Author Topic: Smokers...Who wants to join me in quitting???  (Read 45693 times)

Offline darrenh

Re: Smokers...Who wants to join me in quitting???
« Reply #50 on: June 27, 2011, 09:04:13 PM »
I quit in feb 2010. 2 packs a day for 25 years a stress full job. I focussed on the inconvenience of smoking. Think about it we all still like the taste and the feeling but hate the inconvenience of smoking. The 2nd thing a say to my self everyday is nope not one puff ever
2006 100 series sahara
2008  Jayco flamingo outback

Offline MR MAC GU

« Reply #51 on: June 28, 2011, 07:18:29 AM »
So far so good.

Have cut down by half leading to my quit date on monday.

Having a little trouble sleeping since I started on the Champix.

Cravings are less often and I'm finding it reasonable easy so far.

"I live with Fear everyday and sometimes She lets me RACE"

The Motley Crew 4x4 and Social Club of Australia inc
www.themotleycrew.com.au

2004 GU Patrol ST Wagon with all the good touring gear.
"Lifted Locked and Loaded"

2010 Kimberley Platinum Extreme with "extras"

« Reply #52 on: June 28, 2011, 07:29:19 AM »
You blokes are champs. Go one up and chuck 'em in the bin today Mac. :cup:

I gave the filthy buggers away cold turkey after 10yrs of smoking and never looked back. You gotta hate them for what they can do to you and your family, while the pockets of an industry that peddles misery and death get lined with your hard earned readies.

A good 'hate on' is a great tool for getting over them.

Offline Paul Mac

• Bolwell Edge
« Reply #53 on: June 28, 2011, 09:53:09 AM »
Well done Mac. The sleeping will get better but its something you have to put up with at the moment unfortunately.

The craving sensation will go completely in week 2 then its down to willpower to stop smoking alltogether.

I'm now in my last week of month 3 tablets and whilst every now and then you want to have one I keep telling myself that it will add years to my life.

Keep going mate.

« Reply #54 on: June 28, 2011, 10:24:30 AM »
Well done Mac. The sleeping will get better but its something you have to put up with at the moment unfortunately.

The craving sensation will go completely in week 2 then its down to willpower to stop smoking alltogether.

I'm now in my last week of month 3 tablets and whilst every now and then you want to have one I keep telling myself that it will add years to my life.

Keep going mate.

This is exactly my experience. The sleeping does get better, you just have to put up with it for a while. I just kept telling myself it was a small price to pay for a long term gain.

Offline V8100

« Reply #55 on: June 28, 2011, 09:24:46 PM »
So day 2.  I Thought patches were going well till i realised didnt really have one on it had fallen off.  So i guess maybe it is mind over matter.  Have had around 10 today which is really good about half.
Tommorrow will be better still. '

Eddy
2010 Navara d22(gone)
2004 jayco swan
2003 V8 cruiser

Offline Kman

• Camper Trailer Rental
« Reply #56 on: June 28, 2011, 09:41:09 PM »
I was a day late :-[

Started the Champix today, I do not have a day picked for when I will give up.....I know it will be at least two weeks away....but keen as. 10 points for you Mr. Mac for starting this thread and geeing the few living smokers up a bit.. :cheers:
Complete Campsite Nomad and Mitsi Triton

« Reply #57 on: June 29, 2011, 06:51:57 PM »
good luck all hope you are suscessful.

I have never smoked but after atending the funeral of my boss (and good mate) last week due to lung cancer i want to see all i can kick the habit. 

« Reply #58 on: June 30, 2011, 08:28:36 AM »
dont do it you will kick yourself going through life konwing your a quitter ..... kidding good luck

Offline Slipus

• Slip
« Reply #59 on: June 30, 2011, 11:42:52 AM »
Just a quick note of support for all the "new" non smokers among us.  Keep being strong  you are nearly there   :cup: :cup:

Offline boxxy

« Reply #60 on: June 30, 2011, 12:11:45 PM »
Good Luck Mr Mac, I have been trying for years to kick this god forsaken habit and like you I just decided to give it another go to quit. I started on the gum last week with the intent of cuttting down gradually and then hopefully giving it up altogether, so I will join you and give it a good hard go mate. I still have one with my morning coffee and I reckon if I can get around that first one, I may just be able to beat it. Currently down to about 6 most days now which is a HUGE improvement on what I have been like lately. I finally decided I want to grow old with my grandchildren so as well as the cost and my health I have something to motivate me.

Anyone else want to join us ???????????????????????????????????

Boxxy

Offline stepheng

« Reply #61 on: June 30, 2011, 12:39:54 PM »
Good luck to you guys. I have not been smoking for about a month now - although had the occasional slip up, ie when having a drink but it is important to start again the next day. I am on the Champix and they help a lot, they certainly take away the cravings and whilst you need some will power, it isn't that hard. The main effect seems to be a loss of sleep but can cope with that for a bit and I don't seem to be tired.

I have struggled with my ciggies addiction for years and whilst I understand psychologically people think it is a good thing to gradually reduce intake so you quit, I am sorry to say you are kidding yourself. Like all addictions, your brain will tell you whatever you want to hear so that you keep smoking, even if at a reduced rate.The brain doesn't care, as long as it gets its hit. No doubt your brain is saying, yes you can quite but lets gradually do it. You end up not quitting and back to were you were and in some instances (happened to me) you smoke more.

