General => General Discussion => Topic started by: tryagain on June 01, 2020, 08:57:45 AM

Title: Where should I be visiting to make the most of QLD's Mexican free winter!
Post by: tryagain on June 01, 2020, 08:57:45 AM
So Pete's comment here http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=56894.msg1016671#msg1016671 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=56894.msg1016671#msg1016671) got me thinking, whilst the Mexicans are currently cut off at the border, what are the places that they usually pack out that would be worth a stay at in their absence?
Title: Re: Where should I be visiting to make the most of QLD's Mexican free winter!
Post by: Steffo1 on June 01, 2020, 09:06:47 AM
Any Free Camp areas. :D
Title: Re: Where should I be visiting to make the most of QLD's Mexican free winter!
Post by: GBC on June 01, 2020, 09:23:40 AM
Karumba, along the Mitchell River, Gregory River (Gregory Downs), Anywhere along the coast from Hervey Bay North.
All of the above is packed with Southern vanners each winter.
Post by: PWE on June 01, 2020, 09:44:58 AM
I am thinking the same, where to camp without the Mexicans.
Post by: Fizzie on June 01, 2020, 09:54:20 AM
Start at Kirra, head north to Port Douglas (& the Cape if it's open ???), west to Birdsville, NW to Winton & the Gulf - that should give you somewhere to choose from! ;D
Post by: outbackogre on June 01, 2020, 10:23:22 AM
Whatever happened to 'we're all in this together'?   ???

from a cold and sad Mexican  :'(
Post by: tryagain on June 01, 2020, 11:24:31 AM
Whatever happened to 'we're all in this together'?   ???

We are, you are just doing it in 11deg with showers whilst it's 23 here on the GC  ;D
Post by: Fizzie on June 01, 2020, 11:26:59 AM

whilst it's 23 here on the GC  ;D

Yeah, but that breeze is cool!

I've just been doing some stuff in the garage, with the door open, & had to keep my flanno shirt on! ;D
Post by: tryagain on June 01, 2020, 11:46:27 AM
So a quick look at the calendar and it looks like it is probably just going to be the first week of school holidays for us, so no FNQ jaunts. Thinking about 1770 from a quick look on the map.
Post by: weeds on June 01, 2020, 11:56:37 AM
Make it quick, I reckon the border will be open sooner than what in the papers.

Post by: tryagain on June 01, 2020, 12:56:18 PM
Make it quick, I reckon the border will be open sooner than what in the papers.

I'd be a bit surprised if they kept it closed until September, Can't see it happening in the next month though.

Imagine the lines of traffic heading north if they open it before winter is done, this record (https://rvdaily.com.au/rv-world-record-smashed/)
 might be smashed   ;D
Post by: GBC on June 01, 2020, 02:27:16 PM
 Best thing Labor has done - ever. Keep it closed chooky! :cheers: ;D :cheers:
Post by: Fizzie on June 01, 2020, 02:31:22 PM
Can't see it happening in the next month though.

No, Anaphylaxis seems pretty adamant on end of July at the earliest, & I agree with her for about the first time ever! :o

">this record[/url] might be smashed   ;D

& they'd be traveling at about the same speed as in the photo >:D :'(
Post by: iggy3860 on June 01, 2020, 03:13:18 PM
If I show my Queensland birth certificate, can I visit? 

Queensland for Queenslanders & all that  ;D
Post by: GeoffA on June 01, 2020, 03:18:31 PM
If you want a Mexican-free winter, take a winter trip to Mexico in any year but this one.... ;D
Post by: Hoyks on June 01, 2020, 05:15:34 PM
I'd give Carnarvon Gorge a look.

