07:26:59 PM
Evacool 80l new and a old busted up engle that still works great,
Post by: Dragongoose on October 02, 2011, 07:47:36 AM
Hi I have an Engel Eclipse, very happy with it will buy another one.
Post by: cdustbehindme on October 02, 2011, 09:22:42 AM
I have a gasmate, 30l three way.... gasmate are not on the poll yet......
Post by: Gunna Do on October 02, 2011, 09:28:31 AM
I have a gasmate, 30l three way.... gasmate are not on the poll yet......

It is now!
Post by: quadman on October 09, 2011, 09:34:10 PM
Primus fridge for me works well,no comlaints
Post by: xmasbaby67 on October 10, 2011, 09:47:19 AM
Primus for us too!!!!  Had it for a couple of years now and works really well....it also goes to jobsites when it's not camping.  :cup:
Post by: 87Bravo on October 15, 2011, 10:20:12 PM
I'm a greedy bastard!! I have 3 :cheers:

60ltr Engel that I use as a Fridge, 39ltr 3 way Electolux that I use on gas as a freezer when set up for an extended stays, and a Cf50 49ltr Waeco that is used as a freezer for shorter stays.

I think between the Engel and Waeco, the Engel is more efficient.
 Its certainly tougher. It came off a ute at 60 klmh and cartwheeled down a sealed road. Although it looks a bit worse for wear, it still works perfectly :cup: Cant say the plastic Waeco would of faired the same :-*
Post by: Quent on October 23, 2011, 10:35:23 PM
We use a companion fridge, nothing top of the range but works excellent very happy with it.
Post by: Gunna Do on October 24, 2011, 06:02:12 AM
We use a companion fridge, nothing top of the range but works excellent very happy with it.

I've added that option in the poll to enable you to vote.
Post by: spargo on October 24, 2011, 08:36:37 AM
FINALLY able to add to the Poll..

60L Engel Fridge-Freezer. Purchased new on Saturday.

Love it!  Bye-bye ice, sopping wet food, and warm drinks!!!
Post by: LJs GU on October 24, 2011, 09:01:46 AM
We picked up an 18l Waeco from the Sandown show to use as a freezer. 
It compliments our 40l Engel.  So far the Waeco has told the Engel it has nice eyes!  ;D
LJ (the fence sitter)
Post by: monahanajj on November 02, 2011, 05:05:02 PM
I went Waco because even though i have others this has been the most reliable for me.

Didnt want to open the can of worms but hey....whadya do!

Post by: joefish on November 03, 2011, 06:58:26 PM
Just brought a Waeco CF-40 , it was cheap and has 5 yr warranty so i thought bugger it . Im not a brand person , just whats the right price with a warranty , i hope it works well.

joel.
Post by: 6knights on November 10, 2011, 06:53:47 PM
Added a vote for the ARB.... there are not many of us, picked up a 47L one today paid $1100 inc the bag, while there we also got the tiedowns for it, we looked long and hard at the 60L but it was just to big for what we wanted to do with it.

Trev.
Post by: mystq on November 10, 2011, 06:56:44 PM
They are a top bit of kit joefish :cup:
Post by: danielhobby on November 14, 2011, 09:41:42 PM
no other bush boys?
Post by: Alesco on November 14, 2011, 10:45:07 PM
I'm a greedy bastard!! I have 3 :cheers:

60ltr Engel that I use as a Fridge, 39ltr 3 way Electolux that I use on gas as a freezer when set up for an extended stays, and a Cf50 49ltr Waeco that is used as a freezer for shorter stays.

I think between the Engel and Waeco, the Engel is more efficient.
 Its certainly tougher. It came off a ute at 60 klmh and cartwheeled down a sealed road. Although it looks a bit worse for wear, it still works perfectly :cup: Cant say the plastic Waeco would of faired the same :-*
Me three...
Dometic F/F 3way 50L, Finch Fridge 30L and Waeco CF18.
The Waeco did several rolls in the back of a Toyota Ute ::) - Lid broke off, bottom corner left looking at the compressor had a 1 1/2 inch lift. :o The compressor leg was bent up about one inch and the frame was also pushed up but it will freeze a cup of water on twelve volt from room temperature in approx 1/2 hour. ;D And I got it for free. Bit of panel beating and now sits on four legs. :cup:

Unfortunately I can't add these into the List for some reason.

Steve.
Post by: GGV8Cruza on November 15, 2011, 06:49:23 AM
no other bush boys?

Added to the list, vote away
Post by: Alesco on November 15, 2011, 07:37:10 AM
Added to the list, vote away
My mistake I should have said I can't vote - perhaps I already voted a while ago and can't remember.
If I did then the dometic and the Finch will be on the list.
Memory like a 10 inch gill net.
Post by: explorer on November 25, 2011, 11:17:44 PM
Hi there. I had a 50L Waeco that was great. Purchased one of those 80L Ebay ones - Easy Cool - and it is fantastic! For $742 I paid for it, delivered, it is truly a bargain. I have a Dometic in the van but the 80L stays in the car. When I go shopping I put it on before I go and throw all the frozen food in and it is already below Zero after a 15 minute drive.

There are some Yum Cha fridges around that look the same but the Easy Cool has a different compressor and a few other nicey's. Eg it has a lid for the 50L fridge section and a lid for the 30L freezer. You can take the lids off and they can both act as freezers or fridges. it doesnt use a lot of power either. Someone on Exploroz did a full review on it and gave it a big thumbs up.  :cheers:
Post by: Mexico on November 25, 2011, 11:30:56 PM
Waeco 80. Does the job with 2 adults and 3 kids. Plus it was a good price when we got it.
If I was to do it again, I would go for two 40l fridges.
Post by: danielhobby on December 03, 2011, 11:21:45 PM
must have voted before so my new bushboy doesnt get counted.
Post by: ondaboat on December 28, 2011, 12:42:49 AM
2x40L Engels for me. But no 3 is on its way for the new camper just have to decide what to buy....hmmmm
(http://s14.postimage.org/rfpmc2b4d/P1010191.jpg) (http://postimage.org/image/rfpmc2b4d/)

Regards Adam
Post by: FZJ on January 13, 2012, 02:33:16 PM
Just bought a new evakool 70lt (the yellow ones) and have had a down under 73lt icebox for 8 years.

The down under box is brilliant.We have just got back from a week away with every day over 30 deg and it was well over 40 in the annex a couple of those ( my thermometer goes to 43 and it was way above that).I loaded it with 3 servo blocks and 2 3lt frozen waters.I keep a wet towel on top all the time and a small rectangle of soundproofing rubber (about 15 mm thick) ontop and it works a treat keeping it cool. I drain the water off untill the last couple of days.There was still a small amount of ice  in the melted water and was 4 deg  on day 6.

The evakool had its maiden voyage as well in this heat.It was on 5 (out of 9) for 5 days keeping it in fridge freezer mode,then back to 3 for the last 2 days and still everything stayed frozen.Bloody brilliant.Had a wet towel on that as well,I reckon it helps quite a bit.
Post by: PradoProud on January 28, 2012, 05:23:56 PM
ARB
Post by: GaryV on February 04, 2012, 01:16:16 PM
Might be a bit off topic . I have a Waco in the van and an Engle on the drawbar and am constantly running them even when parked at home. Do any other swaggers do the same? I thought about turning them off and just running them  say once a month for a few days. What do others think?
Gary
Post by: Kimberley Mob on February 04, 2012, 07:44:24 PM
Got the 40lt Waeco
Went that way cause I managed to score a brand new one for free so no contest really
Then bought one of their CF11 to mount in between the front seats of the patrol so we always have cold drinks on hand (hey, it gets hot in the Kimberley what can I say)
Post by: Smokey2.8 on February 04, 2012, 09:28:00 PM
Might be a bit off topic . I have a Waco in the van and an Engle on the drawbar and am constantly running them even when parked at home. Do any other swaggers do the same? I thought about turning them off and just running them  say once a month for a few days. What do others think?
Gary

I understand it's always best to run a fridge all the time. I have always with all my fridges 12 and 240v. Never had a issue. Gas settles, deals go hard etc etc. More so Engels I have heard they don't like being sat idle off. 
Post by: Fun Police on February 05, 2012, 08:26:13 AM
Anybody have one of these and know what they are like??

http://www.techniice.com/2011/iceboxes/index_iceboxes_car_fridges.asp (http://www.techniice.com/2011/iceboxes/index_iceboxes_car_fridges.asp)
Post by: OffRoadDave on February 05, 2012, 01:07:42 PM

http://www.techniice.com/2011/iceboxes/index_iceboxes_car_fridges.asp (http://www.techniice.com/2011/iceboxes/index_iceboxes_car_fridges.asp)

No idea what they are like, they look they fell out the back door of the Waeco Factory, but since they don't say Danfoss compressor I would probably give it a miss.
Post by: maca76 on February 05, 2012, 01:21:49 PM

They are the same as these http://www.evakool.com/products?sprod=156 (http://www.evakool.com/products?sprod=156)
We have the 60lt version from EvaKool, had it over a year, no problems used it on about 10 camping trips. Thinking about buying the 30lt and use for a freezer for longer trips.

Cheers Ryan  :cheers:
Post by: cancan on February 05, 2012, 01:38:55 PM
We just purchased the 45lt version from evakool...havent turned it on yet, thats 2 weeks away but happy with the size and also that it came with the cover.
Cant see where I change my vote
Post by: Eamonn on February 12, 2012, 06:46:21 PM

I must say that I am an Engel man, I have have two x 32lt which nicely fits under the hard lid on my Hilux, this is mainly used as a freezer on Stockton or Fraser albeit any fishing trip to keep the bait. The other is a 60lt Combi for the Camper trailer I am currently building (check out EM Camper) which will be for you guessed it food. Also have a 40lt Evakool which is the Carlton Dry box.

Eames
Post by: matt150 on February 18, 2012, 03:54:24 PM
It really engel for me.

Mine has never missed a beat in 7 years. Only the little battery went flat on the temp gauge. $5 latter and ten mins effort and its purring like a kitten..
Post by: Mal.W on February 27, 2012, 02:28:55 PM
I have owned a 39Lt Autofridge since 1993. Has been a great fridge and still gooding strong. The only complaint I have heard from other Autofridge owners is they can be too cold, Even on minimum if left to run 24/7. I leave it running connected to the camper's battery (12volt only). Best fridge to keep the beer in at home.
Would buy another Autofridge without hesitation.  Next one will be the 75Lt.

Cheers Mal
Post by: offcampn on March 02, 2012, 09:03:45 PM

Scratch another one down for the Waecos , we have a 50ltr ( 6 years )  and a 80ltr ( 2 years ) and they have never missed a beat , norr tripped out , We have only had waecos so we can't compare , most friends have engels . If the beer and food are all cold and the ice cream still frozen then we are all happy  ;D ;D ;D

(http://i1197.photobucket.com/albums/aa433/offcampn/DSCF0610.jpg)

Post by: Dingo Master on April 14, 2012, 06:34:30 PM
My 50l Waeco has been very good to me !
on our recent trip to Fraser my mate was surprised by just home much it holds - it's like the Tardis
been a very reliable bit of kit
Post by: MDSimpson on April 14, 2012, 08:17:58 PM
We started with a second hand 30l Waeco, great little fridge. We upgraded to a Matson 60l, had some issues I thought were fridge related, but ended up being battery. The guys at Matson were VERY helpful and patient with me. Who says customer service is dead?

We still have both, but don't use the Waeco often, but the Matson lives in the Prado. 

Post by: bert56 on April 29, 2012, 06:40:14 AM
I've got 2 weaco's, the smaller 31ltr I use as a freezer and the larger 39 ltr as a fridge. Both work fine.

Bert
Post by: Milney on April 29, 2012, 08:40:05 AM
We run a 50ltr Waco which I reckon I have had for about 8 years and 60ltr primus which also been a good Fridge
Post by: MAch on May 01, 2012, 09:41:33 PM
Put me down for three, we always have take the Esky along, we have a 40 ltr Engel for the beer and a 60 ltr Evakool in the Trackabout..

Mark.
Post by: jd on May 01, 2012, 10:27:36 PM
We have a 50lt Waeco had for 5 years or so and can't fault it. Last year bought a 32lt to use as a freezer and works well. Little bit noisy compared to the Waeco. Can hear it from the camper at night when it is in the back of the car and the waeco is on the ground outside the trailer and don,t hear it. Have checked it out and compared to others and seems normal. Both work well, keep food and beer cold which is all i can ask!!! :cheers:
Post by: bert56 on May 02, 2012, 05:53:00 AM
I already voted for waeco, but i also have 4 eskys in the shed that are used occassionally.

Bert
Post by: madmax on May 05, 2012, 01:45:45 PM
I have 2 Engel's - a 39lt that is used regularly and a 32lt that sees occasional use as a freezer when space allows.

Plus a 52lt Tropical Icebox (orange one) for that stuff that always freezes in the beer (i mean food) fridge like cucumber, lettuce and tomatoes.

