General => General Discussion => Topic started by: israel.mcgregor on April 05, 2020, 09:18:05 AM

Title: Is there a perfect inbetweener? Hard floor with space of a soft floor
Post by: israel.mcgregor on April 05, 2020, 09:18:05 AM
Hey all.

New here. Thanks in advance for any help!

We're looking for a camper trailer for a family with two young boys (2.5 and 3mths).

Last camp we hired a soft-floor. We loved the under cover space, but it's too much effort in set up and pack up.

Looking at hard floors, they seem to have a much smaller footprint. Especially the outdoor undercover area.

The best option seems to be a dual fold, but these look quite new to the market and likely out of our $$ range, even second hand  We want to spend not more than 15k really if at all possible.

I've even considered finding a hard floor and adding a second roof  to extend the kitchen area from 2.4 to 4.8m in depth. Anyone tried this before?

These are our considerations:
Off-road capable (we may want to trip around the country)
Reasonably quick setup and pack up
Able to be done by one person
We enjoy at least 5.5m in width.
More than 2.4m depth of outdoor living area (or perhaps if it wrapped right around the camper?)
Inbuilt kitchen (I don't want to cart a cooker around separate)
Plumbed with hot water to kitchen
At least 100l water tank
Quality canvas (some these days are almost see-thru and terrible for keeping the heat out)
As much pantry and fridge storage as possible (with fridge slide on same side of the camper as the kitchen)
Wife doesn't really like the dinettes it the hard floors. She thinks its a waste of space for longer stays.

Oops run out of typing space....

Any comments much appreciated!!

Title: Re: Is there a perfect inbetweener? Hard floor with space of a soft floor
Post by: db on April 05, 2020, 09:47:40 AM
The modcon Quattro may suit you. With the rear entrance and it's awning you end up with a longer awning. Not sure if you can hit all your wants in your price range, unless you're going to do some work yourself. And yes, i have a Quattro.
Title: Re: Is there a perfect inbetweener? Hard floor with space of a soft floor
Post by: filcar on April 05, 2020, 11:50:29 AM

https://www.caravancampingsales.com.au/items/details/2010-aussie-swag-campers-rover-lx/SSE-AD-6518362/?Cr=1
Post by: GBC on April 05, 2020, 11:54:00 AM
Our mdc cape York awning area is 6 x 2.5 m. Most rear folds are pretty similar dimensions. Yes I’ve seen extensions made up.
Our canvas is insulated where it is single layer in the awning and has a tropical roof over the bedroom.
Post by: xcvator on April 05, 2020, 11:55:07 AM
Have you had a look at Cub campers , something like this would probably suit you and there is a dedicated group on this forum for more information.

https://www.caravancampingsales.com.au/items/details/2015-cub-space-van-drover/SSE-AD-6320619/?Cr=21 (https://www.caravancampingsales.com.au/items/details/2015-cub-space-van-drover/SSE-AD-6320619/?Cr=21)
Post by: nab on April 05, 2020, 12:58:01 PM
What about a Jayco Hawk or similar?
Post by: edz on April 05, 2020, 01:19:55 PM
Got any basic fabrication skills or mates with some that work for beers n BBQ's  ..easy enough to mod an existing trailer ..
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=33410.msg530117#msg530117 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=33410.msg530117#msg530117)   or    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aCjx8lgIMCU (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aCjx8lgIMCU) ..
Post by: tryagain on April 05, 2020, 01:49:06 PM
Excluding a possible trip around OZ, what kind of use do you envisage using it for? Touring, or more of a go camping in the one spot?
Post by: israel.mcgregor on April 06, 2020, 06:57:06 AM
The modcon Quattro may suit you. With the rear entrance and it's awning you end up with a longer awning. Not sure if you can hit all your wants in your price range, unless you're going to do some work yourself. And yes, i have a Quattro.
Thanks!  Yea I have taken a quick look at the modcon.  Shame they are in QLD and I'm in NSW. I'll have to do some more YouTube research. They might work, but may not have enough coin to buy one. 

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk

Post by: israel.mcgregor on April 06, 2020, 07:00:11 AM
https://www.caravancampingsales.com.au/items/details/2010-aussie-swag-campers-rover-lx/SSE-AD-6518362/?Cr=1
Interesting. Awning on both sides? Only walls on one side and no wrap around?

Post by: israel.mcgregor on April 06, 2020, 07:02:54 AM
Our mdc cape York awning area is 6 x 2.5 m. Most rear folds are pretty similar dimensions. Yes I’ve seen extensions made up.
Our canvas is insulated where it is single layer in the awning and has a tropical roof over the bedroom.
I'm really liking the MDC's. My eyes keep being drawn back to them. How did the extension work? Just add a zip to the end of the original awning and zip on a second one? I know it's pretty cheap for the Canvas work. I just need to find out about proper pole placement, storage of the extra gear and also making sure it doesn't turn into a sail/ pool on a windy or rainy day

Post by: israel.mcgregor on April 06, 2020, 07:07:46 AM
Have you had a look at Cub campers , something like this would probably suit you and there is a dedicated group on this forum for more information.

https://www.caravancampingsales.com.au/items/details/2015-cub-space-van-drover/SSE-AD-6320619/?Cr=21 (https://www.caravancampingsales.com.au/items/details/2015-cub-space-van-drover/SSE-AD-6320619/?Cr=21)
I had initially been turned away from a hard floor rear fold like this. That floor space is usually really small (though this cub looks a lot more spacious).

Other than the price tag of this particular one, the classic issue I'm trying to solve is that outdoor undercover space. See pic below. Really only room for your kitchen and dining.  Then you need a gazebo and such outside which I'm not a fan of.

But I guess adding an extension is the only way to go?(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200405/5df40a1f0548f3342881e7909d55ce81.jpg)

Post by: israel.mcgregor on April 06, 2020, 07:09:57 AM
What about a Jayco Hawk or similar?
Did my wife put you up to this??