Whenever I've headed that way its been packed out and even the overflow camping was booked out.

https://parks.des.qld.gov.au/parks/carnarvon-gorge/
Post by: speewa158 on June 01, 2020, 07:24:07 PM
Why is t So that the Pursed up Mexican travelers are not spending in your town . All we want is to put $ back into your community . At the Pub , servo , hardware store , Also the supermarket & bakery . We gots the $$ to burn having a Good Time in your town  . lf you don't want us please post your town & we could buy pass you . lf that's OK with you  ??
Post by: tryagain on June 01, 2020, 07:58:12 PM
Why is t So that the Pursed up Mexican travelers are not spending in your town . All we want is to put $ back into your community . At the Pub , servo , hardware store , Also the supermarket & bakery . We gots the $$ to burn having a Good Time in your town  . lf you don't want us please post your town & we could buy pass you . lf that's OK with you  ??

I am sure there are plenty of towns and tourism operators that would gladly take your coin, I am just looking at taking advantage of those things that are in my backyard that are normally overcrowded but for a brief period in time won't be.

But there are probably also fair few who don't directly receive anything good from those who head north each winter, but have to put up being constantly stuck behind slow moving vans, or not be able to access their favourite spots each winter due to the migration of southerners.

It's all a matter of perspective, mine is I'll take advantage of the current situation.
Post by: OldPaj on June 01, 2020, 08:20:09 PM
So Pete's comment here http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=56894.msg1016671#msg1016671 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=56894.msg1016671#msg1016671) got me thinking, whilst the Mexicans are currently cut off at the border, what are the places that they usually pack out that would be worth a stay at in their absence?

I would have thought absolutely just about anywhere you want too. None of us Mexicans to clog everything and everywhere.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on June 02, 2020, 04:19:29 AM

That has been highly thought over and considered, however, it turns out, we'd rather be entirely broke, lose our homes to the bank, live under a bridge and eat in the soup kitchen than have a flood of 80klm speed limited caravans from Victoria here.

Do the math's... even when the borders do open, caravans will still be exempt from travel to Queensland if from Victoria.
Post by: plusnq on June 02, 2020, 05:13:38 AM
That has been highly thought over and considered, however, it turns out, we'd rather be entirely broke, lose our homes to the bank, live under a bridge and eat in the soup kitchen than have a flood of 80klm speed limited caravans from Victoria here.

Do the math's... even when the borders do open, caravans will still be exempt from travel to Queensland if from Victoria.

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: GeoffA on June 02, 2020, 06:31:12 AM

::) ::)

Getting pretty negative for someone that did a runner 'cos of all the supposed negativity.

Post by: Jeepers Creepers on June 02, 2020, 06:35:36 AM

Getting pretty negative for someone that did a runner 'cos of all the supposed negativity.

can't beat 'em,  join 'em  ;D
Post by: PWE on June 02, 2020, 02:24:57 PM

Off topic, but I saw a YouTube clip about a farm at Werribee that is experimenting with a robot that kill weed, remove snail and target fertilise the crop.
Very impressive. Sydney University design the robot. I use to live that way, Point Cook.
Post by: PWE on June 02, 2020, 02:31:21 PM

You are more than welcome to visit but make it next year.

Post by: GeoffA on June 02, 2020, 04:11:21 PM
Off topic, but I saw a YouTube clip about a farm at Werribee that is experimenting with a robot that kill weed, remove snail and target fertilise the crop.
Very impressive. Sydney University design the robot. I use to live that way, Point Cook.

There are a few research places in the area, but I hadn't heard about that project, though...

Post by: Pete79 on June 02, 2020, 04:13:53 PM
600km of Bruce Highway today with the grand total of ZERO caravans.....

Apart from a little bit of road works we sat on the speed limit the whole way.
Must have passed about 20 cop cars though, strangely only 2 speed cameras..... Guess they’re all getting the batteries charged up and the air conditioners regassed ready for this weekend. ;)
Post by: PWE on June 02, 2020, 07:39:09 PM
There are a few research places in the area, but I hadn't heard about that project, though...

