Matson
DownUnder
Gasmate
Companion
BushBoy
Aldi, the wonder fridge
Techni Ice
Kings

Author Topic: What Fridge do you use Poll.  (Read 267618 times)

Offline Old65

• Hard Floor Camper
Re: What Fridge do you use Poll.
« Reply #275 on: May 23, 2012, 08:51:28 PM »

Another vote for Engel.I have the SS80 Litre .It doesn't actually look much like an Engel and is the single compartment model.

1996 80 series with 1HD-FTE auto and 2009 Cub Supermatic Escape XTD Transcon Pack

Offline Pipeliner

• I'm too old to rough it!
« Reply #276 on: May 24, 2012, 07:38:15 AM »
In the poll, delete one Waeco and add one Evakool.  Our Waeco CDF35 died recently and we swapped it for an Evakool Travelmate 30 - good value at $529 delivered and I love the fact that it has a digital temperature setting and display.  Getting the temperature right on the Waeco was always a hit and miss affair.  Now let's hope the chinese compressor in this one lasts better than the similar compressor in the Waeco!

We still have the 60 litre Evakool in the Odyssey - if we only had one fridge I don't think we would have bought such a cheap one, but as a second (drinks) fridge it is OK.
Camping is great as long as the mattress is inner spring!

« Reply #277 on: May 29, 2012, 06:13:15 PM »
I have an Engel but recently bought an Aldi which isn't on the list.  :-[

« Reply #278 on: May 29, 2012, 07:24:49 PM »
I have an Engel but recently bought an Aldi which isn't on the list.  :-[

Look again ;D

Offline Havaroly

• 'next gen CT reversing system'
« Reply #279 on: May 29, 2012, 08:09:24 PM »
In the poll, delete one Waeco and add one Evakool.  Our Waeco CDF35 died recently and we swapped it

We've picked the  Waeco CDF-45 balancing between cost and size and crossed fingers it is going strong. Sorry to hear about your 35 Pipeliner, but you're right on the money about managing the temp levels. We have a small digital temp guage in the unit to help check the levels.

Ross and family
Nissan X-Trail with Cub Weekender with transcon pack

You're off the Great Places!
Today is your day!
Your CT is waiting.
So...get on your way! - Dr Seuss ( with mods)

Offline Hutch

What Fridge do you use Poll.
« Reply #280 on: May 29, 2012, 08:14:25 PM »
I have a CF50 Waeco, would I buy another one, no. Hasn't been the greatest fridge. 4 warranty claims.

Hutch- 2012 Prado 150, some TJM Kit.
Hutch-2012 Prado V6 with some TJM kit - looking for a CT to drag behind.

Offline 02-SR5

« Reply #281 on: May 30, 2012, 03:12:55 AM »
32l Engle here.

I am getting an ARB 45 when I get home.
2011 Challenger with some mods

2012 Lifestyle Explorer

Offline 99disco

« Reply #282 on: May 30, 2012, 04:45:34 AM »
It's waeco for me. I've got a 10 year old cf50 that has run faultlessly so I've just ordered a cf40 for extra freezer space on a subs deal through 4wd action I just couldn't refuse.

Shane

« Reply #283 on: May 31, 2012, 11:41:21 AM »
Look again ;D

Ohhh GG you are good!

Offline fourb

« Reply #284 on: June 02, 2012, 04:39:19 PM »
Waeco 40 litre
Engel 40 litre
trailblazer 110 litre

Offline dooguss

• Prado Power
« Reply #285 on: June 04, 2012, 09:40:10 PM »
60ltr engel combo in the prado and 60ltr engel fridge in the trailer. We bought 2 combos at the same time 1 for us and 1 for my olds and now after 9 years and 2 new motors the olds are in the hunt for a new fridge.
2006 Toyota Prado
2014 Stoney creek rear fold.

Offline 1HDT

« Reply #286 on: June 07, 2012, 03:32:02 PM »

Vote Engel for me.

Offline pigd4d

« Reply #287 on: June 16, 2012, 07:24:13 PM »
i have a waeco icebox for the drinks and a ARB fridge for the camper or the 4b
GET OUT THERE AND ENJOY IT-LIVE THE DREAM
CHEERS MICK

Offline Tuco

« Reply #288 on: June 20, 2012, 03:26:36 PM »
Waeco CT110 in the 'van.
ARB 35L in the 'trol.
Evakool ED70 - no longer required (too big to use as just a freezer in the 'trol). Works great - run once a month. $600 ONO.

