General => General Discussion => Topic started by: farcanal on June 17, 2019, 04:48:03 PM

Title: End of Free Camping?
Post by: farcanal on June 17, 2019, 04:48:03 PM
I heard some disturbing news today, hope it's not right.
My mate's girlfriend is 2IC in a regional WA shire council.
She's been given the task of rejuvenating the local caravan park, and told my mate that rangers will be cracking down on anyone caught "free" camping without a chemical toilet and grey water catchment tank.
We've traveled extensively across Australia with our camper/trailer using mainly free sites in the bush.
We use a bowl for a quick "tub wash" and I use a folding toilet seat for the other stuff. I ALWAYS dig a hole first and my stuff is buried.
This is a concern for me and I know there's hundreds out there just like us.
Please someone , tell me this is not true.
Title: Re: End of Free Camping?
Post by: Bird on June 17, 2019, 04:54:15 PM
Is this currently a rule? Will there be some form of notification to the world that rules are changing or are there any 'rules' listed anywhere that people can read upon, that they will be breaking?
If not, can't see it getting much traction.
Will be hard to manage though... few sq klms that are remote in WA.

Rejuvenating the local caravan park Its only a matter of time I believe for many places.. I know Tassie is pissed with it and has been in the past. Few threads on it in recent times.
Post by: farcanal on June 17, 2019, 05:31:25 PM
Is this currently a rule? Will there be some form of notification to the world that rules are changing or are there any 'rules' listed anywhere that people can read upon, that they will be breaking?
If not, can't see it getting much traction.
Will be hard to manage though... few sq klms that are remote in WA.

Rejuvenating the local caravan park Its only a matter of time I believe for many places.. I know Tassie is pissed with it and has been in the past. Few threads on it in recent times.

Not sure if it's currently a rule Bird.
I haven't actually spoken to the lady in question, just my mate who was speaking to her yesterday.
As you have said, almost impossible to police, I've been in some nice remote spots where I doubt a Ranger would even find me.
I'm just thinking about the Camps Australia book, I've used them extensively for over 10 years , and if they change the rules this book will be useless for anyone who hasn't got a van with shower/toilet.
Post by: austastar on June 17, 2019, 05:32:03 PM
   When we were in W.A. (2004) the Kalbarri shire had "No Camping" signs every where. Caravan/Camping parks only.
But we were 'legally parked' for the night, so it didn't really affect us.

Sent from my SM-T380 using Tapatalk

Post by: Rumpig on June 17, 2019, 06:14:42 PM
Hopefully not the end of free camping, but if cleans up the places currently littered with turds and dunny paper from some of the grubs out there that aren't doing the right thing,  won't totally be a bad thing IMO.
Post by: WilSurf on June 17, 2019, 06:19:26 PM
When we left our camp at Wellington Dam in January, a ranger came to see for fire dangers (as we had reported a fire a few days earlier on the other side of where we were) and the only thing he asked us how we got in.
He was surprised when I answered: just followed the track behind us down.
Nothing about illegal camping.
Post by: Pottsy on June 17, 2019, 06:19:59 PM
Hopefully not the end of free camping, but if cleans up the places currently littered with turds and dunny paper from some of the grubs out there that aren't doing the right thing,  won't totally be a bad thing IMO.

Post by: nab on June 17, 2019, 06:36:56 PM
Might have to add a portable toilet to your gear. Keeping doing as you are though, I don’t think the ranger will open the toilet to see if you’re using it or not haha!!!!
Post by: tryagain on June 17, 2019, 07:00:52 PM
I think it all depends a bit on where you are, I am all for the chemical toilet requirement is semi popular places, Teewah beach for example can turn into a cess pit behind the camping area at busy times due to the amount of people there, where as if you are remote and off the beaten track then digging a hole isn't an issue. Anywhere that's busy enough to have a ranger patrol is probably busy enough for people to need a chemical toilet. The grey water tank I think is less of an issue, especially when half the grey nomads just head off in the morning with the tank emptying on the road as they drive.
Post by: fc_holden on June 17, 2019, 07:31:44 PM
Ronny Dahl has been advising on his YouTube vids for most of this year re the requirements to carry a chemical toilet in WA and how it is being cracked done on by the authorities, don’t know re the grey water tank but we carry a portable one when camping or using the camper
Post by: sharkcaver on June 17, 2019, 09:12:34 PM
I cant speak for the shire you speak of, but a requirement for a chemi toilet is becoming like the climate change debate. Do-gooders advocating thus for the sake of the environment. Also like the AGW issue, they are only selectively looking at all the issues, those toilet chemicals are nasty stuff for the environment - admittedly, there are alternatives to the nasty stuff.