It is two years old. Wonder how advance it is theses days.

https://youtu.be/XP7GoNKcTS4
Post by: AllanK on June 03, 2020, 08:11:06 AM
With the Qld border closed and no southern caravanners, I see apple and google maps may need to recalibrate (and reduce) the expected travel times in Qld between locations. 😝
Post by: Beachman on June 03, 2020, 08:17:22 AM
Must have passed about 20 cop cars though, strangely only 2 speed cameras..... Guess they’re all getting the batteries charged up and the air conditioners regassed ready for this weekend. ;)

7am Sunday morning I went fishing near Bribie and I passed 3 speed cameras and one Motor bike with a speed gun. All that within a 45km stretch of Highway  ???
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on June 03, 2020, 04:00:22 PM
I did Woop Woop to Wynumn, to Redneck Bay, to Gatton and back to Woop Woop.

Never saw a cop along the entire route.
Post by: Pete79 on June 03, 2020, 08:43:27 PM
Well looks like you’ve all missed the boat.... :P

Passed about a dozen caravans and even more camper trailers heading north today.
Calliope and Boyne River free camps still had plenty of spots, but the GinGin free camp was about half full tonight.
Post by: jclures on June 03, 2020, 08:52:21 PM
I went out to Ravenshoe NQ this morning and already there were a few mexican motor homes and caravans there. ???
Post by: Craig Tomkinson on June 04, 2020, 07:07:51 AM
I thought you ripper I will get a permit and camp at Inskip PT for a month all gone only let out a few and gone, but once the school holidays start my wife and kids and I will pack up the pop up van and head north as far as we can get, and just poke around the tablelands and see a few things up that way north of Townsville, Craig

Post by: Fizzie on June 04, 2020, 07:29:55 AM
already there were a few mexican motor homes and caravans there. ???

I'd guess they are all nomads who have been parked up somewhere for this last couple of months, but ar enow out on the road again ???
Post by: jclures on June 04, 2020, 08:37:29 AM
I'd guess they are all nomads who have been parked up somewhere for this last couple of months, but ar enow out on the road again ???
That is what it will be.
Post by: #jonesy on June 04, 2020, 08:42:54 AM
Prepare for the invasion.  They've been bunkered up in the trenches south of the border and waiting for the order to advance.  It will be twice as bad as normal.

Meanwhile I'll enjoy skiing as the numbers on the mountains will have to be restricted.  ;D
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on June 05, 2020, 03:14:43 AM
Prepare for the invasion.  They've been bunkered up in the trenches south of the border and waiting for the order to advance.  It will be twice as bad as normal.

Meanwhile I'll enjoy skiing as the numbers on the mountains will have to be restricted.  ;D

When they do open the borders to Queensland, its gunna look like the first corner at Bathurst on the opening lap.
Except in slow motion.  ;D
Post by: GeoffA on June 05, 2020, 07:13:30 AM
When they do open the borders to Queensland, its gunna look like the first corner at Bathurst on the opening lap.
Except in slow motion.  ;D

That would be Hell Corner...... ;D
Post by: Pete79 on June 05, 2020, 10:44:18 AM
Email just in from QPWS;

Good morning

Queensland national parks, forests and recreation areas that were closed due to COVID-19 are reopening in line with the Queensland Government’s roadmap to easing restrictions and the Chief Health Officer approved Industry COVID Safe Plan - QPWS Campgrounds.

Camping and vehicle access has reopened and bookings can be made at https://qld.gov.au/camping for one month in advance of any planned visits.

Maximum camper numbers will be set for each campground to limit risks of congestion and to aid camper compliance with Queensland Health Roadmap requirements.

Visitors to Bribie Island and Cooloola Recreation Areas only

A Restricted Access Area has been declared within the Bribie Island and Cooloola Recreation Areas to manage the safety of visitors and the community during the COVID-19 pandemic. A person must not enter or remain in the restricted access area unless they hold both a written approval to enter the restricted access area and a valid vehicle access permit.

Declaring a Restricted Access Area is necessary to manage potential congestion and aid visitors in achieving adequate social distancing by limiting the number of people and vehicles that can enter the recreation areas each day.

You must secure a COVID-19 Restricted Access Area Authority to enter the Restricted Access Area before travelling even if you hold a valid vehicle access permit, to avoid disappointment of not being able to visit on your desired day.

