Author Topic: Please talk me out of buying a discovery??? - NOW - new Prado  (Read 28265 times)

Please talk me out of buying a discovery??? - NOW - new Prado
« on: December 17, 2012, 04:17:29 PM »
Hi all.

After 3 new patrols over the last 13 years, I am thinking of trading in again. Please no grenade jokes I've heard every one time and time again and other than the usual clutch at 160K kms I've had 13 years of trouble free nissaning all over the Gillard ruined land.

As most would already know the new patrol comes out in January (supposedly) but I would never ever buy the first of anything.
I also don't like the idea of a petrol V8 - Well actually I really really do, but I don't want one for towing in the outback. (Can we please not go there either!!! I've heard every petrol vs diesel argument there is. I prefer diesel, its my choice, can we let it be?)

The problem I have is I don't really want the new 'landcruiser' rip-off-looking patrol, that is sizing up to be overpriced and a first series that is going to have teething problems.

The only alternative is a cruiser which I can't afford, a defender which I'd rather walk, (sorry to all the landy lovers, but I reckon they're ugly - choice again please don't shoot!!!) or a discovery.

Now I know there are plenty other options, but I've had utes and I don't really like them for travelling. The boss lady also uses it as her daily driver and doesn't want a ute.

This leaves me with the relatively well priced and extremely well optioned discovery 4 TDV6.

Now I would never had considered one, but damn they look good, have heaps of features, plenty of power, good economy and go well off road.
Only downfall is the small tank - 82 litres I believe.

Can someone please talk me out of it with factual or at least slightly true opinions of why not to get one.
I'm worried, I'm going to have to starting drinking soy latte and wearing a sweater.......... :-[ :-[ :-[

Seriously - they do look like a great option.
If any swaggers have one or have knowledge of them, any advice appreciated as its an expensive long term investment.

« Last Edit: April 27, 2013, 02:21:55 PM by briann532 »

Offline Canaussie

Please talk me out of buying a discovery???
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2012, 04:37:09 PM »
Love mine so far, only 25k on it so far. Also running the 2.7l engine. Has plenty of get up for me and plenty of options. I have not had one hiccup yet. Service prices can vary abut from place to place. AULRO forum is great for a wealth of information and tips and how to tips.

A little eye candy for ya!! I think the fuel economy is very reasonable as well. If you work for a company that grosses over 30million a year you qualify for 3 yrs of corporate servicing.
Have not taken it that seriously of road yet, but what I have done can't fault it..
I am taking it to the cape next year for a month.

Mods done. Arb winch bar, red arc remote head brake, Arb compressor under bonnet and traxide dual battery kit.

Things to do still. Snorkel, roof rack, spotties rock sliders and of road tyres.

Feel free to ask anything

Cheers billy

Sent from Billy's iPhone using Tapatalk
Vinnie D4 2.7L 2012
Boogie Lifestyle extenda 2012

Mods.....what mods?

Re: Please talk me out of buying a discovery???
« Reply #2 on: December 17, 2012, 04:42:04 PM »
Is that rig parked on a rock to try & slow the oil leaks or is it easier to wipe oil off a solid surface  ??? ;D ;D ;D >:D

« Reply #3 on: December 17, 2012, 04:44:57 PM »
Is that rig parked on a rock to try & slow the oil leaks or is it easier to wipe oil off a solid surface  ??? ;D ;D ;D >:D

It had to happen didn't it...............

I must confess I'm a mad toyota v nissan nut............
It never stops at our 4wd club......... ;D ;D ;D

Offline Canaussie

« Reply #4 on: December 17, 2012, 04:58:15 PM »

Ya there's always one or two that stir it up....lol. My good mate has a 200 series so I'm sure we will be having the good ole mines better....... Yadda yadda. Ole weldin did come for a drive a couple of weeks ago and commented on how comfortable it is.

Not a single drop of oil or fluids to speak of, also have not had to TOP up my oil as others do( cough cough) and service schedule is every 24k though I do mine every 12.

They are a nice vehicle with a host of features and well priced!

Sent from Billy's iPhone using Tapatalk
Vinnie D4 2.7L 2012
Boogie Lifestyle extenda 2012

Mods.....what mods?

« Reply #5 on: December 17, 2012, 05:04:21 PM »
Have you driven one yet? It is a unique driving position.

« Reply #6 on: December 17, 2012, 05:16:01 PM »
Actually I have driven one.