Be warned, it is coming. Slowly but surely. And that's going to create some havoc for me.

Like rumpig says, it it stops the poo tickets obliterating the landscape, then it could be a good thing. Problem is, the tards that leave poo tickets everywhere wont carry a portable, so it wont solve a thing.

Political correctness now making its way to the throne  >:D
Post by: krisandkev on June 18, 2019, 07:21:03 AM
I cant speak for the shire you speak of, but a requirement for a chemi toilet is becoming like the climate change debate. Do-gooders advocating thus for the sake of the environment. Also like the AGW issue, they are only selectively looking at all the issues, those toilet chemicals are nasty stuff for the environment - admittedly, there are alternatives to the nasty stuff.

Be warned, it is coming. Slowly but surely. And that's going to create some havoc for me.

Like rumpig says, it it stops the poo tickets obliterating the landscape, then it could be a good thing. Problem is, the tards that leave poo tickets everywhere wont carry a portable, so it wont solve a thing.

Political correctness now making its way to the throne  >:D
Absolutly spot on. It will and does effect the ones doing the right thing. I have seen so many self contained vans spilling their load as they drive along. So many do not find a dump point and empty the stuff there. Just another greeny type agender. And I have seen a lot of locals trashing free camping areas. Not to mention young overseas campers. Kevin
Post by: D4D on June 18, 2019, 07:31:29 AM
Free camping in Australia is akin to 'The right to bear arms' in the US, it is not going away despite government and commercial pressure.
Post by: Craig Tomkinson on June 18, 2019, 07:47:02 AM
When we travelled the Gibb river road up to Kalumburu in 1988 we stayed at home Valley St and its owner said it was illegal to free camp on the side of the road in WA back then, We did it anyway, Craig 
Post by: jclures on June 18, 2019, 08:29:22 AM
After travelling quite a bit of Australia, and seeing some the pigs that think it is OK to think the bush is better with Shit and Shit paper behind every rock and tree on there travels it is not surprising this is happening. ???
I listened to a local fellow on the radio while we were up in the north of WA and his comment was about tourists leaving their brown and white butterflies behind to fly around in the bush.
Post by: doc evil on June 18, 2019, 08:54:27 AM
Not a recent thing, especially in WA.........in a former life, I was vice chair of the 4WD association in WA. 10 years ago they shires and councils were trying to put a brake on free camping. Not so much north and east of Perth but definitely the south west. By the sound of it, they are still trying.........

Gig Gin shire and another, have set up "free" camps on Indian ocean drive. That was a few years ago. Don't know how that has fared??

Post by: Bird on June 18, 2019, 11:45:15 AM
Quote from: tryagain
Anywhere that's busy enough to have a ranger patrol is probably busy enough for people to need a chemical toilet