Post by: tjrobbo on May 05, 2012, 02:39:32 PM
I use a 60L trailblaza  I got second hand about 5 years ago and find it excellent. Nice and rugged for on the back of the ute when traveling and also at home on the farm. Hard to beat for rough treatment I'd say!
Post by: blackie66 on May 16, 2012, 07:51:11 PM
I love my fridgemate by evakool 95lt fridge freezer.wacht out for the bushman ,primus and co they have a copy of the Danfoss compresser names like damoss and polar compresser I have seen this close up in 12 volt repair shop notning like the German made stuff,
Post by: time on May 16, 2012, 08:14:34 PM
How can I put in a second vote.

Have had a Waeco 50l for 9 years, no problems touch wood (after replacing cig plug with an Anderson).

However, I have just bought a 40l Engel Eclipse to use as a freezer, the deal going at Rays recently was too good to resist!
Post by: CampAround on May 16, 2012, 10:19:30 PM
The esky will have to do for me till we an afford another $1500 for a 60lt engel (more than likely)
Post by: blackie66 on May 17, 2012, 11:39:21 PM
Waste of money( camparound)for the size they are over rated,check out evakool aussie made .for ..
Post by: CampAround on May 18, 2012, 07:16:44 AM
Thanks for the tip. I've looked at the evakool, actually an 80lt was offered to me by the trailer builder. $1500. I know it's 20lt bigger but I know a few people with Engels, 20 years old plus and they swear by them. I don't know anyone who has any other brand. Plus the Engels a metal case where as the evakool looks like a esky with a motor.

Not knocking the evakools, it's just with the little and limited research I have done if I am still going to spend $1500 I rather the engel. Thoughts??
Post by: Swannie on May 18, 2012, 08:51:25 AM
Thanks for the tip. I've looked at the evakool, actually an 80lt was offered to me by the trailer builder. $1500. I know it's 20lt bigger but I know a few people with Engels, 20 years old plus and they swear by them. I don't know anyone who has any other brand. Plus the Engels a metal case where as the evakool looks like a esky with a motor.

Not knocking the evakools, it's just with the little and limited research I have done if I am still going to spend $1500 I rather the engel. Thoughts??

Mate, at the end of the day its personal preference. I had my heart set on an engel and then viewed the ARB and thought it had a few things that suited me better like, controls at the front ( easier to adjust/view when secured in vehicle), simple removal lid ( great if your roof in vehicle is low), I like the fact that its has a drain plug, that the internal are all one and therfore a little easier to clean. But all in all a ARB, Engel, bushman,evacool, waeco will chill the contents so get the best for your situation.

Post by: fuji on May 18, 2012, 07:49:17 PM
I bought an Aldi for $299 today. Seems to work fine. It's only a drinks fridge and the 60 litre Engel for food. I'm happy. :D
Post by: D4D on May 18, 2012, 07:50:07 PM
I would put the beer in the Engel and the food in the Aldi fridge. You don't want to freeze your beer now do you!
Post by: blackie66 on May 18, 2012, 08:06:05 PM
I bought an Aldi for $299 today. Seems to work fine. It's only a drinks fridge and the 60 litre Engel for food. I'm happy. :D
thats  a 3way fridge  :-[ they struggle on hot days but not bad for $299 it will run for 20 days on a 9 kg gas bottle.
Post by: pmccar06 on May 18, 2012, 09:12:48 PM

I've got a 68 litre evacool. Bought it about 12 years ago. Not sure if they make that capacity now. Love it , no hassles. Phil
Post by: Old65 on May 23, 2012, 08:51:28 PM

Another vote for Engel.I have the SS80 Litre .It doesn't actually look much like an Engel and is the single compartment model.

Post by: Pipeliner on May 24, 2012, 07:38:15 AM
In the poll, delete one Waeco and add one Evakool.  Our Waeco CDF35 died recently and we swapped it for an Evakool Travelmate 30 - good value at $529 delivered and I love the fact that it has a digital temperature setting and display.  Getting the temperature right on the Waeco was always a hit and miss affair.  Now let's hope the chinese compressor in this one lasts better than the similar compressor in the Waeco!

We still have the 60 litre Evakool in the Odyssey - if we only had one fridge I don't think we would have bought such a cheap one, but as a second (drinks) fridge it is OK.
Post by: fuji on May 29, 2012, 06:13:15 PM
I have an Engel but recently bought an Aldi which isn't on the list.  :-[
Post by: GGV8Cruza on May 29, 2012, 07:24:49 PM
I have an Engel but recently bought an Aldi which isn't on the list.  :-[

Look again ;D

Post by: Havaroly on May 29, 2012, 08:09:24 PM
In the poll, delete one Waeco and add one Evakool.  Our Waeco CDF35 died recently and we swapped it

We've picked the  Waeco CDF-45 balancing between cost and size and crossed fingers it is going strong. Sorry to hear about your 35 Pipeliner, but you're right on the money about managing the temp levels. We have a small digital temp guage in the unit to help check the levels.

Post by: Hutch on May 29, 2012, 08:14:25 PM
I have a CF50 Waeco, would I buy another one, no. Hasn't been the greatest fridge. 4 warranty claims.

Hutch- 2012 Prado 150, some TJM Kit.
Post by: 02-SR5 on May 30, 2012, 03:12:55 AM
32l Engle here.

I am getting an ARB 45 when I get home.
Post by: 99disco on May 30, 2012, 04:45:34 AM
It's waeco for me. I've got a 10 year old cf50 that has run faultlessly so I've just ordered a cf40 for extra freezer space on a subs deal through 4wd action I just couldn't refuse.

Shane
Post by: fuji on May 31, 2012, 11:41:21 AM
Look again ;D

Ohhh GG you are good!
Post by: fourb on June 02, 2012, 04:39:19 PM
Waeco 40 litre
Engel 40 litre
trailblazer 110 litre
Post by: dooguss on June 04, 2012, 09:40:10 PM
60ltr engel combo in the prado and 60ltr engel fridge in the trailer. We bought 2 combos at the same time 1 for us and 1 for my olds and now after 9 years and 2 new motors the olds are in the hunt for a new fridge.
Post by: 1HDT on June 07, 2012, 03:32:02 PM

Vote Engel for me.
Post by: pigd4d on June 16, 2012, 07:24:13 PM
i have a waeco icebox for the drinks and a ARB fridge for the camper or the 4b
Post by: Tuco on June 20, 2012, 03:26:36 PM
Waeco CT110 in the 'van.
ARB 35L in the 'trol.
Evakool ED70 - no longer required (too big to use as just a freezer in the 'trol). Works great - run once a month. $600 ONO.

PM me if interested.
Post by: Daawl on June 28, 2012, 04:03:04 PM
Currently use a 40l waeco (this is a hand me down from the folks) for small trips, long weekends etc for the food but have to carry an esky for the drinks
On longer trips, a week or more we borrow a mates 80l Engle.

Both work but the waeco seems to freezing things at higher settings now, and appears to be gradually getting worse :(
Post by: HEM19X on June 29, 2012, 08:02:04 AM
Just bought 2 Waeco CF35's to go in the CT to go with the ARB 60L & Engel 32L... told the missus that we can not buy any more fridges as I'm only allowed 3 votes!!!!
Post by: BLKWDW on July 07, 2012, 09:14:05 AM
Ive had 2 evakools fail on me and as of this week its the 3rd. being a truck driver though my fridge runs 24/7 but its still no excuse if you ask me.
Post by: Mr Ploppy on July 07, 2012, 10:35:44 AM
Ive had 2 evakools fail on me and as of this week its the 3rd. being a truck driver though my fridge runs 24/7 but its still no excuse if you ask me.

Hey mate,

What model were they, and how did they fail?
Post by: Darren v on July 24, 2012, 08:09:12 PM
IVE HAVE 60 LTR ENGEL IN CAMPER 50 LTR IRONMAN IN CAR AS FREZZER ALSO A BUSHMAN 52 LTR IN CAR AS FRIDGE ALL FRIDGES HAVE WORK WELL ON A COUPLE BIG TRIPS I HAVE DONE LIKE CANNING 2010 ANNE BEADLE HIGHWAY 2010 SIMPSON DESERT NOVEMBER 2011 THAT WAS A BIG  TEST WITH TEMPS REACHING 50+ AMBIENT LOVE THE BASKET SYSTEM IN THE BUSHMAN LOVE THE PRICE ON THE IRONMAN AT $800 FOR 50LTR CANT BEAT THAT FOR VALUE FOR MONEY   :cheers:
Post by: Daggs on July 29, 2012, 04:47:55 PM
1x engel
1xchestcold
4xtrailblaza
Post by: toharves on August 03, 2012, 09:05:50 PM
We have a 60lt primes. Next week will be a real test for us and the fridge.
Post by: Mr Ploppy on August 16, 2012, 06:45:50 AM
We just purchased an Evakool rf60. Got a good price on it. I thought about getting 2 smaller fridges but price won out in the end.
Post by: NevandVicki on August 18, 2012, 08:56:02 PM
got two 39 ltr engles. One as a freezer, one as the fridge
Post by: UTE 701 on August 19, 2012, 08:27:59 AM
I bought an Ironman 50 to take on the recent Fraser trip .

Before I bought it though I picked the brains of the caravan Fridge mechanic near work , and he states that it is indeed a Waeco , just in different clothing .

I also checked that it is not old stock from waeco , as this happens alot with rebadged stuff .... you buy it new and then get it fixed to find out it is 5 year old when you bought it .

Anyway , It ran perfect and had no problems with it's battery consumption either . So I recommend them .
Post by: Black Diamond on August 19, 2012, 09:07:53 AM
I bought an Ironman 50 to take on the recent Fraser trip .

Before I bought it though I picked the brains of the caravan Fridge mechanic near work , and he states that it is indeed a Waeco , just in different clothing .

I also checked that it is not old stock from waeco , as this happens alot with rebadged stuff .... you buy it new and then get it fixed to find out it is 5 year old when you bought it .

Anyway , It ran perfect and had no problems with it's battery consumption either . So I recommend them .
yep I've got the same fridge and they run the danfoss just like the waeco, also had no issues and works faultlessy. I was originally looking for a waeco but picked the ironman up real cheap. The previous owner had one it in a comp and it was still in the box so I thought i can't go wrong for what I paid but it's been great :cheers:
Post by: MDSimpson on August 20, 2012, 11:34:26 AM
I have a small Waeco (31l) with a busted lid, but it still works, just need to strap down the lid to keep the seal.
I also run Matsen 60l fridge in my car 24x7. I had issues awhile ago, thought it was the fridge, but ended up being a battery performance issue. BUT, the customer service offered by Matsen was helpful and I found them easy to deal with.

Only issue with the fridge, no light in a 60l, and the lid opens on the long side, which I did not think of to start with, but the fridge slide I am building now, may need to have a swivel plate on it :)
Post by: Gra on August 21, 2012, 10:27:11 PM
I recently bought a 60l Evakool, great fridge. I still tend to use a little generic brand 3-way as well for extended stays in the one place. Food and kid's stuff live in the Evakool and drinks stay in the 3-way. Probably sounds a bit backwards but actually works well; 3-ways should only be operated by people who understand the "get what you want and get out" rule. In my house full of girls, that means me. And by reducing the choice of what is actually available in the fridge to either beer or Coke it stays nice and cold.

Gra
Post by: BrisVegasGolfer on August 22, 2012, 12:44:53 PM
Picking up my Engel MT45 this arvo. 

Bought a big Waeco CF110 second hand recently, but have figured out that it's just too big for our needs. 
Post by: Pebble on September 22, 2012, 10:37:18 PM
Last time we brought a new fridge we switched from a 60L Engel to a 45L Engel. After having an Evakool ice box for many years our latest purchase was a Evakool 60L, it's not as tall so suits the back of the troopy with sliding draws installed better. And for a not much larger footprint we get the bonus extra fridge space, which we're sure to use having two growing kids.