If she had her way we'd be getting a Jayco. I have my reservations... 1: sleeping in the wings... Doesn't look particularly comfortable or solid; 2: how off-roadable are they?

Happy to be convinced about a Jayco tho... Happy wife and all!

Post by: israel.mcgregor on April 06, 2020, 07:11:55 AM
Got any basic fabrication skills or mates with some that work for beers n BBQ's  ..easy enough to mod an existing trailer ..
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=33410.msg530117#msg530117 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=33410.msg530117#msg530117)   or    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aCjx8lgIMCU (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aCjx8lgIMCU) ..
Nice build!

Got plenty of mates who will work for beers n BBQ, but I wouldn't let any of them near a trailer that has to house my family! Myself included in that unfortunately.

Post by: israel.mcgregor on April 06, 2020, 07:17:43 AM
Excluding a possible trip around OZ, what kind of use do you envisage using it for? Touring, or more of a go camping in the one spot?
You really hit the nail on the head here. We are still undecided, which is making this decision so much harder.

We have come from tent and tarp setup and 3 weeks away once a year. We usually bring everything including the kitchen sink (two sinks actually) as we base ourselves in a national Park with no power or water.

Set up was at least 8 hours with 2 to 3 people. With a young family it is just me and anyone I can rope in to help. Just too much effort these days.

So, with the move to caravan/camper we are re-visiting our holiday options. We will still do the one big stay in one spot each year, but I'd like to be able to hitch up for a couple nights every couple months. These probably aren't going to be massively off-road, but likely always to at least be either a national Park or a beach trip.

It seems soft floors are great for most single site long stays and the rest are good for overnighters. Hence the inbetweener I'm looking for.

Post by: Bigfish on April 06, 2020, 07:28:48 AM
Mate has an older model jayco hawk. Has taken it on some rough roads with no issues.  The winglets are comfy to sleep in providing you get the mattress that suits you. Reasonably quick to set up. Couple of portable solar panels ( dont put them on the roof or else you will have to park in the sun!).
Run the fridge on gas once setup and with a pull out awning setup they are quite good.  You can upgrade the axles, tyres, springs etc  but if you buy the off road (outback) model this is all done for you.  Some also have a 300mm drawbar extension.  You will get a good one for around $15000...maybe a few good deals coming up..thanks to the corona virus (then again if people dont holiday overseas as much campers and vans could go up in price due to demand???).  Well under 2 tonnes mean they tow well.
Post by: Alan Loy on April 06, 2020, 08:54:14 AM
Have you considered a 2 part setup?
1  Choose your camper of preference. This gives a quick setup for the short stays and includes cooking and sleeping.  Personally I would choose a hard floor there are some great 2nd hand deals.

2 add an enclosed awning, quick tent for extra living space for longer stays.  The new hexagonal screen houses look good for extra living area particularly with the walls to keep out the rain and give some privacy. https://www.tentworld.com.au/buy-sale/oztent-screen-house-hex

I guess you could set up the lot on your own in well under an hour
Post by: israel.mcgregor on April 06, 2020, 09:20:34 AM

Have you considered a 2 part setup?
1  Choose your camper of preference. This gives a quick setup for the short stays and includes cooking and sleeping.  Personally I would choose a hard floor there are some great 2nd hand deals.

2 add an enclosed awning, quick tent for extra living space for longer stays.  The new hexagonal screen houses look good for extra living area particularly with the walls to keep out the rain and give some privacy. https://www.tentworld.com.au/buy-sale/oztent-screen-house-hex

I guess you could set up the lot on your own in well under an hour

Any experience with the hex screen house? We often get buffeted by 60+km winds, which is why I am not a fan of gazebos. I've seen too many rekt in a pile beside rubbish bins, or even in a tree!  Usually because people don't think to remove fabric and just leave the skeleton in place. But then anything under there gets wet/blown away.

Many of the soft floors have a second room (dare I use the word M.A.R.S). This would be ideal.

Thanks everyone for all the ideas, please keep them coming!

Post by: Alan Loy on April 06, 2020, 09:41:36 AM

Any experience with the hex screen house? We often get buffeted by 60+km winds, which is why I am not a fan of gazebos. I've seen too many rekt in a pile beside rubbish bins, or even in a tree!  Usually because people don't think to remove fabric and just leave the skeleton in place. But then anything under there gets wet/blown away.

No experience but they have 12 peg points so they should be OK  ;D
Post by: Bird on April 06, 2020, 09:49:26 AM
Quote from: Alan Loy
No experience but they have 12 peg points so they should be OK  ;D

Before Campertrailer days, I borrowed dads gazebo years ago and headed to Frys Flat... set it up all pegged down (the ones that go through each foot), setup the tents, etc..
Came back and the gazebo was about 300mtrs down the campground with pegs still in the feet with the frame bent to Shit... Havent bothered with one since.. dad was over the moon... :(
Post by: tryagain on April 06, 2020, 10:09:01 AM
Go buy a good used softfloor for under 5K, it will suit your longer stay and be OK for long weekends, if in a couple of years you decide  you want to do a few more touring type trips then you can get a van or similar, the difference between a well thought out softfloor set up and a hardfloor really isn't all that much, it's the taking 2 kitchen sinks mentality that will add considerable time.
Post by: israel.mcgregor on April 06, 2020, 10:18:55 AM
Go buy a good used softfloor for under 5K, it will suit your longer stay and be OK for long weekends, if in a couple of years you decide  you want to do a few more touring type trips then you can get a van or similar, the difference between a well thought out softfloor set up and a hardfloor really isn't all that much, it's the taking 2 kitchen sinks mentality that will add considerable time.
I should clarify that I used the wrong terminology when I said hard floor. I actually mean dual fold or forward fold.  I realise now that there is a rear fold hard floor that I'm not really interested in.

I agree with you we may need to just stick with a soft floor and simplify. But it still took me 6 hours to pack up (full pack, not just closing up the camper) with a much small setup. Maybe I'm just super slow.