You have to bite the bullet and have none, it is very hard - nicotine is one of the hardest drugs to give up, physically and emotionally. It is also easily accessable as well. The physical addiction will last about 2 - 3 days and post that you are nicotine free - including sleeping. To stop smoking you MUST stop smoking for this period, to rid yourself of nicotine. Once the nicotine is gone, the rest is mental. It sucks and is horrible and you may have to avoid some things you don't want to. All my best mates, smoke (trying to quit as well) and I have had to avoid them for the last month - I have not liked this at all - whilst smoking is bad, not having a life is worse but for a short time it is something you may have to do.

Keep it up and I hope you stop BUT please donut go for the reduction method as it wont work and prolongs the agony - you will be constantly cranky cos you want your next hit and you could be like this for weeks or months you need to go straight to withdrawals. You may be cranky, irritable and horid but it will be for a couple of days only. 

Offline smocky

« Reply #62 on: June 30, 2011, 01:35:13 PM »
Good luck to you all. Fortunately I have made it to 41 without smoking (I think it's because I like money so much and have never found smoking to be a worthwhile use of it) but knowing what we now know about smoking, there is more motivation than ever to give them up.

Both of my parents smoked a pack of Winfield reds EACH a day, much of it in the lounge room of the house while we all watched TV. No one really knew the effects !!! But why a teenager would start now, knowing what we know is just beyond me.

Whether your motivation is money or health, great decision and wish there was a way for others to help you.

Offline MR MAC GU

« Reply #63 on: June 30, 2011, 04:34:19 PM »
Well another reasonably sucessful day, even with the stress of end of finicial year...

Feeling strong about this Monday.

www.themotleycrew.com.au

« Reply #64 on: June 30, 2011, 06:28:34 PM »

Feeling strong about this Monday.

hey Princess,
how about you give up tomorrow arvo instead of Monday, so i don't have to put up with you smoking around us this weekend  ;D ;D ;D

Offline MR MAC GU

« Reply #65 on: July 03, 2011, 06:58:28 PM »
12 Hours since my last smoke and feeling strong so far...

www.themotleycrew.com.au

Offline xvprado

« Reply #66 on: July 03, 2011, 07:36:03 PM »

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Good for you, keep talking to yourself.......if I can go 12, I can go 24, if I can do 24 I can do 48, 48 was good, so I can do a week........................you can do it 8)
Glen
Hawkesbury Valley, Sydderney
2015 200 TD VX & Mountain Trail LXV4.7

Offline V8100

« Reply #67 on: July 03, 2011, 08:03:36 PM »
well done mate I have fallen off the wagon over weekend, too much alcohol i beleive start again tomorrow.
eddy
2010 Navara d22(gone)
2004 jayco swan
2003 V8 cruiser

« Reply #68 on: July 03, 2011, 08:40:12 PM »
Hi guys,
I gave up just over ten years ago. not long after suffering a brain hemorrhage, aneurysm(this Dec 2nd 12 years ago, age 33, I'm 45 now). My eldest was 13 months old and Fysh had no idea that she had fallen pregnant the night before with our second, may explain why she is such a little fighter and strong willed, after that we had number three on the way. I had been smoking since I was 16. I had tried to give up countless times with no success. After my hiccup, I tried Patches, cold turkey until one day I just thought, I'm going to give up, and I did. It wasn't easy and I still miss a smoke with a cuppa, and I do love the smell of fresh Tobacco when a new packet is opened.
Now the Quacks cant say if it was the smoking or all the hits to the head while playing footy or the fights I use to find myself in, who can tell, but smoking is a demon that each smoker has to deal with.
I'm a lucky son of a bitch to be here. And my little girls may have grown up without their dad and Fysh might not of had her husband.
This is my story, and if it helps someone, that's a good thing   ;D
So, my hat goes off to you guys for having a crack at it.
It maybe a hard road, but you wont regret it.
Good onya's for trying.  :cup:

« Last Edit: July 04, 2011, 09:26:20 AM by Hairs »

Offline MR MAC GU

« Reply #69 on: July 04, 2011, 08:30:10 AM »
I have passed the 24 hour mark and I am unsure how i'm feeling. Although I don't actually feel like a smoke, I get a little lost at the times that I would normally smoke. The first smoke of the day used to be coffee and a smoke for breakfast which is now coffee and toast but straight after I have the 45 min or so drive to work. Any ideas on how to stop the boredom while driving?

I feel I can keep myself busy enough most of the time but the driving may possibly be my demise and as i head off on a major trip in 2 months time (approx 10000ks in 5 weeks), this would be the first time I have spent hours upon hours in the car without smoking.

www.themotleycrew.com.au

« Reply #70 on: July 04, 2011, 08:46:32 AM »
I went coldturkey from 70 aday and recon it all comes down to mental conditioning and will power, you have the hate the things. On long occasions of  boredom i found dry fruit and nuts handy, doesn't taste to bad ether.
Your going OK, every day without one is one day closer to not needing them.
Good luck.

« Reply #71 on: July 04, 2011, 09:18:57 AM »
I have passed the 24 hour mark and I am unsure how i'm feeling. Although I don't actually feel like a smoke, I get a little lost at the times that I would normally smoke. The first smoke of the day used to be coffee and a smoke for breakfast which is now coffee and toast but straight after I have the 45 min or so drive to work.

Well done mate, keep going  :cheers:

Cheers BD

Offline MR MAC GU

« Reply #72 on: July 05, 2011, 07:13:51 PM »
60 hours and going strong

www.themotleycrew.com.au

« Reply #73 on: July 05, 2011, 07:26:23 PM »
Keep up the good work mate pretty soon you will be saying 60 days  :cup:

« Reply #74 on: July 05, 2011, 09:44:47 PM »
60 hours and going strong
Good Stuff