Only thing I'm keen to see is the power usage compared to the Engel. Will have to do some kind of test, running each with the same amount of stuff in it at the same temp for 24hrs or something.
I'm interested to know if anyone out there who has had both can give us an idea of how efficient they are in comparison? Well obviously I'd expect the Evakool to use a bit more than the Engel due to the size difference of 45L compared to 60. I'm hoping it might fall somewhere between what an engel45 and engel60 use. We will probably use it as a fridge only.
Post by: JBJ21 on September 30, 2012, 05:43:43 PM
I hav'nt posted here for a while well have been in hibernation :) now its spring time to start our camping trips .... Anyway we are considering of buying a Waeco 80lt fridge freezer would like some feedback on how good these units are.
Post by: JBJ21 on October 06, 2012, 09:09:18 PM
We ended up buying the waeco 50 lt use a our main fridge and a 40 to use as a freezer,instead of the 80lt we thought two units will be handier :)
Post by: moseyroc on October 14, 2012, 06:59:00 PM
57 litre Engel fridge/freezer
Post by: StrvnMrvn on October 20, 2012, 10:05:26 PM
Weaco 80lt fridge/freezer
Post by: Temora140 on October 23, 2012, 11:03:32 AM
We just bought a Engel MR40F, very happy with it.
Post by: booga on November 01, 2012, 12:43:05 PM
just brought me a Waeco CF110-AC first fridge, got it for $1100 through a friend of a friend who knows someone
Post by: nbd73 on November 01, 2012, 12:51:35 PM
just brought me a Waeco CF110-AC first fridge, got it for $1100 through a friend of a friend who knows someone
This post belongs in the "have you found a bargain" thread: well done booga, that's an absolute steal. Brand new?
Post by: booga on November 01, 2012, 01:08:06 PM
brand spanking, the old lady works somewhere that buys heaps of gear from them and apperantly due to the size of the order we get it at mates rates  :cup:

You know I saw them in BCF for like $1900 even when the website says RRP $1700, poor mug who buys one from there
Post by: Heathen on December 06, 2012, 11:31:32 AM
Ironman had a sale on about a month back and I picked up a 40L with a cover for $700. I dont know how I ever lived without it now.
I only have a single battey and it just cycles itself off and on depending on the battery voltage....just works as it should.
Post by: Tbombadelaide on December 08, 2012, 11:46:00 AM
chinese no name, 80 litre bounced to birdsville and back, yorke peninsular, flinders rangers, coorong, beachport. Hasnt missed a beat. $500 on ebay two years ago. Great buy!!!!
Post by: ewwreckers on December 17, 2012, 06:13:44 AM
Picked up our 40Lt Waeco that we got off evilbay for $400 yesterday, works a treat. Old mate only used it 3 times, got cover and everything.  We're happy campers now!  Then hubby mentions that at some stage next year we'd be looking at buying a 2nd one so we can use one as fridge, one as freezer, but for now we'll be going to buy a good esky.  Old mate says come through I think I can help ya.  Got a Lumina (Aldi) 3 way here you can have for $100.  Got home last night, had used the waeco on the 300k trip home, plugged the Aldi one in, and this morning she's nice and cold :D  Cheering!  After the problems we had with Techniice was great to finally get a bargain!
Post by: Hosko on December 24, 2012, 01:53:12 PM
Bought our Xmas present yesterday.Super Cheap Auto had Waeco CF-40 (so the older model) units for $600 so that's basically $400 off the original price. We did a run past BCF and a few other places and nothing could match it for that price/size and warranty. It has 5 years on the compressor whereas the CDF models only carried 2. The new generation CFX models also have a 5 year warranty but were over double the price of the this one for a 35 litre version.

Just need to get a bag for it now.

Next step. electrifying the CT with the Anderson plug...etc so that we have a battery to run the water pump and the fridge when on the move to the camping ground. Once there we have power but I do enjoy keeping things cool when on the move to get there.
Post by: kylarama on December 25, 2012, 05:55:16 AM
I was up in the shed last night getting out the large esky's for Xmas day and it dawned on me what I've accumulated for camping over the years.

65L Waeco ice box
105L Evakool ice box
35L Waeco 3 way fridge
60L Evakool 12v fridge
90L Dometic 3 way fridge (Jayco Eagle)

Not to mention all of the old tents, stoves and other assorted useless camping gadgets.  Time for a garage sale me thinks.
Post by: sea devil on December 30, 2012, 05:51:00 AM
Replaced my aging 60lt Waeco with a nice new Trailblazer 60 lt. The aux battery in the cruiser lasts a lot longer now.
Post by: RWS on December 30, 2012, 07:44:36 AM
Came across this fellow doing it tough on a section of corrugations between Musgrave Station and Coen...correct me if I’m wrong, that looks like an old Engel sitting on the back having its innards shaken loose.  :cup:

(http://i990.photobucket.com/albums/af28/RW__S/DSCF8875.jpg?t=1356696718)
Post by: Richie Rich on January 01, 2013, 07:48:01 AM

First vote in the New Year, I have a 3 way Chescold I think its about 38lt, all plastic construction. I have owned it for at least 12 years and is still going great. On a touring trip moving camp daily the fridge is average, not the best on 12v and always reconnecting the gas at every stop, however if camping at the one location for a few days and running on gas it's fantastic. It has a very basic operation and on occasions I have frozen stuff whilst on gas. if looking for a 3 way would not hesitate to recommend this brand. :D
Post by: kado on January 11, 2013, 09:16:27 PM
We have a Waco CF40 which we just got at Chrissie time for a bargain too. Haven't really tested it out yet besides keeping the drinks cold at home on 240v.

Also got ourselves an AldI special (GearUp) a couple of years ago too. It has served us well for the amount of money it owes us. Done what it said it would do so can't complain! Good value!
Post by: MY0080 on January 28, 2013, 01:12:54 PM
Ive had a Waeco 110 for about 2years. Not happy, it doesnt seem to keep up in the heat. The only reason I went for waeco was because Engel dont make anything bigger than 80L
Post by: SteveandViv on January 28, 2013, 03:05:13 PM
Ive had a Waeco 110 for about 2years. Not happy, it doesnt seem to keep up in the heat. The only reason I went for waeco was because Engel dont make anything bigger than 80L

Can I suggest you check the air flow or where you have the fridge positioned. Make sure there is plenty of flow. The heat generated by its self is huge let alone, add 60c in the confined space it is in in the camper of back of the car. Make sure the condenser fins are free of dust etc. I've added an additional fan to our fridges and while you can argue we shouldn't have to I do;t think they were ever designed to be housed in such small placed. A small fan positioned to blow air into the compressor area will fix the issues in no time.
Post by: MY0080 on January 28, 2013, 03:57:51 PM
Can I suggest you check the air flow or where you have the fridge positioned. Make sure there is plenty of flow. The heat generated by its self is huge let alone, add 60c in the confined space it is in in the camper of back of the car. Make sure the condenser fins are free of dust etc. I've added an additional fan to our fridges and while you can argue we shouldn't have to I do;t think they were ever designed to be housed in such small placed. A small fan positioned to blow air into the compressor area will fix the issues in no time.

Whether i leave the fridge in the car or put it under the awning of my camper (out of the sun), the error light comes on and shuts down
Post by: ewwreckers on January 28, 2013, 07:18:19 PM
After running it perfect at home, and once in the car, we had huge dramas with our Waeco on our trip!  Same problem as you have MY0080.  We have found that it need lots of room around it when running on 12V in the car, and it drains a battery alot quicker then we thought.  A couple weeks into the trip and we worked it out that when packing the back of the car, leave heaps of room.
Spoke to a guy up a Mackay and he had nothing but trouble with his Waeco, and my cousin had his on the back of his ute and he got the same error thing as us.  He moved it well away from his toolbox (after pulling it apart and checking it all out) and it's fine now.  They just sound like a really fussy fridge.
Post by: manjumup on January 30, 2013, 07:50:24 AM
 Hello EWWREACKER.....Yes..these WAECO fridges are FUSSY (i like your choice of words)..simply because they are top heavy with complex electronics (a maze of bloody circuit boards with a very high component count..that equals a high failure rate chance, "engineers" are not happy unless they are playing with these bloody components and pretty lights, just look at  phones etc  ,or the  new cars we have today)
     The good news is that, to over ride these problems with WAECO's shutting down and loosing you frozen meat etc, simply change to a capillary thermostat...this is very simple to do, and on most latter WAECOES's YOU DON'T NEED TO ALTER ANY PART OF THE FRIDGE IT'S SELF., it  is VERY  simple and most guys would be able to do it them selves
     NO. i'm not trying to sell anything, i'm just a retired LiC electrician out of the mining industry who has been P****d off with WAECO....  If anybody wants to chat about fridge problems,  you can call me on 044 8747  809 or,  winnebago10@bigpond.com ..i will send you a diagram if i have your email addy.  CHEERS   DENNIS  YATES.  JAN 30/2013.
Post by: crashbang on February 19, 2013, 09:27:38 PM
trips Dometic in Goldstream, Waco in Car.......over xmas or at local caravan parks add Bar fridge & Bar freezer.
Post by: DaveR on March 05, 2013, 11:17:45 AM
Must confess to not reading all 14 pages.
BUT
My Vote is Trailblazer.
I have had a fridge - freezer for 21 years, the only thing which has failed in it was a rectifyer which is used only when on 240 volt supply. Cost was $25 to fix.
It still works as good as the day I got it. Even gave it a polish last year.
It is an upright, 100 litre, with standard insulation.
Like to see a new "what ever" brand survive what this unit has.

EDIT BIT.
I have now read all 14 pages, yep, not much doing tonight!
Also, thermostat died on the trailblaza, getting a new one fitted now.
Post by: RobM on March 05, 2013, 01:13:10 PM
I have a 40L Chestcold Fridge/Freezer that I've had to replace the 12v element once in the last 28 years,  and now the 240v element is cactus. Fired it up on gas a couple of weeks ago, first time in over 4 years it has had a run. It managed to get down to about -4C in a shed that was 40+ C  so I'm not complaining.
If I thought the Domestic 3 way was as good I probably would have bought one instead of the Evakool.
At least I don't have to remember to put the beer in the fridge for the next day before I go to bed with the compressor fridge.

RobM
Post by: MIC78C on March 06, 2013, 07:27:38 AM
I have a few fridges, a couple of them I have "acquired" from my old man  :D
I have an old mustard coloured 60L and 40L ENGEL, that dad bought in 1981. The 40L is a bit noisy, but both still work great.
I have a Grey 60L ENGEL that I bought in about 1995, works like a champ, and a 40L ENGEL that is a 2009 model. I use it as my freezer whenever we go camping.

I also have a 2011 Ironman 30L fridge that I use all the time, it lives on the back seat of the 80, between the boys car seats. I use it the most, as my boys are both young (4yo and 2.5yo) and it has a big plastic latch to keep it closed. the boys can open it easily, and just let the lid fall to close it up properly. All my Engel fridges have that poxy metal latch that the boys can never (remember to??) hook back up.

Oh yeah, there is a WAECO 8L cooler/warmer that lives between the front seats in the 80. Mainly there as it has cup holders  :D

Post by: muzza01 on April 03, 2013, 08:24:37 PM
We take two fridges away with us.  We have a 95lt Evacool run on 12V and a Dometic 3 way fridge frezzer run on gas.
Post by: SambOz on April 17, 2013, 05:47:57 AM

An old 39l Engel since 1981, still works well, but a little noisy if you're sleeping to close to it.

Gets a run at Xmas as drinks fridge, never been near a service centre.

Uses plenty of power though.
Post by: Matt13 on April 17, 2013, 11:10:20 PM
I am having good results with twin lid Primus. Been working great in house fridges for many years why not the camp fridge.
Post by: chookduck on April 29, 2013, 07:15:58 PM
I bought a Liemack DT50 back in 1999 - still going strong.  I think Liemack became Reefer and then all kaput.  Lucky the fridge keeps on going - touch wood.

Chookduck
Post by: _Gecko_ on April 30, 2013, 09:14:41 AM
Another who didnt read the last 14 pages....

I have a GEARUP 3 way fridge and have loved it. It took a bit of a beating around tassie but keeps things nice and cold, heck even froze my milk a couple of times.
i figured with no moving parts there was less to go wrong on our round australia trip.
Next thing to get is a freezer though!
Gecko
Post by: myminirocks on May 03, 2013, 09:25:18 AM
Waeco CF 40, bought it on gumtree including the bag and genuine waeco slide for $600, 2yr old, very happy with that!

So far it has been excellent, kicking myself that I didn't ditch the esky years ago to be honest!
Post by: berlitza on May 24, 2013, 11:23:29 PM
Did have a prehistoric  3 was chescold now a 3 way gasmate will be updating to a arb plastic beast before summer hits thats for sure..
Post by: SteveandViv on May 25, 2013, 01:23:40 PM
Whether i leave the fridge in the car or put it under the awning of my camper (out of the sun), the error light comes on and shuts down

Just thought I'd post this, it may help. It is from the technical specification document for the compressor (DANFOSS) The errors are  not a Waeco thing as they only make the body that houses the gust and the IC Circuit board that runs stuff.

Cab you get hold of a small fan and try running it with the fan blowing on the condenser fins. If it runs you may want to have a look at the dust and stuff in the condenser fins and check the fan is spinning.

Post by: BadSeed on June 04, 2013, 07:03:05 PM
We run 2 50l Waeco's. One is about 8 years old and the other about 4. They have a few slight differences, the older one has a manual switch for the battery protection whereas the newer one is digital.
We run one at about -19 and the other at about 3. Never had a problem with either. Touchwood...
Post by: evolution on June 27, 2013, 10:46:34 PM
can we add a change vote option?
can we also add TechniIce to the list?

Evo
Post by: GGV8Cruza on June 28, 2013, 05:47:15 AM
can we add a change vote option?
can we also add TechniIce to the list?

