Author Topic: New Patrol unlikely to ever offer a diesel engine  (Read 30254 times)

Offline WogsRus

Re: New Patrol unlikely to ever offer a diesel engine
« Reply #50 on: July 26, 2012, 07:12:43 AM »
I'm sorry but with hose lights and that Bar it looks like cross eyed retard from 3rd grade.
HAD 2007 NS GLX Pajero, 3.8L grunt, ex Cop,

NOW 50th Anniversary Simpson Edition Poootrol wit some fruit

"Speed doesn't kill. It's the sudden stop at the end"
"Live everyday as if it was your last, and some day it will"

Offline boobook

« Reply #51 on: July 26, 2012, 07:53:10 AM »
I dunno, I think that's the best looking Y62 i have seen ever. The bar neatens the front end, same as it does for a 200.

« Reply #52 on: July 26, 2012, 09:31:19 AM »
I don't mind the look myself, and I think like many new vehicles it would grow on you.

« Reply #53 on: July 26, 2012, 03:51:58 PM »
Quote from: BigJules
I don't mind the look myself, and I think like many new vehicles it would grow on you.
translated: you have no choice but to love it, cause they are all turning into large tupperware containers....  ;D ;D ;D ;D

Offline Robin Miller

« Reply #54 on: July 27, 2012, 02:29:17 PM »
I'd  reconsider those perceived issues with the 4.8lt Petrol and would not have the Reno V6 diesel GU simply of cost of ownership grounds anyway.
(Its like to be $79k and complex)

I suppose with 3 4800's of every type in the driveway you could say we are fond of them - but think about it get one while you can as they are still a bargain but maybe not for much longer.

You can make them very thirsy but they can also get down to 14lt/100km touring and with 215lts on board mine can do 1500km and cross the full Madigan line with sacks of performance as required.

Robin Miller

« Reply #55 on: July 27, 2012, 05:58:25 PM »
HI Robin

You identify the secret weapon of the Patrol family.  Oodles of power and chuck em on gas and the running costs are good.

But there is an obsession with diesels that defies logic in many ways.

« Reply #56 on: July 27, 2012, 06:03:59 PM »
Hey Robin haven't heard from you in a while. How's your obsession with getting the weight down in the Patrol going?

« Reply #57 on: July 27, 2012, 06:22:48 PM »
..............You can make them very thirsy but they can also get down to 14lt/100km touring..............

I can almost get that from mine when towing our camper at 100km/h........on flat ground.

I do like the TB48's, though......... ;D

Offline MR MAC GU

« Reply #58 on: July 27, 2012, 10:12:56 PM »
I have it on good authority to make the following comments, i cannot release to much info, but i have it on good ground to say that the GU will be in production and sale in Australia and indeed Europe, until 2015. A updated GU9 will be release in October with a new updated interior and an updated power plant, i know which one, but i can;t say. I will say it has more then 4 cylinders. Wink Wink.

I love being in the know. LOL.

V6 Renault twin turbo diesel with about 220kw and 600nm of torque perhaps???
"I live with Fear everyday and sometimes She lets me RACE"

The Motley Crew 4x4 and Social Club of Australia inc
www.themotleycrew.com.au

2004 GU Patrol ST Wagon with all the good touring gear.
"Lifted Locked and Loaded"

2010 Kimberley Platinum Extreme with "extras"

« Reply #59 on: August 29, 2012, 10:47:27 PM »
I like it a lot, turn it into a 2wd quite easily and you can do this  >:D >:D

Offline Hubble80

• Always cruisin'
« Reply #60 on: August 30, 2012, 11:00:49 AM »
If I was Nissan I would be putting the V6 Renault engine from the Navara and Pathfinder 550 into it.  Add a turbo to make it a twin and aim for 180-190kW with 600-625Nm of torque.  Close to Toyota TTV8 figures, but the better fuel efficiency and 6 cylinder rego maybe good selling points in Australia. 

Put a good 6 or 7 speed auto behind it or possibly a 6 speed manual and I think they will have a winner. :cup:

As I am looking to upgrade from my 150 Prado next year, I'll be keeping an eye on the Nissan offerings...
2011 Toyota Prado GXL TD Auto
2009 Camel Beachcomber - FOR SALE

Looking for good camping trips in Central QLD :-)

« Reply #61 on: August 30, 2012, 11:04:19 AM »
Is there a difference between rego on 6 & 8 cylinders? Ithink in NSW we have some differences based on the weight of a vehicle.

Also, like Land Cruiser 200, I doubt there is a real market for manual in this category of vehicle. Modern autos are so good, and when coupled with descent control they are generally considered superior to a manual box.

Offline Hubble80

• Always cruisin'
« Reply #62 on: August 30, 2012, 11:12:17 AM »
Is there a difference between rego on 6 & 8 cylinders? Ithink in NSW we have some differences based on the weight of a vehicle.

Also, like Land Cruiser 200, I doubt there is a real market for manual in this category of vehicle. Modern autos are so good, and when coupled with descent control they are generally considered superior to a manual box.

In Qld I think the difference in rego is around $200/yr. 

I think a manual option would appeal to some people, especially if they did a new ute/cab chassis.
2011 Toyota Prado GXL TD Auto
2009 Camel Beachcomber - FOR SALE

Looking for good camping trips in Central QLD :-)

« Reply #63 on: August 30, 2012, 11:27:14 AM »
As I am looking to upgrade from my 150 Prado next year, I'll be keeping an eye on the Nissan offerings...

Well good luck, chances of a Deisel in the Yank "Armada"  version of the Patrol are about zilch!  Same as that for a HJ version of the FJ Cruiser.

http://theage.drive.com.au/motor-news/diesel-about-face-the-right-decision-nissan-20120828-24x8e.html

« Reply #64 on: August 30, 2012, 11:28:12 AM »
Quote from: BigJules
some states now go on how many cylinders the car has :(

agree, Autos are so far infront of manuals offroad it just isnt worth their effort. Nice 6 or 8sp auto and *dribble*

anyway, whats it matter, I'd never pay anything like the prices they want for new 4wds these days....

« Reply #65 on: September 12, 2012, 12:21:02 PM »
All new Patrol models require premium unleaded and are claimed to use an average 14.5 litres per 100km, making it one of the thirstiest passenger vehicles on the road.

I dont think thats so bad.. for a V8. Maybe comparing it to a 1cyl 1ltr Shitbox it is poor.

However the Patrol Ti-L reduces its seating capacity from eight to seven, with the lack of a rear centre seatbelt all about ensuring the car's overall weight capacity isn't exceeded.

Thats not a good sign if anyone wants to set it up for offroading - winchm, storage, fridge etc... but that would be .000001% of Ti-L buyers, specially at 115k... :o

http://theage.drive.com.au/motor-news/new-patrol-to-target-landcruiser-20120912-25rpn.html
« Last Edit: September 12, 2012, 12:23:49 PM by Lost »

Offline MattNQ

• The smartist formerly known as Skypig
    • My website
« Reply #66 on: September 12, 2012, 01:18:44 PM »
some states now go on how many cylinders the car has :(

Qld has unfortunately been using that theory for many years now. My 4.5L Patrol weighing in at around 2.5t unloaded is cheaper to register than my previous small car - a 4.2L v8 Torana sedan weighing a petite 1.2t.  Where is the logic in that?
I'm predicting this will probably change as more people move to 4 cyl vehicles and rego revenue drops.

Offline chisel

• Lifestyle Extenda 2012, Landcruiser 100 TD 2006
« Reply #67 on: September 12, 2012, 01:29:38 PM »
The current 4.6L Landcruiser 200 petrol engine uses 13.6L/100k officially.  I don't think it needs Premium but not 100% certain.  The 200 engine is nowhere near as powerful ... but do you really need to do 0-100kph in 6.6 secs (quoted time for the patrol) ?

« Reply #68 on: September 14, 2012, 02:48:05 PM »
Phenomenal power and torque out of the Nissan petrol V8

« Reply #69 on: September 14, 2012, 02:56:51 PM »
theres a 2 page writeup on it in one of melb papers today... they start by saying 'the cars were not registered, so we couldnt do much'.... but spread it out over 2 pages.

the worst thing they had to say was that the gearshift is on the wrong side of the console, and hard to get to..

but it was pretty much a Today Tonight test on a car..

Offline ozbogwam

New Patrol unlikely to ever offer a diesel engine
« Reply #70 on: September 15, 2012, 08:46:33 AM »
I don't think Nissan give two hoots about the Aussie in regards to the new model. Why would they when Saudi, Russia and eventually the US are we're they will sell the majority of vehicles. Their concession to the Aus market is to continue selling the current GU alongside.

I'd imagine like the 200 all the hate before hand will diminish as people start buying them and start realizing that for the majority of stuff are a great vehicle.

I'd imagine the CSR would probably be the biggest hurdle for any touring stuff due to fuel concerns, otherwise for most other stuff bar hardcore wheeling no dramas

Offline ozbogwam

New Patrol unlikely to ever offer a diesel engine
« Reply #71 on: September 15, 2012, 08:47:37 AM »
You see plenty of new Rangies around and with Nissan being a 7 sweater would make it attractive to many well heeled families too

Offline Woodsie

• Off the beaten track in this Great Country of Ours
« Reply #72 on: September 15, 2012, 10:27:14 AM »
Oh well, if they reckon 2015 for the v6 diesel in the GU9, it gives me plenty of time to save and trade in the hungy, not that I dislike the Cruiser but I like the sound of a V6 turbo diesel as our last tug was a patrol.
Tony Woods 06 HZJ105 Turbo/IC
2012 Eureka Hard Floor Camper

« Reply #73 on: August 09, 2014, 12:35:23 PM »
http://cumminsengines.com/cummins-5l-v8-turbo-diesel

Sent from my GT-I9305T using Tapatalk

« Reply #74 on: August 10, 2014, 12:49:44 PM »
You blokes have got it all wrong, Nissan is going micro with major power for better handling and performance in new Datsuns ..http://www.gizmag.com/nissan-zeod-rc-engine/30611/
« Last Edit: August 10, 2014, 12:51:53 PM by edz »