Very true.
Post by: corndog on June 18, 2019, 01:39:30 PM
I once tried a camp along a Murray River. Not my usual camping place as I prefer smaller, cleaner rivers. Got there late to find the place packed. Found a spot and set up. Got up in the morning to find more toilet tents than caravans/campers. Some had a chemical toilet for no1 and a pit toilet for no2. I wondered  why if you would s**t in a pi you could p**s in a pit.. Some of these tents were as close to the waters edge by 15mtr horizontally.  They dug a hole maybe 250-300mm deep, placed a garbage  bin liner in the hole, and put the seat over the hole. When they left they take the seat, fold the plastic bag over the top and cover with dirt. Some might say what's  the problem. I walked back 35-40mtrs to dig a hole with a post hole digger. 1st hole hit plastic, 2nd hole hit plastic, 3rd hole plastic. On the 4th hole, dug it 800mm with no plastic. Did some test digging to see how much plastic  was there. More than not every hole I dug plastic came up. Plastic as low as 75mm under the ground and as close to the water as 10mtrs. The whole area must have a layer of s**t bags under the surface. So have a think next time when your camped on a nice clean campsite. Is it really . And this was only 1 campsite along that river.
Post by: Craig Tomkinson on June 18, 2019, 01:56:18 PM
Mean while on the side of the roads theres thousands of roos , and cattle craping everywhere, Yes there are some grubs out there that do not bury what they leave behind deep enough or at all, 
Post by: alnjan on June 18, 2019, 02:02:32 PM
just don't do it into a plastic bag.   Do it into the hole so it can break down without leaving plastic everywhere, or if you must drop a match into the hole before you bury it. 
Post by: Bird on June 18, 2019, 03:43:50 PM
Quote from: corndog
Is it really
if someone Shits and its underground and out of site, I dont care :)
Post by: tryagain on June 18, 2019, 03:58:25 PM
Mean while on the side of the roads theres thousands of roos , and cattle craping everywhere, Yes there are some grubs out there that do not bury what they leave behind deep enough or at all,

What's a cow stocking rate though, a lot less poo/m than a busy campsite I would think. I don't think it's an issue remote camping, I think it can be an issue in busyish campsites though.
Post by: Pete79 on June 18, 2019, 04:55:56 PM
Plastic as low as 75mm under the ground and as close to the water as 10mtrs. The whole area must have a layer of s**t bags under the surface. So have a think next time when your camped on a nice clean campsite. Is it really . And this was only 1 campsite along that river.

It would be scary to see a cross section view of ground at Double Island Point...
50mm of sand over 1m of turds....
(https://s3.amazonaws.com/pix.iemoji.com/images/emoji/apple/ios-12/256/face-vomiting.png)
Post by: MDS69 on June 18, 2019, 05:05:18 PM

Yes but Roos and cows diet is grass and plants basically. Humans eat meat, pasta, rice and other processed crap hence why it is so disgusting. Same as dog poo. They eat a processed diet usually meat.
Post by: MDS69 on June 18, 2019, 05:09:25 PM
I remember 2014 stopping at Algebuckina Bridge on the Oodnadatta Track for a lunch break and with a view to set up camp. The amount of human waste, toilet paper and the odd disposable nappy in the bushes had to be seen to be believed
Post by: D4D on June 18, 2019, 05:35:26 PM
This topic has turned pretty sh!tty...
Post by: Bigfish on June 18, 2019, 05:46:03 PM
.  We can put a man on the moon yet we still don't have people who don't know basic hygiene and how to Shit in the bush.   Apart from a caravan licence we might have to introduce a licence for crapping.  Maybe combine the two for heavy loads.... :cheers:
Post by: Rumpig on June 18, 2019, 06:56:42 PM
Gotta say that last year's trip to Ayres Rock had a few disgusting road side stops happen....pulled up at a rest area heading to the rock itself after turning off the Stuart Hwy, there's a phone booster thingy there and we needed to contact someone, whilst the misses made a phone call I thought I'd duck into the scrub and take a whizz...didn't get 2 metres into the scrub before seeing numerous landmines laying out in the open, ended up turning around and backtracking real fast. A few days later we stopped at a different rest area on the Stuart Hwy to have lunch, thought we'd head down the back of it to get further from the highway but the toilet paper in the grass and rubbish in general put a stop to that idea, headed back to the front of rest area and pulled up beside  the one and only table and chair set up there which happened to be in the dirt under a tree, misses started making lunch in the campers kitchen and I start walking around...on the other side of the table some grub had emptied thier chemical toilet into the dirt there...FFS, what goes through some people's heads to think that is a good idea. Thinking about that now, I guess it shows enforcing being self contained still won't stop the dickheads from doing the wrong thing.
Post by: Bird on June 18, 2019, 07:21:13 PM
.  We can put a man on the moon yet we still don't have people who don't know basic hygiene and how to Shit in the bush.
remember this fossil
https://youtu.be/G1uE6a_r7Q4
Post by: KathyL on June 18, 2019, 07:29:38 PM
During our recent four month visit to Tassie we stayed at a number of community-run camping grounds that work on a fee/donation basis and which offer free showers and/or water.

It was disappointing to be told by some managers/caretakers of "free" campers who stay in nearby free-camps and think nothing of visiting these community-run camping grounds at a time when the managers/caretakers are not there for a shower and/or water tank refill  - especially when some of these places have to buy water to fill their storage tanks ...
Post by: Rumpig on June 18, 2019, 08:06:53 PM
During our recent four month visit to Tassie we stayed at a number of community-run camping grounds that work on a fee/donation basis and which offer free showers and/or water.

It was disappointing to be told by some managers/caretakers of "free" campers who stay in nearby free-camps and think nothing of visiting these community-run camping grounds at a time when the managers/caretakers are not there for a shower and/or water tank refill  - especially when some of these places have to buy water to fill their storage tanks ...
stayed at a Youcamp property a short while back where the owner of the property supplied firewood to you for free, it was included in the pretty cheap price he charged to stay on his property. Sadly  he informed me that now he was to start charging people for firewood due to those that lit huge big bonfires with his supply, and even worse...the people that loaded up thier vehicles with his firewood to take it to thier next camp.....seems there's plenty out there that'll do the wrong thing.
Post by: Bigfish on June 18, 2019, 08:11:03 PM
remember this fossil
https://youtu.be/G1uE6a_r7Q4

Hahaha...yep seen it before. Many need to see it though!
Post by: Bird on June 18, 2019, 08:32:36 PM
Quote from: Rumpig
. Sadly  he informed me that now he was to start charging people for firewood due to those that lit huge big bonfires with his supply,
whats wrong with that?

and even worse...the people that loaded up thier vehicles with his firewood to take it to thier next camp.
thats ****ed. I'd never let em back in.
Post by: Rumpig on June 18, 2019, 09:07:32 PM
whats wrong with that?

it's not Victoria mate...he was supplying firewood for everyone there for a smaller ambiance type fire at each camp, people were taking the whole supply that was there for themself and burning it in one night.
Post by: GeoffA on June 18, 2019, 09:26:59 PM
it's not Victoria mate...he was supplying firewood for everyone there for a smaller ambiance type fire at each camp, people were taking the whole supply that was there for themself and burning it in one night.

Mal, I wonder if he might have been asking what was wrong with charging for it...

Post by: Rumpig on June 18, 2019, 09:55:30 PM
Mal, I wonder if he might have been asking what was wrong with charging for it...

maybe....the guy was happy to supply it for free when people weren't abusing the privilege, but people's actions put an end to that.
Post by: Bigfish on June 19, 2019, 07:16:18 AM
maybe....the guy was happy to supply it for free when people weren't abusing the privilege, but people's actions put an end to that.

Same as the public restrooms toilet paper problems...thieving pricks.
Post by: Bird on June 19, 2019, 10:37:01 AM
Quote from: Bigfish
Same as the public restrooms toilet paper problems...thieving pricks.
i dunno why people steal that 1/1000th of a ply dunny paper... its ****in useless.. no comfort or grip and you need to quad fold it to save a finger going through.
Post by: Bigfish on June 19, 2019, 11:51:50 AM
i dunno why people steal that 1/1000th of a ply dunny paper... its ****in useless.. no comfort or grip and you need to quad fold it to save a finger going through.

