Author Topic: How to cope with the corona virus ..facts- not fiction.  (Read 302951 times)

Re: How to cope with the corona virus ..facts- not fiction.
« Reply #425 on: March 30, 2020, 05:06:50 AM »
Just where I am working at the moment. Go from a place of isolation and quiet on the weekend at our place and drive into this madhouse.

I found a “small” spray bottle of 70% ethanol in the shed yesterday. I Should be good for a fair while  ;D

« Reply #426 on: March 30, 2020, 06:29:41 AM »
I found a “small” spray bottle of 70% ethanol in the shed yesterday. I Should be good for a fair while  ;D

Mixed with coca cola you should be right for a while.... :cheers:

« Reply #427 on: March 30, 2020, 10:03:18 AM »
As my old man will be 90 this year, if he survives through this madness, I just organised for his shopping to be done for the next six weeks for him.  All done via My Aged Care (Ph 1800 200 422) for his local Blue Care to help him out.  Due to where he lives there is no on-line shopping for him.     

Joys of being interstate and not being able to be in two or more places at once. 

« Reply #428 on: March 30, 2020, 10:23:09 AM »
Another option from Woolworths

https://www.woolworths.com.au/shop/page/woolworths-basics-box

Helping the most vulnerable in our communities
Woolworths Basics Box $80 inc. delivery
Currently available for delivery to ACT, NSW and VIC

What is the Woolworths Basics Box?

It’s just that, the basics.

We’ve created the Woolworths Basics Box to help provide meals, snacks and a few essential items for those in genuine need. It’s not perfect - it doesn’t include everything and is likely to be different to what you’d normally buy. You’re also not able to choose, switch or select the products you’ll receive - but by removing choice we’re able to get more boxes to more vulnerable customers faster.

The list below is an example of what may be included in your Woolworths Basics Box. While some products will vary due to stock availability, we will always aim to provide a similar range of products. Unfortunately we are currently unable to cater for specific dietary requirements.

A limit of 2 boxes per customer, per fortnight applies.

Another option
https://harrisfarmexpress.com.au

Harris Farm Express = Simple Food Boxes

This service has been set up to give our customers an alternative to shopping in store, or through our normal online delivery site which might be congested due to a high volume of orders.  First delivery Tuesday 24 march!

By eliminating choice, we can offer a much faster service throughout this difficult time.

To bring this service to you, we have partnered with a restaurant supplier who is doing it tough in this National Crisis.
« Last Edit: March 30, 2020, 10:26:07 AM by Bird »

« Reply #429 on: March 30, 2020, 05:32:32 PM »
The latest package from the Fed gov actually looks pretty well thought out.

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2020-03-30/coronavirus-wage-subsidies-government-businesses-workers/12103108

I know it's not the Australian thing to do (should be whinging), but I actually think the Gov is doing and has done a pretty good job, that includes both sides of politics. Just have to look at Trump over in the states to see how badly it can be handled.
The following users thanked this post: Mace, brickiematt, paceman

« Reply #430 on: March 30, 2020, 06:04:48 PM »
Wonder how soon it will take to be put in place though ..
 EDIT : 1 May   .. Being stood down again, Last shift tonite, hope our lot will take up the offer, No guarantee's there ..
 Hard to keep track of all the differing offers / hourly changes / apply here n there  etc ..
 Now to work out what to do about getting through till 1 May . Pull holidays or hit the savings . Just have to play the Mushroom game for a while, I guess ..
« Last Edit: March 30, 2020, 06:22:39 PM by edz »

« Reply #431 on: March 30, 2020, 07:03:13 PM »
The latest package from the Fed gov actually looks pretty well thought out.

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2020-03-30/coronavirus-wage-subsidies-government-businesses-workers/12103108

I know it's not the Australian thing to do (should be whinging), but I actually think the Gov is doing and has done a pretty good job, that includes both sides of politics. Just have to look at Trump over in the states to see how badly it can be handled.
My wife should benefit from this  :cup:
My only gripe is that there are a lot of casuals who don't stay 12 months with the one employer. If they are lucky they will get the increased Jobseeker payment but only if they are eligible (eg as long as their partner doesn't earn too much). 

« Reply #432 on: March 30, 2020, 07:22:24 PM »
My wife should benefit from this  :cup:
My only gripe is that there are a lot of casuals who don't stay 12 months with the one employer. If they are lucky they will get the increased Jobseeker payment but only if they are eligible (eg as long as their partner doesn't earn too much).

