Author Topic: How to cope with the corona virus ..facts- not fiction.  (Read 303039 times)

Offline Champin

Re: How to cope with the corona virus ..facts- not fiction.
« Reply #700 on: April 17, 2020, 12:30:14 PM »
Awesome Fizzie. Thats gotta be a load off your mind.

Sent from my SM-T700 using Tapatalk

The following users thanked this post: Fizzie

« Reply #701 on: April 17, 2020, 01:23:20 PM »
I think we might have a new outbreak in Cairns at the hospital testing lab.

« Reply #702 on: April 17, 2020, 01:39:02 PM »
:cup: :cup:

Awesome Fizzie. Thats gotta be a load off your mind.

Thanks, fellas :cup:

Well & truly is ;D

« Reply #703 on: April 17, 2020, 01:40:43 PM »
I think we might have a new outbreak in Cairns at the hospital testing lab.

Yep :'(

http://www.mygc.com.au/lab-worker-among-six-new-qld-covid-19-cases/

But in contact with another carrier, nothing to do with work!

« Reply #704 on: April 17, 2020, 02:22:48 PM »

« Reply #705 on: April 17, 2020, 03:45:55 PM »
Well we haven't managed a vaccine for the common cold yet which can be caused by corona and rhino viruses but that fact hasn't been widely acknowledged to date. That's why Oz has to eradicate this virus before a satisfactory treatment can be found and hence ongoing detection and quarantining. The Lucky Isle has among the best chances at that but we may fail due to widespread asymptomatic carriers already and this is not a good look in that regard- https://www.msn.com/en-nz/news/world/singapore-reports-record-jump-in-virus-infections/ar-BB12Kxgj

China figures you can't trust but if their infection rate returns which they won't be able to hide it's all over for global pandemic control and welcome to survival of the fittest with eventual herd immunity. That's what the brains trust are grappling with but at some stage the economic imperative will outweigh the medical problem but there's no handbook for any of it.

There's no Great Evil conspiracy against consumers within engineering, manufacturing and supply. Just the many tradeoffs incurred to satisfy diverse tastes, priorities and wallets. But first comes all the insatiable Gummint eggsperts, nanny-staters and usual suspects.

« Reply #706 on: April 19, 2020, 01:10:46 PM »
Heard earlier from our Duty Radio Operator that 127 vessels (power boats & jet skis) went out through the Creek this morning :o

Good to see that the idea of not going fishing is working well! ::)

« Reply #707 on: April 20, 2020, 07:14:18 AM »
This article fits well with the facts not fiction title https://medium.com/swlh/misinformation-goes-viral-1aad951e4492

« Reply #708 on: April 20, 2020, 07:40:38 AM »
Heard earlier from our Duty Radio Operator that 127 vessels (power boats & jet skis) went out through the Creek this morning :o

Good to see that the idea of not going fishing is working well! ::)

But in QLD your allowed to go fishing for the purpose of catching food? One of my mates got pulled over by the water police last weekend and they just checked to make sure he had fishing rods and who the occupants of the boat were. In his case it was he 2 children so was told to have a nice day.

« Reply #709 on: April 20, 2020, 07:49:33 AM »
Wife wasn't feeling great on the weekend so she went to the Docs on Saturday. As she is still working at her office, and classified as an essential service worker, they gave her the COVID-19 test as a precaution. Should get the results today, we're expecting a negative but it's a little bit stressful.

« Reply #710 on: April 20, 2020, 08:48:08 AM »
Fngers crossed all is going to be well D4D..

« Reply #711 on: April 20, 2020, 08:50:43 AM »
Wife wasn't feeling great on the weekend so she went to the Docs on Saturday. As she is still working at her office, and classified as an essential service worker, they gave her the COVID-19 test as a precaution. Should get the results today, we're expecting a negative but it's a little bit stressful.

Ekkk fingers crossed for Mrs D4D mate

« Reply #712 on: April 20, 2020, 09:57:42 AM »
it's a little bit stressful.

It certainly is that! :'(

Fingers crossed! :D

« Reply #713 on: April 20, 2020, 09:59:43 AM »
But in QLD your allowed to go fishing for the purpose of catching food? One of my mates got pulled over by the water police last weekend and they just checked to make sure he had fishing rods and who the occupants of the boat were. In his case it was he 2 children so was told to have a nice day.

Think it's how you interpret it ???

The rules (appear to) say "Fishing is OK if you need to feed your family", but the powers-that-be then say "Please don't" ???

« Reply #714 on: April 20, 2020, 10:57:20 AM »
Think it's how you interpret it ???

The rules (appear to) say "Fishing is OK if you need to feed your family", but the powers-that-be then say "Please don't" ???

In Tasmania you can go fishing, but you can only launch your boat in your home local government area.  You can also play Golf.....  The club up the road allways has a lot of vehicles in the car park, and its FB site says not to turn  up for a hit unless you have booked online.  No "walk ups".

Bunnings car parks are usually chockers, but strangely not that busy inside. Not many family groups there.  Most of the "sales" areas at the ends of aisles have been taken away.

« Reply #715 on: April 20, 2020, 02:37:35 PM »
Ekkk fingers crossed for Mrs D4D mate

Thanks, all good results just came back and are negative.

The following users thanked this post: GeoffA

« Reply #716 on: April 20, 2020, 02:59:22 PM »
Yay! :cup:

« Reply #717 on: April 20, 2020, 04:31:34 PM »

« Reply #718 on: April 20, 2020, 04:32:27 PM »
In relation to covid testing , I am told it’s quite invasive the swab has to go right up into the sinus! Is that true ?

« Reply #719 on: April 20, 2020, 05:16:25 PM »

Great news

« Reply #720 on: April 20, 2020, 05:25:21 PM »
Quote from: D4D

Nice work digger... thats a weight off ya mind. now back to fixing the garage roof lining ;)

« Reply #721 on: April 20, 2020, 06:04:21 PM »
Awesome to hear D4D,
:)

« Reply #722 on: April 20, 2020, 06:05:50 PM »
In relation to covid testing , I am told it’s quite invasive the swab has to go right up into the sinus! Is that true ?

I believe so !!
I've had a few cameras up into and around the nasal and sinus passages and even though there wasn't any real pain, it certainly wasn't pleasant.

« Reply #723 on: April 20, 2020, 06:08:47 PM »

Yes, one swab up the nose all the way and one down the throat. My wife said it wasn't pleasant.

« Reply #724 on: April 20, 2020, 08:19:43 PM »
Yes, one swab up the nose all the way and one down the throat. My wife said it wasn't pleasant.

The Bride said the same, one swab for each nostril and one down the throat.   Three swabs.  Wasn't pleasant but not overly uncomfortable.