Author Topic: using generators at campsite  (Read 43313 times)

using generators at campsite
« Reply #100 on: March 19, 2013, 06:57:27 PM »
It's all Aldi's fault.  They've got a gennie on special next week.

http://aldi.com.au/au/html/offers/2827_26092.htm

Re: using generators at campsite
« Reply #101 on: March 19, 2013, 07:02:42 PM »
Time to connect the solar panel. Think this thread might be running out of power?

It was doomed before it started due to the controversial nature of a noise that most people can't ignore (those that aren't using one that is).

Go Solar ... It's quiet and efficient.

Offline Mallory Black

« Reply #102 on: March 19, 2013, 07:21:25 PM »
Well we're going to Elanda Point and if it;s like other easters there a wind turbine would un the whole place!
1998 3.4V6 Prado & homebuilt rear fold soft floor

Offline heath74

« Reply #103 on: March 19, 2013, 07:23:07 PM »
Don't use a Genny personally, don't need one. I've camped with people with genys plenty of times and the vast majority of users have been more than considerate.

Can only think of a couple of occasions where I've been annoyed, once when a bloke wanted to run his geny at 5 pm just as the boss and I sat down for a beer. Another bloke wanted to run it after 9 pm.

FIL manages to run his sleep apnea machine of a battery, most of us keep our fridges cold with battery and solar, theres probably less and less need these days for a geny.

« Reply #104 on: March 19, 2013, 10:48:24 PM »
Probably still in Tassie, so that's OK...... ;D

Probably camping near me one day knowing my experience with karma!

« Reply #105 on: March 19, 2013, 10:50:25 PM »
Check the fuel tank for sugar........................

LOL Never really ran it where anyone could hear it so I dont think that caused it run bad ;) Besides those sorts of things only happen behind keyboards rarely in reality!

« Reply #106 on: March 20, 2013, 07:57:06 AM »
Besides those sorts of things only happen behind keyboards rarely in reality!

You got that right  :cup:

« Reply #107 on: March 20, 2013, 08:05:58 AM »
those sorts of things only happen behind keyboards rarely in reality!

It's happened at least once in my experience.    >:D

« Reply #108 on: March 20, 2013, 10:03:27 AM »
In the couple of times Ive tested the O'l sugar in the fuel tank theory " It failed " To do what legend says it does !!
Running  a wrecking yard and this topic came up in conversation one day, so we got a cup full of sugar and put it in a 5 liter tin with a fuel line out of the base straight to the carburettor on a Falcon 6 cyl ... Ran the tin dry "  NOTHING  " .
There was a sickly burnt sweet sort of smell around but the engine ticked over nicely, let it sit overnight and it fired up straight away the next day " Bugger " .
Sooo 4 kg's of suger went into the tin this time, swirled and dissolved as best as we could as the engine ran, it drank the tin dry and again it started  up next day ...
Even a two stroke engine kept running after a couple of doses .

« Last Edit: March 20, 2013, 10:28:59 AM by edz »

« Reply #109 on: March 20, 2013, 10:19:40 AM »

In my experience, it takes 2kg (or was it 4kg??) of raw sugar poured directly in the petrol tank - no stirring required. 

Then simply leave the (not so alleged) criminal owner to drive it as normal.  The engine sounds fine for a few days, but then starts to sound rather ill, then just gives up the ghost completely after about a fortnight.  Keep in mind, I do believe the owner of said vehicle to keep it in a poorly maintained condition.  And I did feel sorry for the vehicle itself ... it did nothing to warrant this horrid treatment.

Perhpas we should submit this one to MythBusters ... I believe it's Confirmed.

Offline Red Dog 4x4

« Reply #110 on: March 20, 2013, 10:40:39 AM »
Sorry but Mythbusters have tested it already, the sugar made it run better.... These are the Myths from that epasode -

A car engine will be destroyed when liquid drain cleaner is put into the fuel tank.

busted

The engine still ran.

