Author Topic: How to cope with the corona virus ..facts- not fiction.  (Read 306314 times)

Re: How to cope with the corona virus ..facts- not fiction.
« Reply #325 on: March 25, 2020, 05:29:36 PM »
WW have their own fleet, prime movers and many more trailers, refrigerated and not, plus they outsource non refrigerated to Linfox and a few others.
EVERY Store gets a delivery of Produce and fast moving grocery items every night, 365 days a year.
Stores place orders everyday.
The stuff is just selling too fast for the logistics to keep pace.
If everyone returned to shopping for what they NEED, things would be back to normal within a few day.

The problem is that the longer the shelves remain bare, the less people will believe that. Simply the JIT system was too finely tuned to cope with people needing to stock up with food for a possible 14 day plus lock in. Due to the dribble of information the public receive plus all the high handed warnings, it is hard to blame the public for looking after themselves and their family. Our JIT world-wide economy has proven to be extremely fragile to a large external shock such as the COVID-19. I foresee big changes happening once the crisis is over.
The following users thanked this post: Spada

« Reply #326 on: March 25, 2020, 05:36:47 PM »
new zealanders have to get to their place of residence tonight ... that is the house you must stay in for the next 4 weeks. no moving around or ****ing about

Thats our next step.... so leave the missus at home and get to ya girlfriends place quick!!!!!

« Reply #327 on: March 25, 2020, 05:39:31 PM »
I foresee big changes happening once the crisis is over.

Just like the bushfires.....I see NO changes happening.  The pollies will say, thank christ that is over....we won't see that happening again, and life will go back to "normal".

But, "normal" won't be the same as a month ago, that may take a few years !

« Reply #328 on: March 25, 2020, 05:47:12 PM »
Just like the bushfires.....I see NO changes happening.  The pollies will say, thank christ that is over....we won't see that happening again, and life will go back to "normal".

Got to agree Greg.

« Reply #329 on: March 25, 2020, 05:50:07 PM »

I actually see that shareholders will require companies to diversify as well as optimise their supply chains, we'll move to a 'diversified just in time' system rather than only just in time.

« Reply #330 on: March 25, 2020, 05:52:29 PM »

I didn’t say the government would be making changes. My feelings are that people have seen how vulnerable the system is and will make changes to protect themselves.

« Reply #331 on: March 25, 2020, 05:53:49 PM »
I actually see that shareholders will require companies to diversify as well as optimise their supply chains, we'll move to a 'diversified just in time' system rather than only just in time.

I agree. Some of this was already happening in the US due to the trade war.

« Reply #332 on: March 25, 2020, 07:58:57 PM »
I actually see that shareholders will require companies to diversify

& (hopefully) start to not depend on one customer ???

Story on the local news tonight that an up-market chocolate maker here on the GC has hit the wall hard, because they only made fancy chocolates to put on beds in the 4* hotels - no tourists = no hotel bookings = no choccies = no $, all in the space of 3 days! :o

Offline Brij

« Reply #333 on: March 26, 2020, 05:28:05 AM »
It's up to you: data shows corona virus can only be controlled if eight out of 10 Aussies stay home

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2020-03-25/coronavirus-covid-19-modelling-stay-home-chart/12084144

I wander how they determine "controlled" verses "uncontrolled"?
NX Pajero
NJ Pajero (semi retired  to firewood harvesting duties)
Home made camper

« Reply #335 on: March 26, 2020, 07:09:42 AM »
I wander how they determine "controlled" verses "uncontrolled"?

R0<=1

« Reply #336 on: March 26, 2020, 07:24:54 AM »
Got to agree Greg.

More bloody Royal Commissions....

« Reply #337 on: March 26, 2020, 07:54:22 AM »
The reason you are not seeing full restocking of the shelves is because they have now introduced a time limit for the semi to  sit at the loading dock, the store orders are placed in a staging bay and when the truck arrives they start loading when time is up they shut the doors and the truck leaves with what ever they can get in. The reason is to try to get some stock to every store.  I have seen the stock of toilet paper in one warehouse and I'm not to worried about not be able to get it, just have to hunt around a bit, I guess when people are too stupid to control themselves someone has to do it for them

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk
The following users thanked this post: Spada

« Reply #338 on: March 26, 2020, 07:56:52 AM »
Watch the news this morning,
Reporters at the QLD/NSW boarder, a ute with 3 tradies crammed in the front seat.
The reporter within 1.5M of the driver, the copper was well back.  :police:
The tradies were laughing about how they were going to be late, but still get paid.  ???
There ya go,
That is why this virus is spreading, that is the definition of a dickhead.
 >:D >:D  >:D
« Last Edit: March 26, 2020, 07:58:23 AM by Hairs »

« Reply #339 on: March 26, 2020, 08:04:01 AM »
And what if those 3 tradies live together as well?