There are two (2) ways you can access Bribie Island and Cooloola Recreation Areas while the Restricted Area Access declaration is in place. These must be acquired in the sequence as follows:

1. If you intend camping:

a. Firstly – You must have a valid camping permit (which includes a COVID-19 Restricted Access Area Authority) for the duration of your visit; and

b. Secondly - Acquire a current vehicle access permit, or you can use an existing one (which must cover the period of camping and can only be used for the dates of your camping permit).

Or

2. If you are a day visitor:

a. Firstly – You must acquire a COVID-19 Restricted Access Area Authority from  http://qpws.bookeasy.com; and

b. Secondly – Acquire a current vehicle access permit, or you can use an existing one (which can only be used only for the dates of your COVID-19 Restricted Access Area Authority).

Access without a current COVID-19 Restricted Access Area Authority is not permitted.

Compliance will be monitored and penalties including on the spot fines of $400 may apply for non-compliance.

We thank park users and the community for their support and cooperation during this time.

For more information visit Park Alerts https://qld.gov.au/parkalerts and follow Queensland Health before you travel to stay up to date with the latest COVID-19 advice. Please follow all directions provided by Rangers and familiarise yourself with any directional or regulatory signage when you arrive to ensure safety and observance of any site requirements.

Kind regards,

Online Booking Services team
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on June 07, 2020, 02:59:35 AM
With a Victorian fruit picker flying into Queensland and testing positive for Corona Virus, i can't see the borders opening any time soon for road travel.

Everyone has been pressuring the Premier to open them up, to her credit, she's taking a hard line.
I guess this is as good a reason as any not too.
Post by: jclures on June 07, 2020, 08:35:46 AM
So why did this fruit picker not self quarantine himself, or doe's it not apply to fruit pickers. ???
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on June 07, 2020, 08:48:28 AM
So why did this fruit picker not self quarantine himself, or doe's it not apply to fruit pickers. ???

Buggered if I know.... picker exemption...  ;D
Post by: rags on June 07, 2020, 09:07:06 AM
Buggered if I know.... picker exemption...  ;D

I suspect the person may have been exempt because he was a QLD resident given the fact that he stayed with family after arriving in BNE and before heading north.
Also the farm industry will be considered a essential industry with the employer being required to have Covid-19 management plan  which would extend to the accomodation of workers ( similar to fly in fly out work).
Post by: Bird on June 07, 2020, 10:15:21 AM
With a Victorian fruit picker flying into Queensland and testing positive for Corona Virus, i can't see the borders opening any time soon for road travel.

Everyone has been pressuring the Premier to open them up, to her credit, she's taking a hard line.
I guess this is as good a reason as any not too.
I cant see this changing any time soon. It only takes a couple of infected to go be around - and with stupidity like letting sports have their crowds back, chances of us yo-yoing are growing by the day
Post by: Bigfish on June 07, 2020, 10:43:25 AM
I think that all southeners should stay in their own state and help out the business,s and fire affected regions that really need your help. Stay home and holiday and help the community and state get back on their feet./   Wouldn,t 3-5 thousand dollars normally spent on a Northern holiday be better spent in the state you live in?  Its only one season and the people in the fire regions are desperate for help.
Post by: Fizzie on June 07, 2020, 11:59:41 AM
All of the tourist businesses here on the GC have been crying out for the borders to be reopened as "all" their business comes from southern states.

Then I read an article yesterday that the tourist businesses in NNSW are crying out for the borders to be reopened as "all" their business comes from Qld ???

So, like Bigfish said, wouldn't it make sense for people in NSW to visit NNSW, & people in SEQ to visit the GC ???
Post by: PWE on June 07, 2020, 12:23:57 PM
All of the tourist businesses here on the GC have been crying out for the borders to be reopened as "all" their business comes from southern states.

Then I read an article yesterday that the tourist businesses in NNSW are crying out for the borders to be reopened as "all" their business comes from Qld ???

So, like Bigfish said, wouldn't it make sense for people in NSW to visit NNSW, & people in SEQ to visit the GC ???