A car engine will be destroyed when bleach is put into the fuel tank.

plausible

The engine soon died out but wasn’t ruined from the experience. The following morning, the inside of the gas tank was covered in rust.

A car engine will be destroyed when sugar is put into the fuel tank.

busted

The engine ran even better than without the sugar.

Adding mothballs to the fuel tank of a car will increase its horsepower.

plausible

The engine still started, but it soon started spluttering. When Jamie pressed the accelerator, the engine sounded more powerful.

When a car radiator is bone dry, cola can be used as a substitute for coolant.

plausible

The car ran with cola in the radiator, but it may cause damage.

When there is a leak in a car radiator, cracking an egg into the radiator will plug the hole.

plausible

The engine was started after the contents of an egg were poured in, and the leak stopped.

A piece of metal can destroy a car engine when it falls in the carburetor.

busted

A penny dropped in could be heard rattling, but the engine still ran.

Adding bleach to the oil of a car can destroy the engine.

confirmed

The engine started but it soon started smoking, and very quickly overheated. The engine was so hot, that the undercarriage started burning and Adam fried an egg on the tailpipe. The engine was ultimately ruined.
« Last Edit: March 20, 2013, 10:54:07 AM by Red Dog 4x4 »

The Rig- 97 GQ Coil Cab with lots of goodies
The Trailer- 2002 Castaway camper with lots of mods....
Quad Build -http://cfmoto-forum.com/cforce-500-h-o/cforce-550ho-from-australia/

« Reply #111 on: March 20, 2013, 10:45:01 AM »
AAHHHH there may be the problem, We used standard white refined sugar, I'd be interested to see the Myth Busters do this one too.
 Kitt, you are right though over time it would have to gum up the valve gear and  cylinders ... thinking about it further, our  two day trial with refined sugar would never have done it .The use of raw sugar would have been better because of the mollasses  coating he sugar crystals..

« Reply #112 on: March 20, 2013, 01:17:31 PM »
Bleach to the oil of a car....!

Hmm, noted.   >:D

(My scumbag neighbors have just seen my big cheesy grin.) 

Ha ha ha...(evil laugh)  >:D

« Reply #113 on: March 20, 2013, 06:23:58 PM »
Bleach to the oil of a car....!

Hmm, noted.   >:D

(My scumbag neighbors have just seen my big cheesy grin.) 

Ha ha ha...(evil laugh)  >:D

Valve grind paste added to the oil allegedly works well.
Like the shampoo commercial.  "it won't happen overnight, but it WILL happen"

Offline BernieShelly

« Reply #114 on: March 20, 2013, 09:09:26 PM »
A CRICKET BAT OVER THE KNUCKLES WOULD DO GOOD ( DONT MESS WITH MY GENNIE )

nbd73

« Reply #115 on: March 20, 2013, 09:25:52 PM »
Time to close this thread.

« Reply #116 on: March 20, 2013, 10:07:58 PM »
Back on track or another thread will be closed.

Offline Desert lover

• Challenge Meridian Offroad camper, GU Patrol.
« Reply #117 on: March 21, 2013, 08:58:18 AM »
I'm back on track! 
We tend to use the off the side of the track type campsites whenever we can - and we do indeed like our own company and being away from other campers who hopefully also like the peace and quiet.   We have just purchased a gennie but I can assure you all that, if there are other campers around,  it will be only run for a short time if required to boost the battery levels, not at times when it is obvious others are relaxing with drinks... or trying to sleep.
I hate it when gennies are plugged in and the noise permeates everything around the area.  I hate it worse when caravaners wander in (about 4 pm), park about 50 metres away (when there is hundreds of acres available) and then wander over to introduce themselves and tell us they will be running the generator for a couple of hours  (it got turned off about 11 pm..... go figure!)
Desert Lover

Offline ozmoose

« Reply #118 on: July 02, 2014, 05:55:19 PM »
Experienced my first group of completely inconsiderate campers this week. I popped away for a quick trip up on the Murray with the kids.

