Author Topic: Camping & COVID19  (Read 18131 times)

Offline Jon Burrell - Tentworld

• Tentworld - Shop Online or In-Store
Camping & COVID19
« on: March 20, 2020, 04:06:50 PM »
Hi Swaggers,

Happy Friday to you! 

Wondering, have any of you changed your Easter holiday plans in response to COVID19 ? 

Obviously anyone going overseas isn't anymore.....  Are you now going camping? 

Seems to me, that in most cases going camping is still a perfectly good way to self distancing measure as well as self isolating.... 

But keen to hear what you all think, and whether this is changing your plans?  What are you doing instead?

Enjoy your weekends!

Jon

Happy Camping! 

Browse our range, and shop online at:
https://www.tentworld.com.au/
Find your local Tentworld Camping Store at: 
https://www.tentworld.com.au/camping-stores

Re: Camping & COVID19
« Reply #1 on: March 20, 2020, 04:12:41 PM »
G'day Jon.

Our plans havent changed. the place we go to every Easter doesnt have the tight restrictions on it like most places do as its on over 120 acres & everyone is spread out.

http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=57027.msg1009533#new

Cant wait to get away for a week or so.  ;D

« Reply #2 on: March 20, 2020, 04:16:26 PM »
Was planning on going last week of March, but now umming & ahhing about it ??? :-[ :'(

« Reply #3 on: March 20, 2020, 04:27:48 PM »
Still going camping with a group. The campground where we have a permanent Easter booking only lets around 30 families (and our group is 8 families) so we're good. I wouldn't be so confidant if I'd booked somewhere like BigRiggen that lets in 1500 people over Easter?

« Reply #4 on: March 20, 2020, 04:33:23 PM »
Still going camping with a group. The campground where we have a permanent Easter booking only lets around 30 families (and our group is 8 families) so we're good. I wouldn't be so confidant if I'd booked somewhere like BigRiggen that lets in 1500 people over Easter?
Gday Spada.
I was only just thinking yesterday about if local councils are going to allow camping in caravan parks this easter? Some would def accommodate over 500 people in the park.

Nothing has been mentioned about this. 

« Reply #5 on: March 20, 2020, 04:43:41 PM »
Gday Spada.
I was only just thinking yesterday about if local councils are going to allow camping in caravan parks this easter? Some would def accommodate over 500 people in the park.

Nothing has been mentioned about this.

Cheers Mark, I've heard (although haven't confirmed) that 4 council run caravan parks on the sunshine coast are shutting up shop until it all blows over?

« Reply #6 on: March 20, 2020, 04:57:38 PM »
Hi Jon,
This is changing by the day, who knows what will be allowed in 3 weeks.
I would be thinking of not going anywhere, unless you could be in a secluded area, well away from people.
I know of a few businesses around Maclean/townsend where it is appiontment only, these are workshops.
I've had clients cancel appiontments, it is something we are all going to have to live with.
I'm not alone, in a loss of income which has taken a dive in the last few days.
As have many businesses.
You business Jon, will take a big hit,   :'(
Unless people are prepared to be able to camp without the need to be near anyone else.
Sorry, but buckle up, the ride has only just begun.

Offline Coolblue80

« Reply #7 on: March 20, 2020, 05:05:31 PM »
At this stage we are booked in for a week at Woodgate in the first week of the school holidays.  Waiting to see what happens as to whether we go. No refund available, just a park credit valid for 12 months.
Cheers,  Mike.
2015 Mitsi Pajero. Dobbo MRR Lift, ARB Bar, MM4X4 Lock Up Mate, Intervolt DC Pro DBS, 12,000lb Mako winch. Bla Bla Bla.

96 80 Series. Lots of mods, not enough wheeling. - Gone but not forgotten.
Gulf King Warrior soft floor camper & 19ft Jayco Van

Offline rossm

« Reply #8 on: March 20, 2020, 05:14:51 PM »
Hi Swaggers,

Wondering, have any of you changed your Easter holiday plans in response to COVID19 ? 

Tasmanian Government changed my plans. Relieved in a way decision was taken out of my hands.

« Reply #9 on: March 20, 2020, 05:15:03 PM »
No different to go camping with a few people about to going into a shopping centre to buy things.
At least camping.........you are out in the fresh air with no air con blowing  ::)

Offline Moxley

« Reply #10 on: March 20, 2020, 05:33:22 PM »
Cancelled interstate April trip. Work might not have let me go anyway, but most of the tourist attractions I wanted to see would have closed, and prefer to camp closer to home - just in case.

« Reply #11 on: March 20, 2020, 05:34:05 PM »
I'm tipping there'll be a lot of jobs completed around the house over Easter. Just don't hurt yourself and end up in hospital.

