Author Topic: The 60's and 70's what a great time.  (Read 31622 times)

The 60's and 70's what a great time.
« on: February 13, 2019, 06:33:20 AM »
Recently, I've been watching a lot of youtube stuff from the 61's and 70's.... so many great memories.

The lunar landing got me thinking..... What do you recall from those years?

1. When a car would approach you on a gravel road, the front passenger and driver would put their hand on the windscreen to try to prevent a shattered screen.

Re: The 60's and 70's what a great time.
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2019, 08:24:15 AM »
Something that seemed to happen on our our travels in SA during the sixties and seventies was the one finger salute where the pointer was raised off the steering wheel as a greeting to all oncoming cars on country roads.
Remember well the hands on the windscreen to prevent stone chips.

Another was the quarter windows wide open for ventilation.

« Reply #2 on: February 13, 2019, 08:25:37 AM »
Adjusting the quarter-glasses to try & funnel some hot air into the car as you drove around in summer, trying not to touch the ht vinyl seat :'(. Metal seat belt buckles were an extra-special present from >:D

« Reply #3 on: February 13, 2019, 08:27:07 AM »
the front passenger and driver would put their hand on the windscreen to try to prevent a shattered screen.

& what was the theory of that one ???

You'd pressured the glass so that it wouldn't give way & crack or something ???

« Reply #4 on: February 13, 2019, 08:44:49 AM »
& what was the theory of that one ???

You'd pressured the glass so that it wouldn't give way & crack or something ???
No, you just cut your hands when it did shatter

What do I remember about the 70's
Sunbury's
Rock Isle Mulwala
and the Melbourne pub scene, watched Rockwizs tribute to Vanda and Young the other night, what a fantastic time for Australian music

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

« Reply #5 on: February 13, 2019, 08:45:46 AM »
I don't know whether it ever saved a screen, but the idea was to absorb some of the impact.

« Reply #6 on: February 13, 2019, 09:05:48 AM »
Metal seat belt buckles were an extra-special present from >:D

And bloody good bottle openers before twist tops. Also, most cool, young blokes cars had an STP sticker and a lot had stick-on bullet holes.

« Reply #7 on: February 13, 2019, 09:08:37 AM »
I don't know whether it ever saved a screen, but the idea was to absorb some of the impact.
Everyone one used to do it, man i remember those old windscreens were something else when they shattered glass everywhere when you were belting along and got hit by a rock

« Reply #8 on: February 13, 2019, 10:51:43 AM »
And I still see people putting their hands on the windscreen. Makes me laugh every time.

I remember travelling over the border, from Qld to NSW to have a drink or two, legally that is, as the age was under 21 down there.  Ahhhh Tweed Heads and those clubs, not to mention those book shops. Then pulling up beside the Tweed River to sleep the night.  Back across to Coolangatta to Kev's Diner for pie, potato, pea and gravy sitting there listening to Crocodile Rock. Best at 3 am as it was open all night.  Drink and drive, well it did not seem an issue back then.....  Naturally not me  :angel:   Kevin

« Reply #9 on: February 13, 2019, 11:09:04 AM »

Dad always told me it was so you could quickly push / punch a hole in the glass and see where you were going if the screen only shattered and didnt fall in on you ..
Had it happen a couple of times over the years .

« Reply #10 on: February 13, 2019, 11:19:47 AM »
About all I recall is service stations actually had driveway attendants to fuel your car up for you clean your windscreen and check the oil, they weren’t open at all on a Sunday (think they closed at lunch time on Saturday also didn’t they?) and if we needed fuel, mum would drive to the servo at Moorooka on Ipswich Rd that took 20 cent pieces in a self serve set up. The servo’s also sold crates of soft drink, you’d bring  the empty’s back in the crate to recycle the bottles and get a discount on refilling the crate again.

« Reply #11 on: February 13, 2019, 11:30:34 AM »
About all I recall is service stations actually had driveway attendants to fuel your car up for you clean your windscreen and check the oil, they weren’t open at all on a Sunday (think they closed at lunch time on Saturday also didn’t they?) and if we needed fuel, mum would drive to the servo at Moorooka on Ipswich Rd that took 20 cent pieces in a self serve set up. The servo’s also sold crates of soft drink, you’d bring  the empty’s back in the crate to recycle the bottles and get a discount on refilling the crate again.

Moorooka.  Back then it was the best. Building tree houses up on the mountain, Pegs Mountain I think we called it, hitchhiking into the city. Catching trams.   And yes, getting refunds off the bottles, then running around the back and getting the bottles back for another go.  Kevin

« Reply #12 on: February 13, 2019, 11:49:11 AM »
Moorooka.  Back then it was the best. Building tree houses up on the mountain, Pegs Mountain I think we called it, hitchhiking into the city. Catching trams.   And yes, getting refunds off the bottles, then running around the back and getting the bottles back for another go.  Kevin
Maybe building tree houses in the sixtys Kev but by the seventies we only had one thing on our minds hang on, maybe two things, loud music, maybe three things, booze,  well maybe four, fast cars.