PM me if interested.
Nissan Patrol GU7 ST - Jayco Sterling OB 17.55-4

Offline Daawl

• Always trying to get out & about
    • Lightning Ridge Police Bush Safari
« Reply #289 on: June 28, 2012, 04:03:04 PM »
Currently use a 40l waeco (this is a hand me down from the folks) for small trips, long weekends etc for the food but have to carry an esky for the drinks
On longer trips, a week or more we borrow a mates 80l Engle.

Both work but the waeco seems to freezing things at higher settings now, and appears to be gradually getting worse :(

« Reply #290 on: June 29, 2012, 08:02:04 AM »
Just bought 2 Waeco CF35's to go in the CT to go with the ARB 60L & Engel 32L... told the missus that we can not buy any more fridges as I'm only allowed 3 votes!!!!

Offline BLKWDW

« Reply #291 on: July 07, 2012, 09:14:05 AM »
Ive had 2 evakools fail on me and as of this week its the 3rd. being a truck driver though my fridge runs 24/7 but its still no excuse if you ask me.

Offline Mr Ploppy

• I Should Be Out Camping!
    • Tier Gear
« Reply #292 on: July 07, 2012, 10:35:44 AM »
Ive had 2 evakools fail on me and as of this week its the 3rd. being a truck driver though my fridge runs 24/7 but its still no excuse if you ask me.

Hey mate,

What model were they, and how did they fail?
"When the deities are with you, you can cross the ocean on a plank. When they are against you, you can drown in a ditch".

Offline Darren v

• COMPLETE CAMPSITE FRASER
« Reply #293 on: July 24, 2012, 08:09:12 PM »
IVE HAVE 60 LTR ENGEL IN CAMPER 50 LTR IRONMAN IN CAR AS FREZZER ALSO A BUSHMAN 52 LTR IN CAR AS FRIDGE ALL FRIDGES HAVE WORK WELL ON A COUPLE BIG TRIPS I HAVE DONE LIKE CANNING 2010 ANNE BEADLE HIGHWAY 2010 SIMPSON DESERT NOVEMBER 2011 THAT WAS A BIG  TEST WITH TEMPS REACHING 50+ AMBIENT LOVE THE BASKET SYSTEM IN THE BUSHMAN LOVE THE PRICE ON THE IRONMAN AT $800 FOR 50LTR CANT BEAT THAT FOR VALUE FOR MONEY   :cheers:
« Last Edit: July 24, 2012, 08:15:59 PM by Darren v »

Offline Daggs

« Reply #294 on: July 29, 2012, 04:47:55 PM »
1x engel
1xchestcold
4xtrailblaza

Offline toharves

« Reply #295 on: August 03, 2012, 09:05:50 PM »
We have a 60lt primes. Next week will be a real test for us and the fridge.

Offline Mr Ploppy

• I Should Be Out Camping!
    • Tier Gear
« Reply #296 on: August 16, 2012, 06:45:50 AM »
We just purchased an Evakool rf60. Got a good price on it. I thought about getting 2 smaller fridges but price won out in the end.
"When the deities are with you, you can cross the ocean on a plank. When they are against you, you can drown in a ditch".

Offline NevandVicki

« Reply #297 on: August 18, 2012, 08:56:02 PM »
got two 39 ltr engles. One as a freezer, one as the fridge
I used to be indecisive......but now I'm not so sure...

Offline UTE 701

• " QUEENSLANDER ! "
« Reply #298 on: August 19, 2012, 08:27:59 AM »
I bought an Ironman 50 to take on the recent Fraser trip .

Before I bought it though I picked the brains of the caravan Fridge mechanic near work , and he states that it is indeed a Waeco , just in different clothing .

I also checked that it is not old stock from waeco , as this happens alot with rebadged stuff .... you buy it new and then get it fixed to find out it is 5 year old when you bought it .

Anyway , It ran perfect and had no problems with it's battery consumption either . So I recommend them .

" OWZITGAARN ? "

« Reply #299 on: August 19, 2012, 09:07:53 AM »
I bought an Ironman 50 to take on the recent Fraser trip .

Before I bought it though I picked the brains of the caravan Fridge mechanic near work , and he states that it is indeed a Waeco , just in different clothing .

I also checked that it is not old stock from waeco , as this happens alot with rebadged stuff .... you buy it new and then get it fixed to find out it is 5 year old when you bought it .

Anyway , It ran perfect and had no problems with it's battery consumption either . So I recommend them .
yep I've got the same fridge and they run the danfoss just like the waeco, also had no issues and works faultlessy. I was originally looking for a waeco but picked the ironman up real cheap. The previous owner had one it in a comp and it was still in the box so I thought i can't go wrong for what I paid but it's been great :cheers: