Author Topic: How to cope with the corona virus ..facts- not fiction.  (Read 302653 times)

Offline Champin

Re: How to cope with the corona virus ..facts- not fiction.
« Reply #925 on: July 09, 2020, 04:05:21 PM »
Thing is old mate, we can't knock them for that because that was all they knew. It was the way it was for alot of people. My dad was the same. What we can do though, is learn from that experience and improve, and see just how far we have come since those days. Predudism occurs everywhere in the world, including Afican, Asian. Muslim and Christian countries. Not just America, England and Australia. We have a long way to go yet, but we are breaking new ground every day. Sadly not fast enough, but we are moving in the right direction.

Sent from my SM-T700 using Tapatalk

Offline Champin

« Reply #926 on: July 09, 2020, 04:10:45 PM »
Case in point with what Bird sez. A large majority are making sacrifises and trying to do the right thing but are constantly held back by stupid, ignorant and arrogant people

Offline Comfortablynumb

« Reply #927 on: July 09, 2020, 04:41:19 PM »
Thing is old mate, we can't knock them for that because that was all they knew. It was the way it was for alot of people. My dad was the same. What we can do though, is learn from that experience and improve, and see just how far we have come since those days. Predudism occurs everywhere in the world, including Afican, Asian. Muslim and Christian countries. Not just America, England and Australia. We have a long way to go yet, but we are breaking new ground every day. Sadly not fast enough, but we are moving in the right direction.

Very true.

However, there are quite a few around who are several generations younger with the same (or stronger) views.

The way I see it, things have not much changed at all. I still hear younger Australians coming out with statements like " we never had crimes in Australia until all these immigrants arrived"

(True, but not in the way YOU are thinking)

« Reply #928 on: July 09, 2020, 04:41:44 PM »
Back in the day, the Old Man point blank refused to eat anything with onion in it.

It was declared "bloody wog food" and was strictly banned from the house. "Wogs" were the cause of all things bad in Australia back then. Apparently.

My mother used to berate us kids to not play with those 'filthy, dumb wogs" for fear we would catch something (stupidity, perhaps).

The Old Man was such a shocking racist he even berated the poor folk from Darwin in 1974 who fled south for "taking South Australians jobs". "People ought to stay where they are born and just die there" he would state.

I  think he taught Pauline everything she knows.......

How old are you mate ?

I'm over 60 and that sort of thinking never happened around where I lived as a young boy.
Had a born in Australia "wog" as a childhood friend, and I can't remember anyone ever talking down to him or his parents, although we all knew his parents weren't all that good at english.

Had a couple of friends at school, that took maybe 5yrs after leaving school till I was told they were of aboriginal descent...just didn't think of those things back then.

Offline Comfortablynumb

« Reply #929 on: July 09, 2020, 04:42:48 PM »
Case in point with what Bird sez. A large majority are making sacrifises and trying to do the right thing but are constantly held back by stupid, ignorant and arrogant people

Yep.

As has been the case since the Neanderthals stood on their hind legs.

« Reply #930 on: July 09, 2020, 04:56:05 PM »
You mean 1.5mtrs - I dont think modern kids know what a meter is

« Reply #931 on: July 09, 2020, 05:06:21 PM »
How old are you mate ?

I'm over 60 and that sort of thinking never happened around where I lived as a young boy.
Had a born in Australia "wog" as a childhood friend, and I can't remember anyone ever talking down to him or his parents, although we all knew his parents weren't all that good at english.

Had a couple of friends at school, that took maybe 5yrs after leaving school till I was told they were of aboriginal descent...just didn't think of those things back then.
Haha, when I was growing up I was almost the only one in my class that wasn’t a wog.... ;D

Me and the token aborigine where the only white or black ones in the room, it was just lots of shades of brown around us... ;D ;D

Funnily enough though, Pauline still used to get about a 3rd of the votes in our town.
I guess the wogs must have hated the Asians as much as the rest of the bogans did.... ;)

Offline Comfortablynumb

« Reply #932 on: July 09, 2020, 05:12:43 PM »
How old are you mate ?

I'm well younger than you.

Must just be a South Australian thing, then.

Behind the times and all that!

:D

Offline Comfortablynumb

« Reply #933 on: July 09, 2020, 05:14:04 PM »

How dare you!!!!

Don't you know these young ones have rights?????

« Reply #934 on: July 09, 2020, 05:18:39 PM »
How dare you!!!!

Don't you know these young ones have rights?????

« Reply #935 on: July 09, 2020, 05:23:48 PM »
Has anyone found any serious articles or reports on people who have caught it twice ???  Was it worse second time though? etc....