We used to call it John Wayne paper...It was rough. It was tough...... and it didn't take Shit from anyone!!! :cheers:
Post by: Spada on June 19, 2019, 12:54:24 PM
We used to call it John Wayne paper...It was rough. It was tough...... and it didn't take Shit from anyone!!! :cheers:

It's from the James Bond series of toilet paper, one ply thicker than "Goldfinger"
Post by: krisandkev on June 19, 2019, 01:10:54 PM
I think the point is out of all this is that there are grubs everywhere and enforcing 'must be self contained' laws will not stop grubs being grubs. But it would effect us who do the right thing and especially camper trailers. I could not believe my luck this morning. Took the dog to one of my usual parks this morning and there in the car park was a great big turd! Surrounded by wipes. Ahhhhhhhh. The grub did not even walk a few metres into the bush. Same car park is sometimes used by pack packer vans, but no idea if that was the case this time.  I understand how sometimes the urge can be sudden but just walk into the bloody bush, not where everyone parks. Like I said grubs will be grubs and sadly they seem to breed the most.  Kevin
Post by: Rumpig on June 19, 2019, 04:56:06 PM
I think the point is out of all this is that there are grubs everywhere and enforcing 'must be self contained' laws will not stop grubs being grubs. But it would effect us who do the right thing and especially camper trailers. I could not believe my luck this morning. Took the dog to one of my usual parks this morning and there in the car park was a great big turd! Surrounded by wipes. Ahhhhhhhh. The grub did not even walk a few metres into the bush. Same car park is sometimes used by pack packer vans, but no idea if that was the case this time.  I understand how sometimes the urge can be sudden but just walk into the bloody bush, not where everyone parks. Like I said grubs will be grubs and sadly they seem to breed the most.  Kevin
whilst I agree with pretty much all you wrote, not sure it really effects camper trailer owners any more then others from a toilet point of view.... we've travelled with a chemical toilet and pop up tent in our camper for a while now, quick and easy to set up, even if doing on the move daily touring type trips. Can see how grey water will be more of an issue for camper trailers though, but only over caravans with bathrooms.... all the tent campers and hybrids and caravans without bathrooms will have the same issues trying to comply as well.
Post by: Fizzie on June 20, 2019, 10:10:08 AM
So just carrying on with this concept for a moment.

Where do you then dump your grey water ???

In the dump point (if there's one there) ???

I can see issues if a few 00 campers in this camping ground are all dumping 100l's of grey water as well as emptying their black tanks into the same dump point - what happens when it's full ??? ::) Or do you just pour your grey water down the dunny, where they all then back-up, because the septic system can't handle it all ???

Sounds a bit like some shiny-bum's wonderful theory, who, yet again, has no idea of how things work in the real world, outside his air-conditioned office on the 30th floor :'( >:D
Post by: krisandkev on June 20, 2019, 01:05:56 PM
whilst I agree with pretty much all you wrote, not sure it really effects camper trailer owners any more then others from a toilet point of view.... we've travelled with a chemical toilet and pop up tent in our camper for a while now, quick and easy to set up, even if doing on the move daily touring type trips. Can see how grey water will be more of an issue for camper trailers though, but only over caravans with bathrooms.... all the tent campers and hybrids and caravans without bathrooms will have the same issues trying to comply as well.
The camping areas that we have come across that enforce the requirement do not allow camper trailers because they do not have a sticker saying they are fully self contained. Mind you I am talking about a very few and then we just move on and spend our money at the next town, so not a big problem. But if the strict requirement went state or nation wide then that would be an issue for camper trailers. But I don't think that will happen. Kevin
Post by: Bird on June 20, 2019, 01:42:50 PM
Quote from: krisandkev
The camping areas that we have come across that enforce the requirement do not allow camper trailers because they do not have a sticker saying they are fully self contained.

Sticker? Never seen nor heard of one for that...

but I can see someone making up 100 of them and selling on Ebay now :D
Post by: KathyL on June 20, 2019, 02:16:11 PM
Sticker? Never seen nor heard of one for that...
Self Contained Vehicle Policy & Leave No Trace (https://members.cmca.net.au/content/scvlnt)

The hardest part for camper trailer owners will be containing shower water as self containment often requires an on board shower because outdoor showers are not allowed in areas where it is hard to prevent water from running onto the ground.
Post by: Bird on June 20, 2019, 02:26:44 PM
Self Contained Vehicle Policy & Leave No Trace (https://members.cmca.net.au/content/scvlnt)

The hardest part for camper trailer owners will be containing shower water as self containment often requires an on board shower because outdoor showers are not allowed in areas where it is hard to prevent water from running onto the ground.
so you have to be in that club to get a sticker to let you free camp?
Post by: austastar on June 20, 2019, 03:06:14 PM
    Not exactly, if you are a member of CMCA they will certify your rig and you get the sticker to put on it.
It is really meant for hard stand 'camping' such as car parks and not for isolated bush camps where water on the ground will soak in and not be unsightly.
I'm not a member, but have spoken with many who are, and I can see a place for such restrictions in places where say a bakery opens their car park for overnight use and they don't want the hassle of slops (or worse) being considered a biohazard.

