General => General Discussion => Topic started by: tinkera on December 09, 2010, 06:34:36 PM

Title: The Man goes down
Post by: tinkera on December 09, 2010, 06:34:36 PM
There is a God.TINKERA.
Title: Re: The Man goes down
Post by: speewa158 on December 09, 2010, 06:36:40 PM
somebody call the Mods this cant be going well  >:D
Post by: sschmez on December 09, 2010, 06:41:10 PM
'spose ya really "had to be there"

;)
Post by: baldheadedgit on December 09, 2010, 06:42:04 PM
could not have happened to a nicer person.!!
See, there is justice in this world.. :cup: :cheers: :angel:
Post by: speewa158 on December 09, 2010, 06:50:48 PM
Your not talking about the bloke that was bitch slaped by a reality show winner . Lights out & never been anybody home ?. It couldnt be a hero in baggey shorts that now got to get a job instead of being a thug ?  :'( :'(
Post by: Laith on December 09, 2010, 06:51:22 PM
The only reason I ever watched him was to hopefully see that happen.
Post by: ferret on December 09, 2010, 06:55:21 PM
Pure GOLD Hes still picking the canvass out from his teeth :'(
Post by: MarkGU on December 09, 2010, 06:55:30 PM
knocked out but the MOUTH will still keep going unfortunately.
Post by: barneys on December 09, 2010, 06:57:09 PM
it is great it happenbut you must  love the knee
Post by: GGV8Cruza on December 09, 2010, 07:00:42 PM
In case you missed it like I did you can see it here, http://www.heraldsun.com.au/ipad-application/my-greatness-will-re-emerge-from-from-adversity-mundine/story-fn6bn7je-1225968487527

Post by: HEM19X on December 09, 2010, 07:04:16 PM
He's fighting his mum next week, the market is still being formed.

By the way if you type Mundine, spell checker suggests "Mundane"...probably right!!

Post by: Frostd on December 09, 2010, 07:05:05 PM
He's very quite today......What happen to that world famous "mouth". ;D
Post by: speewa158 on December 09, 2010, 07:40:59 PM
 :D
Post by: OffRoadDave on December 09, 2010, 08:10:44 PM
Only heard about this tonight, bout time I say, there's someone who needed a reality check.  ;D
Post by: speewa158 on December 09, 2010, 08:18:14 PM
Could this be a case of beliveing you own B@##$%^T.  ;D
Post by: Cozzie on December 09, 2010, 08:20:17 PM
 :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :cheers:
Post by: speewa158 on December 09, 2010, 08:27:54 PM
Where do you nominate Australian of the Year ? ;D
Post by: tinkera on December 09, 2010, 08:41:05 PM
Wife asked me last night what I wanted for Christmas this will do for a start.TINKERA.
Post by: sschmez on December 09, 2010, 09:31:09 PM
ah, all making sense 8) now
Post by: rockygu4.8 on December 09, 2010, 09:45:06 PM
Just watched the clip on the net 4 times it just got better after each replay. How can one guy be hated by so many people. I guess when you shoot your mouth of like choc has for so long and throw enough mud quite a bit sticks eventually .

Reality Show winner 1 Choc Nil................. :cup:
Post by: Flemo on December 10, 2010, 06:39:16 AM
What will he do now? He will mouth off a out being robbed due to loose ring ropes say he is retiring and going to play rugby for the wallabys so he can play in the next world cup against his mate sonny bill, cause he is the greatest rugby player to never have played rugby or something. Or rusty will sign him for $1 a week to play for the rabbits with his other Besty Greg so they can form the greatest indigenous league team of all time. Contract backed by $mill a year third party sponsorship by lakemba mosque to promote Muslims in league.
Or somthing like that!!!!
Post by: darren on December 10, 2010, 06:58:40 AM
99.9% of all Australians focused their energy into that left.... It was a shame he got up.
Post by: Gunna Do on December 10, 2010, 07:08:05 AM
Poor buggar, has the courage to advertise loudly his own thoughts on his ability, and everyone thinks it's a bad thing. 