One of the first trips outside of the end of year mammoth event will be Fraser island. Wife doesn't like the idea of the kids sleeping on the ground.

For that matter wife doesn't like the idea of camping at all, which is why I pack the kitchen sink lol!

But with onboard hot water and sink and cookers etc this should cut down on a lot of extra work

Post by: Heavensent on April 06, 2020, 10:39:20 AM
We have had similar thought.
Got an old soft floor that i built up on an old box trailer.
But with 3 kids set up for an overnighter isnt worth it.

We have decided on an old jayco poptop to upgrade to next.
Ill set it up with basic offroad tyres and suspension, though in all honesty it wont see alot of offroad work.
But something we can keep beds made up will be great.

But will organise an awning and annex for it.

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

Post by: tryagain on April 06, 2020, 10:52:14 AM

But with onboard hot water and sink and cookers etc this should cut down on a lot of extra work

My softfloor has all of these, but if the wife is the one you need to appease to go camping, then get what she is happy to go away with.
Post by: Bird on April 06, 2020, 10:53:58 AM
Quote from: israel.mcgregor
  I realise now that there is a rear fold hard floor that I'm not really interested in.
Why is that?
Post by: israel.mcgregor on April 06, 2020, 11:00:55 AM
Why is that?
Probably influenced by the salesman.

The ones we have seen had a very small footprint, so to fit a stretcher and a baby travel cot is a squeeze in itself, let alone any other storage wife might want to include (clothes etc).

Also - salesman influenced - that you need a pretty level surface or find stuff to prop up any unlevel sides?

Post by: Kangaron on April 06, 2020, 11:08:52 AM
I had a rearfold for years, annex both sides, heaps of room.
No pics of the full setup so here is some off the web.
Bottom pic is the sidefold with similar setup.

Post by: nab on April 06, 2020, 12:26:19 PM
Regardless of camper type, most can be set up for an overnight stop within 30 mins. As said above, awnings, big tables, kitchens etc etc take all the extra time.

The "off-roading" you describe should be easy peasy for any camper, driven to the conditions. Corrugations and/or going to fast is the main killer or trailers.

Best we have set up our camper is 35mins including disconnecting from car, leveled up, roof lifted and beds setup, table and chairs out, awning up and ready to head to the beach. Mind you the missus and I were on a mission to get setup! Normally takes 45mins-1hr and that's us for a week. Really if it takes 2 hours doesn't bother me as I enjoy that part of camping. Not sure if I could be bothered with an 8hr setup!!!!

Years ago the missus did a 2 week trip, setting up either daily or 2 nights in out 14ft soft floor. Most nights we set up the awning as it was permanently attached to the tent. Admittedly we had no kids then but if it took us 30mins we were taking our time.
Post by: israel.mcgregor on April 06, 2020, 12:53:25 PM

The "off-roading" you describe should be easy peasy for any camper, driven to the conditions. Corrugations and/or going to fast is the main killer or trailers.

. Not sure if I could be bothered with an 8hr setup!!!!

Years ago the missus did a 2 week trip, setting up either daily or 2 nights in out 14ft soft floor. Most nights we set up the awning as it was permanently attached to the tent. Admittedly we had no kids then but if it took us 30mins we were taking our time.

Yes 8+ hours is hard yakka, but that's a 8x9m tarp  using rebar pegs, triple ridge bars pole in every hole, electrical system hooked up, double kitchen with hot water and piped drain, shower and hot water system, canvas tent, 12v fridge and lighting, plus the usual pantry and table set to etc.

Needless to say we need 3 solid weeks to make it  worth while.

Corrugations, yes they are the worst. I don't want to find myself having to pick my way through 15km of them to the campsite, but it doesn't also need to be bomb proof. I'd like whatever we get to be capable of more than we will throw at it... As this gives us some room to explore as the kids get older.

I take it on those road trips you didn't have a lot packed you had to move outta the way before you could set up the camper? How do you go with a wet packup into your mattress??

Post by: Bird on April 06, 2020, 12:56:03 PM

ahhh ok... ours is best, all others suck.. Gotcha :)
Post by: israel.mcgregor on April 06, 2020, 12:57:55 PM
ahhh ok... ours is best, all others suck.. Gotcha :)
Actually they were poo pooing their own product. But they were hard selling their dual fold as it's "the future of camping"

Post by: GeoffA on April 06, 2020, 01:16:23 PM
Actually they were poo pooing their own product. But they were hard selling their dual fold as it's "the future of camping" where they maximize profit

Fixed....
Post by: Ultimate Adventures Podcast on April 06, 2020, 02:31:55 PM

The ones we have seen had a very small footprint, so to fit a stretcher and a baby travel cot is a squeeze in itself, let alone any other storage wife might want to include (clothes etc).

Also - salesman influenced - that you need a pretty level surface or find stuff to prop up any unlevel sides?

i know people that tour with rear fold hard floors and kids.   I think your problem, is, you are looking at all your gear you take for a 3 week trip, and you are trying to fit that into a camper. I reckon your mindset needs to change, buy the camper you like, then get your gear to fit the camper. EI, CULL CULL CULL. An 8 hour set up for 2 people is huge. i reckon you could cull 1/2 the gear you take.
Our set up only varies by an hour, whether we are going over night or a month. Mind you, we dont have kids..

Anyhow, food for though.  :cheers:
Post by: israel.mcgregor on April 06, 2020, 03:00:31 PM
i know people that tour with rear fold hard floors and kids.   I think your problem, is, you are looking at all your gear you take for a 3 week trip, and you are trying to fit that into a camper. I reckon your mindset needs to change, buy the camper you like, then get your gear to fit the camper. EI, CULL CULL CULL. An 8 hour set up for 2 people is huge. i reckon you could cull 1/2 the gear you take.
Our set up only varies by an hour, whether we are going over night or a month. Mind you, we dont have kids..