That should apply to schoolies as well.
Let the Qld kids enjoy the GC
Post by: Pete79 on June 07, 2020, 07:49:30 PM
He’d have to be the world’s richest fruit picker.
There’d have to be over $1,000 worth of flights to go and pick some strawberries...???
Post by: Spada on June 08, 2020, 06:48:04 AM
He’d have to be the world’s richest fruit picker.
There’d have to be over $1,000 worth of flights to go and pick some strawberries...???

Not with the current state of the airline industry, they seem desperate to get bums on seats. Yesterday we booked flights to go home for Xmas. Flying Xmas eve, 3 people Brisbane to Cairns & return for $800  ;D It normally costs us around $1500 at that time of year.
Post by: Pete79 on June 08, 2020, 07:50:39 AM
Not with the current state of the airline industry, they seem desperate to get bums on seats. Yesterday we booked flights to go home for Xmas. Flying Xmas eve, 3 people Brisbane to Cairns & return for $800  ;D It normally costs us around $1500 at that time of year.
The in-laws wanted to go Brisbane to Melbourne a couple of weeks ago (god knows why ;) ), flights where almost $700 each way, per person.
At that stage you had to be looking at flights about a month away to get something around $200.

Looks like prices are almost back to normal now though.
Post by: PWE on June 08, 2020, 09:12:31 AM
Is the Qld only flights not part of the State Government grant?

I am sure it was in the news that Qld only flights are reduce to boost SEQ'ers to travel up to NQ and Outback Qld
Long weekend to Longreach with possible train journey back sounds good.
Ekka public holiday was moved from Wendsday to Friday, so a timely long weekend.
Post by: Spada on June 08, 2020, 10:42:16 AM
Is the Qld only flights not part of the State Government grant?

I am sure it was in the news that Qld only flights are reduce to boost SEQ'ers to travel up to NQ and Outback Qld
Long weekend to Longreach with possible train journey back sounds good.
Ekka public holiday was moved from Wendsday to Friday, so a timely long weekend.

Only to specific regions I think. I believe the Qld gov is subsidising Aliance Air to operate additional flights to the Whitsunday's, but not other routes/airlines.
Post by: aussie9 on June 08, 2020, 04:53:24 PM
I'd give Carnarvon Gorge a look.

Whenever I've headed that way its been packed out and even the overflow camping was booked out.

https://parks.des.qld.gov.au/parks/carnarvon-gorge/
Just booked 5 nights at Sandstone Park from 1st.Aug....... No problems

Sent from my DUB-LX2 using Tapatalk
Post by: AllanK on June 23, 2020, 08:42:49 AM
Just got back from a 2 week trip to Sandstone Park, Barcaldine, Jericho Etc..
Beat the rush, only 5 or 6 setups at Carnarvon in total - luxury 😃
The rest of trip was quiet too at Lara Wetlands, Lake Dunn and Jericho. Got to Boynedale near Gladstone and the place was fecking packed. I reckon at least 100+ setups. Needless to say we left and found a quieter spot down the road..
Post by: Steffo1 on June 23, 2020, 04:13:42 PM
Just got back from a 2 week trip to Sandstone Park, Barcaldine, Jericho Etc..
Beat the rush, only 5 or 6 setups at Carnarvon in total - luxury 😃
The rest of trip was quiet too at Lara Wetlands, Lake Dunn and Jericho. Got to Boynedale near Gladstone and the place was fecking packed. I reckon at least 100+ setups. Needless to say we left and found a quieter spot down the road..

Did you find 'Wally' at Lake Dunn?
Post by: AllanK on June 24, 2020, 09:41:22 AM
Yep, did the trail and found ‘em all including about 4 new ones not on the brochure list The sculptures are “excellent” work. We got out and scrutinised each one. The items she uses to make the individual works are unusual to say the least; an old washing machine wringer, forks,shock absorbers and the list goes on.

Poor old Wally is getting a bit faded now too.

Although not ever having got into geocaching found an “official” geocaching site/container near Side Show Bob 😃