Author Topic: The 60's and 70's what a great time.  (Read 31615 times)

Re: The 60's and 70's what a great time.
« Reply #25 on: February 13, 2019, 04:19:13 PM »
But how many would remember Rock and Roll George?
Kevin

Saw him on the news a few times https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r7xwpoBC_M0

« Reply #26 on: February 13, 2019, 04:33:08 PM »
I know 2 people that would say the 70's where a really, really, really, really great time......

But after have such a great time in the 70s and conceiving 4 kids in very quick succession, I recon it's a safe bet to say those same 2 people think the 80s where really crap.  ;D ;D

« Reply #27 on: February 13, 2019, 04:36:07 PM »
Strip blinds in rear windows of cars, tinted glass visors, white wall tyres, sitting in the back of wagons with the tailgate up oblivious to the notion of carbon monoxide poisoning from the exhaust, speakers that you put on a partially wound down window at drive ins, suicide doors.

« Reply #28 on: February 13, 2019, 05:02:28 PM »
suicide doors?  ???

« Reply #29 on: February 13, 2019, 05:22:25 PM »
suicide doors?  ???
Yep. Doors that hinged at the  back and opened at the front.
Think Vauxall Wyvern, early 50's and Fiat 500. Quite a few Yank Tanks too.
Dangerous bloody things they were too, especially after a few bevys.

Sent from my SM-J600G using Tapatalk

« Reply #30 on: February 13, 2019, 05:45:03 PM »
I know what a friggin suicide door is....  :D I drag raced a 34 ford.

I was how ever, stumped on something from the 50's with them, but yes to the fiat and Vauxhall.

Can't think of any USA iron from the 50's or 60's with 'em.

« Reply #31 on: February 13, 2019, 06:28:13 PM »
Kevin
used to see him regularly at the footy, I think he supported Valleys from memory?

Offline moeite

« Reply #32 on: February 13, 2019, 07:06:57 PM »
My only real regret is letting some of the cars slip through my fingers, and maybe a girl or two. :'(

This is bringing back so many good memories that I am getting quite melancholy.

To slide from melancholy to outright depression get on to carsales and have a look at the prices of the cars that you used to own back then. Hillman Superminx convertible, Fiat 850 Sport, Arbath 500, Morris Cooper S, Armstrong Sidley, Alpha 1750 Berlina. Had them all and got rid of them for basically give away prices. To be fair I got them all for giveaway prices too...

And who can forget crank handles.....
Mark F...
VK3KW
2002 Discovery 2 Td5 auto
2004 Outback Sturt rear fold soft floor
Http://jandmf.com

« Reply #33 on: February 13, 2019, 07:46:04 PM »
Girls had an appreciation of the bush😀
The following users thanked this post: Troopy_03

« Reply #34 on: February 13, 2019, 08:04:09 PM »
things were made of ... I think it was called STEEL or METAL ???

« Reply #35 on: February 13, 2019, 08:19:12 PM »
I used to love going down to Redhead Beach with dad after he got home from work during summer.

« Reply #36 on: February 13, 2019, 08:23:47 PM »
suicide doors?  ???

Might be of interest JC, list of cars with suicide doors, a few yanks amongst them from the 50s and 60s
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_cars_with_non-standard_door_designs

Pottsy

« Reply #37 on: February 14, 2019, 08:54:12 AM »
Drive in movies  ;D and being woken up in the back of the XB panel van by the guy wanting to shut the joint up. Could only wind the window down a tad cos the girlfriend (now the mrs) and I were both starkers.  >:D
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan. I miss being able to acces the little tracks off into the scrub.

« Reply #38 on: February 14, 2019, 09:43:35 AM »
Her name wasn't Susie, was it ;D

« Reply #39 on: February 14, 2019, 09:56:43 AM »
Might be of interest JC, list of cars with suicide doors, a few yanks amongst them from the 50s and 60s
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_cars_with_non-standard_door_designs

Pottsy

Mate had a 2015 I think, Ranger extra cab model and the rear doors were suicides.

« Reply #40 on: February 14, 2019, 10:14:02 AM »
Kevin

Once he got booted out of the city precinct by the coppers he spent a lot of time around Moorooka and Highgate hill. His car was bought by one of the Hutchinson (builders) brothers and put in their museum I believe? I did my apprenticeship at Moorooka (partly), and every Saturday was pie day - the wood fired pie man at the magic mile. They were the best. I also played colts rugby at Souths in the 80's - coppers caught us doing nude pushups (nude Olympics on mad Monday) on the traffic island on Ipswich road.....we got away with it.
I can remember the smell of the weetbix factory as I write this...

« Reply #41 on: February 14, 2019, 10:25:14 AM »
Once he got booted out of the city precinct by the coppers he spent a lot of time around Moorooka and Highgate hill. His car was bought by one of the Hutchinson (builders) brothers and put in their museum I believe? I did my apprenticeship at Moorooka (partly), and every Saturday was pie day - the wood fired pie man at the magic mile. They were the best. I also played colts rugby at Souths in the 80's - coppers caught us doing nude pushups (nude Olympics on mad Monday) on the traffic island on Ipswich road.....we got away with it.
I can remember the smell of the weetbix factory as I write this...

If you recall the grain solos down beside the railway, I use to sell newspapers there and around the Rocklea pubs. Loved the small lifts in the solos. Would not be allowed on them now with WPH &S.  Had a great paper run at the main shops. Bit different there now. Little Sudan now. Kevin
The following users thanked this post: GBC

« Reply #42 on: February 14, 2019, 10:36:53 AM »
If you recall the grain solos down beside the railway, I use to sell newspapers there and around the Rocklea pubs. Loved the small lifts in the solos. Would not be allowed on them now with WPH &S.  Had a great paper run at the main shops. Bit different there now. Little Sudan now. Kevin

Is that the flour mill silos? still going. The firies are down there a lot with bleach spills etc - a mate is at Rocklea station and lives in Moorooka. We prefer to use the more P.C. term "Moorookadishu" haha. Yes, changed a lot. I built a lot of units around there over the years. We did a block behind Woolies last year and needed fences and dogs to keep anything steel (scaffold etc) from being 'recycled' on the weekends. It was a great old suburb.
Again when I was an apprentice my boss used to drop me at Chardons or the Railway on a Saturday morning with $20 and he'd bugger off doing god knows what (or who)., and tell me to not get pissed because we had to go back to his place later. It worked well and I used to hang around with the old grey ghosts in the public bar and listen to Hector Thompson et al. One week I won the golden stubby (empty stubby with $100 wrapped around it). The whole 'don't get too pissed' thing didn't end so well that day :)

Offline Chappie

« Reply #43 on: February 14, 2019, 10:51:05 AM »
Haven't heard the "Moorookadishu" my kids refer to it as Sudanooka.
The following users thanked this post: GBC

« Reply #44 on: February 14, 2019, 11:22:43 AM »
i used to sell papers on the corner of Beaudesert and Granard Rds, also did a run down the back of Archerfield Airport to the wool sheds there and to some printing company on the other side of Ipswich Rd near Oxley Creek...which now just reminded me of the Mirage Waterslide Park that was where Maccas is on the other side of Oxley Creek....but this is all very early 80’s i’m talking about here.
« Last Edit: February 14, 2019, 11:24:47 AM by Rumpig »

« Reply #45 on: February 14, 2019, 12:15:22 PM »
i used to sell papers on the corner of Beaudesert and Granard Rds, also did a run down the back of Archerfield Airport to the wool sheds there and to some printing company on the other side of Ipswich Rd near Oxley Creek...which now just reminded me of the Mirage Waterslide Park that was where Maccas is on the other side of Oxley Creek....but this is all very early 80’s i’m talking about here.
I used to sell papers on the corner of Anzac Highway and Marion Rd by the pub in the early seventies, dodging traffic at the lights selling to people in their cars and about every half hour do a wander thru the pub, front bar, saloon and lounge. Usually had about 150 papers, from memory I hunk I used to get two cents a paper plus tips, used make a fiver for about two hours work plus a bonus drink or two if the punters were having a good day. Eleven years old and thought I was a media mogul. ;D ;D
« Last Edit: February 14, 2019, 03:23:02 PM by Pottsy »

« Reply #46 on: February 14, 2019, 01:17:42 PM »
Morning paper round. Then the arvo round for the herald. Time permitting, sell some at the intersection.   Started when I was 11.

A few years later promoted to running the train station kiosk.   I made 2 times more taking orders for smokes at school, than what the newsagent paid me.

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

« Reply #47 on: February 14, 2019, 04:29:36 PM »
The only people with tattoos was the bikies or sailors mostly.

If ya had a hunk of steel in ya face, it had come off a lathe or a bench grinder.

Only girls wore earrings.

Chicks, birds and the like, was quite acceptable as a description of a female.

My wife got wolf whistled yesterday, and was quite chuffed about it. (rare these days)

We had hims and hers.

The music, well, some was good, some was great and then there was the rest. (no decade is perfect)

Cars had character, you could tell a Ford, a Holden, a Morris, they were easy to distinguish.

Yeah, they were slow, didn't stop, didn't handle.... but f*** me, we loved them.

People had respect (remember that) for each other.

Oh f*** it, i'm buying a Delorean and going back to the sixties.
Just gotta work out, how to jam over 18 and half feet of Cadillac in to one.

« Reply #48 on: February 14, 2019, 05:39:10 PM »
Ya big lug, why try and take a 50 year old lump of steel back to a time when you could buy it brand new .. ;D

« Reply #49 on: February 14, 2019, 05:59:38 PM »
cause I like this one Magilla