Matson
DownUnder
Gasmate
Companion
BushBoy
Aldi, the wonder fridge
Techni Ice
Kings

Author Topic: What Fridge do you use Poll.  (Read 265619 times)

Offline maca76

Re: What Fridge do you use Poll.
« Reply #250 on: February 05, 2012, 01:21:49 PM »
Anybody have one of these and know what they are like??

http://www.techniice.com/2011/iceboxes/index_iceboxes_car_fridges.asp

They are the same as these http://www.evakool.com/products?sprod=156
We have the 60lt version from EvaKool, had it over a year, no problems used it on about 10 camping trips. Thinking about buying the 30lt and use for a freezer for longer trips.

Cheers Ryan  :cheers:

« Reply #251 on: February 05, 2012, 01:38:55 PM »
We just purchased the 45lt version from evakool...havent turned it on yet, thats 2 weeks away but happy with the size and also that it came with the cover.
Cant see where I change my vote

Offline Eamonn

« Reply #252 on: February 12, 2012, 06:46:21 PM »

I must say that I am an Engel man, I have have two x 32lt which nicely fits under the hard lid on my Hilux, this is mainly used as a freezer on Stockton or Fraser albeit any fishing trip to keep the bait. The other is a 60lt Combi for the Camper trailer I am currently building (check out EM Camper) which will be for you guessed it food. Also have a 40lt Evakool which is the Carlton Dry box.

Eames

Offline matt150

• Family man, 3 kids and wifey...
« Reply #253 on: February 18, 2012, 03:54:24 PM »
It really engel for me.

Mine has never missed a beat in 7 years. Only the little battery went flat on the temp gauge. $5 latter and ten mins effort and its purring like a kitten..

[Current ride] - 2012 150 Series Prado GXL TD Manual

[Camper] - 2008 Lifestyle 360i

Offline Mal.W

« Reply #254 on: February 27, 2012, 02:28:55 PM »
I have owned a 39Lt Autofridge since 1993. Has been a great fridge and still gooding strong. The only complaint I have heard from other Autofridge owners is they can be too cold, Even on minimum if left to run 24/7. I leave it running connected to the camper's battery (12volt only). Best fridge to keep the beer in at home.
Would buy another Autofridge without hesitation.  Next one will be the 75Lt.

Cheers Mal
2001 LANDCRUISER TD GXV, Locked and lifted, towing 2015 Tvan

Offline offcampn

• Porta loo challenged, the what goes in the where !
« Reply #255 on: March 02, 2012, 09:03:45 PM »

Scratch another one down for the Waecos , we have a 50ltr ( 6 years )  and a 80ltr ( 2 years ) and they have never missed a beat , norr tripped out , We have only had waecos so we can't compare , most friends have engels . If the beer and food are all cold and the ice cream still frozen then we are all happy  ;D ;D ;D

Thanx Andy & Anne

100's cruiser / Trackabout camper

VKS-737  mob 1157

Offline Dingo Master

« Reply #256 on: April 14, 2012, 06:34:30 PM »
My 50l Waeco has been very good to me !
on our recent trip to Fraser my mate was surprised by just home much it holds - it's like the Tardis
been a very reliable bit of kit

Offline MDSimpson

• 2007 Jayco Flamingo Outback follows the 2008 Prado
What Fridge do you use Poll.
« Reply #257 on: April 14, 2012, 08:17:58 PM »
We started with a second hand 30l Waeco, great little fridge. We upgraded to a Matson 60l, had some issues I thought were fridge related, but ended up being battery. The guys at Matson were VERY helpful and patient with me. Who says customer service is dead?

We still have both, but don't use the Waeco often, but the Matson lives in the Prado. 

2007 Jayco Flamingo Outback follows the 2008 D4D Prado. Lets get out there...

Offline bert56

« Reply #258 on: April 29, 2012, 06:40:14 AM »
I've got 2 weaco's, the smaller 31ltr I use as a freezer and the larger 39 ltr as a fridge. Both work fine.

Bert

Offline Milney

« Reply #259 on: April 29, 2012, 08:40:05 AM »
We run a 50ltr Waco which I reckon I have had for about 8 years and 60ltr primus which also been a good Fridge
The person who dies with the most toy's wins..
Can never have enough Toyotas, Boats or Fishing Rods

Offline MAch

« Reply #260 on: May 01, 2012, 09:41:33 PM »
Put me down for three, we always have take the Esky along, we have a 40 ltr Engel for the beer and a 60 ltr Evakool in the Trackabout..