I know there are a lot of casual workers with no choice, but for the ones who prefer to be casual ( bigger pay is the main incentive ), this is one of the drawbacks.
As for partners earning too much, I've heard a lot of people complain about this, but, if a partner is earning too much , then they don't need the extra money.

« Reply #433 on: March 30, 2020, 07:47:31 PM »
I know there are a lot of casual workers with no choice, but for the ones who prefer to be casual ( bigger pay is the main incentive ), this is one of the drawbacks.
As for partners earning too much, I've heard a lot of people complain about this, but, if a partner is earning too much , then they don't need the extra money.
I think you are wrong on both counts.

At the end of all this, the rich will be richer, the poor will be poorer and the middle class will be decimated. Those who supposedly don't need the money will no longer be able to pay their mortgage so they will need to sell, everyone's house price will plummet, discretionary spending will dry up for many years and taxes will either need to increase or services will need to be cut.  A huge number of retail and hospitality companies and jobs will disappear forever. 

The following users thanked this post: Mace

« Reply #434 on: March 30, 2020, 08:51:13 PM »
Son #2 left his old job of 6 years about 4 months ago, and started a new job as a casual. It was meant to be 6 months casual then permanent. Dont need to tell you what happened last week.

Offline bmwfreak

• DunWerkin
« Reply #435 on: March 30, 2020, 08:56:44 PM »
I’m sure I’m not the only Swagger noticing that self funded retirees, have not been given any air time whatsoever during the discussions re the financial security/support. Most, if not all, rely on superannuation for their livelihood. The super funds have taken a hit only comparable the the Great Depression in the late 20’s & 30’s. We are hurting as much, or more than working people who have lost their jobs. We can’t go on newstart to bolster our income, as they can.
Old age pensioners also seem to have been left out of the media ‘drama’
We've waited 45 years to do this. Now our life will be complete!!
2019 LC78 (troopy)
2018 21’6” On The Move TRAXX Series 2

« Reply #436 on: March 30, 2020, 09:26:10 PM »
I’m sure I’m not the only Swagger noticing that self funded retirees, have not been given any air time whatsoever during the discussions re the financial security/support. Most, if not all, rely on superannuation for their livelihood. The super funds have taken a hit only comparable the the Great Depression in the late 20’s & 30’s. We are hurting as much, or more than working people who have lost their jobs. We can’t go on newstart to bolster our income, as they can.
Old age pensioners also seem to have been left out of the media ‘drama’

x10000000

We talked to our doctor a couple of months ago and he did a couple tests on me. Diminished memory at 73 gave Bronny  a carers subsidy which helps a bit, so hopefully we'll get the $750 each. But I've had to cut my fortnightly payment from my super to $300 p/f, my pension is about $750 p/f so we now have a whole $1000 p/f ($500 p/w)to live on, lucky the house and car is paid for.
Really happy after working and paying tax's for 52 years  :'( :'( :'( and getting the dole for 4 weeks in Mr Keatings recession that we had to have  >:(

« Reply #437 on: March 30, 2020, 09:48:51 PM »
I think you are wrong on both counts.

. Those who supposedly don't need the money will no longer be able to pay their mortgage so they will need to sell,

For one, this thing will only last a certain time, and mortgage relief will probably last the same amount of time. This all may be a wake up call to all the people who have overcapitalised in this modern world of having the best...but needing two wages to pay for it all. Don't worry, I have family in the same boat !

I'll start ducking now !!

« Reply #438 on: March 30, 2020, 09:56:06 PM »
For one, this thing will only last a certain time, and mortgage relief will probably last the same amount of time. This all may be a wake up call to all the people who have overcapitalised in this modern world of having the best...but needing two wages to pay for it all. Don't worry, I have family in the same boat !

Don't tell me you think people might actually have to start to budget for items like we did 30 or 40 years ago ?   :cheers:

« Reply #439 on: March 30, 2020, 10:07:37 PM »

It's surprising what you actually need to live on - we live pretty much on wife's wage (2IC in a supermarket department, so not that different to the national median wage) as my work is Part time whilst I self-fund a PhD and pay rent from the 20hrs a week I work.

OK, we're renting, but that is as much due to our circumstances.