I also had the opportunity to drive one round the 4wd test track at Eastern Creek a while ago.
I think that's what gave me the idea....

I do know exactly what you mean about the driving position though..... :D

I drive a lot of different cars regularly for work and have just bought a hyundai i-load. Now that takes a lot of getting used to.........
I reckon it would just be a case of drive it a few k's till you get used to it.
Clutches, gear levers etc all seem to feel different when you change vehicles.
The misses gives me heaps when I drive the patrol after I haven't for a while. The heavy duty clutch is pretty much bang on and bang off. Very little give in it.......

Still up in the air and I guess a little disappointed, as I was pretty sure I would be getting a new patrol next year.

« Reply #7 on: December 17, 2012, 05:23:15 PM »
Well you know what you're in for then :)

I am also looking for a new 4by as the Prado is coming out of lease soon, dunno whether to keep it or trade it. The issue I have is a 2050mm height limit from the car park at the office. I was looking at the 200 Altitude but at 1950mm stock it would be well over 2050mm with tyres and suspension. The Prado squeezes in now with a full load of fuel on-board. You can get into a 2012 200 Altitude diesel auto for $90K drive away, that's down from $100K a few months ago.

« Reply #8 on: December 17, 2012, 05:30:37 PM »
Disco4, I'd have one...... if I could afford it

Comfort and features, capable off-road.  Its only a rangerover or g wagon that rivals for same.

I'd have one. I'd love onê.

Sorry,if you can afford it, I'm not going to attempt to talk you out of it.......

Offline Spurio

« Reply #9 on: December 17, 2012, 05:38:17 PM »
I was a landy nut for 5 vehicles, the thing that turned me off was shipping one back to fix all the tricked up electronics from central australia, LR "request" they are the only ones who can fix the broken stuff, if not no warranty.

Distance between service intervals is also reduced if driven in harsh conditions, ie not blacktop.

The driving position is unique, i liked having the drivers window open all the time :)

There are heaps of accessories available from the UK

« Reply #10 on: December 17, 2012, 05:42:52 PM »
How is resale standing up for d4

(Not stirring just a serious consideration)

« Reply #11 on: December 17, 2012, 05:58:11 PM »
At least it isn't a Jeep.

« Reply #12 on: December 17, 2012, 06:25:07 PM »
According to the RACQ the following won the best 2012 All Terrain 4WD -  Land Rover Discovery 4 SDV6 SE
2nd Jeep Grad Cherokee Laredo CRD
3rd  Toyota Prado GXL

Kevin

Offline flanders

« Reply #13 on: December 17, 2012, 06:33:58 PM »
I've got one mate, had it for just on 12 months and I love it.
Land Rover Disco MY12 HSE 3.0L & Waiting on Expanda 17.56-1

« Reply #14 on: December 17, 2012, 06:37:48 PM »
............ the new patrol comes out in January (supposedly) but I would never ever buy the first of anything..........

Can understand what you're getting at, but I bought my Series 1 GU brand spanking new in Jan 2000, and it's been great.......

Offline TOPNDR

« Reply #15 on: December 17, 2012, 06:43:07 PM »
G'day Brian,

After a Paj, and two 3 litre Patrols I went Landcruiser, mostly because I was so p!ssed off at Nissan.  For the period I wasn't a Cruiser owner, I could never see the value in them.

Now that I am a Cruiser owner, I can better see the value (though I admit their price is a bit OTT) and don't regret for one second my purchase.  In actual fact I lease it (Novated) and the repayments on the Cruiser aren't much more than the old ST-L 'Trol it replaced.

And I'll tell you, towing with 650nm of torque, is wonderful.   ;D
'09 VX TTD Cruiser:- 6 speed auto, 650 nm torque plus bling
'09 Australian Off Road Quantum

« Reply #16 on: December 17, 2012, 06:44:23 PM »
And I'll tell you, towing with 650nm of torque, is wonderful.   ;D

......skite....... ;D ;D

« Reply #17 on: December 17, 2012, 07:06:28 PM »
Firstly, Id love to be in your position of buying anything new/near new.

Secondly, you seem to change over pretty regularly.

That being the case, if you are thinking of a vehicle with a 4 to 5 year lifespan, I cant see a downside with the Disco.  Perhaps if longer, cyclic maintenance costs may hit you harder?

They do seem like good value for that kind of price point.