"Tall poppy syndrome"

Post by: DANBRI on December 10, 2010, 07:18:50 AM
I walked past him down at Wollongong not long ago, I said 'Tosser' under my breath and ran like a big girl  ;D

It felt good.
Post by: UR-50-LO on December 10, 2010, 08:08:17 AM
Now he has a reason to stay behind and train for a rematch (so much for going to the US to fight)
The whole time promoting it as "Mundines revenge" and building an even bigger repore for Garth as Australians fav fighter and a boxing great (bahaha). While all the gullible lot wait in anticipation for another 6-8 months to pay the clowns big $$ yet again. Good management & a stupid audience lol...

Now Garths ranking is up the boxing authority will sanction a fight between them for a title fight which I predict may be the case (that will really suck in the audience & ticket sales huh). Khoder/Mundine/Fenech/Hussein will make a killing once again & sportsbet odds will be up alot more for Choc this time and those with any brains will win a nice figure as Mundine will flog him every round quite convincingly this time...
Post by: Redback on December 10, 2010, 08:26:56 AM
Poor buggar, has the courage to advertise loudly his own thoughts on his ability, and everyone thinks it's a bad thing. 

"Tall poppy syndrome"

Yes it's a shame really, the thing is, in real life he is a nice bloke, as is his father.

Funny knowbody said these things about Ali, he did much the same.

I like Tony Mundine, he is a great boxer, how many boxers lose fights and come back, only one I know of that was undefeated his whole career, the great Rocky Marciano.

Title: My Swag Sticker Opportunity
Post by: griz066 on December 10, 2010, 08:44:32 AM
Maybe MY SWAG.ORG could slap a couple of stickers on the soles of Mundines boots seeing as he is gunna be lying down so much :cup: :cheers: :cheers: Bit of exposure to the world ;D ;D
Post by: Bird on December 10, 2010, 09:58:39 AM
Yep, there is a god!!

(http://i577.photobucket.com/albums/ss216/strubaru/M1.jpg)
(http://i577.photobucket.com/albums/ss216/strubaru/M2.jpg)
(http://i577.photobucket.com/albums/ss216/strubaru/M3.jpg)
(http://i577.photobucket.com/albums/ss216/strubaru/M4.jpg)
(http://i577.photobucket.com/albums/ss216/strubaru/M5.jpg)
(http://i577.photobucket.com/albums/ss216/strubaru/M6.jpg)
(http://i577.photobucket.com/albums/ss216/strubaru/M7.jpg)
(http://i577.photobucket.com/albums/ss216/strubaru/M8.jpg)
(http://i577.photobucket.com/albums/ss216/strubaru/M9.jpg)
Post by: Laith on December 10, 2010, 10:06:15 AM
Yeah. He comes across as a nice bloke redback.  ::)

Danbri you were right on both counts. He is a tosser and yes I would have run too. Although he could easily catch me.

LOL at the pics Lost.
Post by: Ruffstuff on December 10, 2010, 10:13:06 AM
I don't think there is any doubt that he is a good athlete, he just doesn't come across as a good "sportsman"
Have a look at the likes of Federer, Agassi, etc.. brilliant athletes as well as sportsman, you very rarely hear them say anything negative about their opposition, they just get on with their own game and perform to their best of their ability and prove who is the best by their actions...i think there is alot to be said for how todays sports people go about their craft.. not just the result.
Post by: Alloy C/T on December 10, 2010, 10:49:00 AM
No matter how good or great anyone thinks they are ,sooner or later someone better will surface , no matter if being the "mouth"is just part of his act , he needed to be pulled down a peg or 3 for his arrogance.
Post by: Matto on December 10, 2010, 11:04:08 AM
Ahh Lost - you crack me up.  :cup:

Agreed - couldn't have happened to a nicer guy. This is where I get hung up : http://thesportingblab.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=170:mundine-is-mundane&catid=53:boxing-stories&Itemid=120 . I don't know enough about boxing to know really be able to critique it, but it rings true to me. What makes me angry about it is that I feel that as Aussies we have some of the best sportsmen and women in the world. I'd love to have a boxer that the media gets behind, who's actually making an impact on the international scene. Not just someone who talks a lot of trash about being world champ, whilst only fighting other people ranked significantly below himself. Someone who's not afraid to go up against someone ranked higher, knowing that you're probably going to lose, and that that's not a bad thing.