Anyhow, food for though.  :cheers:
I agree with you. We are coming from a place where we 'live' at our site rather than camp.

I'm sure when touring or taking weekend trips this will be much less of an issue. It's mainly for the 3-4week end of year stint where my wife bans me from talking about the next trip until at least August the following year. Then she won't let me engage her in any planning until at least October.

She only gets through the trip because, in her words 'its no harder than being at home once we are set up'.

Ideally I want a dual fold with an extended awning. Main issues with that are:
1) I Don't think I'll get a dual fold for under $15k
2) I'll probably have to custom make the extension.

I can probably go with the forward fold but lose out on the width... 5.5m is kinda the golden minimum for us.

The modcon might get close but I'll have to check out the specs and $$

Cub probably too exxy

Anything else worth looking at?

Fwiw we did consider the ezytrail Portland but even the sales staff were not that keen on selling it. (if this comment offends or is not allowed please remove)

Post by: Bird on April 06, 2020, 04:27:17 PM
Quote from: DGCampin
An 8 hour set up for 2 people is huge.
8 hours? Who drives the B-Double?

More than an hour (setup camper on my own) and I'd never leave the house. The trailer is always the quickest part. its all the other Shit that takes time.

If you want space and storage you want a soft floor.. once parked up we are sitting back in <hour - stretchers, beds, kitchen, solar, chairs table etc.
 2 adults 2 teenagers who dont help one bit.

Many of them dont take that long to setup once you've done it a few times. (except the ones with 50 poles).. any trailer is slow first time though
Post by: Alan Loy on April 06, 2020, 04:52:41 PM
There is/was a type of soft floor that had an extended body so there was a walk through to the bed.  This made access to the bed easier and the side tent longer.  The kitchen was at the back so separate from the living areas.  They were a good design if you want a lot of space.  Lifestyle Campers made one called the Extenda  but there were more on the market.

https://www.caravancampingsales.com.au/items/details/2015-lifestyle-extenda/SSE-AD-6585054/?Cr=0&gts=SSE-AD-6585054&gtsSaleId=SSE-AD-6585054&gtsViewType=showcase&rankingType=showcase

https://www.caravancampingsales.com.au/items/details/2011-lifestyle-extenda/SSE-AD-6607371/?Cr=9
Post by: tryagain on April 06, 2020, 05:04:42 PM
Are you looking 2nd hand or new?
Post by: rockrat on April 06, 2020, 05:51:34 PM
Did my wife put you up to this??

If she had her way we'd be getting a Jayco. I have my reservations... 1: sleeping in the wings... Doesn't look particularly comfortable or solid; 2: how off-roadable are they?

Happy to be convinced about a Jayco tho... Happy wife and all!

We've got a Jayco Eagle Outback and it suited us well for what we did when we lived in FNQ - mostly caravan parks both on the coast and out west. Never had it on corrugations, the beach or any other rough stuff so can't answer how well it would handle those conditions. 

Beds were actually pretty comfortable and the only thing we did was add thin "egg shell" foam mattresses on top. But we did find that if someone moved in their bed, you could feel it through (I imagine it much the same for most campers).

We had aircon fitted which was awesome on those hot, humid nights.

The biggest downside I see is that the kitchen is inside and we never used it as we would always cook outside on a weber/gas stove.

Sadly the missus works weekends these days and we haven't actually used it for probably 2 years.  My son/daughter sometimes go camping with me still but in that case we just take the tent and/or swags.

In all honesty, if I was looking to buy a camper trailer again I either wouldn't, I'd buy a smallish hybrid (been thinking of selling the Eagle and going down that path), or I'd buy something more rugged (perhaps a dual fold or even something like and Opus Air).
Post by: db on April 06, 2020, 05:55:13 PM
Our previous camper was a rear fold soft floor, 12 foot tent so it was pretty roomy. Awning was all up about 5 metres long. We travelled quite a bit with it, including 10 weeks to the kimberley. For overnight stops with no awning, we got it down to 15 - 20 min. Longer stays with awning added a good hour. If you need space a soft floor will give you space and storage capaciity, and you'll get something in your budget. A good quality soft floor camper with good canvas will be way better bang for buck. We only moved to our forward fold because the kids moved to swags, so we had a big tent with no one in it. Forward fold is a bit faster to set up, and is an advantage on rough ground, but I don't think there is as much in it as some think. From what you've said so far about what you do  and plan to do, I think a good soft floor might be worth a look.
Post by: israel.mcgregor on April 06, 2020, 05:57:24 PM
There is/was a type of soft floor that had an extended body so there was a walk through to the bed.  This made access to the bed easier and the side tent longer.  The kitchen was at the back so separate from the living areas.  They were a good design if you want a lot of space.  Lifestyle Campers made one called the Extenda  but there were more on the market.

https://www.caravancampingsales.com.au/items/details/2015-lifestyle-extenda/SSE-AD-6585054/?Cr=0&gts=SSE-AD-6585054&gtsSaleId=SSE-AD-6585054&gtsViewType=showcase&rankingType=showcase

https://www.caravancampingsales.com.au/items/details/2011-lifestyle-extenda/SSE-AD-6607371/?Cr=9
I think they call them a step through. The Portland LX is like that

Post by: israel.mcgregor on April 06, 2020, 05:58:26 PM
Are you looking 2nd hand or new?
Well new would be awesome but I pretty much have a hard budget of $15k, so I'll take the best I can get for the $$

Post by: israel.mcgregor on April 06, 2020, 06:02:14 PM

The biggest downside I see is that the kitchen is inside and we never used it as we would always cook outside on a weber/gas stove.

In all honesty, if I was looking to buy a camper trailer again I either wouldn't, I'd buy a smallish hybrid (been thinking of selling the Eagle and going down that path), or I'd buy something more rugged (perhaps a dual fold or even something like and Opus Air).

