Author Topic: Garage Heating  (Read 19270 times)

Garage Heating
« on: July 15, 2019, 10:22:50 AM »
What does everyone do to heat their garage? I know a lot of you wouldn't need to but down here in Tassie it gets a little chilly on the willy during winter after about 4pm so most garages have some sort of heating.

We have also just put in a wood heater down here but I am a little over wood heaters so I went looking for alternatives.

The Mericans use those electric wall mounted heaters which isn't ideal when you pay to much for electricity and some even use a standard 'split system' heat pump/air conditioner which isnt a bad idea if you need air con as well as heat but again I wasnt keen on spending that sort of money.

Sooooooo I thought why not give one of the cheap Chinese diesel heaters a go!! I fired my little 2kw heater up thats in my camper (yes I ran the exhaust outside!) and on a freezing cold night it did actually ever so slightly take the chill out the air. Not much but I thought there could be some potential.

A quick look on ebay and some youtube research and what do you know, you can buy 8KW diesel heaters these days for under $200!! At that sort of money its worth giving it a try, I may even run two ;)

My garage had to be BAL rated so its sealed pretty good and has good insulation on the roof so Ill report back once its up and running and let you know how I got on.

I started the thread to get the discussion happening because I couldn't find another thread on the topic???

Offline BBull

Re: Garage Heating
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2019, 10:37:34 AM »
Yes it would easily warm a shed up. Only thing to consider would be noise and fuel usage.
I recon it would constantly run flat out, so it would be pumping some fuel through and the fan noise would be very loud.

I have a 7x5 little shed and I have the camper heater on every now and then just to give it a run and warm the shed a bit while working in there.
Camper lives out side so I just face the pipe at the door opening and it blows the hot air inside

« Reply #2 on: July 15, 2019, 10:46:08 AM »
Yes it would easily warm a shed up. Only thing to consider would be noise and fuel usage.
I recon it would constantly run flat out, so it would be pumping some fuel through and the fan noise would be very loud.

I have a 7x5 little shed and I have the camper heater on every now and then just to give it a run and warm the shed a bit while working in there.
Camper lives out side so I just face the pipe at the door opening and it blows the hot air inside

Yeh I agree and took all that into consideration. My shed has a seperate shed on the side of it, so Ill house the unit out there, that should keep the noise down. And they use 360ml per hour running flat out, so itll cost a couple of dollars per night to keep warm which I am ok with.

This is a good video on them......they appear to be quieter than the smaller versions......
https://youtu.be/IjDDlI_42a4

« Reply #3 on: July 15, 2019, 10:48:52 AM »
They do self contained 5kw units on ebay that half of Europe uses for exactly your purpose.

« Reply #4 on: July 15, 2019, 10:52:44 AM »
They do self contained 5kw units on ebay that half of Europe uses for exactly your purpose.

Yeh I saw those. They are basically the same thing but in a case that houses the heater and tank. Hopefully itll work for me then.

« Reply #5 on: July 15, 2019, 10:57:14 AM »
Yeh I saw those. They are basically the same thing but in a case that houses the heater and tank. Hopefully itll work for me then.
If you are on FB there is a page called ‘Chinese diesel heaters’. It is all Europeans setting them up in garages etc.

« Reply #6 on: July 15, 2019, 11:11:07 AM »
I just use one of these... works well in my sized shed, takes 5-10 mins to really be felt.

« Reply #7 on: July 15, 2019, 11:12:06 AM »
I just use one of these... works well in my sized shed, takes 5-10 mins to really be felt.

Are they safe in a confined space though? ;D

« Reply #8 on: July 15, 2019, 11:18:11 AM »
Quote from: DannyG
9x6mtr shed with sliding doors + 2 whirlybirds its fine.
It works well enough that sometimes have to turn it off as it gets too hot.

« Reply #9 on: July 15, 2019, 11:53:04 AM »
can't beat these.
Shed is 22m x 8m.

« Reply #10 on: July 15, 2019, 01:17:21 PM »
...or,

« Reply #11 on: July 15, 2019, 01:59:11 PM »
or....

Sorry, couldn't resist
and.......  waiting for the Nissan on fire

« Reply #12 on: July 15, 2019, 02:02:47 PM »
I'd definitely go with something that is flued to the outside, especially in a sealed up (BAL rated) garage.

Last thing you'd want is carbon monoxide poisoning or splashing some degreaser or thinners around and having a source of ignition.

