Author Topic: Spirit of Tassie - Melb Parking  (Read 1872 times)

Offline Ranger_Scott

Spirit of Tassie - Melb Parking
« on: August 31, 2022, 06:36:55 AM »
Booked on the ferry in a few weeks. I know parking beforehand would be tight around Port Melb, but does anyone know if there are usually spots along foreshore? Will have camper in tow and sail on a Monday at 7.30pm. For me, around 6 hour drive to the city, and being paranoid about missing the boat in case of flat etc I was going to get there a couple of hours before boarding can start. Have no problem paying for a metered spot(s). Thanks.

Re: Spirit of Tassie - Melb Parking
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2022, 07:43:35 AM »
Along the foreshore there is some parking, i think it is limited to 2 hours. If not park at Bunnings in Port Melbourne and allow 10 mins to get to the boat. Lots af parking in that area, its more industrial.

Offline ADTradie

« Reply #2 on: August 31, 2022, 08:01:41 AM »
Our experience from 3 years ago was, if you plan on arriving 2 to 2.5 hours before departure time, you should be able to drive straight to the terminal and just join the queue of vehicles at the terminal entrance awaiting quarantine inspection. The Spirit of Tasmania website confirms they open the terminal gates 2.5 hours before departure time and start bording 1.5 hours before departure time. I would phone Spirit of Tasmiania and confirm this.
P.S. You could get most of the way and sit out an hour or two in a Melbourne suburbs parking spot, prior to the final leg to the terminal. We followed our TomTom GPS instructions and it got us to the terminal without any dramas.
« Last Edit: August 31, 2022, 08:06:47 AM by ADTradie »
A.D.
Colorado RG MY2014 dual cab ute, swag and tent

Offline loanrangie

« Reply #3 on: August 31, 2022, 11:22:12 AM »
Doesn't it depart from Geelong now ?  edit: Geelong from 23/10, i thought it had relocated already.
« Last Edit: August 31, 2022, 11:23:53 AM by loanrangie »
MY08 TDV6 SE D3,
2003 Dingo Offroad Camper Trailer.
1974 Kombi microbus
1958 FC special sedan
1998 Triumph Daytona T595

« Reply #4 on: August 31, 2022, 02:37:59 PM »
Quote from: loanrangie
Doesn't it depart from Geelong now ?  edit: Geelong from 23/10, i thought it had relocated already.
they had a test docking other day apparently
you can see the nightmares on the 23/24/25 LOL! cops will have a field day with everyone headin to geelong from port... lol

« Reply #5 on: August 31, 2022, 04:24:23 PM »
they had a test docking other day apparently
you can see the nightmares on the 23/24/25 LOL! cops will have a field day with everyone headin to geelong from port... lol

How many you reckon…..who didn’t read their ticket ?

Not exactly just around the corner either !!
« Last Edit: August 31, 2022, 04:26:05 PM by gronk »

« Reply #6 on: August 31, 2022, 06:09:46 PM »

https://www.spiritoftasmania.com.au/geelong-terminal/news

Looks like Melbourne is still the departure point till 23 October.
West of the Station pier in Melbourne is the Sandringham Lifesaving Club and a public park with plenty of parking and may be room to turn a caravan.
That is where we park when waiting to board the ferry.
You can also see when the vehicles start moving along Station Pier to start boarding.
Edit
It is a bit of a Maze of small streets to get back to the Ferry if you get off the main roads, so make sure your gps is set to fastest route - NOT shortest distance.

Sent from my SM-T380 using Tapatalk
« Last Edit: August 31, 2022, 06:14:30 PM by austastar »

« Reply #7 on: August 31, 2022, 06:18:04 PM »

https://www.spiritoftasmania.com.au/geelong-terminal/news

Looks like Melbourne is still the departure point till 23 October.
West of the Station pier in Melbourne is the Sandringham Lifesaving Club and a public park with plenty of parking and may be room to turn a caravan.
That is where we park when waiting to board the ferry.
You can also see when the vehicles start moving along Station Pier to start boarding.
Edit
It is a bit of a Maze of small streets to get back to the Ferry if you get off the main roads, so make sure your gps is set to fastest route - NOT shortest distance.

That'd be Sandridge....

Can't see the good people of Sandringham being too pleased if you camp anywhere near their patch.... ;D

« Reply #8 on: August 31, 2022, 06:29:03 PM »
Phat fumbs!

Offline lukeycat

« Reply #9 on: August 31, 2022, 08:52:04 PM »
That'd be Sandridge....

Can't see the good people of Sandringham being too pleased if you camp anywhere near their patch.... ;D

If you have kids with you that’s a great spot to wait a while there’s a great playground there which port of Melbourne build as part of the port capacity project about 5 years ago. Probably 10 minutes back to the boat from there in traffic. You may have to park on the boulevard though as I can’t remember if there is any parallel parking there or just angle parking.

Offline Dingo0163

• The original Aussie mongrel
« Reply #10 on: September 03, 2022, 03:23:21 PM »
About 5km around the coast is the St Kilda boat ramp. Plenty of parks for cars with trailers. It is only a 10 minute drive from station pier and it’s almost a straight run.

Offline Ranger_Scott

« Reply #11 on: September 05, 2022, 06:35:08 AM »
St Kilda ramp sounds like it might be a go. At least there's plenty of options, was thinking it was going to be a huge PIA.