« Reply #18 on: December 17, 2012, 08:07:07 PM »
My main reason for asking is that I am giving serious consideration to buying one instead of a new patrol.

I figure that if I have to spend around that sort of money (new nissan set to be around 85k) then I want to get something better for the money.

I realise the cruisers are in the same price bracket, but when I looked into it and started adding options, the disco seems to have a lot more bang for bucks.
And not just a little, quite significantly more.

I have always gone for the patrol as I do actually prefer the cruisers ( may god forgive me for what I just said ??? :-[ >:D), but I could never justify the money for a wagon that my kids would spill milkshakes in and trash with sand, maccas toys and the odd spot of leakage. I really didn't believe the extra cost warranted a better vehicle.

Now that the patrol is a similar price, (o.k. it seems to come with more toys now) but it has got me thinking.
My off road needs have changed a lot over the years too.
I no longer swag it through the high country or drive up Zeka spur. I avoid mud puddles as I hate cleaning the car, and sadly, I'm growing up.

These days I pull the camper along dirt roads and or tracks to a quite spot on a river, do an outback trip once a year and lets face it most tracks these days are 2wd.
Last time I drove the Oodnadatta it was better that the Hume highway.

My thinking now is that if I've got to fork over the dollars, at least when I buy a disco, I'm getting power comfort and a bit more luxury for my money.
I really cant afford a VX  Sahara or a TI patrol and don't think it would be value anyway.
Now the kids are a bit older 5 and 7, I think I could keep a Disco clean for the next 6 or 7 years till I trade again.

I guess I'm not only asking for thoughts on them, but any troubles or advice that would sway my decision.
My only negative would be serviceability in the outback, but really you can get that with any car.
What happens if a new patrol or cruiser blows a sensor or meter in Dalhousie. You're no less screwed than if a disco does the same.

I also like the idea of a more comfy car around town.

I was also hoping someone could tell me or prove I had gone mad, so I could rethink, but now I'm even more confused as I think I really do want one.

As far as money goes................................. I have a little secret.
Miss 5 starts school next year so no more day care fees................WOOOOOHOOOOOOOOOOOOOO.
And yes at $92 a day, it more than covers the repayments.
 :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'(

« Reply #19 on: December 17, 2012, 08:19:51 PM »
I really cant afford a VX  Sahara or a TI patrol and don't think it would be value anyway.

Have you looked at the Altitude? It is a GXL with some VX fruit.

« Reply #20 on: December 17, 2012, 08:21:19 PM »
havent read teh whole thread, but what about a Paj or Prado? I'd have either 10 times before a disco.

« Reply #21 on: December 17, 2012, 08:30:32 PM »
Personally I'd steer clear of Land Rover / Range Rover. Heard way too many horror stories. Might be ok if you plan too change it before the warranty is up, otherwise it may get costly. A mate of mine had a Range Rover Sport and absolutely loved the way it drove, the power it had and the economy it gave, but in the end just got sick of taking it back for warranty issues, some minor some not so. Also apparently service costs were nasty.

Offline jimc1

« Reply #22 on: December 17, 2012, 09:00:38 PM »
I bought a 2nd hand 2008 Disco 3 TDV6. As for holding its value, redbook had the value of these cars listed 5K less than the actual market. This was for un modified SE spec with med-low KMs.
A major plus for the Disco's is air suspension...all I can say is its bloody fantastic...never knew that safe comfortable offroad travel could exist.
Oh and the 7 seats are a godsend for anyone with longer legs! I can fit into rear most seats no worries and I am 6'4".

Tassie devils

« Reply #23 on: December 17, 2012, 09:16:47 PM »
We had a landrover for a couple of years,I personally thought they were great, we had it serviced by a landrover specialist and his advise to me was if your going to travel a bit stick with the likes of the nissans and landcruiser, as it's a long tow back to the garage. We now have a landcruiser.

Offline GeeTee

• GT Campers premium off-road trailers and Toyota Hilux Expedition conversions
« Reply #24 on: December 18, 2012, 06:50:21 AM »
My friend and colleague Allan Whiting has just sold his D3, it did nearly 200kkm all over Oz, around half of that was off road,  doing magazine travel articles, i don't think he had any dramas with his and it was loaded with Long Ranger tank etc

GT Campers: Off-road touring trailer or Toyota Hilux Expedition
Purpose-designed and built off-road touring vehicles. Innovation not imitation!
Find us on Facebook