Offline ronmac

• Just love my wild turkey
« Reply #13 on: February 13, 2019, 12:03:49 PM »
On long trips in the old holden we'd pull into the esso servo to refuel and have our animated fuel books stamped. We had a tigers tail hanging from the fuel cap. The motto was Put a tiger in your tank.
The greatest gift you can give someone is your time, because when you give your time you are giving a portion of your life that you will never get back.

Well, strip my gears and call me Shiftless.

Offline Wukkers

« Reply #14 on: February 13, 2019, 12:12:09 PM »
I remember driving around 80 miles to buy beer on a Sunday afternoon of a long weekend.  Then heading to the midnight drive-in with mates in the boot and disturbing every other patron in the place.  And then driving around looking for the milkman to buy a choc milk.  It used to scare the crap out of the poor milkos.

Offline Champin

« Reply #15 on: February 13, 2019, 12:17:51 PM »
Sitting in the very back of the station wagon on family trips.
Putting the milk bottles out with coins in them
Playing outside til the street lights came on ( the sign to get home or else)
Don't think you can do any of that today

Sent from my TA-1024 using Tapatalk

« Reply #16 on: February 13, 2019, 12:25:28 PM »
We use to have an Ice Cream Man, who had an olive green with white roof, EJ Holden wagon with stainless coolers in the back with dry ice.
Every Sunday arvo, he'd be around ringing his bell
A jellytip was 10 cents if we were good, a paddle pop was 5 cents if were average or a swift kick in the arse from the old man if were little turds that week.

I think, in all my years growing up, I only got one jellytip and maybe half a dozen paddle pops.
I also had few sore arses too.

Remember the old Mr. Whippy with green sleeves ??????? playing as he cruised around.

Going into Gatton on the right, up until around 78/79, there was still a Neptune signed service station.
The servo is still there and it stores tractors these days and the signage is loooong gone.

« Reply #17 on: February 13, 2019, 12:33:31 PM »

Going into Gatton on the right, up until around 78/79, there was still a Neptune signed service station.
The servo is still there and it stores tractors these days and the signage is loooong gone.

Got married in 82, Neptune Gardens in Darlington SA was where we had our wedding photos taken, the servo was gone by then but Neptunes statue still stood in the gardens.

« Reply #18 on: February 13, 2019, 12:36:57 PM »
Wasn't it all in Black and White?

(born in 1980... it's all colour since then)

« Reply #19 on: February 13, 2019, 12:44:30 PM »
Any of the Brisbane born and bred swaggers will remember the old rattlers.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fkiRjXipt-g

« Reply #20 on: February 13, 2019, 03:25:02 PM »
And bloody good bottle openers before twist tops. Also, most cool, young blokes cars had an STP sticker and a lot had stick-on bullet holes.
Toolbox I made and sticker from the 80's
The following users thanked this post: Steffo1

« Reply #21 on: February 13, 2019, 03:44:28 PM »
Floor mounted headlight dippers...

« Reply #22 on: February 13, 2019, 03:56:04 PM »
Any of the Brisbane born and bred swaggers will remember the old rattlers.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fkiRjXipt-g

But how many would remember Rock and Roll George?
Kevin
The following users thanked this post: edz, GBC

« Reply #23 on: February 13, 2019, 04:06:55 PM »
Back in the 80's, a guy we drag raced with rebuilt the engine for Rock and Roll George.
The car was in fairly poor condition by the time ol George fell off his perch and ended up beak first in the newspaper and seeds.
Anyone out of Brisbane wouldn't have a clue Kev, would they.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bZ1JljEfxlY

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vVCdMCKM73U
« Last Edit: February 13, 2019, 04:09:36 PM by Jeepers Creepers »

Offline Traveller

« Reply #24 on: February 13, 2019, 04:18:54 PM »
Floor mounted headlight dippers...

Come on Geoff, don't give up there. Had a pretty fiery FE Holden that hammered, but also vacuum operated wipers that would stop under acceleration. Not a good combination in the wet. Don't forget the 3 on the tree shifters, no seat belts, steering wheels so thin that your fingers wrapped around a couple of times, and they would also brand you in summer. No heaters or radios, drum brakes, cross ply tyres, head lights that covered about 20' in front of the car. Fold out paper licences, vinyl seats that retained your skin in summer, going for a ride in the back of a ute on a hot day was a must. Power steering was only for Seppos, 'air brakes' were like hen's teeth, and petrol was at give away prices (I had to carry loose change to fill up the bike).

Bench seats to get a cuddle on the go, drive-ins, discos with synchronised lights that did things to your brain, pubs supplying grub at 10 so they could stay open to 11.30 (whoo hoo, didn't we know how to live). Mobiles and computers were just a dream. Sixties and seventies fashions. I still remember mini skirts coming into fashion (God bless them) and at the same time bikinis, both of which are just accepted now. I am 6'2" but still wore platform soled shoes, skinny rib jumpers, flairs, geez it makes me want to rip out my eyes now.

The other point that really stays in my mind was having to drive for 25 miles (?) from home on a Sunday to get a drink.

My only real regret is letting some of the cars slip through my fingers, and maybe a girl or two. :'(

This is bringing back so many good memories that I am getting quite melancholy.