Evo

Try it now, should be good for a change

Post by: Philbo on June 29, 2013, 08:37:30 PM
Well, I voted for my fridge and . . . nearly choked. Am I the only voter who has a Techni Ice? I was told they make a really good Esky and their fridges are pretty good to. also the price is spot on and they are Aussie made. Oh well. Robinson Philbo it is.  8)
philbo
Post by: nbd73 on June 30, 2013, 07:15:00 AM
Well, I voted for my fridge and . . . nearly choked. Am I the only voter who has a Techni Ice? I was told they make a really good Esky and their fridges are pretty good to. also the price is spot on and they are Aussie made. Oh well. Robinson Philbo it is.  8)
philbo
Don't stress about being in a singles club: only 2000 members have voted so there's a good chance there are lots of others with them out there. But if you treat the 2000 as a typical sampling (a la election polls) then yes you are in a minority. Never mind, if you're happy with it who cares if noone else owns one.
Post by: gibbo301 on June 30, 2013, 10:48:36 AM
Picked my 60lt Techni ice up from the post office on Friday $479.00 deliverd with a bag and a few other goodys works fine got to be happy for that price  :cheers:
Post by: Axl on July 20, 2013, 08:37:03 PM
I've just brought an Engel MR 40F Eclipse got it on special at BCF for $699, havent used it as yet as I am at work till next week, cant wait to get home and see how many XXXX cans I can fit in it :cheers:
Post by: Mattsglxr on July 27, 2013, 10:44:45 PM
40lt Engle (beer fridge) 150 lt dometic in the van for mum and kids ;D.
Post by: Kkperth on July 31, 2013, 11:08:00 AM
1st post ever! We have a 2010 ARB 47 litre and it works great. We liked:
- the groovy latches that makes the lid easily removable in the back of the car
- the auto switch between 240v & 12v (and no need for an external transformer)
- the drain plug makes it easy to clean
- ability to set the temperature and have a temp display (although there is quite a variance between the reading on the fridge and the temp inside at the top of the fridge so this needs to be managed)
- the reversible basket (although to be honest we have never spun it around to fit a long fish in it like the original promo photos)
- the dairy section above the compressor

We got the canvas travel bag with the deal and I lined the inside with Aircel (silver bubble wrap type insulation) left over from the shed. No idea if this improves the performance of the bag but it can't hurt. I also made an Aircel cover for the top of the fridge lid to keep the sun off the dark blue cover that absorbs a lot of heat when sitting in the back of the wagon.

I have read on this forum about the thermo thingy that has failed on original units. I have the old yellow readout so I am not sure if mine is one of these but so far so good. Anyone know after which serial number ARB switched to the new system?

Post by: dobbo on August 08, 2013, 12:35:12 PM
I've had a 60ltr Waeco for a few years now, no problem other that me not noticing the little red switch was on emergency setting and promptly freezing the wifes champagne:(
Just picked up a 35ltr Waeco off Fleabay to use as a freezer for next years big trip.
Post by: Brumbypt on August 08, 2013, 12:46:25 PM
Waeco 15lt

Thats big enough for a weekender..

Sold the engel 40lt that we took around aust to help buyin to a business

Now just happy to have a small one..

Tapa talker
Post by: Swaggie on August 11, 2013, 04:46:42 PM
Used an Evakool RF 60l fridge/freezer for over 5 years now, can be to efficiant over summer and low on amperage

Post by: 86gav on August 19, 2013, 01:46:41 PM
+1 for Ironman, picked up a 65L Dual zone today, so far it seems pretty good. Set it to -18 for the trip home (30mins) and it had alredy chilled to -4. Runs a Danfoss BD50 compressor and has a 5 Year worranty. Picked it up for $990 with a bag and wireless thermometer.

Gav
Post by: Young Camping Family on August 21, 2013, 10:35:46 AM
We bought the Lumina (Aldi) 40L 3-way fridge a few of years ago (3?).  Total thumbs up from us.
Main reason we purchased it (apart from the $299 price) was the fact that we camp without power, so a gas fridge was our only hope of anything above an esky.  We used our esky the first weekend we camped as a family and the frozen milk containers with water lasted 3 days.  I also don't have a large fridge/freezer at home so preparing enough frozen solid blocks proved a problem, and the ice blocks took up too much valuable space.
We set up the Lumina on mains power 2 days before we go with any refrigerated bits that we are taking to get it down to temp, then just before we go we add all the frozen meat together to the rear left (we found this is where the ice develops on the bars).  Using this method we can keep the meat frozen for a week on the gas (the meat does slowly defrost over that time) which I think is pretty brilliant for a cheap fridge that gets accessed all the time while camping (family of 4).  I've not had luck keeping lettuce in it though because it freezes occasionally (especially overnight) because it is not thermostatically regulated.  Best part is you can add stubbies and cans of drinks daily and actually chill them without warming up everything else like an esky does, which means that you don't need a huge fridge/esky.  Space for us is always an issue.
Without a doubt one of the best camping purchases we've made.
I just need to get the 12V cord replaced because earlier this year I may have accidentally ripped it out of the car without unplugging it first... oops.
Post by: ozstickman on August 25, 2013, 05:37:33 PM
I have a Waeco CF35 which I have had for years but it only really good for a freezer. It either just cools or freezes.  I have played with it heaps but with no luck to get it to Hoover anywhere 2 and 5 degrees but it either does -5 to -8 or 6 to 10.

I did purchase a Eclipse Engel 40lt today. Same guts as a normal engel but no temp gauge and plastic outside. For $35 I have a temp gauge which can be mounted anywhere and the fridge was oly $700 on special. Normally $800.

I use to have the 40lt Engels in all the last three trucks I've driven for my old boss. Can't fault them. The bloke that I help out on my days off has Engels too.
Post by: Steinzy on September 02, 2013, 07:51:41 PM
I have a engel 40l in the car, Electrolux in the jayco and have a evakool 70L fridge/ freezer for extra space.   Thermostat has been playing up on the engel....has anyone replace one before?
Post by: iantz on September 05, 2013, 10:08:53 PM
My last fridge died and I took the plunge and decided I'd buy a 60L Evakool Travelmate.  I'm picking it up tomorrow, and will be doing a test/write up on unboxing, power draw etc etc.  There doesn't seem to be much on them in terms of reviews that are unbiased.  So I decided to be a guinea pig... I'll post results in the electrical forum.
Post by: lindamc on October 18, 2013, 08:45:50 PM
just bought an ebay special, brand Glacio.  ;D    hope it works.
Post by: Burga on October 24, 2013, 12:48:19 AM
Have 1 x 45ltr engel and travel bag already thinking of getting a second fridge. Not sure if get same size or get one a bit bigger
Post by: Mrk on November 10, 2013, 09:59:15 AM
just bought an ebay special, brand Glacio.  ;D    hope it works.

And how have you found this?
Post by: mlbm79 on January 12, 2014, 11:34:30 AM
Just purchased a 60 litre evacool to replace 50l waeco any one interested? which we use as a food fridge and we use a 40l waeco as drink fridge in the camper and a 14l engel which i use as a smoko fridge and a day fridge all have been very reliable hopefully evakool will be the same
cheers ben
Post by: hargs on February 27, 2014, 10:06:52 AM
We are looking at one of these

http://www.aussiebatteriessolar.com.au/camping-caravan/portable-fridges/giant-power-45l-portable-fridge-freezer (http://www.aussiebatteriessolar.com.au/camping-caravan/portable-fridges/giant-power-45l-portable-fridge-freezer)

Post by: martyst on March 01, 2014, 03:52:14 PM
We have got a Primus  65Lt  dual zone, swapped it thru work for a few RDOs accumulated. Very happy with it so far in that it can be 2 x freezers, 2 x fridges or fridge/freezer, was also impressed how you can shut down one side completely and run the other side by itself to save battery power not cooling both sides. And as a bonus it fits on a slide in the tray of  the camper. :D
Post by: Mace on March 01, 2014, 04:12:55 PM
Aldi and Lumina need combining, they are the same fridge.
Post by: xmongrelx on March 20, 2014, 09:17:42 AM
Waco CF35 had it for ten years plus in the truck  and the camper.
Still works great except for the press button temp gauge starting to fail.
Post by: HuskyInAuz on March 20, 2014, 07:57:50 PM
A response from a post on this thread from long time ago that was made, 'what's the point?'  There is a very useful organization with thousands of members called "SSCA, Seven Seas Cruising Association" and there is an Equipment List Survey compiled about every 3-5 years which the organization members contribute users experiences too.  The list entails hundreds of areas and rates reliability, service, prices, etc which folks use in purchasing decisions.  Like off-roaders, having a kit that fails offshore or off the road kilometers away from support or service can be trying or devastating.    Although it is marine cruising (sailing/boating) specific, I hope something similar is generated by consumers/clubs for land touring.   SSCA only assembles the information and distributes to the club members and is not liable..
Just a thought.
Post by: DrewXT on March 21, 2014, 11:25:30 AM
Looking at the Dobinsons (read: Ironman, Evakool IB50, Primus, Powertech/Jaycar) 50L at the moment - seem to be very well priced, and one of my mates is a Dobinsons dealer :)

I did have my sights set on an ARB 60L, but I can buy two Dobinson fridges for the price of one ARB, not to mention the 3 year component and 5 year Danfoss compressor warranty, vs 3 year on the ARB

Probably going to make my own tilt slide as well - can't really justify the $400+ that Dunn and Watson/Basha charge for 2 drawer slides, 2 gas struts and some angle!!
Post by: Rokcam on March 21, 2014, 09:15:28 PM
So much research, now just decide Drew, maybe you will have one for summer next year. I reckon net4x4 will help. Must say my ARB is great

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

Post by: DrewXT on March 21, 2014, 10:55:20 PM
LOL .. Thanks Cam.... :-)

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

Post by: Big Damo on April 04, 2014, 08:34:23 PM
Lucky enough that the wife talked me into getting 110 litre Everkool about a year ago.
Wouldn't fit in the boot so needed to buy a camper trailer to take the fridge any where.
How friggin lucky was that
Post by: 2impulsiv on April 06, 2014, 12:53:35 AM
I've got two 40 litre gold Engels. We brought them around April last year and I only just un-boxed the second one a couple of weekends ago to run as a freezer while testing my power set up in the CT. I only brought two because I had just received my yearly bonus from work and couldn't decide on a combo or two separate units.

The first one I un-boxed is plugged in all year round and stores my amber delight. ;)
Post by: MrPlow. on April 11, 2014, 07:49:09 PM
Have a CFX40 Waeco - bloody brilliant fridge (I was very sceptical about spending so much to start with, but I think it's worth every cent now - 30% discount helped ;))

Cant believe how quiet it is - had it next to my bed during our last camp out and i could barely hear it operating, and power consumption is very low.

Considering buy a second bigger one for the camper to act as a freezer.
Post by: camperd4d on April 15, 2014, 07:14:17 PM
we are running an engel 60ltr combo,so far its been very good..
Post by: 92HDJ80 on April 20, 2014, 06:58:30 PM
Trusty Evakool, had it for about 8 years now. never had any problems at all.
Post by: jimbodeluxe on April 21, 2014, 04:55:15 AM
can't vote on tapatalk :(

generally, 31 ltr waeco w/- built in battery for food, 40 ltr technice esky for drinks, dirty old and repaired 25 ltr coleman for fish ..
Post by: autoelecau on April 23, 2014, 11:17:47 AM
For my personal kit, I use a 55lt Waeco Esky for weekends, (it helps when you have an icemaker) and I have a Waeco 35lt (I think?) absorption fridge on gas for when I'm going to be a while in the bush (this hasn't happened for a long time). On day road trips I use a Waeco thermoelectric bag that has a fan in it to circulate the cool air inside (I still can't get over how much better that model is with the fan than the ones without the fan!)

Personally, if I went for a compressor type, I would likely go for the cheapest around with the best warranty. Might happen yet ;)
Post by: Hairs on May 01, 2014, 06:24:12 AM
We have just recently given the 3 way Chescold 50lt & 3way 33 finch the flick after years of good service for a Fridgemate 60lt Fridge/Freezer(by Evakool).
This, with our 90lt 3way in the camper suits our needs now well.
Great for long stays, hooked up to the deep cycle batteries and solar panel of for over night stays plugged into the second battery in the cruiser.
Very happy with it  ;D
Post by: chisel on May 22, 2014, 09:37:38 AM
Just upgraded from a Waeco CF50, which has been really good for a number of years, to a Primus Mammoth 92L dual-zone.  No more fridge space issues!!
Post by: Pradolot on May 23, 2014, 01:52:17 PM
Primus 65 ltr dual Zone.    Best thing I ever bought. I researched for months before buying my first fridge (as I do everything :/)and came up with this result. It's actually running inside now as a freezer because my house one broke......like a few months ago...  Still going strong.
Post by: Odog on May 31, 2014, 10:27:39 AM
We use a Waco cf50 in the car, and have, I think it must be about 50lt upright fridge with small freezer in the camp trailer, which is also a Waco.
Post by: MrsRenno on June 07, 2014, 10:29:43 AM
Upgrading from an Engel 40l to a National Luna 90L.
Post by: aussie9 on June 07, 2014, 10:32:43 AM
Ironman 50lt. Can't fault it after 3 years

Post by: Brinck on June 13, 2014, 03:34:18 PM
Waeco in the vehicle (still going strong after 8 years) and Evakool in the Quantum. No problems with either (oops just jinxed myself   :D)
Post by: Daz100 on June 13, 2014, 03:40:17 PM
Engel - 38 litre I think it is - I have an additional piece to add on top

so can freeze on bottom and cooler in the top section

got it off a mate about 5 years ago - it is prob about 10-15 years old now - doesn't miss a beat

cheers daz
Post by: Bullant4x4 on June 13, 2014, 04:37:25 PM
Evakool RF110lt (White fiberglass).