Pulled up to a nice spot and set up (Quicks Beach). Within a couple of hours five grey nomad warriors pulled up. No problem, they were respectful with where they set up and attempted to provide us with privacy by having their backs to us, if you know what I mean...

Only to hear at 7pm the whir of a symphony of genies...... Two or three were the quite Honda type or similar and whilst a little annoying it wasn't too bad but then their tight arse mate ripped into his Aldi special that idles at 20,000 RPM'S!!!!

They went for about 2-3 hours and were all off by 10pm.  I ground about three mm off my teeth but put up with it, the first night....Next morning they started at 7.30 again. I felt a new twitch developing in my left eye.

The second night right on cue, 7.30pm and screaming... I walked over to politely ask if they were absolutely necessary...They replied that they were necessary for heating their ELECTRIC BLANKETS!!!!!!! I lost my poo and (nearly) politely insisted they turn them off as I didn't drive five hours to listen to generators. To their credit they turned them off but only after letting me know that I should harden up!

Thanks for letting me vent on the forum, I feel cleansed already. I will say that it still didn't ruin a brilliant little trip but a reminder for all out there to be considerate of others. For what its worth I have read through this thread and there are a number of opinions on generator use at camp sites. IMHO running them during the day between say 9-5 would be more considerate than early morning or in the evening when the camp ambience is at its prime.....

The Moose

« Last Edit: July 02, 2014, 05:58:12 PM by ozmoose »

Offline firefox

• Young Nomad, Travelling
    • Tripigy
« Reply #119 on: July 02, 2014, 06:26:04 PM »
always won't turn my gennie on before 9am, and definitely won't have it running after 5 unless medical emergency which has never happened.

I have often reversed my car in their direction and left my diesel smoking.. Seems sometimes to get the picture (only had to do that once..) the guy came over and asked why i was running my car, i said charging my batteries and drowning out the load gennie. (promptly within about 2 minutes his gennie was turned off.)

The reason why the grey nomads run their gennies late at night is more for heating their hot water. It's amazing the amount of them scared to run their hot waters on gas (as that is needed for the fridge)
2015 LC200 - Snowy - Sahara with all the mods.
Custom built Off-road Caravan.

« Reply #120 on: July 02, 2014, 07:34:00 PM »
I liked the bit about being told to harden up by a bunch of dills using electric blankets.
Pot...... kettle......... black.

« Reply #121 on: July 02, 2014, 07:44:50 PM »
I liked the bit about being told to harden up by a bunch of dills using electric blankets.
Pot...... kettle......... black.

Offline Bullant4x4

« Reply #122 on: July 02, 2014, 07:57:17 PM »
We (well my wife) are guilty in using a geni at 0400 in the morning as she was freezing cold. Cut along story short there were 5 people in swags on the next campsite, that got in late that night. When they got out in the morning, they began to get coffee underway. Before they could light their gas stove I walked over to them with 5 fresh cappuccinos.

They were so happy after telling them my daughter got our doona as she was cold, which left my wife freezing so I had to put the electric heater on.

Offline lyn4680

« Reply #123 on: July 02, 2014, 08:08:17 PM »
Argh generators... Seems like everything else it takes a few inconsiderate people ruin it for us all. 

I have no problem with them running in the arvo to top up batteries or for medical reasons but do you seriously need to have em going all day and half the night?!?  Next time I'm just gunna nick the spark plugs.

Great, now I need a drink to calm down.

Oh but Bullant, if you're supplying coffees you can run it any time you need...

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk

Offline Bullant4x4

« Reply #124 on: July 02, 2014, 08:47:03 PM »

Great, now I need a drink to calm down.

Oh but Bullant, if you're supplying coffees you can run it any time you need...

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk

Only use the geni to arc up the capo machine (to grind the coffee etc.) , warm the tent for the family before bed and lighting for cooking. :-)