We have 5 vehicles for rego and 1 camper trailer; admittedly I do all the work on both Land Cruisers myself, and one of the 3 bikes, so that keeps costs down. Also the Land Cruisers were not that expensive really to purchase, and are still worth what we paid for them (if not more).

We can also book a trip back to the UK about every 2-3years (we were due to go in May this year....) and do a few trips around locally here.

Whilst it's unstable at the moment, we've tightened the budget a bit, but we can still decide to buy something if it's the right price without having to borrow money for it.

The main thing is we own as much as we can outright, and budget ahead (we've just got our phone bills down to $10ish a month, and paid for the next 12months, whilst we both own our phones outright).

I think we also fit into the slow fashion movement as well; we'll spend a bit on clothes, but then they last (Wrangler jeans are $70ish, but they last for about 2 years before retiring to yard work only grade - and I use them nearly everyday) for a lot longer.

Offline hardroad

« Reply #440 on: March 31, 2020, 06:45:14 AM »
I would like to know what the stimulus payments will do. The retail sector has been decimated. The tourist industry is nonexistent. Not sure what mining is doing, assume China shutdown has slowed that dramatically. Pubs, registered and licenced clubs, gyms and indoor sporting venues, Cinemas, entertainment venues, casinos, restaurants and cafes (restricted to takeaway and/or home delivery), all shut. Sport gone. Plus others I can't think of at the moment. What is left to stimulate???

« Reply #441 on: March 31, 2020, 06:51:14 AM »
Wonder how soon it will take to be put in place though ..
 EDIT : 1 May   

From what I understand, the incentive is being paid to the employer as a rebate for keeping workers on the payroll, and will be effective from now. So workers will need to remain on the books and continue to be paid by their employer, and backdated rebates will flow to the employer from May 1st. The aim is to keep people on the employers books instead of the unemployment list so that when things return to normal the workforce will be close to what it was? Wont prevent all job losses, but should help mitigate the unemployment situation? and might also remove some of the pressure on the Centrelink system?

Mrs Spada (who is a payroll manager for a largish Aus company) is a bit concerned about the workload involved in managing it though, as the fine details are yet to be finalised? I believe it is forecast to be in place for upwards of 6 months? I'm guessing employees will only be on base wage (no overtime, penalties, entitlements) but in many cases that may be in line with what they would get from Centerlink?
« Last Edit: March 31, 2020, 06:54:40 AM by Spada »

« Reply #442 on: March 31, 2020, 06:56:41 AM »
I would like to know what the stimulus payments will do. The retail sector has been decimated. The tourist industry is nonexistent. Not sure what mining is doing, assume China shutdown has slowed that dramatically. Pubs, registered and licenced clubs, gyms and indoor sporting venues, Cinemas, entertainment venues, casinos, restaurants and cafes (restricted to takeaway and/or home delivery), all shut. Sport gone. Plus others I can't think of at the moment. What is left to stimulate???

Simple mate...get a few take away meals from local shops in your area. Find out what stores are open and buy from them...we are not in a total lock down yet. . Use a local  bloke to cut your grass (even if you normally do it), Have a look on your local community facebook page...always someone willing do to do something.  Buy $100 worth of pet food and donate to the local kennels/rspca/animal shelter.  Dont forget we still have many bush fire victims...donate a few dollars to their cause. Put a deposit on a weekend away in a bush fire affected region....I,m sure you,ll think of a way of spending..

« Reply #443 on: March 31, 2020, 08:44:54 AM »
W.A. going in hard against the scumbags in society...
Bloody great idea. We need tougher , enforceable penalties like this across Australia now...

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2020-03-31/wa-coronavirus-crime-plan-for-jail-terms-and-electronic-tracking/12104286

« Reply #444 on: March 31, 2020, 08:58:41 AM »
W.A. going in hard against the scumbags in society...
Bloody great idea. We need tougher , enforceable penalties like this across Australia now...

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2020-03-31/wa-coronavirus-crime-plan-for-jail-terms-and-electronic-tracking/12104286
Should be done every where 

« Reply #446 on: March 31, 2020, 09:35:46 AM »
These payments they are calling support payments, not stimulus payments (the first $750 was a stimulus package before the severity of it was evident)

I don't think it's the Govs role to give you enough to make the car payments on your new car and your mortgage on your Mcmansion, or whatever lifestyle choices you have made. Enough to put a modest roof over your head and some food on the table which I think the amounts they are giving away generally allow you to do, they are not here to keep you in the lifestyle you might like in the suburb of your choice, no body forced you to overextended yourself by taking a loan out for everything.