Brought it in a deal package. Got the 110lt with the extras and the 85lt icekool (Blue) for $1350 in 2013.

Best fridge I have had. 0 setting using it just as a fridge keeps the beer around 1.2-2 degrees.
Post by: RallyDog on June 13, 2014, 04:56:09 PM
39 ltr Engel in back of car and 60 ltr sitting in the shed.
Post by: wartim on June 13, 2014, 09:51:10 PM
Evakool were doing real good deals at the 2014 Brisbane Caravan and Camping show.  The 70l Fridgemate was selling for only $899 which is $100.00 cheaper than when I bought mine from there 2 years ago.

Apparently they are upgrading as current model has been around for awhile now and are getting rid of excess stock????  Didnt let on too much, just said different colour, same compressor, same insulation etc.  I asked if going to digital temp adjustment and they said they were.

Anyway my 70 litre fridgemate works well so you may be able to get a good deal from Evakool before current model stocks runout.  Sorry I didnt ask about the fibreglass fridges.
Post by: Iron Bark Hak on July 15, 2014, 12:14:34 PM
I have a mobicool a cheap Kmart job with Waeco internals I've had for about 5   it's out lasted 3 4wd as still going strong
Post by: Coolblue80 on July 24, 2014, 05:30:02 AM
We have a 80l Primus.  Great fridge.  Used to have a 650 Oz trail which served us well. Upgraded for a bit more room.
Post by: Big Damo on July 24, 2014, 07:32:08 PM

Brought it in a deal package. Got the 110lt with the extras and the 85lt icekool (Blue) for $1350 in 2013.

Best fridge I have had. 0 setting using it just as a fridge keeps the beer around 1.2-2 degrees.
I agree these fridges are great but doesn't fit in the boot of the Falcon :'( that's what happens when you let the wife decide how big the fridge should be.
Damo
Post by: Bullant4x4 on July 24, 2014, 07:36:35 PM

I agree these fridges are great but doesn't fit in the boot of the Falcon :'( that's what happens when you let the wife decide how big the fridge should be.
Damo

All good, just trade in all 3 and start again :D
Post by: letsgoplaces on July 24, 2014, 08:16:47 PM

Hold your horses..... there's no need to trade the fridge  ;D  >:D
Post by: Big Damo on July 24, 2014, 08:49:44 PM
Calm down if it wasn't for the big fridge would not have needed to buy the Lifestyle camper with walkway large enough for the fridge and toolbox large enough for the fridge. So win win if you ask me now to go and buy another 110 litre everkool to fill both spaces lol
Damo
Post by: affubilbok on October 23, 2014, 08:29:31 PM
Evakool 60l

Post by: Agent009 on November 12, 2014, 12:49:43 PM
So, I'm close to biting the bullet and picking up a fridge as an early Xmas present to myself :)

Can't decide between:

1) Waeco CFX-40 ($899 with protective cover) (or I can buy it $750 today as BCF have a special)
- Interior LED light with magnetic switch
- USB charging port (to charge phone etc)
- LED control panel

2) Engel MR40F Eclipse ($699)
- No interior light
- No USB charging
- No LED control panel

Anyone got anything to push me either way :D
Post by: Swannie on November 12, 2014, 01:28:04 PM
Yep go grab a ARB fridge :)

Post by: Darren253 on November 12, 2014, 04:00:38 PM
So, I'm close to biting the bullet and picking up a fridge as an early Xmas present to myself :)

Can't decide between:

1) Waeco CFX-40 ($899 with protective cover) (or I can buy it $750 today as BCF have a special)
- Interior LED light with magnetic switch
- USB charging port (to charge phone etc)
- LED control panel

2) Engel MR40F Eclipse ($699)
- No interior light
- No USB charging
- No LED control panel

Anyone got anything to push me either way :D

I've owned an Eclipse and a Waeco (110ltr) and i'd probably buy the Waeco again. Though I think the engel is slightly more reliable and robust (don't hear  anout anywhere near the electronic promlems) I like the thermostat feature. I have frozen the eggs more thimes than i care to admit in the Engel.
Post by: Agent009 on November 12, 2014, 04:13:19 PM
Hmmm...BCF also have this at $599:
http://www.bcf.com.au/online-store/products/Companion-Fridge-Freezer-45L.aspx?pid=362104#Cross (http://www.bcf.com.au/online-store/products/Companion-Fridge-Freezer-45L.aspx?pid=362104#Cross)

Post by: Agent009 on November 12, 2014, 09:22:33 PM
Too many options. This one looks pretty damn good:
http://www.techniice.com/car-fridges-1/ss-fridge-60l-dual-6hdr.html (http://www.techniice.com/car-fridges-1/ss-fridge-60l-dual-6hdr.html)

Post by: Agent009 on November 13, 2014, 11:55:18 AM
Hi folks, sorry for multiple posts.

I've just started discussing a new fridge with my better half and she's set on something with a proper dual zone so we can run fridge and freezer at the same time with different controls for the two sections.

But we don't want anything bigger than 60L. Is the Primus Mammoth 65L dual zone our only option?

http://www.tentworld.com.au/products/fridge/item/primus-mammoth-65l-dual-zone-fridge-freezer.aspx (http://www.tentworld.com.au/products/fridge/item/primus-mammoth-65l-dual-zone-fridge-freezer.aspx)

What is the feedback on this fridge and dual zones?

Thanks again swaggers!!
Post by: Ironman 4x4 on November 13, 2014, 01:35:57 PM
Hi folks, sorry for multiple posts.

I've just started discussing a new fridge with my better half and she's set on something with a proper dual zone so we can run fridge and freezer at the same time with different controls for the two sections.

But we don't want anything bigger than 60L. Is the Primus Mammoth 65L dual zone our only option?

http://www.tentworld.com.au/products/fridge/item/primus-mammoth-65l-dual-zone-fridge-freezer.aspx (http://www.tentworld.com.au/products/fridge/item/primus-mammoth-65l-dual-zone-fridge-freezer.aspx)

What is the feedback on this fridge and dual zones?

Thanks again swaggers!!

Hey Mate,

We (Ironman 4x4) also do a dual zone fridge thats 65L. We love them and they are our best selling fridge for a reason! Convenience and space!
Post by: Rodt on November 14, 2014, 06:09:13 AM
Waeco CF80 (thanks to Barnray) for short trips

EasyCool 110Ltr for the longer trips
Post by: Big Damo on November 19, 2014, 07:18:48 PM

Definitely agree got the same fridge turned to 1 on the dial freezes water but beer stayed wet and cold. the fridge side was then perfect for all the fruit and veg
Post by: fishfinder on November 27, 2014, 06:51:42 AM
Definitely agree got the same fridge turned to 1 on the dial freezes water but beer stayed wet and cold. the fridge side was then perfect for all the fruit and veg
who sacrifices beer chilling space for fruit and vegies ?
Post by: Agent009 on November 30, 2014, 01:54:35 PM
I pick up my Fridge on Wednesday. After a lot of research and looking at a lot of brands/models I have gone for the 65L Primus Mammoth Dual Zone. Tentworld want $100 for the insulation cover.  For owners of this fridge, do you have the cover and is it worth it?
Post by: BBwilly on November 30, 2014, 02:34:28 PM
I pick up my Fridge on Wednesday. After a lot of research and looking at a lot of brands/models I have gone for the 65L Primus Mammoth Dual Zone. Tentworld want $100 for the insulation cover.  For owners of this fridge, do you have the cover and is it worth it?

I would say the Primus comes out of the same factory that Evercool has theirs coming out of nice looking unit though liked the colour, I got the cover for the Evercool more for protection in all honesty so it doesn't get scratched your spending that kind on $$ why not just get the cover anyway it should also help it keep cool I would think but not sure if their is any stats to back that up.

I have the 80L quite large  just put it on for the first time today took 15mins for it to get from 32c to 0c (empty) and is very quite i think the primus will be no different.
Post by: Agent009 on November 30, 2014, 02:40:28 PM
Thanks mate. I might get the cover and use it for travel only. I think the Primus looks quite cool from an aesthetics perspective. The cover (from what I've seen online) looks to be plain grey with no primus wording or anything which is disappointing
Post by: BBwilly on November 30, 2014, 02:45:34 PM
Thanks mate. I might get the cover and use it for travel only. I think the Primus looks quite cool from an aesthetics perspective. The cover (from what I've seen online) looks to be plain grey with no primus wording or anything which is disappointing

Bit like this one :-)

Post by: Agent009 on November 30, 2014, 02:56:08 PM
Pretty close by the looks of it!
Post by: Vitara_JaycoSwift_Outback on November 30, 2014, 06:19:04 PM
My lovely SWMBO bought me an early Christmas present and got me this http://m.bcf.com.au/Product/Companion-Fridge-Freezer-45L/362104 (http://m.bcf.com.au/Product/Companion-Fridge-Freezer-45L/362104)

Loving the wireless remote and in a 10min trip home she cooled down to 7 degrees. Seems fairly power hungry compared to Waecos and Engels but we are very rarely away from a proper power source
Post by: Agent009 on December 06, 2014, 01:44:49 PM
Picked up my primus 65L dual zone today! Quick question, how long should it take for a fridge to cool? I plugged it in around 15min ago and the left side was 23 and the right side was 21. I set them both to 3 degrees yet 15min later the left hand side is only on 21 and the right hand side is still on 21 also. Is this normal?
Post by: Swannie on December 06, 2014, 03:12:52 PM
Have you put anything cold in them?
Post by: Agent009 on December 06, 2014, 04:32:56 PM
It was empty. Took about 45min to get to 3 degrees which is ok? Filled it up with hot beer jammed pack and two hours later it's 17 degrees both sides....

This is my first fridge like this so don't know if that's normal?
Post by: Cage on December 07, 2014, 06:26:07 PM
Just bought an EvaKool 55 Litre Fridgemate Fridge/Freezer.

Bought it direct from Evakool, as a 'Second", but the young lady I spoke to told me it wasn't a second, just a  'Run-Out Model' as they are changing the cabinet colour from 'Yellow' to 'Grey'.

Ran it today, empty, and it went from 30°C, ambient,  to -3°C in about 3 hours.

I'm seriously chuffed!

$799.00, including a free 240v/12v adaptor. Not too many left, but worth a look at.

run-
out' model
Post by: peterdeg on December 09, 2014, 12:04:25 PM
Also have a Repco 3-way
Post by: mr smith on December 09, 2014, 08:20:21 PM
Love my bushman 4 days on 120ah Agm on 1deg

Post by: Agent009 on January 09, 2015, 03:26:56 PM
Couldn't be happier with my Primus Mammoth 62L Dual Zone....don't think I could go back to one without a proper dual zone!
Post by: fishfinder on January 09, 2015, 03:46:39 PM
should have the poll so you can pick more than 1 option as I take a 60ltr companion in the tug the camper has a Dometic also take an esky and when going to powered sights we also take a Westinghouse bar fridge
Post by: banksy69 on January 09, 2015, 04:51:01 PM
60l Trailblaza - 11 years old
Lives in the back of a ute, Its done over 400 000 km, chilled 400 000 stubbies, and given 4 000 hangovers.
No problems apart from the hangovers.

Post by: oldmate on January 09, 2015, 05:13:42 PM
60l Trailblaza - 11 years old
Lives in the back of a ute, Its done over 400 000 km, chilled 400 000 stubbies, and given 4 000 hangovers.
No problems apart from the hangovers.