Me and 3 other mates lived in the same house and worked in the same workshop on the Goldie for a year or so.
There was 3 tradies crammed in the front of a commodore ute every morning.... ;)

« Reply #340 on: March 26, 2020, 08:19:00 AM »

Me and 3 other mates lived in the same house and worked in the same workshop on the Goldie for a year or so.
There was 3 tradies crammed in the front of a commodore ute every morning.... ;)
Pete,
It was a laugh to them, they really don't give a toss.
But what about the reporter?
Copper was doing the right thing, but reporter moves in close to stick the mic into the drivers face?
What the image does, is give the impression of, business as usual.

A message when out yesterday arvo in our local FB group regarding the Lawrence Ferry.
Asking motorists to have their windows up while on the ferry, not just for the safety of the operators, but for the motorists and their passengers.
The backlash that caused, one comment.
' What's wrong with ya's, scared of getting a cold"?
This is why this is spreading.

Did I hear right, 200 vic coppers have been pulled from service because they may have come in contact with someone who tested positive?

« Reply #341 on: March 26, 2020, 08:20:38 AM »

Maybe so...but highly unlikely..Also means that if 1 gets it then 3 automatically get the virus as well.

« Reply #342 on: March 26, 2020, 08:20:59 AM »
Pete,
It was a laugh to them, they really don't give a toss.
But what about the reporter?
Copper was doing the right thing, but reporter moves in close to stick the mic into the drivers face?
What the image does, is give the impression of, business as usual.
Ahh, I see. Completely misread that one. :)

« Reply #343 on: March 26, 2020, 09:25:13 AM »

Did I hear right, 200 vic coppers have been pulled from service because they may have come in contact with someone who tested positive?

Saw that headline, but no details ???

Offline Rowlie

« Reply #344 on: March 26, 2020, 09:30:06 AM »

I actually know Vic coppers who are in isolation. They had been overseas and had to go into lockdown. No different to others in the community. Report on the radio an hour or so ago also said others have come into contact through their day to day activities and no doubt some just have a runny nose and aren't welcome in the station. Not sure how many coppers there are in Vic but 200 is probably a very small percentage.

« Reply #345 on: March 26, 2020, 09:34:01 AM »
Why is it spreading?
The Rich think rules dont apply to them.

A Melbourne couple infected with COVID-19 while on a skiing holiday in the United States have been the subject of repeated police complaints after they allegedly flouted advice to self-isolate and visited shops and a golf course on the Mornington Peninsula instead.

A wealthy finance industry figure and his partner were two of about a dozen Australians believed to have contracted the coronavirus after attending a social function in the exclusive alpine resort of Aspen, Colorado, earlier this month.

The Age and Sydney Morning Herald have been told by multiple sources that at least two other Australians who attended the event refused to be tested in Aspen because they were reluctant to interrupt their ski trips.

https://www.smh.com.au/national/victoria/wealthy-couple-return-from-skiing-with-coronavirus-then-do-not-self-isolate-20200325-p54du5.html
« Last Edit: March 26, 2020, 09:38:31 AM by Bird »

« Reply #346 on: March 26, 2020, 10:01:35 AM »
Why is it spreading?
The Rich think rules dont apply to them.

Arrest them

« Reply #347 on: March 26, 2020, 10:04:39 AM »
Working on a building site at the moment is not fun, especially when you are in charge of Health and Safety. We have up to 80 guys on site a day and keeping them apart is a pain, i find its the younger ones that do not respect the separation between people. I go home each night to a family that is in isolation and shower straight away, feels as though I am leading two lives at the moment.

« Reply #348 on: March 26, 2020, 10:04:42 AM »
Saw that headline, but no details ???
Yeah, wasn't real informative.Hmmm.

« Reply #349 on: March 26, 2020, 10:07:03 AM »
I actually know Vic coppers who are in isolation. They had been overseas and had to go into lockdown. No different to others in the community. Report on the radio an hour or so ago also said others have come into contact through their day to day activities and no doubt some just have a runny nose and aren't welcome in the station. Not sure how many coppers there are in Vic but 200 is probably a very small percentage.
Yeah, 200 doesn't sound like many in the scheme of things, altho if the spread isn't pulled up, that will grow.
 :(