That said, I don't mind the trash talk so much - it's part of the psych-up, and it's part of how some people play the game. Look at Ali - he was a master at it. But that's probably what annoys me most of all about "The Man" - someone's told him at some point in the past that Ali used to be able to make really cutting comments about his opponents, and so now he just stammers on about how great he is, and likens himself to the greats of the sports, when he hasn't earned it at all.

I laughed my head off the other night, when Mundine was on the news talking about his gangsta-rivalry with Jeff Fenech, saying how Fenech has never liked him, etc. The only problem was, Fenech was in the press conference, and interrupted, saying "hang on - I've always supported you - I've bet money on you, I've talked you up - I've helped you when you were first getting started in this sport - I've got no idea what you're talking about???". Ahhh - Rule #1 - if you're going to have a feud with someone to help raise your profile, make sure the other person is aware of the fact that you're feuding.  ;D

And yes, if I saw him on the street, I'd congratulate him on the fight, offer my commiserations on the outcome, and wish Mr Mundine all the best for next time.  ;D

Post by: darren on December 10, 2010, 11:52:46 AM
It just goes to show that no matter how much Australian's love their sportsmen they hate ar$holes even more...
Post by: gronk on December 10, 2010, 12:24:11 PM
It just goes to show that no matter how much Australian's love their sportsmen they hate ar$holes even more...

Tooshay !!!!!!
Post by: blackstump on December 10, 2010, 12:36:11 PM
the 'would be gangsta' got leather poisoning........love karma!!
Title: Re: My Swag Sticker Opportunity
Post by: cancan on December 10, 2010, 01:07:31 PM
Maybe MY SWAG.ORG could slap a couple of stickers on the soles of Mundines boots seeing as he is gunna be lying down so much :cup: :cheers: :cheers: Bit of exposure to the world ;D ;D

Something like this
(http://www.myswag.org/gallery/d/22062-2/Untitled.jpg)
Post by: Laith on December 10, 2010, 01:10:18 PM
Thats not bad cancan but if you maybe put one across his mouth we all might be able to put up with him.
Post by: DANBRI on December 10, 2010, 01:14:52 PM
Dude, you're wearing a Beret.

(http://cdn.wn.com/pd/4e/1c/4685debaf2ad112c226f41bf71d7_grande.jpg)
Post by: darren on December 10, 2010, 01:32:45 PM
and a skivvy....
Post by: hairymick on December 10, 2010, 03:45:37 PM
Dude, you're wearing a Beret.

(http://cdn.wn.com/pd/4e/1c/4685debaf2ad112c226f41bf71d7_grande.jpg)

BWAHAHAHAHAHHHH!!!!

That is just so wrong mate. Love it!
Post by: Hairs on December 10, 2010, 03:55:47 PM
I watched the after weigh in, when they came toe to toe and Mundine was mouthing something to Garth Wood's, well, he just looked at him smiled and walked away, it was then I knew he had Mundine's measure.
I missed the fight live, but watched a short time later on the net.
(http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys/smiley-laughing011.gif) (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys.php)
Pure Gold  :cheers: Choc

Post by: Barry G on December 10, 2010, 04:06:22 PM
There is precious little 'sport' left in anything 'professional' these days, it is all about 'entertainment'.

Just look at the Ausie cricket team.  When the so-called stars are known by their nic names to the public (rather than just to the other players) and keep getting annointed irrespective of performance is it any wonder they are losing.  It is all about sponsorship and constant media hype.  One bloke can consistently score stuff all / lose concentration and throw away his wicket in the last over of sessions and remain the 'next captain' while others make thousands of runs in the Shield, but never get a look in - but then they aren't 'personalities' and weren't hooked up with the most over exposed (in more ways than one) 'silicone bumpers' in the country.  Mundine's mouth is not the only 'trash' aspect of sport these days.

As for Captain Punter, he should take a leaf out of former Collingwood footy Captain Terry Waters book and drop himself to the 'seconds' (Sheffield Shield) until he is back in form.

Aussie cricket is suffering the inevitable result of the handing out baggy greens in 'brown paper bags' to a disproportionate number of players from one state.  About time they started picking on FORM!
Post by: Bird on December 10, 2010, 04:08:43 PM
I don't think there is any doubt that he is a good athlete, he just doesn't come across as a good "sportsman"
Have a look at the likes of Federer, Agassi, etc.. brilliant athletes as well as sportsman, you very rarely hear them say anything negative about their opposition
But isnt that boxing? every fight I've seen in recent times, has been all huff and puff before the bout and dribble.
Post by: ferret on December 10, 2010, 06:58:44 PM
and a skivvy....