I'd take it back and get one that doesn't give hangovers, what a rip off ;D :cheers:
Post by: xcvator on January 28, 2015, 11:43:47 AM
Don't suppose anybody has got one of these http://www.techniice.com/car-fridges-1/ss-fridge-80l-dual-6hdr.html  (http://www.techniice.com/car-fridges-1/ss-fridge-80l-dual-6hdr.html)
if so can you give me a bit of feed back please
Post by: Malooski on January 30, 2015, 05:51:07 PM
1 x 40L Engel for the grog, 1 x 32 litre Engel for the food and 1 x 32 litre Engel as a freezer (Ice for the bourbons, zooper doopers for the kids!)
Post by: rastus on February 06, 2015, 02:03:31 PM
engle 60lt and plastic engle 40lt couldnt be happier
Post by: Barry G on February 14, 2015, 04:48:26 PM
Just added a Bushman (for her car) to my Autofridge.
Just under 100 litres combined.
Will run the Autofridge as a freezer and the Bushman as a fridge.  :D
Post by: slydar on February 19, 2015, 06:06:43 PM
waeco, but only for the price against the engel - they chew up more power (we run purely solar for a month in summer) and are all plastic

not that any of this is a problem - we have enough solar to last for 3-4 overcast days and we don't sit or stand on our fridge...
Post by: Parra-gq on March 18, 2015, 08:11:32 AM
we have a stainless 40lt engel. absolutely brilliant fridge!
Post by: dales133 on March 18, 2015, 08:15:49 AM
40L Engel with 2 Zone...
Bill and Morag
Witch model 40 engel has 2 zones?
Post by: gqpatrol15 on March 19, 2015, 01:26:26 PM
I have a cdf-11 and a cf-40 Waecos I'm stoked with both if they ever play up I'll get an Engel
Post by: Swogjb on March 28, 2015, 09:16:33 PM
I purchased a Trailblaza Bute Ute 46litre RC special for the back of the new dual cab.

Went this way beacause it will be on the back of the ute for a fair bit of the time without a canopy & also it is nice and low, so ya don't have to lucky dip every time a beer is needed.

Super impressed with the build quality  :cup:, and although haven't done any power consumption readings, the thing hardly ever cuts in due to its 75mm insulation.
Post by: Banjo16 on March 29, 2015, 07:09:57 PM
Have a 50 Lt Ironman & needed a second fridge, so after a lot of research we brought a new Engle Eclipse ($699 3 years Warranty)

The Engle works well but I have to say that the Ironman is just as good & weighs some 5 Kg less & is a lot quieter.

Just my 2c worth.
Post by: Sixpack on April 20, 2015, 08:24:42 PM
G'day follks I have a 60 litre Engel and it works great.  I am a strong believer that if a fridge keeps the beer cold no matter what it's brand, it is a bloody great fridge in my words.

Post by: Darren Smart on May 13, 2015, 09:13:58 AM
We had Alan, one of the owners of EvaKool in here at Lifestyle yesterday - he is a great guy and very customer focused - we use their product a lot and to date have had very few issues - they get my vote  :cup:
Post by: wehavebush on June 23, 2015, 08:04:43 PM
As I have just bought a camper trailer, I needed a fridge. So have been researching, reading forums, reading reviews, asking campers, and to be honest, I was more confused than when I first decided to buy a fridge. With all the brands out there, I found there to be good and bad reviews on all brands. So for price and after reading Camper Trailer Touring mag, as they done thorough testing on 12 of the top fridges and the Waeco CFX came 1st, I went with the 50ltr. Plus Anaconda have great specials on at the moment, got Waeco cover for fridge half price and free stuff as Waeco have a promotion going. Will be testing it out in 2 weeks.
Post by: markeaust on October 20, 2015, 05:42:03 PM
Bonus today....

Got myself another Autofridge....for FREE..... ;D ;D ;D

Seller stated it only cooled a little bit and the person who bought it decided he didn't want it.  Was going to be chucked out on the hard rubbish.

Bunged it in the shed on the power supply and thermometer inside.  Within 2 hours, went from 19C down to 4C, so I'm guessing it's working.  going to leave it on all night and check it out in the morning....expect to see about -9C empty.

Might just be a good addition to the 73l Autofridge and 21l Engel.....  :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: ;D ;D ;D

A great day seeing I also picked up a working Codan X-2 HF radio and 9350 Autotune for $200...the man's on a roll.... >:D

UPDATE:  After 15 hours, fridge sitting at -19.8C empty.  I think it works...... :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:
Post by: samo on November 15, 2015, 07:16:23 AM
had the waeco cf60 for 5 years and its going well, and had the engel 42 (flash gold 1) for 3 years and what can I say its an engel. cheers samo
Post by: Craig Tomkinson on November 26, 2015, 08:18:09 PM
Hi All, My Dad bought a 100lt Trailblazer freezer 20 to 25 years ago it spent 3 to 4 months a years up Cape York camping with Dad, when dad passed away I ended up with it I have had it the past 7 years, and out of them years I have had it up the Cape 4 times for 4 months and the rest of the times when it is at home for weeks at a time I use it as a bait freezer, And its still going strong as far as I know never been back to be fixed, Also in 1987 he bought 2 x 60lt chestcold fridges they have spent years traveling the top end and I still have them and they work fine, I think it comes down to if you look after them they look after you, Craig   
Post by: bmwfreak on December 21, 2015, 01:04:05 PM
Waeco CF50, which we have had for 2.5 years and Engel 21ltr (I think, as it came with the camper).

Changed options to suit current. Waeco is still going strong, used as a freezer (-16c). The small Engel went when we sold the CT, but we scored a 45ltr Engel which the SIL had decomposing in a farm shed. It had a hole in the internal tub which a bit of epoxy ribbon sorted, and it has been going strong, though noisily, for the last 18mths. Lastly, the 130ltr Bushman in the van is a gem.
Post by: two up on December 21, 2015, 01:41:16 PM
Engle 40l, had to get the compressor/condensor etc replaced in Kunanurra last year when it failed, apparently there was a bad batch 7 or so yrs ago when I bought it. 30l powertech which gets used as a freezer from time to time.
Post by: Ozsnowman on December 22, 2015, 09:30:23 AM
Changed my vote to include my Companion 60l fridge.
Post by: crappsy on December 26, 2015, 03:02:12 PM
Just picked up a primus 45Lt from the snake shop.
From 17 deg to -18 deg in 1h on 240volt empty
Post by: jeffr on January 27, 2016, 04:06:56 PM
I have two ARB Fridges, a 49ltr fridge in the van and 79ltr unit in the ute.
Post by: DaveR on February 18, 2016, 03:56:07 PM
Companion Fridge, 65 liter, dual zone.
Has anyone got experience with this model.
Any good?
Post by: markeaust on May 03, 2016, 09:31:08 PM

Barry

Barry...just got myself another FREE 39l Autofridge.... ;D ;D. Picked it up as a no-goer.  Found the broken wire, repaired it and -19c overnight..... Now I have 2......😁😁😁😁
Post by: Hopwrecked on May 21, 2016, 12:39:46 PM
Companion Fridge, 65 liter, dual zone.
Has anyone got experience with this model.
Any good?
I got the 60 for $699. It's good on the low fan setting. On high fan it's really pretty thirsty. Battery is staying at 100% now I've got a 120w panel connected and a ctek dc to dc 250.

The companion is tall, too tall for my first CT build without going for a custom tent. So I've been on the look out for a shorter fridge-no more esky.

On Wednesday night I picked up the new Waeco 95 dz2. It's still on sale at anaconda. I got it for $1350. RRP is around $1850. It's a short unit with double doors and a 55/45 split size. Each side can be turned off. Has wifi, Bluetooth would make more sense to my mind but we will see once used in anger.

Got to say it's worth waiting for the sales, just give yourself a few months and subscribe to the email lists. The savings aren't small and will pay for a top shelf battery etc.
Post by: DaveR on May 21, 2016, 12:53:16 PM
Ummmmm???
Why would a fridge need WiFi?

Sent from my ZTE T83 using Tapatalk

Post by: jwb on May 21, 2016, 04:40:19 PM
Controls ?

Post by: Hopwrecked on May 23, 2016, 09:47:18 PM
Yeah it has its own app that controls it. But will that even work out bush, wouldn't blue tooth be needed to control it on the road? If it's works when traveling then bonus. It was a factor in selecting it.
Post by: glos5 on May 23, 2016, 10:40:15 PM
Had an Engel 39 lt for about 28 years never been any trouble, has sometimes been left not running for several months. Thinking about adding a 40 lt dual zone as well.

Sent from my SM-P605 using Tapatalk

Post by: jackriley on June 13, 2016, 09:18:45 AM
As I have just bought a camper trailer, I needed a fridge. So have been researching, reading forums, reading reviews, asking campers, and to be honest, I was more confused than when I first decided to buy a fridge. With all the brands out there, I found there to be good and bad reviews on all brands. So for price and after reading Camper Trailer Touring mag, as they done thorough testing on 12 of the top fridges and the Waeco CFX came 1st, I went with the 50ltr. Plus Anaconda have great specials on at the moment, got Waeco cover for fridge half price and free stuff as Waeco have a promotion going. Will be testing it out in 2 weeks.

How's the CFX 50 going? I'm looking at getting one?
Post by: Ragman on September 15, 2016, 12:14:06 AM
from an engineering point off view I love the EvaKool 70L big rugged box with a removable divider for freezer/fridge
and the compressor and condenser is external.

we also have a 32L engel which goes in the car.
Post by: jonboy62 on September 25, 2016, 09:36:52 AM
I am wondering if anyone can help me. I have a Reefer fridge, made by Refrigeration Research in South Australia, and have lost the 12volt DC lead. Does anyone know where I could possibly find a replacement. They are not compatible with other 12v leads, having a polarized 2-pin plug and the company dissolved several years ago.
Post by: KingBilly on September 25, 2016, 09:54:30 AM
I am wondering if anyone can help me. I have a Reefer fridge, made by Refrigeration Research in South Australia, and have lost the 12volt DC lead. Does anyone know where I could possibly find a replacement. They are not compatible with other 12v leads, having a polarized 2-pin plug and the company dissolved several years ago.

Thought most plugs were polarised.  Doubt a local SA company would have designed and manufactured their own specific plug.  Got a photo of where it plugs in?

Post by: jonboy62 on September 28, 2016, 11:02:57 AM
This is a photo of the socket for the Reefer Fridge. The 12v DC is the lower socket
Post by: peterdeg on September 28, 2016, 11:47:40 AM
You could try asking the folk at http://au.element14.com/ (http://au.element14.com/) - they have 907 different plugs in their online catalogue.

(Mind you, they couldn't help me when the socket on my generic 3-way fridge failed, so I replaced it with a merit socket and built my own power cable)
Post by: Bushman_Craig on October 11, 2016, 11:16:08 AM
I've got a nice old 1970s Aussie-made 3-way Chestcold (AKA Chescold) RT40 which is a great old unit. I don't see any reason to update it as yet.

I have a couple of army hotboxes I use as beer eskies on shorter trips as well as a couple of vintage steel eskies, including a "Staykold" which doesn't ;-) I think I need to renew the seal on that one.
Post by: battingpig on December 06, 2016, 11:21:12 PM
Bushman in back of 4wd, 17 litre waeco btn front seats of 4 WD.

Post by: Throbbinhood on January 11, 2017, 09:25:25 AM
6th Gear 50 Litre, happy with it so far, no complaints.
Post by: hawks667 on January 11, 2017, 05:47:54 PM
Waeco CF50 lives in the back of 4WD on a slide....replaced the Thermister cable last year after 5 years of faultless service....Been great since.
Waeco CF50DZ gets run as a spare freezer at home...was playing up last week, not getting to temp & compressor running flat out...replaced the Thermistor cable, all good now. Takes 20 minutes to swap them over, only problem is that I am down to my last spare. So i better order a couple more..
Weaco CD11 now lives in the front where the console used to reside.
Post by: GGV8Cruza on January 11, 2017, 07:27:43 PM
Waeco upright door has failed while we are away. Looks like time for a full warranty replacement.  Pain in the butt with over a week to go

Sent from my SM-G920I using Tapatalk

Post by: WilSurf on January 12, 2017, 10:23:50 AM
...was playing up last week, not getting to temp & compressor running flat out...replaced the Thermistor cable, all good now. Takes 20 minutes to swap them over, only problem is that I am down to my last spare. So i better order a couple more..

Similar thing to our 10 year old CF50.
When running on 240V it takes forever to go down to 4 degrees and the compressor keeps running.
What did you change and how?
Post by: hawks667 on January 13, 2017, 07:38:36 AM
Its pretty easy on the CF50...

The Thermistor cable connects from the LED control panel, down through the cavity in the molding, behind the compressor and then runs through a hole in the insulation and hits ups against the fridge walls. If you remove the 2 screws that hold on the LED control panel, you should see the 2 wire connector....Then, remove the compressor breather panel (screws on the side and bottom). Once this is done & with the fridge upside down, you need to remove the screws that hold the compressor in place...then, the tricky part is bending support struts that hold the compressor in place so you can remove the retaining straps that hold the thermistor cable...Then........pull out the thermistor cable....woohooooo....

I bought replacements from here:

http://www.allvolts.com.au/catalogue/WAECO-THERMISTOR-CF18-CF25-CF35-CF40-CF50-CF60-CCF-CDF-ALL-MODELS-THERMIST-L-3903_item.html?ref_cat_id=FRIDGE-FREEZER-COOLER-WAECO-SPARE-PARTS (http://www.allvolts.com.au/catalogue/WAECO-THERMISTOR-CF18-CF25-CF35-CF40-CF50-CF60-CCF-CDF-ALL-MODELS-THERMIST-L-3903_item.html?ref_cat_id=FRIDGE-FREEZER-COOLER-WAECO-SPARE-PARTS)

You need to use some thermal heasink paste when you put the new one in....this helps with the temperature sending unit being accurate in reading temperatures & getting good conductivity.