Pensioners are about to receive $750 on top of what they normally get, which hasn't gone down at all and there is another at a later date.

Most self funded retirees have seen a hit to their super, but that's to do with the risk portfolio they have taken with it, if they had choosen cash and government bonds, it wouldn't have gone down at all, but most  choose a higher risk option, as although overtime it goes up and down, on the whole it goes up more which it is likely to do again in a year or so.

I think most gripes people have are more to do with the choices they have made  than a lack of government action.

And whilst I am at it, unemployment benefits only normally account for about 6% of the taxes you pay, I view it more like an insurance policy, if you never have had to claim on it ( and I haven't yet), it's generally a good thing, but that doesn't mean it's not worth having, and just because you have paid the premium for years, it doesn't mean you are entitled to something extra than the coverage/safety net you have received over that time.
The following users thanked this post: Spada

« Reply #447 on: March 31, 2020, 09:51:59 AM »
But I've had to cut my fortnightly payment from my super to $300 p/f, my pension is about $750 p/f so we now have a whole $1000 p/f ($500 p/w)to live on,

Just reading the news this morning

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2020-03-31/coronavirus-wage-subsidy-stimulus-business/12104222

"At around $39,000 a year, the new payment is close to 70 per cent of the typical (median) wage in Australia of $58,000, or about half of the median full-time wage. By contrast, the previously announced increase in the Jobseeker allowance offers sacked workers close to $29,000 a year, or half of median earnings."

& there were lots of complaints that nobody could afford to live on that amount!

"For low and middle-income households, these higher payments give them a good chance of covering the rent and bills."

But Newstart is normally only about $13k p.a., so you have to wonder how any of us on that are still here! :'(

« Reply #448 on: March 31, 2020, 09:55:19 AM »
From what I understand, the incentive is being paid to the employer as a rebate for keeping workers on the payroll

What worries me is how many scumbag employers will say "Thanks, very much - that gives me the chance to upgrade last year's BMW to this year's model, pay off the mortgage on my holiday house & so on :'( >:( Employee's pay ??? Phht, who cares about them!" >:(

« Reply #449 on: March 31, 2020, 10:19:51 AM »
These payments they are calling support payments, not stimulus payments (the first $750 was a stimulus package before the severity of it was evident)

I don't think it's the Govs role to give you enough to make the car payments on your new car and your mortgage on your Mcmansion, or whatever lifestyle choices you have made. Enough to put a modest roof over your head and some food on the table which I think the amounts they are giving away generally allow you to do, they are not here to keep you in the lifestyle you might like in the suburb of your choice, no body forced you to overextended yourself by taking a loan out for everything.

Pensioners are about to receive $750 on top of what they normally get, which hasn't gone down at all and there is another at a later date.

Most self funded retirees have seen a hit to their super, but that's to do with the risk portfolio they have taken with it, if they had choosen cash and government bonds, it wouldn't have gone down at all, but most  choose a higher risk option, as although overtime it goes up and down, on the whole it goes up more which it is likely to do again in a year or so.

I think most gripes people have are more to do with the choices they have made  than a lack of government action.

And whilst I am at it, unemployment benefits only normally account for about 6% of the taxes you pay, I view it more like an insurance policy, if you never have had to claim on it ( and I haven't yet), it's generally a good thing, but that doesn't mean it's not worth having, and just because you have paid the premium for years, it doesn't mean you are entitled to something extra than the coverage/safety net you have received over that time.

Even if they had chosen cash and bonds it would have gone down.  You have to take out a minimum of 5% if on an income stream. Say you have $100,000..thats $5000 you must take out. Cash you might have made $2000  Bonds..$2500.  If you invest in superannuation and only invested in cash and govt bonds then your a fool and missing out on what a balanced portfolio will produce. Interest on many well managed  super funds was around 10% last financial year.  Cash and bonds was about 3-4%. Like many I have taken a decent hit (around 10% currently)..but I have also got a well balanced super scheme and know that over the years my super has risen significantly due to good % rises overall.

This is why it is extremely important for people to follow their super schemes and check on its performance.  If there is more panic selling then putting a good percentage of your super into cash will be a good thing.  Things will get better and what you lose on the swings you make up on the slides!!    :cheers: