Author Topic: The 60's and 70's what a great time.  (Read 31617 times)

Re: The 60's and 70's what a great time.
« Reply #200 on: April 10, 2019, 07:07:39 AM »
Anyone remember the smell from the Weet Bix/Vita Brits factory near the Gabba.

It was near the Wellington road, Logan road, Balaclava street intersection.
Be buggered if I can place exactly where it was though.

Yep, remember it whenever we came int town along Logan Rd.

Like you though, buggered if I know where it actually was ???

« Reply #201 on: April 10, 2019, 08:36:10 AM »
Think this thread needs to be named.......

The 60's and 70's what a great time...............in Brisbane........... ::) ;D ;D :P
The following users thanked this post: Troopy_03

« Reply #202 on: April 10, 2019, 10:10:57 AM »
Who remembers when you couldn't legally buy a beer in Queensland till you were 21. I'd been in the RAAF nearly 2 years, got posted to Amberley, walked into a pub in Brisbane and got refused service because I was under age.. Luckily my younger brother could pass muster, and used to buy the beers  ;D  Then they made the legal age 18 a couple of months later.
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan. I miss being able to acces the little tracks off into the scrub.

« Reply #203 on: April 10, 2019, 11:27:41 AM »
In my time (80’s) it was at Gow st Moorooka?
Sanitarian is still at Moorooka on Ipswich Rd....vaguely recall not that long back smelling Weetbix as we went past that area.
The following users thanked this post: GBC

« Reply #204 on: April 10, 2019, 12:28:17 PM »

The 60's and 70's what a great time...............in Brisbane........... ::) ;D ;D :P

So post something about "your hometown".... ;D

« Reply #205 on: April 10, 2019, 12:32:31 PM »
Only a young fella huh.

I'm thinking hard on this, it might have been on the corner of Nile street and Wellington road... would've been classed as East Brisbane I think

I grew up in Hervey Bay, only got to the Southside in the 80's. Still a bit younger than you I reckon - I'm not quite 50.

« Reply #206 on: April 10, 2019, 01:14:07 PM »

I'll go "Northside Brissie" ;D

Mentioning memories of smells, who remembers the delightful aromas emanating from the old tannery in Stafford ?

« Reply #207 on: April 10, 2019, 02:29:13 PM »
I'll go "Northside Brissie" ;D

Mentioning memories of smells, who remembers the delightful aromas emanating from the old tannery in Stafford ?

Use to live just up the road and that really was a disgusting smell.

« Reply #208 on: April 10, 2019, 02:38:31 PM »
Who remembers when you couldn't legally buy a beer in Queensland till you were 21. I'd been in the RAAF nearly 2 years, got posted to Amberley, walked into a pub in Brisbane and got refused service because I was under age.. Luckily my younger brother could pass muster, and used to buy the beers  ;D  Then they made the legal age 18 a couple of months later.

This was probably more in the early 80's, but I used to go fishing to Fraser Island with my Father and his mates. Leave home 3pm Saturday morning and have a few cans in the car, pull into the shops at Rainbow Beach at 7.30am with a can in your hand and no one cared or were shocked. Go to the bakery for a pie and then walk across the road to the pub and buy more beer at 8am because the pub was open (unofficially)

Camp at Fraser and the ranger would come around and can of beer was put in the rangers hand and that was the permit taken care of.   
The following users thanked this post: edz, GBC

« Reply #209 on: April 10, 2019, 02:45:01 PM »
    I used to shoot rabbits on what is now Mortgage Hill.
It was open paddocks back when I was a kid. Now nearly all million dollar mansions.

Sent from my SM-T380 using Tapatalk

« Reply #210 on: April 10, 2019, 04:00:23 PM »

Camp at Fraser and the ranger would come around and can of beer was put in the rangers hand and that was the permit taken care of.

Fraser in the  90's was still a bit like this, though we did  have our permits, Ranger would call in to say G,Day, drag a beer out for him and have a chat . Even had a few female Rangers stop for a talk and have a drink with us too over the years .
Now days mostly the only time you see them if at all, theyre just driving around .

« Reply #211 on: April 10, 2019, 08:25:32 PM »
About 15 years ago I was camping at Moreton as I was in a fishing club with about 30 guys. The police were driving past as stopped for a chat and left 5 hours later and no word of a lie they where flat out walking after enjoying our hospitability  :cheers:

They hinted that the next day they were running a drink driving blitz in front of our camp so none of our group drove, but to there credit each car they pulled over who was over the limit they gave they 2 option. First option was to sit in the sun until they sobered up or the 2nd option was a police boat back to Redcliffe Police station to be charged.

Lets just say there were quiet a few Men/Ladies who were happy to sit in the sun for a couple of hours.

