Author Topic: The 60's and 70's what a great time.  (Read 31618 times)

Re: The 60's and 70's what a great time.
« Reply #125 on: February 22, 2019, 08:51:06 AM »
these guys were out there in 60's! didnt think much of the show guess i wasnt on the right pills at the time

https://www.theage.com.au/entertainment/music/peter-tork-monkees-lovable-bass-player-dead-at-77-20190222-p50zhq.html

Offline stephenh1235

• Have gun will travel
« Reply #126 on: February 22, 2019, 10:19:04 AM »
How many made their own radio?  Remember the crystal radios?  Made from bits and pieces, long wire going outside for antenna and ear phones. No batteries required. Kevin

Yep did this one, but totally forgotten about it ! My father in his working day was a radio tech , he also taught us to make & wind our own electric motors.
2004 Mitsubishi 4WD Canter
2003 HZJ105
2014 Palamino 1251ss slide on

« Reply #127 on: February 22, 2019, 10:27:27 AM »
Spot on JP....he did have an old EK wagon and I think is was originally salmon Cameo Beige with a white roof....but I still remember he handed painted it blue with a paint brush.

My older brother used to have an FC that he used to hoon around the park in as well as a few old triumph motor bikes etc.

But yeah, it was a salmony colour....  ;D
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan. I miss being able to acces the little tracks off into the scrub.

« Reply #128 on: February 22, 2019, 10:29:32 AM »
these guys were out there in 60's! didnt think much of the show guess i wasnt on the right pills at the time

https://www.theage.com.au/entertainment/music/peter-tork-monkees-lovable-bass-player-dead-at-77-20190222-p50zhq.html

I used to like The Banana Splits more LOL.
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan. I miss being able to acces the little tracks off into the scrub.

« Reply #129 on: February 22, 2019, 10:39:38 AM »

« Reply #130 on: February 22, 2019, 11:01:16 AM »

« Reply #132 on: February 22, 2019, 11:48:01 AM »
Quote from: Troopy_03
H.R. Puffenstuff... LOL

Dougal and the Magic Roundabout
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fcnKvqDMnKU

« Reply #133 on: February 22, 2019, 05:04:04 PM »
How could you ever forget them?  They were priceless. 

The 60s gave us the Three Stooges on TV.  Unfortunately they were banned from Sydney TV in about '68 because too many kids were playing Stooges and hitting each other on the head with hammers.

Arh Green Bottle n The Three Stooges, how good were these shows?  :cup:

« Last Edit: February 23, 2019, 09:05:30 AM by Bird »

« Reply #135 on: February 23, 2019, 09:11:44 AM »
Yep #96 / The Box / Matlock police / The Sulivans / Solo one / Boney / F-Troop / Lost in Space / Spyforce / colditz / Catweasle / Dr who /  the beach combers /  The Rovers / Bellbird / on the busses / step toe and son and so many more

« Reply #136 on: February 23, 2019, 09:26:53 AM »
Yep #96 / The Box / Matlock police / The Sulivans / Solo one / Boney / F-Troop / Lost in Space / Spyforce / colditz / Catweasle / Dr who /  the beach combers /  The Rovers / Bellbird / on the busses / step toe and son and so many more
I looked up Crawford Productions to see what was available.. **** me, they certainly know how to clear the national debt!

The following users thanked this post: Titfish

« Reply #137 on: February 23, 2019, 10:27:40 AM »
The 60's and 70's, when items in the rear view mirror were where they appeared to be.

« Reply #138 on: February 23, 2019, 11:44:29 AM »
Alvin Purple movies  and the TV shows ..   https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p4uXLA5A9qw   ...  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZTKYm_bF4JA    ;D

« Reply #139 on: February 23, 2019, 02:53:34 PM »
For me it was "The Magic Boomerang" Adventures of the Seaspray, Mr Squiggle, Aunty Jack, Bellbird and so on

« Reply #140 on: February 23, 2019, 02:59:13 PM »
Delvene Delaney, strops missus >:D

« Reply #141 on: February 23, 2019, 04:39:18 PM »

In the early 70's I would catch the same Caboolture to Brissie train as Delvene. She was not only pleasing to the eye but an extremely nice, down to earth person.

The following users thanked this post: Shippo

« Reply #142 on: February 23, 2019, 04:46:50 PM »
In the early 70's I would catch the same Caboolture to Brissie train as Delvene. She was not only pleasing to the eye but an extremely nice, down to earth person.
Yep, she'd please a glass eye!

« Reply #143 on: February 24, 2019, 03:59:23 AM »
A mate of mine saw her recently, still a good looker he reckoned.

Offline stephenh1235

• Have gun will travel
« Reply #144 on: February 24, 2019, 07:53:02 AM »
Early 70's my first car was a Morris Minor 1000,  push button ignition start, & if a flat battery wouldn't give her a start, out came the crank handle ( did get some cracked knuckles until I learnt)
2004 Mitsubishi 4WD Canter
2003 HZJ105
2014 Palamino 1251ss slide on

« Reply #145 on: February 24, 2019, 08:30:49 AM »
I used to like The Banana Splits more LOL.

& now it   " The Dilly Sisters   "            8) 8)

« Reply #146 on: February 24, 2019, 08:32:13 AM »
       :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:

Offline Metters

« Reply #147 on: February 24, 2019, 10:52:36 PM »
Early 70's my first car was a Morris Minor 1000,  push button ignition start, & if a flat battery wouldn't give her a start, out came the crank handle ( did get some cracked knuckles until I learnt)

There was no shortage of them on the roads from the 50s on to about the early 80s.  I occasionally say a hot low light Morrie in the car park at the North Sydney Technical College in the early 60s.  Its engine was a screaming hot Peugeot.  There was story in one of the magazines after it clocked 118 miles per hour on a flying 1/8 of a mile run on the old Castlereagh airstrip in western Sydney a couple of years before it became a drag strip.

Then there was the Goggomobile sedan with its supercharged Goliath flat four mounted where the back seat used to be.  It ran 14 1/5 second quarter mile times at Castlereagh and I saw it a few times at Hornsby with the owner's wife doing the shopping in it.

The 50s and 60s were a great time for fibreglass sports car bodies with the Buckle coupe being on of the best.  http://www.bucklecoupe.com.au/BuckleMotors01.htm  The Milano GT was not bad either along with the Bolwell.  http://www.bolwellcarclubnsw.com/page23.htm

« Reply #148 on: February 24, 2019, 11:29:24 PM »
A mate had a 48 Moggy  low light two door fitted up with a heavily worked Cooper S motor mounted North South taken out to 1375 cc running a side draught Weber sucking  Avgas  / Datto 1200 4 speed and diff .. Was a scary ride at well over a 100 mph . But smelled and sounded great due to the Avgas .