Takes me 20 minutes or so to replace....and, it works...lol...

Edit...just found this:

https://www.productsafety.gov.au/recall/dometic-australia-waeco-models-cf-40-cf-50-portable-compressor-fridge-freezer (https://www.productsafety.gov.au/recall/dometic-australia-waeco-models-cf-40-cf-50-portable-compressor-fridge-freezer)

Recall on CF-40 & CF-50 Sold between 20 October 2016 and 5 December 2016
Post by: toglhot on April 16, 2017, 02:46:55 AM
I had a 40 litre Engel for a few years, never missed a beat and used very little power.   Next I bought a Waeco CF25, never missed a beat and used very little power.   I bought a Stirling from Aldi the other week, it also appears to use very little power and I assume it will be every bit as good as the Waeco CF25 because it is a rebadged Waeco CF40.
Still believe that when it comes to portable fridges, Engel is the bench mark.   Unfortunately, the Engel wouldn't fit in our ASX so we sold it and bought the CF25.   When I saw the Stirling on sale for $499 I grabbed one and retired the CF25.   The Stirling is the same height and length of the CF25, just a little wider.
Post by: two up on April 16, 2017, 08:50:59 AM
Engel, powertech, and evacool.

Sent from my A1601 using Tapatalk

Post by: dales133 on April 16, 2017, 10:33:28 AM
40L engel dual zone

Post by: Paddler Ed on April 16, 2017, 10:57:45 AM
Have:
-a 6 year old Techniice esky (50litre one)
-a 2 year old 22litre Waeco Esky
-a Waeco CFX 65 fridge
Post by: lincolnland on April 16, 2017, 02:22:48 PM
3x techni ice eskys
1x waeco cfx 40
1x waeco cfx 50

highly rate and recommend every item.
Post by: Barramatt on May 23, 2017, 05:47:19 AM
60L Engel

Post by: Agent009 on May 23, 2017, 12:08:18 PM

Has anyone used the Waeco CFX40W fridge? I'm assuming the W may stand for wi-fi as you can use an app to monitor fridge performance via wifi.

How does it compare with the normal CFX40?

Agent009
Post by: shakey55 on May 24, 2017, 07:12:32 AM
40L engel with 21L engel as a freezer

Post by: Pete79 on May 24, 2017, 07:20:51 AM
40L engel with 21L engel as a freezer

We're looking at running the same setup (just with a Weaco 40l).
How do you find the little engel for a freezer? Does it work very hard?
Post by: shakey55 on May 25, 2017, 06:04:09 AM
We're looking at running the same setup (just with a Weaco 40l).
How do you find the little engel for a freezer? Does it work very hard?

Unfortunately it does have to be turned up high on the dial, but to work as a freezer I have a to. 

In the 21L engel the elements are not from top to bottom, it only goes about half way, so to keep the items on the bottom frozen you have to turn it up fairly high.

But I have not had problems since learning this early in the piece.

I'm not sure about newer Engels or other brands, and by this I mean how much element is there.

I'm a firm believer in Engels quality and reliability so I am happy

Post by: Ben.Archer on May 25, 2017, 09:00:41 AM
65l Techni-Ice (6 Years old)
40l Technic Ice, Icebox
60l Evercool Icebox
80l Evercool white fridge/freezer (brand new impulse buy - last day of the camping show and got the display one for a massive discount)
Post by: Agent009 on June 01, 2017, 09:59:29 AM
I will be buying a fridge next weekend at the Brisbane caravan camping show.

Only looking to spend $1000 MAX and am after a fridge in the 40/50/60L range. I have probably narrowed it down to these two:

https://www.tentworld.com.au/buy-sale/dometic-cfx40w-fridge-freezer (https://www.tentworld.com.au/buy-sale/dometic-cfx40w-fridge-freezer)

http://www.evakool.com/fridges/rf-fibreglass-fridges/60-litre-evakool-fibreglass-fridge-freezer (http://www.evakool.com/fridges/rf-fibreglass-fridges/60-litre-evakool-fibreglass-fridge-freezer)

Which one would people recommend? Or is there something else that I should be looking at?

Post by: DrewXT on June 01, 2017, 10:09:31 PM
We're very happy with our Waeco CFX50... Given the new wireless model is out, you might get the previous model for under a grand....

Pretty sure Anaconda had them about 6 weeks ago for $900-ish

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

Post by: Rob Mac on June 01, 2017, 10:20:22 PM
I will be buying a fridge next weekend at the Brisbane caravan camping show.

Only looking to spend $1000 MAX and am after a fridge in the 40/50/60L range. I have probably narrowed it down to these two:

https://www.tentworld.com.au/buy-sale/dometic-cfx40w-fridge-freezer (https://www.tentworld.com.au/buy-sale/dometic-cfx40w-fridge-freezer)

http://www.evakool.com/fridges/rf-fibreglass-fridges/60-litre-evakool-fibreglass-fridge-freezer (http://www.evakool.com/fridges/rf-fibreglass-fridges/60-litre-evakool-fibreglass-fridge-freezer)
Hey 009, I have a Mammoth 65 Lt dual zone about 12-18 months old used in anger twice, but used to store frozen stuff when defrosting kitchen fridge. $1000.00 would see me let it go.
Cheers..Rob Mac. 

Which one would people recommend? Or is there something else that I should be looking at?

Post by: Ragman on September 13, 2017, 11:04:04 PM
on our most recent trip the Evacool Fridgemate 70L was not performing well. on closer inspection it looks like the lid is warped?

we resorted to strapping the lid down with ratchet straps. will be taking it back to place of purchase this weekend and see what they say...
Post by: Roksy18 on September 28, 2017, 10:02:40 PM
ARB 60 litre
Post by: Ragman on October 15, 2017, 08:59:37 PM
on our most recent trip the Evacool Fridgemate 70L was not performing well. on closer inspection it looks like the lid is warped?

we resorted to strapping the lid down with ratchet straps. will be taking it back to place of purchase this weekend and see what they say...

Well Fridge Mate is no mate of mine. the staff at Getaway Outdoors have been ringing them twice a week and they keep promising to send a new seal to no avail.
getting pretty peeved with Fridge Mate now.
Post by: markg66 on October 22, 2017, 05:06:47 PM
Anyone have a "Kings" 60 litre fridge freezer, they been advertising the crap out of them.
Would like to know if they are good or not.
Post by: scrubber on November 01, 2017, 04:13:21 PM
I picked up our new 75l Trailblaza "Ablie Slider" fridge recently.  This new range have 90mm thick insulation and are designed to better fit the base of MSA or Easyslide drop slides.  The custom EasySlide drop slide gets picked up on Monday (they had to put an extended handle on it).  All this will then get bolted into the new canopy in a few weeks time.   The few test runs of the fridge so far have shown that it drops the temp very quickly and is very quiet.
(http://www.myswag.org/MGalleryItem.php?id=2367 alt="75L Trailblaza Albie Slider") 
Piccy stolen from their Farcebook page as I haven't had a chance to get our old camera working again.

I can now finally relegate the Evakool Esky to  the very important function of drinks esky!
Post by: Hookie on December 29, 2017, 06:41:25 PM
I got one of those sphere fridges with my swan, a 50L. It gets cold nice and quick, and runs pretty quiet, but it also warms up pretty quick. Worst part is it gets a full 5 degrees above set temp before the compressor kicks on. I like that the door can open from either side and lift off completely, that's a nice feature. I threw away the jacket that came with it after struggling for several minutes to make it fit. I have my doubts about the utility of the good quality ones like waeco and engel make, and this one was just black canvas.

It sure as hell won't be replacing the dual zone waeco on camping trips, but it does a good job for a beach/day trip fridge. I set it to -2 and it keeps drinks nice and cold. We'll see how it lasts.
Post by: boondy_999 on January 24, 2018, 07:11:32 PM
Running a Waeco 11litre for a centre console, awesome for long distance travelling to get a snack or drink out while on the run rather than pull over and get into the back of the wagon.

80L Engel permanent in the back of the cruiser
Also run a 40L Engel as a freezer when going for an extended trip Frozen food/iceypoles & bait
Post by: Hairs on January 24, 2018, 08:08:23 PM
I've had the Fridgemate 60lt for a few years now, works great, just a little heavy on power if the setting isn't spot on.
Just got hold of a 20 year old Engel 40lt, runs brilliantly.
Might need a bag for it.

Sent from my SM-P585Y using Tapatalk

Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on January 24, 2018, 10:06:08 PM
I've a 60 Ltr. Engel F/F in the Tug. works every time I turn it on for shopping, and hasn't failed me yet for trips away since 2012.
On that basis I bought a 45 Litre Engel for the Camper to increase capacity for trips.
I can run the 60 as a freezer without a prob. and adjust the 45 to whats needed.
Post by: lloydus67 on January 25, 2018, 05:11:02 AM
I have an 8 year old 80 Ltr weaco that never missed a beat until either the compressor or control card failed last year and I have yet to fix, I also have a 40 ltr weaco that has a Engel thermostat in to replace the thermistor control weaco uses. It’s old as the hills but never misses a beat. The tolerances are a lot wider with the old style Engel thermostat. I ran it as a freezer for 3 weeks at straddy this year and it would cycle on at -3c and cycle off at -12c. But this is good enough for my needs and used bugger all power for a freezer.
Lloyd

Post by: rossm on January 25, 2018, 03:22:47 PM
My late father bought the old Engel some time in the mid 70s. He wasn't much into camping so it is still looking good, the scratches are on the other side.

Still works OK though a bit noisy and only superseded because it is a bit small for anything more than a weekend.

Must have been luxury back in its day. I have a vague recollection of it costing around $400 which is a huge amount for those times.   
Post by: moeite on January 29, 2018, 10:51:03 PM
My late father bought the old Engel some time in the mid 70s. He wasn't much into camping so it is still looking good, the scratches are on the other side.

Still works OK though a bit noisy and only superseded because it is a bit small for anything more than a weekend.

Must have been luxury back in its day. I have a vague recollection of it costing around $400 which is a huge amount for those times.

I got a 40 litre one around the late '70's I think. I remember it cost me just a tad under four weeks wages... They cost an absolute bomb but mine is still going strong. A bit rattly and somewhat tattered now but it's still a keeper.
Post by: ANDYJAY on February 18, 2018, 11:49:17 AM
evakool 175 in caravan
Post by: Brodie Tas on June 16, 2018, 12:22:02 PM
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180616/ac9c6482258794fae02194014d0504bc.jpg)

Can’t fault my companion it’s on everyday of the week and hasn’t let me down got it for a good price to

Post by: Fullberries on September 16, 2018, 09:57:46 PM
Ive been using a 60lt techni ice for 6 years now still going great
Post by: grmas1 on November 18, 2018, 08:12:42 AM
Got myself a Companion yesterday from BCF in the 60L size for $699
Post by: Squalo on November 18, 2018, 08:58:56 AM
I have an ARB 60 litre "Elements" fridge in the back of my Patrol, bought in December 2017. It's designed to be bolted to the back of a ute and will cope with weather exposure. The digital lock means you can lock valuables and car keys in it.

After a year of use I can safely say I'm very happy with it.

Not cheap - $1700 - but then again, not cheap. This fridge is quality on every level. I was looking at similarly priced fridges from Engel and National Luna.

https://www.arb.com.au/portable-fridge-freezers/elements-fridge-freezer/ (https://www.arb.com.au/portable-fridge-freezers/elements-fridge-freezer/)

End hinged lid makes it perfect for a 4wd wagon fridge slide. The lid gas strut holds the lid at whatever angle you open it to. Inbuilt light, digital locking system, remote temp phone app available (I don't have it - yet).

I run it off a JTS power box with a 100ah lead crystal battery. The fridge will run unopened off the battery alone for 7 days and battery will still be at 12.2 to 12.4 volts, so I haven't even bothered with solar yet.

Looks pretty cool too  8)

Post by: rossm on November 19, 2018, 12:51:56 PM

Trap for novices.

Took the old Engel away for the weekend because I only needed it for a few beers. Very hot day on Friday, didnt drive much and didn’t think to hook up solar  ... flattened the aux battery. The old ones dont have a low voltage cutout  >:D

Battery is a marine type lead acid. After two hour drive home yesterday it is reading 12 and a bit volts.
Will see how it recovers.
Post by: Hookie on November 22, 2018, 04:46:42 PM
I have an ARB 60 litre "Elements" fridge in the back of my Patrol, bought in December 2017. It's designed to be bolted to the back of a ute and will cope with weather exposure. The digital lock means you can lock valuables and car keys in it.

After a year of use I can safely say I'm very happy with it.