Mark.
just the three of us

Offline jd

« Reply #261 on: May 01, 2012, 10:27:36 PM »
We have a 50lt Waeco had for 5 years or so and can't fault it. Last year bought a 32lt to use as a freezer and works well. Little bit noisy compared to the Waeco. Can hear it from the camper at night when it is in the back of the car and the waeco is on the ground outside the trailer and don,t hear it. Have checked it out and compared to others and seems normal. Both work well, keep food and beer cold which is all i can ask!!! :cheers:

Offline bert56

« Reply #262 on: May 02, 2012, 05:53:00 AM »
I already voted for waeco, but i also have 4 eskys in the shed that are used occassionally.

Bert

Offline madmax

« Reply #263 on: May 05, 2012, 01:45:45 PM »
I have 2 Engel's - a 39lt that is used regularly and a 32lt that sees occasional use as a freezer when space allows.

Plus a 52lt Tropical Icebox (orange one) for that stuff that always freezes in the beer (i mean food) fridge like cucumber, lettuce and tomatoes.

2017 200 Cruiser
Ultimate Camper (1174)

Offline tjrobbo

« Reply #264 on: May 05, 2012, 02:39:32 PM »
I use a 60L trailblaza  I got second hand about 5 years ago and find it excellent. Nice and rugged for on the back of the ute when traveling and also at home on the farm. Hard to beat for rough treatment I'd say!

Offline blackie66

• a wise man learns from other peoples mistakes
« Reply #265 on: May 16, 2012, 07:51:11 PM »
I love my fridgemate by evakool 95lt fridge freezer.wacht out for the bushman ,primus and co they have a copy of the Danfoss compresser names like damoss and polar compresser I have seen this close up in 12 volt repair shop notning like the German made stuff,

time

« Reply #266 on: May 16, 2012, 08:14:34 PM »
How can I put in a second vote.

Have had a Waeco 50l for 9 years, no problems touch wood (after replacing cig plug with an Anderson).

However, I have just bought a 40l Engel Eclipse to use as a freezer, the deal going at Rays recently was too good to resist!

Offline CampAround

• The count down is on...
« Reply #267 on: May 16, 2012, 10:19:30 PM »
The esky will have to do for me till we an afford another $1500 for a 60lt engel (more than likely)

Offline blackie66

« Reply #268 on: May 17, 2012, 11:39:21 PM »
Waste of money( camparound)for the size they are over rated,check out evakool aussie made .for ..

Offline CampAround

• The count down is on...
« Reply #269 on: May 18, 2012, 07:16:44 AM »
Thanks for the tip. I've looked at the evakool, actually an 80lt was offered to me by the trailer builder. $1500. I know it's 20lt bigger but I know a few people with Engels, 20 years old plus and they swear by them. I don't know anyone who has any other brand. Plus the Engels a metal case where as the evakool looks like a esky with a motor.

Not knocking the evakools, it's just with the little and limited research I have done if I am still going to spend $1500 I rather the engel. Thoughts??

« Reply #270 on: May 18, 2012, 08:51:25 AM »
Thanks for the tip. I've looked at the evakool, actually an 80lt was offered to me by the trailer builder. $1500. I know it's 20lt bigger but I know a few people with Engels, 20 years old plus and they swear by them. I don't know anyone who has any other brand. Plus the Engels a metal case where as the evakool looks like a esky with a motor.

Not knocking the evakools, it's just with the little and limited research I have done if I am still going to spend $1500 I rather the engel. Thoughts??

Mate, at the end of the day its personal preference. I had my heart set on an engel and then viewed the ARB and thought it had a few things that suited me better like, controls at the front ( easier to adjust/view when secured in vehicle), simple removal lid ( great if your roof in vehicle is low), I like the fact that its has a drain plug, that the internal are all one and therfore a little easier to clean. But all in all a ARB, Engel, bushman,evacool, waeco will chill the contents so get the best for your situation.

« Reply #271 on: May 18, 2012, 07:49:17 PM »
I bought an Aldi for $299 today. Seems to work fine. It's only a drinks fridge and the 60 litre Engel for food. I'm happy. :D

« Reply #272 on: May 18, 2012, 07:50:07 PM »
I would put the beer in the Engel and the food in the Aldi fridge. You don't want to freeze your beer now do you!

Offline blackie66

« Reply #273 on: May 18, 2012, 08:06:05 PM »
I bought an Aldi for $299 today. Seems to work fine. It's only a drinks fridge and the 60 litre Engel for food. I'm happy. :D
thats  a 3way fridge  :-[ they struggle on hot days but not bad for $299 it will run for 20 days on a 9 kg gas bottle.

Offline pmccar06

« Reply #274 on: May 18, 2012, 09:12:48 PM »

I've got a 68 litre evacool. Bought it about 12 years ago. Not sure if they make that capacity now. Love it , no hassles. Phil
2012 Mazda BT-50 GT Dual Cab Auto