« Reply #212 on: April 11, 2019, 06:07:41 AM »
This was probably more in the early 80's, but I used to go fishing to Fraser Island with my Father and his mates. Leave home 3pm Saturday morning and have a few cans in the car, pull into the shops at Rainbow Beach at 7.30am with a can in your hand and no one cared or were shocked. Go to the bakery for a pie and then walk across the road to the pub and buy more beer at 8am because the pub was open (unofficially)

70’s was no rangers, forestry ran the place. All tracks were open and there was 10 times as many. The fun part was there was no signs. They were all marked with tree blazes and code so you needed a forestry map to find your way around. There were shacks ON Waddy point - the gardens are still there., the Indian head bypass was scary, the middle rocks goat track was worse and the ‘jumpup’ behind the champagne pools required emptying the (Ex pmg) landcruiser, carrying everything up the hill, then helping push the Ute - no corduroy back then. Parking at each lake was on the beach. The back beach still had pigweed gardens growing out the ocean side of Eli etc, and brumbies. The tour busses were open air ww2 surplus blitzes. Loud, noisy, awesome fun, aluminium corrugated roofs that were deafening as tree branches dragged along them, and nests of tree ants would explode over the tourists. We kids could camp at moon point on our own over the school holidays. We just had to present ourselves to Noel on the Watoomba 2 barge once a day and he would tell our parents we where alive. It was a pretty cool place to spend a large part of my childhood.
« Last Edit: April 11, 2019, 06:12:45 AM by GBC »
The following users thanked this post: edz, Fizzie

« Reply #213 on: April 11, 2019, 06:17:07 AM »

Would love to hear stories about other places, so go for it.  :cheers:  Kevin

Offline stephenh1235

• Have gun will travel
« Reply #214 on: April 11, 2019, 07:55:59 AM »
Remember when every traveler (they weren't called tourists back then) had one of these ?

Yep, had a water bag on the vehicle myself in 1975 on my 1965 HD X2 Wagon.
2004 Mitsubishi 4WD Canter
2003 HZJ105
2014 Palamino 1251ss slide on

« Reply #215 on: April 11, 2019, 11:16:23 AM »
PC's were simple...my first... LOL

DVD's?

« Reply #216 on: April 11, 2019, 12:16:01 PM »
Spending hours at a mates place playing " PONG " on wet saturday arvo's  on their " NEW "  big 26" screen colour TV   /  Hoyking a frisbee at each other as we jogged along Kingscliff beach  / backyard cricket test matches after school ..   ;D

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-vbGBlxVxcQ
« Last Edit: April 11, 2019, 12:20:06 PM by edz »

« Reply #217 on: April 11, 2019, 01:07:16 PM »
Going round to a mate's place & using his slug gun to shoot targets in the back yard - in a normal residential street! ;D

FiL spoke many times of going to the rifle range for the day - walk out of the house with his .303 in it's case over his shoulder & carrying his dilly bag with ammo, lunch & a thermos, down the street to the station, on a train out to Redbank range (Ipswich), where he & 3 or 4 other blokes would get out & walk down to the range.

End of day, same thing in reverse; & the most anybody would have to say about blokes carrying rifles on the train or down the street, was "How'd you go" ??? :'(

« Reply #218 on: April 11, 2019, 01:33:35 PM »
Sports day at high school included clay target shooting. Kids would be riding to school with shotguns slung over their shoulder.

« Reply #219 on: April 11, 2019, 01:34:58 PM »
Sports day at high school included clay target shooting. Kids would be riding to school with shotguns slung over their shoulder.
**** imagine the 000 calls and STAY IN DOORS.. KEEP ALL WINDOWS AND DOORS LOCKED warnings if that happened today LMAO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

« Reply #220 on: April 11, 2019, 01:41:21 PM »
Leg room in sardine class, as it was the only class... hows the food going too!

Meals served to economy class on Qantas during the 1960s. Photo: Qantas

The huge interior of the Boeing 747 jumbo jet, after its arrival at London Airport. Photo: Alamy

« Reply #221 on: April 11, 2019, 01:47:33 PM »
ha ha ha ha, the bloke in the second row..... massive head of hair looking at baldy with the drink.

Probably laughing under his breath.... I would be.

« Reply #222 on: April 11, 2019, 08:47:27 PM »

My home town was overrun with aluminum roadblocks last weekend for the man from snowy river festival.
If I talked about so n so down the road no one would know who I was on about ;)

Offline bkim

« Reply #223 on: April 12, 2019, 12:46:44 AM »
Carrying a .310 Martini- Henry action single shot rifle as hand luggage on a DC9 flight from Townsville to Cairns in 1966, and no one had the slightest concerns! wouldn't fit in the overhead compartment, so the hostess suggested just laying it on the floor between my feet and under the seat in front.

Just see that happening today!

« Reply #224 on: April 12, 2019, 06:07:31 AM »
As kids, the most trouble most got into was nicking the neighbours milk money.  ::)

These days, they'd steal the 2 year old BMW, joy ride through a red light as speed, crash and then do a runner, regardless of death or injuries to any of the parties involved.  >:(

Anyone remember, those goofy little plastic pourer tops we used on the old milk bottles.  8)