Inside kitchen is my biggest drawback and why I'm pretty hard on not getting a Jayco. I may as well start down the caravan path and forget off-road at all if I have to have a kitchen inside. I know that logic is flawed, but it makes sense in my head

Opus is $$$$$ from what I recall but looked pretty good from a quick glance.

Post by: israel.mcgregor on April 06, 2020, 06:04:48 PM

From what you've said so far about what you do  and plan to do, I think a good soft floor might be worth a look.

The soft floor we hired for the last trip 'could' be done with one person but it was a monster of a thing and it was way higher than I am tall so it wasn't possible to pack it back up again without a ladder or a second person standing on the toolbox at the other end.

Maybe we need to hire one that wasn't build like a tank, and hire a dual fold and compare the pair.

Post by: Coolblue80 on April 06, 2020, 06:11:45 PM
Go for a quality soft floor, screw in pegs with a drill/driver, Raawcon fittings for the annexe and simplify your setup. Might work for you. As one of the other lads mentioned. CULL CULL CULL.
Just my 2 cents worth.
Cheers, Mike.
Post by: tryagain on April 06, 2020, 07:57:05 PM
Well new would be awesome but I pretty much have a hard budget of $15k, so I'll take the best I can get for the $$

Generally speaking, you get FAR better bang for your buck used, Whereabouts in Oz are you? We can maybe point out some used ones that would be worth looking at.
Post by: nab on April 06, 2020, 09:01:34 PM

I take it on those road trips you didn't have a lot packed you had to move outta the way before you could set up the camper? How do you go with a wet packup into your mattress??

We cover the beds with a couple of cheap 7x5 tarp before dropping the roof and it keeps them dry.

I have actually modified the interior of mine to make the storage more user friendly and we cook outside (got rid of the inside cooker and sink)
Post by: israel.mcgregor on April 06, 2020, 10:17:07 PM
Go for a quality soft floor, screw in pegs with a drill/driver, Raawcon fittings for the annexe and simplify your setup. Might work for you. As one of the other lads mentioned. CULL CULL CULL.
Just my 2 cents worth.
Cheers, Mike.
Thanks for the tip on raawcon. They look the goods for a one person setup for sure!

Post by: israel.mcgregor on April 06, 2020, 10:18:25 PM
Generally speaking, you get FAR better bang for your buck used, Whereabouts in Oz are you? We can maybe point out some used ones that would be worth looking at.
NSW - western Sydney.

Happy for any suggestions. I appreciate you all being so willing to assist and not being annoyed with me being so picky!

Post by: Bird on April 06, 2020, 10:56:23 PM

The soft floor we hired for the last trip
What make / model was the one you hired?
Post by: israel.mcgregor on April 07, 2020, 06:15:48 AM
What make / model was the one you hired?
Not entirely sure if this is the actual brand or not.

To give you an idea, my wife had to use a step to cook and do dishes on the tailgate kitchen!

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200406/6b6caebe8fb2a013acd3f24dfb8a6b95.jpg)

Post by: Alan Loy on April 07, 2020, 08:18:25 AM
One advantage of a premium brand of soft floor is they go up easier due to careful design of the frame and struts (it's tricky to design these right).  Any serious seller should allow you to set up and down the camper as part of the pre purchase inspection.  Might be worth trying a few to get a feel if the style suits your needs.

Complete Campsite have a great reputation here is some that might suit from $7000 to $20000

https://www.caravancampingsales.com.au/items/details/2008-complete-campsite-nomad-extreme/SSE-AD-6164289/?Cr=3
https://www.caravancampingsales.com.au/items/details/2009-complete-campsite-nomad-extreme/SSE-AD-5909023/?Cr=4
https://www.caravancampingsales.com.au/items/details/2009-complete-campsite-nomad-extreme/SSE-AD-5842162/?Cr=5
https://www.caravancampingsales.com.au/items/details/2008-complete-campsite-nomad-offroad-deluxe/SSE-AD-6434574/?Cr=6
https://www.caravancampingsales.com.au/items/details/2009-complete-campsite-9x4/SSE-AD-6073937/?Cr=7
https://www.caravancampingsales.com.au/items/details/2012-complete-campsite-jabiru/SSE-AD-1162026/?Cr=8
Post by: tryagain on April 07, 2020, 08:30:03 AM
Not entirely sure if this is the actual brand or not.

To give you an idea, my wife had to use a step to cook and do dishes on the tailgate kitchen!

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200406/6b6caebe8fb2a013acd3f24dfb8a6b95.jpg)

This one

https://www.camplify.com.au/rv/soft-floor-camper-trailer-rental-leura-nsw-2010-all-terrain-full-off-road/13543 (https://www.camplify.com.au/rv/soft-floor-camper-trailer-rental-leura-nsw-2010-all-terrain-full-off-road/13543)
Post by: israel.mcgregor on April 07, 2020, 08:49:38 AM
This one

https://www.camplify.com.au/rv/soft-floor-camper-trailer-rental-leura-nsw-2010-all-terrain-full-off-road/13543 (https://www.camplify.com.au/rv/soft-floor-camper-trailer-rental-leura-nsw-2010-all-terrain-full-off-road/13543)
Yep lol hope he doesn't mind his camper being talked about

Post by: tryagain on April 07, 2020, 09:43:03 AM
15K hard limit pretty much puts you out of most of the new trailers (once you add a few bits and pieces) apart from soft floors,  So you need to evaluate what you want more, new, or tick more of your box's. Soft floor campers have gone a little out of fashion, so used you can get such great buys which then makes buying them new seem a bit silly ( and why many have stopped making them). Here are a few random examples of different styles it might be worth to have a look at.