But I'm from Qld, so heating the garage is rarely an issue.
The following users thanked this post: GBC

Offline KeithB

« Reply #13 on: July 15, 2019, 02:16:01 PM »
If you have or can get a supply of waste sump oil, there are commercial burners that will heat a large area. A lot of workshops use them.
https://kroll-heaters.com.au/waste-oil-heaters/workshop-waste-oil-heater/
But there is a lot of info on the net about making your own.
Keith
200 Series 2008, bull bar, Airmax snorkel,rack with 200 watt solar, third battery, winch, 33's with 2 spares, long range tank, drawers & barrier, bash plates, lifted & locked, Richards transmission lockup plus plenty of dings. Now towing the new Off Road Glamper.

Offline Merts

« Reply #14 on: July 15, 2019, 02:32:18 PM »

The answer is no, they aren't.

If your shed is 'leaky' enough you may get away with it, but operating any fuel burning heater which doesn't have an external flue in an enclosed space is dangerous.

Edit for clarity: I'm referring to patio heaters etc. not being safe in enclosed spaces, not the diesel heaters which have an external flue and are therefore fine.
« Last Edit: July 15, 2019, 04:05:44 PM by Merts »
Towing a a National Campers 'Hermit 10' hybrid with an MQ Triton. Previously towed an Outback Campers 'Sturt' softfloor. (PM me if you want to buy the Sturt!)

Garage Heating
« Reply #15 on: July 15, 2019, 03:05:07 PM »
Diesel space heater have an external flue......therefore not an issue with these.

Patio style gas heater, need to be more careful.

« Reply #16 on: July 15, 2019, 06:12:46 PM »
The 8Kw heater you posted up is not really 8Kw, more like the 5Kw that is sold on ebay.
Also, these diesel heaters are not really suited to run flat out, but at 3/4 approx, they will still throw out some nice heat.

There is a 13 part series on the chinese heaters on u tube.....all done by a bloke in Australia...well worth watching for all the dos and don'ts of setting one up. I have nearly finished installing one in my camper and found the u tube series good.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nRF-B74sDmQ

I don't know why the link you paste up is no longer a "clickable" link ?

« Reply #17 on: July 15, 2019, 06:18:55 PM »
The 8Kw heater you posted up is not really 8Kw, more like the 5Kw that is sold on ebay.
Also, these diesel heaters are not really suited to run flat out, but at 3/4

Is there a reason you think it’s only 5kw not the 8kw that the model suggests?

I’ve been running my campers heater flat out for years :)

« Reply #18 on: July 15, 2019, 06:47:16 PM »
I hope it catches fire....

« Reply #19 on: July 15, 2019, 06:50:19 PM »
Is there a reason you think it’s only 5kw not the 8kw that the model suggests?

I’ve been running my campers heater flat out for years :)

The bloke on u tube has tested heaps of heaters...including the supposed 8Kw ones......they are the same size, use the same amount of fuel and heat output is the same as the 5Kw unit.

Only going on what this bloke said, flat out the unit was getting very hot, so he eased it off a bit ??

« Reply #20 on: July 15, 2019, 07:12:52 PM »

Love it Steffo........

;D ;D ;D
« Last Edit: July 15, 2019, 07:15:47 PM by briann532 »

« Reply #21 on: July 15, 2019, 07:13:55 PM »
The bloke on u tube has tested heaps of heaters...including the supposed 8Kw ones......they are the same size, use the same amount of fuel and heat output is the same as the 5Kw unit.

Only going on what this bloke said, flat out the unit was getting very hot, so he eased it off a bit ??

No worries hopefully whatever heat it puts out it’s good enough

« Reply #22 on: July 15, 2019, 07:18:43 PM »
I hope it catches fire....

Did you get that rash cleared up?

Garage Heating
« Reply #23 on: July 15, 2019, 07:23:55 PM »
Did you get that rash cleared up?

Yeah thankfully I caught it in time but the doc did say that the carrier probably won’t be so lucky, so you might want to book an appointment sooner rather than later

« Last Edit: July 15, 2019, 07:26:00 PM by Marcus73 »

Offline OldPaj

« Reply #24 on: July 15, 2019, 07:24:15 PM »
I have a pot belly made out of an old stainless steel Carlton United beer keg.

Light a good fire in it, and it warms up the garage/shed/workshop (approx 10 X 7) OK eventually. No fan so not very efficient.
So I found an old working pedestal fan at our local recycling centre and a bit of modification, it blows air over the pot belly (lowest speed) warm air then circulates beautifully.