Offline hainess

« Reply #12 on: March 20, 2020, 05:36:54 PM »
Abc radio(Brisbane) today were speaking to a lady who owns the wet and dry ice manufacture at Woolloongabba.
Orders for easter usually start 2 weeks before hand.
Usual easter load has been passed this week with 3 weeks to go.
Enjoy the hoards if this holds.

« Reply #13 on: March 20, 2020, 05:58:34 PM »

How do you hoard ice?

The following users thanked this post: denidoug

« Reply #14 on: March 20, 2020, 05:59:58 PM »
How do you hoard ice?
Ask an Ice dealer :)

« Reply #15 on: March 20, 2020, 06:05:34 PM »

« Reply #16 on: March 20, 2020, 09:35:15 PM »
Just got back from a five day boys camp.
I'll give the liver a rest for a week and out the missus and I go for a week or so.
Then home for Easter.

Sent from my Moto G (4) using Tapatalk

Offline Wazza999

« Reply #17 on: March 20, 2020, 09:40:08 PM »
Abc radio(Brisbane) today were speaking to a lady who owns the wet and dry ice manufacture at Woolloongabba.
Orders for easter usually start 2 weeks before hand.
Usual easter load has been passed this week with 3 weeks to go.

To keep the hoarded chicken and mince frozen or    have the aforementioned hoarded goods taken up all the fridge space and they want it for the coldies to kark it drunk and happy if infected?

2011 NT Pajero; 2007 Goldstream Crown 4B

NT Pajero/2007 Goldstream Crown

« Reply #18 on: March 21, 2020, 05:51:23 AM »
Looking at getting away at this time, we have a private campsite by the river which we will be going to. That is unless the current rules change and we are not allowed to cross the border

« Reply #19 on: March 21, 2020, 06:41:21 AM »
Youcamp could be good at the moment, I think for the most part, places are just too expensive, but given the current situation, the prices might be a bit more justifiable.

« Reply #20 on: March 21, 2020, 06:52:52 AM »
Still heading to Karumba....further North the safer!.  In the caravan park but I have booked 2 sites for myself and mate. Just hoping his plane from Melb to Cairns isnt cancelled. As we will be fishing most of the time people wont be an issue.  Besides...even in a caravan park you have far more area for the 1.5 suggested distance for people.  Just wash your hands after evertime you visit the showers/dunny/kitchen..as you do at home anyways!!

« Reply #21 on: March 21, 2020, 07:12:39 AM »
Hi big Fish, I thought they have shut off any where like Weipa or Karumba that has a local aboriginal population in or near by, happy to be wrong, as I was going up near Weipa but being told sorry you can not go, We mite just load up the 4wd and Van and hit the road over Easter free camping out west away from towns looking for birds and insects, Craig

« Last Edit: March 21, 2020, 07:15:57 AM by Craig Tomkinson »

« Reply #22 on: March 21, 2020, 07:28:31 AM »
This was posted a couple of days ago.
'Far North Cape York closed to non-essential travel'
https://mr4x4.com.au/far-north-cape-york-closed-to-non-essential-travel/?utm_source=ActiveCampaign&utm_medium=email&utm_content=DPFs+and+second-hand+diesels%2C+2022+Volkswagen+Amarok+teased+%2B+much+more&utm_campaign=PC+Newsletter+%23305

The idoit box this morning mentioned,
'Boarders between states will close'

« Reply #23 on: March 21, 2020, 07:40:14 AM »
We are going away for a few days tomorrow then back before the school holidays start here next friday.

Biggest question is what to do over winter.  We still have tickets to Milan but no chance of that!  Plan B was NT but that seems to be doubt.

We are part of the grey winter migration and it looks like we may not be welcome this year.

« Reply #24 on: March 21, 2020, 09:23:41 AM »
Hi big Fish, I thought they have shut off any where like Weipa or Karumba that has a local aboriginal population in or near by, happy to be wrong, as I was going up near Weipa but being told sorry you can not go, We mite just load up the 4wd and Van and hit the road over Easter free camping out west away from towns looking for birds and insects, Craig

Nah mate...Karumba is mostly whites.  Bourketown shut though.  Karumba is a fishing port really with ancillary business,s.   Anyway...after discussing with my mate we have cancelled because we both think the borders may shut.  Pity...but thats life.  Only reason we were going is because it is a little remote.    Local outback stores may also be unable to supply except to locals which is fair enough.  I,m hoping the govt shuts everything down, everything except essential services, and the quicker the better.  Would rather a couple of weeks of pain than 6-12 months of unpredictability..