Only one I found was about some dudes in US Navy... probably test suckers subjects

« Reply #936 on: July 09, 2020, 06:40:52 PM »

« Reply #937 on: July 10, 2020, 01:23:24 PM »
PM just announcing something like

if you go out in Victoria now you have to wear a mask, where social distancing cannot be guaranteed

I didnt hear it clearly at the time - did anyone else?

edit: 60,000 new cases in USA yesterday!

edit edit: It was:

Assuming that people do need to go out, what has not changed is – if people have symptoms and they need to go for a test, for example, which we would definitely encourage –they should wear a mask.
"Other people, where physical distancing cannot be guaranteed, they should also wear a mask."
« Last Edit: July 10, 2020, 01:36:00 PM by Bird »

Offline corndog

« Reply #938 on: July 10, 2020, 01:50:13 PM »
Victoria's overnight cases  was 288.
Wife's been making masks, she won't be able to keep up with them now.
« Last Edit: July 10, 2020, 01:52:29 PM by corndog »

« Reply #939 on: July 10, 2020, 01:54:09 PM »

Neither do you, ya Nimrod. LOL  ;D

Metre: Is a measurement of distance in Australia.
Meter: Is a device to measure a volume..... IE. Power meter.

« Last Edit: July 10, 2020, 01:58:24 PM by Bird »

« Reply #941 on: July 10, 2020, 02:29:44 PM »
Wonder when the message will start getting through ???

Police issued 16 fines after discovering a large group of people holding a surprise birthday party at a home in Dandenong.

Police were alerted to the party after attendees picked up a very large order of KFC at a nearby outlet.
Chief Commissioner Shane Patton said the fines would total more than $20,000 making it a very expensive party. .

"That is ridiculous that type of behaviour. It is an expensive night when you think apart from the KFC, we have issued 16 infringements at that amount, that is $26,000 that birthday party is costing them," he said. "That is a heck of a birthday party to recall. They will remember that one for a long time." :cup: :cup:
« Last Edit: July 10, 2020, 02:31:17 PM by Bird »

« Reply #942 on: July 10, 2020, 03:03:59 PM »
Not if they cark it.  :D

« Reply #943 on: July 10, 2020, 03:08:24 PM »
Quote from: Jeepers Creepers
Not if they cark it.  :D

They be heading to centerlink to get assistance in paying their fines :D :D :D Wonder if it was really finger licking good?

EDIT:
I wonder how many will take teh "MASKS MUST BE WORN" thing - and turn it around and every second person will have a gimp mask LMAO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
« Last Edit: July 10, 2020, 03:16:26 PM by Bird »

« Reply #944 on: July 10, 2020, 04:12:24 PM »
They be heading to centerlink to get assistance in paying their fines :D :D :D Wonder if it was really finger licking good?

EDIT:
I wonder how many will take teh "MASKS MUST BE WORN" thing - and turn it around and every second person will have a gimp mask LMAO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Or they'll be found tryin to get here.  ;D

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=4705206772838496&set=a.400901883269028&type=3&eid=ARD6dhM_B6kcmArl3erWSW1mMbkE16buFfe_W1fneYyQx-QgDBvYLdKsKM8LWaKkcD_EnA95-5g7bSHS

« Reply #945 on: July 10, 2020, 04:29:34 PM »
Or they'll be found tryin to get here.  ;D

:cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:

« Reply #946 on: July 10, 2020, 08:23:47 PM »
It seems strange that after 24 hrs they were complaining about the lack of supplies and food.
All their fridges and pantries must have been empty when lockdown started.

Sent from my Moto G (4) using Tapatalk
Sorry  but we have been locked down,,,,,,,, so it up toe the Vic Gov to pander to my every need , lm locked down .There are a good number of  " Said " lockedowners that are on the Gov Tit  & prepaired to suck it dry &  beyond .
As a self funded retiree thats has contributed to the Pool , why are these people able to get paid but lm not .
Eat what you want , become an Aussie if your game to contribute , & dont complain . Your in Australia  Enjoy .

« Reply #947 on: July 10, 2020, 08:24:34 PM »
Thank you Admin  for my opinion  on this

Offline HKB Electronics

• www.hkbelect.com
    • HKB Electronics
« Reply #948 on: July 11, 2020, 11:11:33 AM »
Hmmm, where did Victoria's Corona virus come from, it seems it has escaped from quarantine via a guard/s who caught it off a returnee who may have been a Queenslander for all we know.

Read about the SA premier complaining they have had to handle 2000 returnees since the pandemic began and now they will charge them for the quarantine as its to expensive. The other states namely VIC & NSW it appears were handling thousands per week and covering the expense themselves.

Yes VIC stuffed up but I wonder what the situation would look like now if the incoming travellers had been evenly distributed over all the states?

Must admit Queensland was smart when they discovered they had to start taking their fair share of returned travellers after VIC being shut down, they were the first to start charging for quarantine stays to dissuade travellers from wanting to go fly into there even if they were Queenslanders.
« Last Edit: July 11, 2020, 12:09:19 PM by HKB Electronics »
HKB Electronics, manufacturer of the Alternator Voltage Boosters

« Reply #949 on: July 11, 2020, 11:29:32 AM »
Not sure if anyone has posted this before, sorry if they have.
Some interesting numbers.
https://public.flourish.studio/visualisation/2944635/?fbclid=IwAR3IyEligyMxRgsN6IBhN4YQRHNa3CWqKouWRxRcAc59pbPDwqOQtpXIe4k
The following users thanked this post: Spada, Pottsy