Author Topic: Names for vehicles and campers  (Read 20030 times)

Offline landbarge

Re: Names for vehicles and campers
« Reply #25 on: November 28, 2015, 08:41:02 AM »
Not one for naming inanimate objects but after persistance from a friend i might name the teardrop,a year in the making i guess it deserves a name.
The 80 series is just the wagon,
Geez you caught me on the edge of the fence with this. Yes you should have a name for the teardrop, especially when you're a year in to the build. Ya can't  force it though.

I have a few sketches and an off road 7x5 box trailer ready for a tear drop camper conversion. I had named it Salty.

"Campers/Caravans are female right?"

hmm - where's that going...

"Our neighbor has a Pajero that he call Vaj the PaJ, so we've named his camper "Ina" "

ok, maybe that's it - gee, I'm glad your not my neighbour though - I wonder if that's what my neighbours think of me?!

"i did have 3 cub campers at one time so they become the three bear cubs"

now, that really is cute...!

our 'paj' is called 'alf' - I know, its on his bonnet stone guard (no, when I first bought him it was his number plate in nsw)
the camper is 'the unit' (named by the missus - not sure if it was after she tried to kick a brick under its wheel to chock it - with bare feet...)

Offline dales133

« Reply #26 on: November 28, 2015, 08:44:57 AM »
Geez you caught me on the edge of the fence with this. Yes you should have a name for the teardrop, especially when you're a year in to the build. Ya can't  force it though.

I have a few sketches and an off road 7x5 box trailer ready for a tear drop camper conversion. I had named it Salty.

This friend suggested it looked like it belonged in "lost in space" so jupiter 2 in waterjet cut stainless in a 50s font is on the cards

Offline landbarge

« Reply #27 on: November 28, 2015, 08:53:59 AM »
This friend suggested it looked like it belonged in "lost in space" so jupiter 2 in waterjet cut stainless in a 50s font is on the cards
Sounds great. You have inspired a theme for my new camper thing. I still can't work out if it's a caravan or a camper trailer.

Offline rossmob

• Blog of our travels
« Reply #28 on: November 29, 2015, 06:06:06 AM »

good to see someone else doesn't allow himself to be manipulated into using female names for his cars - a lot of people (mostly female) are taken aback by my doing so

a car is a mate to me, as is the camper and the boat - they don't whinge, theyre always there for you and its not 'all about them' (although there are times...)

I just couldn't have a fitted out challenger being called cherry, Charisse or some other chick name.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk 2
Stu Ross
Mitsubishi Challenger PB LS 2012 and 2013 Trackabout SV Extenda .... for list of modifications and journeys available at our Blog : http://rossmob.blogspot.com.au/

Offline Brett

• MySwag.org - The Off-road Camper Trailer forum
« Reply #29 on: December 03, 2015, 09:41:30 PM »
Jill loves to name our gear and we have a little fun with it.

Red Landcruiser - "Ruby"
Green Commodore - "Oscar"
Red Harley - "Cherry"
Huge Jayco - "Bertha"

« Reply #30 on: December 03, 2015, 10:51:29 PM »

Jill loves to name our gear and we have a little fun with it.

Red Landcruiser - "Ruby"
Green Commodore - "Oscar"
Red Harley - "Cherry"
Huge Jayco - "Bertha"

It works for our young fella too ie he knows which car to hop in when you say Ruby or Oscar...

Offline Hewy54

« Reply #31 on: December 04, 2015, 06:28:56 AM »
We go along the lines of many others.
The 80 series - the truck
The Commodore - your car
The Premier - my car
The crossover - the van

80 Series
Vista Crossover XL

Offline PenUltimate Destinations

• PenUltimate Destinations
« Reply #32 on: December 05, 2015, 07:06:04 PM »
Haven't named the Ultimate, but the LX is called Stan - Tan Stan thanks to his inspiring colour!

Dave Youl

2015 Ultimate Xterra
2006 Lexus LX470
Our blog - http://youl.id.au

Offline me217

• datebest.net - visit website and win smartphone!
« Reply #33 on: December 05, 2015, 09:01:44 PM »
i sometimes call my grand vitara "the frittata"
https://t.me/pump_upp

Offline Terry W4

• Retired - loving every minute of it
« Reply #34 on: December 05, 2015, 09:32:17 PM »
Prado is called The Tardis.
Terry - Canberra ACT
2008 Prado 120 D4D and 2009 Swan Outback
Blog Travels with Terry: https://terrywalls.wordpress.com

Offline Rocky and Bullwinkle

« Reply #35 on: December 06, 2015, 04:41:28 AM »
Rocky for the ute because when we moved to the High Country a ute I was looking at was advertised by a person who called themselves Rocky. Did not buy that ute but it stuck for the old ute and now for the new one Of course who hangs a round with Rocky but Bullwinkle so the New camper got its name.
2015 Isuzu D Max
2015 Trackabout Safari SV Extenda
The other toy is a
2008 SeaDoo RXTX 255HP

theins

« Reply #36 on: December 06, 2015, 08:19:32 AM »
Yep, both car and camper have been named

Snowy - our white D4
Rufus - our AS camper

Offline r2d2

« Reply #37 on: December 06, 2015, 11:40:39 AM »
We have R2D2 and C3PO, we thought about getting BB-8 for the trailer but couldn't justify the $550 for the plates on the camper.

Offline landbarge

« Reply #38 on: December 06, 2015, 11:54:25 AM »
« Last Edit: December 06, 2015, 12:18:16 PM by landbarge »

Offline JD-120

« Reply #39 on: December 06, 2015, 12:02:06 PM »
We have R2D2 and C3PO, we thought about getting BB-8 for the trailer but couldn't justify the $550 for the plates on the camper.
What's bb8? Big brother season 8

Offline landbarge

« Reply #40 on: December 06, 2015, 12:23:06 PM »
Nice work. You should splurge and get the full set of plates.

Offline slydar

« Reply #41 on: December 06, 2015, 03:15:23 PM »
ok we have splashed out on a prado (albeit second hand) and have no idea what to call it - act plates are so boring - can anyone make a suggestion? my pajero was 'alf' after its original nsw rego (and it seems to suit him), previous car (lh torana) was 'hewie' as its number plate was 'hew-...' but what can you do with 'yhq-...'?

hmm, maybe I can make this a competition...?

Offline landbarge

« Reply #42 on: December 06, 2015, 03:25:14 PM »
Youth Head Quarters.

Offline slydar

« Reply #43 on: December 06, 2015, 03:46:35 PM »
 >:(

Offline landbarge

« Reply #44 on: December 12, 2015, 12:53:30 AM »
Your health, questionable

« Reply #45 on: December 12, 2015, 01:55:11 AM »

Hmmmmmm....never thought about naming tug or CT.

« Reply #46 on: December 12, 2015, 05:49:06 AM »
Yogi's hot quad (yogi for short)
Your hard quest

Offline slydar

« Reply #47 on: December 12, 2015, 06:42:23 AM »
Your health, questionable

hmm - not to mention the resulting pre-Christmas bank balance :-( - roof rack, voltage booster, rewiring for the fridge...

Offline jamesroberts23

« Reply #48 on: December 12, 2015, 09:44:04 AM »
Kids have named the nissan XTrail "the beast"  (just wait until a Patrol is in budget!) and our Cavalier camper is "Chuck". 

Sent from my A0001 using Tapatalk

Offline Hewy54

« Reply #49 on: December 12, 2015, 12:11:08 PM »
ok we have splashed out on a prado (albeit second hand) and have no idea what to call it - act plates are so boring - can anyone make a suggestion? my pajero was 'alf' after its original nsw rego (and it seems to suit him), previous car (lh torana) was 'hewie' as its number plate was 'hew-...' but what can you do with 'yhq-...'?

hmm, maybe I can make this a competition...?
Glad to see that I have a Torana named after me

80 Series
Vista Crossover XL