Not cheap - $1700 - but then again, not cheap. This fridge is quality on every level. I was looking at similarly priced fridges from Engel and National Luna.

https://www.arb.com.au/portable-fridge-freezers/elements-fridge-freezer/ (https://www.arb.com.au/portable-fridge-freezers/elements-fridge-freezer/)

End hinged lid makes it perfect for a 4wd wagon fridge slide. The lid gas strut holds the lid at whatever angle you open it to. Inbuilt light, digital locking system, remote temp phone app available (I don't have it - yet).

That sure is one badassed looking fridge. But I have to say, I think they're all pretty much weatherproof. My waeco has sat outside running in all kinds of weather, and I clean it like washing a car, soapy water and a sponge all over followed by a hose off all over. I've seen no sign that it doesn't like it.
It also has a phone app that lets you view and adjust the temps. Fun gimmick that I used once to try out and then never again, since I walk past my fridge a thousand times a day when I'm out. And anyway, there's plenty of happy engel owners out there with no idea what temp their fridge is at!

Edit: That just reminded me right after I clicked the post button, my 50L sphere fridge that came free with my trailer (new) has started dropping LCD segments after barely a year of very light occasional use. 2 went last weekend, pretty soon I'll never be able to change the set temp again because I won't know what it is. Wouldn't recommend a sphere to anyone.
Post by: WarwickD on January 27, 2019, 05:17:15 PM
Ironman 4x4 50L. Had it about 4 years. Can't fault it

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

Post by: bob65 on June 11, 2019, 11:38:21 PM
Thread revival

Currently using 3 fridges here.

First was/is an ARB 60lt. Gave me at a guess 10 years service until one day (the day before I was leaving on a trip) it decided it wasn't going to work on 12v anymore. Still works on 240v though and is currently doing service as the beer fridge next to the arm chair in the loungeroom. Don't knock it, you all know that you want to do the same thing.

Second is a Waeco 45lt. I bought it because it was cheap (on special at the time), had to fit under the tonneau of the hilux, and needed a fridge to use instead of the ARB that stopped working on 12v.

It broke down on that trip. During the 14 hour drive to get where I was going it stopped cooling. Put a bag of ice in it when the temp reached 12°. Fortunately there was a fridge at the farm that the farmer let us use, but the ice was all but melted by the time we got there. Checked inside the fridge a couple of days later and the melted ice had frozen into a solid lump.

I contacted Dometic and they said no problem, something wrong with the thermostat. Take it back and swap it for another. I did that, got it home and put it together, but the cover was made wrong. The holes for the handle at one end only were in the wrong spot, like they held it upside down when they cut them or something. Contacted Dometic again with photos and asked them to send me one in the mail because I had already been to the shop twice for a fridge I bought in good faith. They said no, take the whole lot back to the shop and get another. I ended not bothering, cutting new holes for the handle with a stanley knife and sticking it all together with duck tape (there is nothing that won't fix).

That fridge has worked fine for a year or two now, but I don't think I will get another Waeco.

3rd fridge is new, only put the order in today. An Evercool 95lt dual zone. Haven't gotten it yet so will see how that goes.
Post by: k100dennis on September 03, 2019, 02:33:35 PM
Engel 60 litre all in one, not the combi.  For the round Oz trip I reckon we'll get a 40 litre as well.  Use the 40 as a freezer only and the 60 as the fridge.
I find the 60 reads 2 degrees cooler than it actually is inside.  Checked with a digital probe and FLUKE IR gun from work.  I hate frozen beer, Wendy hates frozen lettuce !
Post by: bmwfreak on September 04, 2019, 04:35:02 PM
The OEM Dometic 140ltr upright compressor fridge in our pop top failed on 240v, (still operates on 12v) during a trip to Bundaberg last week. To be honest, this thing has never been a hit with us, consuming up to 6.2A every time it turned on. This happened in 19-20 minute cycles, no matter what the ambient temp was. We have just ordered a Bushman 130ltr upright compressor fridge to replace the Dometic. It is 12v only, which suits us. We thought long and hard about having a 3 way installed, but after reading reviews, felt the Bushman would be a reasonable option at less than half the price of a 3 way, not including the gas fitting required.
Edit: Arrived and installed. Been working for approx 4 days and consumes a measly (compared to the Waeco) 3.1amp when running.
Post by: Philbo on November 14, 2019, 12:23:27 PM
Kings from 4wdsupacentre. so pls add Kings.
Brother has a Ridge Rider (aka Evakool) Pls add that if it isn't there, thanks.
(just bought my 45L Kings and arrived today actually!
Was Techniice but never again. I learn.  >:(
Two of the same, both failed and never went off road or on road for that matter with
eithr.
The first one bought new I ran intermittently to keep solder flux cool and some soft drinks
for load. Died not long out of warranty. If I knew my rights then I would have pushed back.
Second one was bought used but worked well for a year until just the other day I noticed
the temp was wrong. On further investigation it wasn't working properly. After a cleanout
(nothing special but turned off to do it) it won't work at all. Rubbish Domus compressors.
The Kings has a Secop and they flog that point. So it's cheap but tested only 2 hours ago
and (temp probe inside and stopwatch) got down to 0 degrees in just over 27 minutes.
It's quiet too. I sat within a metre of it but couldn't hear a thing. Eh, what's that?
Hooked up to an ammeter it sucked 5.5A at one stage but settled down to around 4.1A.
I will set this at 3 degrees as per Brad at 4wdsupacentre and see how it goes. Gotta run
it while the 2 year warranty is in, not sit in the shed waiting for the next camping trip.
So I'll vote for Kings but next fridge will be either an Evakool or Bushman; both Aussie,, both
get good reviews, especially the Bushman.
If this is the wrong thread for this somewhat whingy post, I do apologise folks.
philbo
Post by: GGV8Cruza on November 14, 2019, 01:14:24 PM
Kings from 4wdsupacentre. so pls add Kings.
Brother has a Ridge Rider (aka Evakool) Pls add that if it isn't there, thanks.
(just bought my 45L Kings and arrived today actually!
Was Techniice but never again. I learn.  >:(
Two of the same, both failed and never went off road or on road for that matter with
eithr.
The first one bought new I ran intermittently to keep solder flux cool and some soft drinks
for load. Died not long out of warranty. If I knew my rights then I would have pushed back.
Second one was bought used but worked well for a year until just the other day I noticed
the temp was wrong. On further investigation it wasn't working properly. After a cleanout
(nothing special but turned off to do it) it won't work at all. Rubbish Domus compressors.
The Kings has a Secop and they flog that point. So it's cheap but tested only 2 hours ago
and (temp probe inside and stopwatch) got down to 0 degrees in just over 17 minutes.
It's quiet too. I sat within a metre of it but couldn't hear a thing. Eh, what's that?
Hooked up to an ammeter it sucked 5.5A at one stage but settled down to around 4.1A.
I will set this at 3 degrees as per Brad at 4wdsupacentre and see how it goes. Gotta run
it while the 2 year warranty is in, not sit in the shed waiting for the next camping trip.
So I'll vote for Kings but next fridge will be either an Evakool or Bushman; both Aussie,, both
get good reviews, especially the Bushman.
If this is the wrong thread for this somewhat whingy post, I do apologise folks.
philbo

Vote away

Post by: Philbo on November 24, 2019, 10:16:54 PM
Not a Bushmans or an Evakool. I thought very long and very hard before settling on the Waeco. I've since ordered a Dometic 75DZW which is due very soon. Excited to have enough fridge space for the family and it also puts further pressure on the little lady to let us all go camping. That will be next year after the summer heat I think. By that time the Kings 45L and the Waeco 75L will have shown me whether they are or are not going to give me grief with warranty issues.
I don't know how to vote another fridge though as the only button I see is the Remove Vote button. I don't want to remove the Kings I voted for and it's the only one on it so far!  ???

Ah remembered! Took so long to get to my post I forgot what I wanted to add to it.
I've just completed a 24hour logged test with the Kings fridge and I will work out current draw soon. I have all the numbers.
I'm gonna do the same with the Waeko/Dometic 75DZW dual zone which I am very much interested in seeing as it's a biggish fridge.
I need to know if my 120W solar panel is enough or do I need to buy another.
Post by: Philbo on December 12, 2019, 02:12:49 PM
So I have completed the Kings 45L logged measurements and then recently using a watt meter/analyser cheaply bought off eBay I got the same usage for one days measurements. With daytime temps maxing out at 37c and nighttime temps no less than 23
I was happy with the Kings result. It used 19h for a full day using a logging device connected to a PC while set at 2c. That result was mirrored by the wattmeter result at 19.006Ah. Fridge was full of cold items, because full is better for the fridge. The Waeco CFX75 with both sides set at 1c I measured 24.6Ah also with compartments full. I find temps are more stable when fridge is full of cold stuff.
So when I read of poster's fridges clmbing up and down the scal I wonder if they have the compartments full as in really full of cold stuff.
Post by: ab56452001 on August 13, 2021, 01:13:02 AM
Just to revive and old Thread .  I posses 3 working fridges , all bought at different times for different reasons and all still going . The oldest is a Waeco 35 with the old sliding controls and external 240v transformer , id say 10 years old and  has been used intermittantly as a Fridge/Freezer over the years on many Trips, id say its the loudest and most power hungry of my 3 , got it on Special for 500$ . Next oldest is a 50l  Indel B type sold by Evacool again a 500$ online purchase about 5 years ago used mainly in the Shed , as a Freezer  during the Summer Months , running sometimes 3 months at a stretch . Next and the the one that has been abused the most is , wait for it ,............. a Glacier 28l  that i scored for the Princely sum of 218$ delivered  ! , they Day i got it ,about 3 years ago , i dropped it putting it in the 4WD , the Lid flew off, some of the suround trim fell off and the touch control panel dislodged and was just hanging by electrical wires ! , i nearly turffed it , but decided to try salvage it and cobbled/glued it back together and it sits silently working next to me in the Car still today ! , So despite all the doom and gloom predicted by my Engel owning Mates , for a total outlay of around 1200$ , ive had a good run i think , maybe lucky ? , who knows , cheers.
Post by: wakychapmans on August 13, 2021, 08:28:25 AM
this grave dig made me think too...

currently got an ARB 65L in the back of the cruiser and a small Waeco console fridge between the front seats (we removed the factory 105 console) and it gives us glorious CUP HOLDERS!

that has been our combo for years of outback trips and travels.

The addition of the Getaway van brought with it a 94' era Electrolux 70L upright 3 way... I sold camping gear in the early 80's when I left school and 3 ways fridges haven't come very far from the same 80's technology. So it's being removed and replaced with a 2nd hand Waeco CR80 upright. 12v/240v only.

Depending on the trip(s), we may option to leave the ARB at home. Or use it *only* as a freezer.
Post by: Hairs on January 07, 2023, 08:22:16 PM
Anyone used, or have any experience with a Brass Monkey 12/24vDC portable ice maker?
 https://www.roadtechmarine.com.au/brass-monkey-12-24vdc-portable-ice-maker/p/GH1560 (https://www.roadtechmarine.com.au/brass-monkey-12-24vdc-portable-ice-maker/p/GH1560)

You don't use magic to disappear, ya use a 4x4 & Swag.

Post by: boobook on January 08, 2023, 05:59:36 AM
An interesting thread.

It is heavily biased to Waeco, Engel,  Evervcool and iceboxes. But started in 2009.

I wonder what it would look like if it started today. There would be a larger distribution to other brands, I am sure.

Post by: Hairs on March 11, 2023, 10:56:55 AM
I've upgraded to the Kings 85lt Standup unit, just installed it today.
Previous unit is a Fridgemate(evakool) 60lt, still works well, it was not practical, having to slide it out, slide it back in to use the drop down tailgate.
Searched many YouTube videos, forums, and ask questions about the Kings & the Bushmans, I decided to purchase the Kings.
$780 + sensor, delivered, lest than an hour to install.
Using a 240v to 12v power source it got to 7` in just under 30 minutes and the ice tray in the freezer had started to freeze.
I'll monitor things over the coming week, like running on 12v, with the fixed solar panel on the roof.
Oh, and it's give some more room behind the second row seat.
$780.00 delivered.

You don't use magic to disappear, ya use a 4x4 & Swag.
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20230311/547d802222d90f59cf6ba6c016e887e3.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20230311/d9d57c3b88c1996c955274be5880197c.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20230311/480c75ea1dc97e16722e6e5a68c36272.jpg)
Post by: noel_w on March 13, 2023, 10:22:14 PM
Got an Engel 60l combo in my camper when I bought it. Never happy with it as to freeze anything in the freezer section it froze stuff in the fridge part. If you turned it down to keep the fridge at the right temp stuff would defrost in the freezer. It stopped cooling a while ago so took it to the local Engel guy here and was gonna cost $1200 to fix it. No thanks I said. Bought a Kickass dual section 75l delivered for less than $900. Had it in the ute now for 12 months and hasn't missed a beat. Can make it a fridge/fridge, fridge/freezer or freezer/freezer. And it fitted straight into my Clearview drop slide.
Very happy.