Sent from my SM-T380 using Tapatalk

Post by: Bigfish on June 20, 2019, 03:48:42 PM

So if you don't have a shower you have no need for a shower water collector. I,m quite happy to pay $5 for a shower if I need one at a van park or service station and use the dunny if needed as well.  When travelling I simply use a paper plate or sandwiches for meals...including the evening meal..No need for any sort of water except for a brew of tea....Why should I be forced away from an area when the rules applied will not have any bearing on my camping set up.  Just another example of bullShit laws.  If they are son concerned employ more inspectors...or garbage collectors to pick up the overflowing garbage bins. Better still...put more bins in..
Post by: KathyL on June 20, 2019, 05:26:39 PM
If they are son concerned employ more inspectors...or garbage collectors to pick up the overflowing garbage bins. Better still...put more bins in..
Why can't people just take their rubbish with them?  The majority of the stuff people want to throw away - with the exception of scraps from food that has been caught - was brought in (which meant there was space for it in their car, camper, caravan, etc) and most packaging can be squashed/compressed.

If we camp in a location that doesn't have garbage bins we take our rubbish with us. Not that difficult really ...
Post by: glenm64 on June 20, 2019, 05:33:23 PM
You cant fix stupid, so the pigs (which are becoming very common) are stuffing it for everyone else.
This is happening across society on all levels.
Post by: farcanal on June 21, 2019, 06:14:55 PM
Yeah, good discussion guys.
Seems us camper/trailer users will be the targets of the rangers and most likely be asked to move on.
I always dig a deep hole and bury everything after the deed.
When bush camping me and the missus have a basic bucket wash because we don't carry a shower. The waste water simply gets tipped at the base of the nearest tree...that can't be bad surely?
I guess we will just search for sites that are more remote, and avoid the areas where there's already caravans set up.
I agree , it's the filthy grubs who are creating this problem, they obviously are not aware of anyone else out there.
Post by: Pete79 on June 21, 2019, 07:03:26 PM
I’m just getting one of those stickers printed up and chucking it on the camper.
Then it’ll be up to the rangers to prove that I’m not self contained...

Just wanted to say thanks to all the members of the old and slow motorhome club for designing a really easy to copy sticker.... :cheers:
Post by: rags on June 21, 2019, 07:32:24 PM
I’m just getting one of those stickers printed up and chucking it on the camper.
Then it’ll be up to the rangers to prove that I’m not self contained...

Just wanted to say thanks to all the members of the old and slow motorhome club for designing a really easy to copy sticker.... :cheers:

Pete, maybe a myswag logo in the corner and a statement "all p#ss is self contained in the fridge"
Empties will be responsibly disposed of at a cash back collection centre.
Title: End of Free Camping?
Post by: Pete79 on June 21, 2019, 07:38:32 PM
Pete, maybe a myswag logo in the corner and a statement "all p#ss is self contained in the fridge"
Empties will be responsibly disposed of at a cash back collection centre.
I read their technical definition and we all pretty much meet it. Self contained stickers for everyone!

Fresh water tank.... Jerry cans = Check.
Black water tank.... Portapotty = Check.
Grey water tank..... Swap the bucket under the sink for a 10l Jerry = Check.

Who showers when out bush anyway.... ;D :P
Post by: Paddler Ed on June 21, 2019, 07:58:32 PM
I actually think it's part of the plan for the CMCA grey nomads to ge to stay in caravan parks for less - ie we dont need your water or amenities, as we have it all with us already. They've been wanting to do this for a while, its just they've now worked out a way (and combined it with a hollier than thou attittude to free camping)