https://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/central-coast-nsw-region/camper-trailers/cub-spacevan-camper-trailer-fully-off-road-hard-floor/1244034768 (https://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/central-coast-nsw-region/camper-trailers/cub-spacevan-camper-trailer-fully-off-road-hard-floor/1244034768)

https://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/mount-riverview/camper-trailers/black-series-delta/1239871797 (https://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/mount-riverview/camper-trailers/black-series-delta/1239871797)

https://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/terrey-hills/camper-trailers/2019-4x4-camper-trailer-with-diesel-heater-fridge-etc/1233470807 (https://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/terrey-hills/camper-trailers/2019-4x4-camper-trailer-with-diesel-heater-fridge-etc/1233470807)

https://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/waitara/camper-trailers/jayco-flamingo-outback-2007/1244170537 (https://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/waitara/camper-trailers/jayco-flamingo-outback-2007/1244170537)

Also, keep in mind, there is probably a reason why a salesman steers you away from the style of campers that can be had on the second-hand market and towards something you can only buy new ;) it likely has a lot more to do with him than you.
Post by: tryagain on April 07, 2020, 10:02:03 AM
Softfloors can be put up pretty quickly, even the imports (they mostly copied the Aus made ones) see this video as an example https://youtu.be/GdyNNRzu3c4 (https://youtu.be/GdyNNRzu3c4) as others have said it's all the other bits you take with you that take the time, and I suspect you are your own worst enemy here. The awning/canopy is what often adds a fair bit of time, but this is the same on pretty much on both forward/dual folds and soft floors alike.

Did you put up all the rooms on the one you hired? if so that would have added a bit of extra time, also as others have said, the first few times seem to take a lot longer, it gets quicker once you know what you are doing.

One of the main negatives with soft floors, as opposed to the other types, is that they have the (soft) floor on the ground, this can get a bit messy and take a bit longer at pack up time if it has been raining and is wet/muddy, but like most things you can do things to mitigate this.
Post by: israel.mcgregor on April 07, 2020, 10:26:27 AM

I suspect you are your own worst enemy here.

Did you put up all the rooms on the one you hired? if so that would have added a bit of extra time,

One of the main negatives with soft floors, as opposed to the other types, is that they have the (soft) floor on the ground, this can get a bit messy and take a bit longer at pack up time if it has been raining and is wet/muddy, but like most things you can do things to mitigate this.

For sure I'm my own worst enemy. Why get by with a bucket to dump my grey water when I have a perfectly good cliff right beyond my site. With a Y piece for both sinks and 3m of PVC pipe I can have full waste water plumbing! This has always been my mentality and I continually look for ways to improve our camping experience.  Wife always agrees improvements make life easier but it makes setup up harder.

I think I can live with this issue for the three weeker. Not for the weekender tho and I'll learn to CULL CULL CULL.

Yes ,we hired this one because of the large rear kids room. We really liked it, but it did take effort to attach everything and maybe added close to an hour as it was our first time.

Having stuff on the floor that gets dirty is a two edged sword. We appreciated the floor but it took work to maintain and extra time at packup to make sure it was fully dry.

To your point about the design of the camper, this was a good one in that, it could be done by one person. But you'd need to have a ladder with you as getting it over the apex to allow gravity to complete the job on packup would have meant be being around 3m tall!  I'm sure theres a way to Jimmy up a pole/ broom of some sort to push it over and take away the need to pack a ladder.

Post by: israel.mcgregor on April 07, 2020, 10:54:39 AM

15K hard limit pretty much puts you out of most of the new trailers (once you add a few bits and pieces) apart from soft floors,  So you need to evaluate what you want more, new, or tick more of your box's. Soft floor campers have gone a little out of fashion, so used you can get such great buys which then makes buying them new seem a bit silly ( and why many have stopped making them). Here are a few random examples of different styles it might be worth to have a look at.

https://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/waitara/camper-trailers/jayco-flamingo-outback-2007/1244170537 (https://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/waitara/camper-trailers/jayco-flamingo-outback-2007/1244170537)

There are a few companies who have a forward fold at the $15k mark. But as you say without accessories. With some hard negotiation, either with the company or with the wife, I may be able to squeeze more out of the budget

But, if feel that it would probably be better to get a well cared for second hand dual fold than a new forward fold?

Thanks for the links. Ill take a look later. I think I already have that last one bookmarked on gumtree!

As far as softfloor goes, I feel we would end up 'trading up' fairly soon to a FF or DF. I've thought about buying a cheap softy while we get more experience and are ready to trade up, but I think id rather start with a FF and go up from there.

As I see it now, these seem to be my options:
1) A fully kitted out soft floor with a large second room either at the rear or as an extension of the kitchen.  Likely going to cost at least 8-10k for something of quality.
2) new or near new forward fold and custom make a second annexe $12-18k
3) wait for a quality second hand dual fold and possibly still need to add an extra Annexe - $15-25k

Does this sound about right?

Post by: Bird on April 07, 2020, 10:55:52 AM
Quote from: tryagain
Softfloors can be put up pretty quickly, even the imports (they mostly copied the Aus made ones) see this video as an example https://youtu.be/GdyNNRzu3c4 (https://youtu.be/GdyNNRzu3c4) as
Lifestyle had a video of the Explorer Plus - once the trailer was parked and detached from the car, legs down - 2 people putting up the 9ft tent rollingb back travel cover, pulling tent off trailer, and putting up poles - was <1 minute and they were inside. I'd have said <5 mins more to put the other poles up, but they didnt do the awning in the video - that takes the time.
But remember they had done it 5000 times...

I have the video at home on the NAS.
Post by: israel.mcgregor on April 07, 2020, 11:02:27 AM

- 2 people putting up the 9ft tent

I have the video at home on the NAS.

For the foreseeable future, whatever I get needs to be a one person job. At least until the young bub can be left alone for a few mins.

Post by: Bird on April 07, 2020, 11:03:32 AM
For the foreseeable future, whatever I get needs to be a one person job. At least until the young bub can be left alone for a few mins.

I've done our 12ft tent on my own many times... Bloody lazy teenagers :'(
Post by: Ultimate Adventures Podcast on April 07, 2020, 11:54:00 AM

Anything else worth looking at?

New wife??