And a Hoodie  :D
Post by: JCAT on December 10, 2010, 07:13:38 PM
Watching him hit the canvas on Channel 10 last night was pure gold.
Post by: Redback on December 10, 2010, 07:20:03 PM
Yeah. He comes across as a nice bloke redback.  ::)

Danbri you were right on both counts. He is a tosser and yes I would have run too. Although he could easily catch me.

LOL at the pics Lost.

I'm not talking about what his in front of the camera personae is, I'm talking in person at home, at the pub, no cameras, yes stick a camera in his face before a fight and yes he is a tosser, but the bloke himself is a nice fella.

You can hate the man, but you have to respect his skill, even Danny Green respects him as a boxer.

I know him and know his friends in his community, his TV act is just that, an act and yes he was beaten, still a good boxer, lets see how he reacts to it.

Of coarse all you blokes would do better I'm sure :cheers:

Post by: D4D on December 10, 2010, 07:21:48 PM
This is amusing :)

Triple world champion Jeff Fenech was basking in the scent of cold hard cash last night after cleaning up $150,000 from bookmakers on Garth Wood's KO of Anthony Mundine.
http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sport/boxing/jeff-fenech-wins-150k-by-betting-against-anthony-mundine/story-e6freygr-1225968553059
Post by: Flemo on December 10, 2010, 09:15:00 PM
I'm not talking about what his in front of the camera personae is, I'm talking in person at home, at the pub, no cameras, yes stick a camera in his face before a fight and yes he is a tosser, but the bloke himself is a nice fella.

He came up to Yamba years ago with Nathan Brown one xmas( about 15 yrs ago), Gordon Tallis was there as well and a few other Dragons players. Way before he was a boxer. Sorry to say him and Tallis were both total arrogant twats back then. Carried on like superstars, I'm the greatest etc....based on my experience only!
Post by: truck on December 10, 2010, 09:34:42 PM
Greetings,
what redback said is right, we may not agree with what Mundine has said buty a gotta admire/respect him for his boxing ability. . . and management of that.
Sadly I think his best days are behind him and will only be a stepping stone for younger faster hungrier up and comers.
Lastly as my dad used to say " you can always tell the quality of a fighter by the quality of his opponent" and that is probably another reason Mundine is despised by a lot of people - the fact he never really fought quality opponents (one or two exceptions of course).
truck
Post by: bullfrog on December 10, 2010, 09:46:19 PM
I'd have to agree with Flemo here, how many of you blokes grew up around the Clarence Valley?? you know, where Anthony & his family are from. I also know him & some of his hanger on mates, as well have played junior league with Mr Brown when he played for Maclean back in the 80's along side Tony Priddle who went on to play in the UK, Flemo may remember this. IMO, the knock down could not have been hard enough. If his mouth was as good as his ability, he would be unbeatable.
Post by: kylarama on December 11, 2010, 06:20:52 AM
Mundine is the Paris Hilton of boxing...

Got famous and made a fortune out of doing nothing!

Post by: Flemo on December 11, 2010, 06:42:04 AM
I'd have to agree with Flemo here, how many of you blokes grew up around the Clarence Valley?? you know, where Anthony & his family are from. I also know him & some of his hanger on mates, as well have played junior league with Mr Brown when he played for Maclean back in the 80's along side Tony Priddle who went on to play in the UK, Flemo may remember this. IMO, the knock down could not have been hard enough. If his mouth was as good as his ability, he would be unbeatable.
I played jnr league with browny all the way to u18s and priddle was about 3 yes ahead of us. I have so stuff in the scap book going back to u10s grand final when priddle was u13. If you played for south you are prob in it. Anyway my memory is from when they won the u19 gf for the dragons and came up here for eos trip with browny. As I said he carried on like a total prick 18 years ago. I have always had the same opinion of tallis as well.
I think priddle made superleague millions for Paris st Germaine from about 95 on.
Post by: MarkGU on December 11, 2010, 07:26:23 AM
ahhh ....why not one more time  ;D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I3M5dZWBUd4&feature=rec-exp_fresh+div-1r-14 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I3M5dZWBUd4&feature=rec-exp_fresh+div-1r-14)