>:D;D ;D
Post by: Bird on April 07, 2020, 11:56:50 AM
Just remember - there is no perfect one size fits all trailers out there

nearly everyone has to give and take their must haves and wishes.
Post by: paceman on April 07, 2020, 12:02:45 PM
One advantage of a premium brand of soft floor is they go up easier due to careful design of the frame and struts (it's tricky to design these right). 

+1 for this...

we have a cheaper soft floor and if it wasn't such a faff, that would be the next thing to upgrade...

makes a huge difference...
Post by: Bird on April 07, 2020, 12:25:08 PM
+1 for this...

we have a cheaper soft floor and if it wasn't such a faff, that would be the next thing to upgrade...

makes a huge difference...
Sell ya mine :)
Post by: paceman on April 07, 2020, 12:32:24 PM
Sell ya mine :)

wouldn't buy another soft floor... hybrid or downsize with two jettent bunkers for the boys...
Post by: xcvator on April 07, 2020, 12:54:11 PM
Just my 2 bob's worth, from reading this thread, what you want doesn't exist, full stop, end of story.
1st step you MUST take is to go through all the stuff you take with a packet of epsom salts, and clean it out, get rid of ALL the excess junk.Get rid of all the "nice to have" and keep "must have" if you don't take this step you'll still be looking in 50 years.Stop dreaming and become a doer
Once you change your attitude and mindset it will be easy, and remember that when/if you get your dream camper you need to take the same amount of stuff for 4 days or 40, apart from food and drink
Sorry if I sound harsh but this is the reality
There is another alternative, forget the camper, rent a unit  :'( 
Post by: israel.mcgregor on April 07, 2020, 01:13:33 PM

wouldn't buy another soft floor...

Can I ask your reasons not to?

Post by: israel.mcgregor on April 07, 2020, 01:15:20 PM
Just remember - there is no perfect one size fits all trailers out there

nearly everyone has to give and take their must haves and wishes.
Yep it seems that way. And I can accept that. I was hoping there might be a crossover out there that has best of both worlds, a bit like a hybrid is for the caravan.

Btw if anyone has experience with specific brands to look for/ avoid, please feel free to DM me as that would be a massive help

Post by: paceman on April 07, 2020, 01:19:10 PM

Can I ask your reasons not to?

mainly because of setup time (for us)...

a lot of the trips i would like to do in our local area are great overnighters... but our soft floor is a bit too much to setup for an overnighter... we have an unspoken rule of three nights for our soft floor...
Post by: Bigfish on April 07, 2020, 01:30:51 PM
mainly because of setup time (for us)...

a lot of the trips i would like to do in our local area are great overnighters... but our soft floor is a bit too much to setup for an overnighter... we have an unspoken rule of three nights for our soft floor...

I,m exactly the same with my forward fold.  3 nights minimum...  Overnight-get a cabin/room/swag or hotel.
Post by: israel.mcgregor on April 07, 2020, 01:58:47 PM

what you want doesn't exist, full stop, end of story.

Yep, you directly answered the question raised in the title of this thread. Thanks

As far as 'take what you need' is concerned, everyone's needs are different. Do I need hot water for a three week holiday with two kids under 3? I say yes, you might say no. Do I need to plumb my drainage? Well I already have to cart 60l of water a day from the bore outlet 500m a way with no vehicle access. So to have to cart the grey water away as well isn't really much fun. (Bear in mind this is all based on tent camping not camper trailer).

Someone mentioned b-double earlier.  It was close enough in our pre camper days.  Full car and van.  When we hired the camper it was full car and whatever we could strap to the camper which amounted to about the same, but fortunately the camper had much of the stuff we normally would have to pack (kitchen, water, lights, batteries and the rest).

I expect whatever camper I buy will be able to sit there ready to go at a moment's notice. So we can hitch it up, throw some food in and off we go.  When it comes to bigger trips, then we may have to chuck a few more luxury items in that become needs for a long stay.

But what I really am trying to work out is, if there is nothing that will suit exactly what I am looking for, what's the closest I'm gonna find in my price range and how much canvas adding will I need to do for the longer stays when we want to set up and spread out. It's likely for a long weekend I won't care too much about lots of undercover space.

Post by: israel.mcgregor on April 07, 2020, 02:08:57 PM
I,m exactly the same with my forward fold.  3 nights minimum...  Overnight-get a cabin/room/swag or hotel.
That's interesting, I thought forward fold would one of the easiest to set up?

Post by: campingaroundoz on April 07, 2020, 10:58:27 PM
We are looking at selling our follow me camper pentecost which is a hard floor side folding camper which is similar to a soft floor. The pentecost is the top of the line camper from follow me campers which is all Australian built. Brilliantly designed campers and tough as nails. If you want more information you can PM me.
Here is a link to a review https://camper.hemax.com/Reviews/584/Follow_Me_Campers_Pentecost_Review
Post by: israel.mcgregor on April 08, 2020, 06:57:00 AM
We are looking at selling our follow me camper pentecost which is a hard floor side folding camper which is similar to a soft floor. The pentecost is the top of the line camper from follow me campers which is all Australian built. Brilliantly designed campers and tough as nails. If you want more information you can PM me.
Here is a link to a review https://camper.hemax.com/Reviews/584/Follow_Me_Campers_Pentecost_Review
Seems they are no longer in business. Cant find a great deal about them online.

Send through some more info tho, photos etc that would be great.

Post by: Bird on April 08, 2020, 10:31:22 AM

There used to be a website listing all campertrailer manufacturers - was around 40 odd Aussie manufacturers... and a couple of importers.. now its the other way around. That wasn't that many years ago either.  Like it or not the influx of cheap chinese trailers, destroyed the market - with our high wages n Shit aussie manufacturers couldnt keep it up.
Would be in interesting exercise to see how many of these still exist.. http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=1231.0 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=1231.0)

This Followme Camper looks like a nice bit of kit to be honest well worth checking out.
Post by: israel.mcgregor on April 08, 2020, 10:44:47 AM
There used to be a website listing all campertrailer manufacturers - was around 40 odd Aussie manufacturers... and a couple of importers.. now its the other way around. That wasn't that many years ago either.  Like it or not the influx of cheap chinese trailers, destroyed the market - with our high wages n Shit aussie manufacturers couldnt keep it up.
Would be in interesting exercise to see how many of these still exist.. http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=1231.0 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=1231.0)

This Followme Camper looks like a nice bit of kit to be honest well worth checking out.
Yea I did the rounds of all the "manufacturers" in the general radius and not one actually made anything in Australia. Even blue tongue!

Post by: Bird on April 08, 2020, 11:21:20 AM
Yea I did the rounds of all the "manufacturers" in the general radius and not one actually made anything in Australia. Even blue tongue!

a list from 2011
https://web.archive.org/web/20110504085123/http://www.campertrailers.org/manufacturers.htm (https://web.archive.org/web/20110504085123/http://www.campertrailers.org/manufacturers.htm)
Post by: campingaroundoz on April 08, 2020, 11:33:45 AM

They stopped building trailers about 2 years ago basically were pushed out by the Chinese trailers, they still hire out campers and still offer support if you need.
Info about our camper
Build date dec 2016, tare 1300, atm 2000,
265/65/17 ko2,s with spare hub axle and new tyre
You just unzip the cover hook up the winch and flip it over, 2 poles on the inside to push out the side wall and your done.
The annex can stay permanently on which we always do, it has the side wall permanently attached to it also, you just pull it over and add 3 poles and your done, I have made all poles into quick erect so it's very easy, if you don't want the annex you ust leave it on the roof. Total time is about 15min that's with annex included if no annex its 5min, I can do it in about 10min but like anything takes a little practice.
Insulated roof cover
Included is 70l arb fridge
Ctek 25amp charger
Redarc bcdc
Victron bms with bluetooth
2x 130amp deep cycle
Marine stereo
Atwood 11l gas/electric hot water with outside shower
River rats shower tent
Bike rack on front for 2 or 3 bikes
D035 hitch
Gafa suspension built by west coast suspension in perth
2 Jerry can holders
Small wood box
Walk up to the queen inaspring mattress
4 Storage conpartments for clothes under bed.
Great slide out kitchen with return bench and slide out Storage draw above kitchen. Other big storage box behind fridge.
We have been traveling Australia for over 3 years and had this trailer for 2 of those years, in that time we have dragged it along the Gibb, great central road, oodnadatta, dalhousie springs, mt dare, tanami, Savannah way via roper bar, Cape York, plus many other outback roads. Don't let this scare you off though the camper is still in excellent condition.
We have 2 kids 12 and 9 and they have heaps of room on the hard floor.
It's a big camper but is beautifully weighted and tows like a dream, we have not one single issue with it.
Unfortunately our travelers have stopped for now and we are managing a caravan park so the camper has been in the shed since September.
Asking 22k for it which is a bargain. They were 43k new. If you are interested i can send some pics but might have to do it via email.
Thanks Jayme

Post by: rossm on April 08, 2020, 09:55:58 PM
For people wondering FollowMe were a Perth based manufacturer. Doubt many of their campers made it to the eastern states.

I checked them out at shows etc and they seemed well made and well priced against their Australian peers but as a smaller family owned operation in a small market like Perth they couldn't compete against the imports and pulled the pin.

Their side fold hard floor seems like  an innovative design (but I'm no expert in that area).

Post by: Bird on April 09, 2020, 10:04:51 AM
May I suggest you go and hire some more variations of trailers before making a decision - 15k is a lot to spend on Shit your not really happy with.

Take your time, if you plan to use this over years, then hire 5 different styles, adn then hire other brands of the style you like.
Post by: israel.mcgregor on April 09, 2020, 10:29:56 AM
May I suggest you go and hire some more variations of trailers before making a decision - 15k is a lot to spend on Shit your not really happy with.

Take your time, if you plan to use this over years, then hire 5 different styles, adn then hire other brands of the style you like.
Thanks mate. No doubt that's what we will do, whenever we are allowed out of the house!!

I appreciate the help from everyone on here. It's given me plenty to consider while I'm twiddling my thumbs at home dreaming of my next holiday!

Post by: Fizzie on April 09, 2020, 12:41:53 PM
No doubt that's what we will do, whenever we are allowed out of the house!!

Maybe make some phone calls, because you "may" be able to hire one, bring it home & set it up in the backyard for a try out ???
Post by: Bigfish on April 09, 2020, 01:04:24 PM
Maybe make some phone calls, because you "may" be able to hire one, bring it home & set it up in the backyard for a try out ???

Thats actually a very good idea.  Might even get  someone who isnt going camping to rent you their rig for a couple of days seeing as you are setting it up at home...cant hurt to ask.. :cup:
Post by: israel.mcgregor on April 09, 2020, 01:19:49 PM
80% of this comes with us for the three weeker tent trip.

Gonna be damn glad to leave all this behind!(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200409/a6ae364a18387dabb20fb950627a9402.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200409/b3c546fefd51169ee23ee11479997af0.jpg)

Post by: Bird on April 09, 2020, 01:36:35 PM
Thats actually a very good idea.  Might even get  someone who isnt going camping to rent you their rig for a couple of days seeing as you are setting it up at home...cant hurt to ask.. :cup:
You'll get nailed for unnecessary travel... they seem to be doing a job on Eastlink and Peninsula Link Freeways on caravan/campers at moment.
Post by: israel.mcgregor on April 09, 2020, 02:20:26 PM
You'll get nailed for unnecessary travel... they seem to be doing a job on Eastlink and Peninsula Link Freeways on caravan/campers at moment.
I hear they've got the choppers out

Post by: Bird on April 09, 2020, 02:37:33 PM
I hear they've got the choppers out
(https://i.ytimg.com/vi/MF-afbGRyWg/hqdefault.jpg)