........and in slow mo'  :D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dVAGC7W28s0&feature=related (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dVAGC7W28s0&feature=related)

and dont forget.........."i'm not gunna let you do do dat"

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3QtV81O6tp8&feature=related (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3QtV81O6tp8&feature=related)
Post by: Yoda42 on December 11, 2010, 10:23:05 AM
 :cup: Brilliant stuff! Might make motor mouth shut down to idle - at least for a while :laugh:
Post by: Bird on December 11, 2010, 10:58:09 AM
This is amusing :)

Triple world champion Jeff Fenech was basking in the scent of cold hard cash last night after cleaning up $150,000 from bookmakers on Garth Wood's KO of Anthony Mundine.
http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sport/boxing/jeff-fenech-wins-150k-by-betting-against-anthony-mundine/story-e6freygr-1225968553059
You can see him in the photos going for his wallet LMAO!
Post by: Tracey family on December 11, 2010, 11:57:17 AM
Missed this thread the morning it started. I sure started the day with a smile on my face when I heard the news the following morning.  ;D

And I don't care how bloody good a boxer he is, I respect people for who they are and how they behave so I have no respect for him. He's a tosser!

Glenyse
Post by: way-t-go on December 11, 2010, 10:50:36 PM
Post by: kranky al on December 12, 2010, 12:03:26 AM
from the mad skills chops crew on another forum im on

(http://i124.photobucket.com/albums/p23/viet_boi_01/image001.jpg)

(http://i124.photobucket.com/albums/p23/viet_boi_01/image002.jpg)

(http://i124.photobucket.com/albums/p23/viet_boi_01/image003.jpg)

(http://i124.photobucket.com/albums/p23/viet_boi_01/image004.jpg)

(http://i124.photobucket.com/albums/p23/viet_boi_01/image005.jpg)

(http://i124.photobucket.com/albums/p23/viet_boi_01/image006.jpg)

(http://i124.photobucket.com/albums/p23/viet_boi_01/image007.jpg)

(http://i124.photobucket.com/albums/p23/viet_boi_01/image008.jpg[img]

[img]http://i124.photobucket.com/albums/p23/viet_boi_01/image009.jpg)

Post by: Bird on December 13, 2010, 10:44:25 AM
from the mad skills chops crew on another forum im on
would they be the same images on pg 2?
Post by: dallp on December 13, 2010, 06:24:37 PM
For those who remember he is no different to his old man.

His old man beat all the mug locals, but then got the chance to fight a real boxer called Carlos Monzon. Result = LIGHTS OUT.

The family has either learnt or engaged some smart operators to make the most of this blokes limited talent as a boxer and unlimited ability to overstate his boxing talent.

Do you really think they made nothing out of the cleanup on the  bookies, or were not in on it? Come on.

But I bet all you mugs will be the first to sign up to the pay tv rematch or the next effort against Danny Green.
Post by: kranky al on December 13, 2010, 10:58:47 PM
mine are subtly different and so much more amusing.
Post by: truck on December 15, 2010, 04:08:51 PM
For those who remember he is no different to his old man.
His old man beat all the mug locals, but then got the chance to fight a real boxer called Carlos Monzon. Result = LIGHTS OUT.
The family has either learnt or engaged some smart operators to make the most of this blokes limited talent as a boxer and unlimited ability to overstate his boxing talent.
Do you really think they made nothing out of the cleanup on the  bookies, or were not in on it? Come on.
But I bet all you mugs will be the first to sign up to the pay tv rematch or the next effort against Danny Green.

Although in Tony Mundine senior' defence, there was not too many who can say they beat Carlos Monzon. Doesn't he hold the record for most title defences? and if Marvellous Marvin Hagler had beaten Sugar Ray Leonard he would have broken or equalled the record?
Green will not bother with the man, they are both going in different directions.  ;D
I certainly won't be one of "the mugs" paying for it if it happens.
truck

Post by: cranky on December 15, 2010, 04:30:07 PM
Im glad someone put that loud mouthed show off down on the canvas, i hope they have a re-match and he gets slapped around the ring one more time just to teach him a lesson he will never forget in manners & how to conduct himself as a sportsman.
Post by: duggie on December 15, 2010, 05:51:17 PM
All good things come to those who wait. Duggie