General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Jeepers Creepers on February 13, 2019, 06:33:20 AM

Title: The 60's and 70's what a great time.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on February 13, 2019, 06:33:20 AM
Recently, I've been watching a lot of youtube stuff from the 61's and 70's.... so many great memories.

The lunar landing got me thinking..... What do you recall from those years?

1. When a car would approach you on a gravel road, the front passenger and driver would put their hand on the windscreen to try to prevent a shattered screen.
Title: Re: The 60's and 70's what a great time.
Post by: Pottsy on February 13, 2019, 08:24:15 AM
Something that seemed to happen on our our travels in SA during the sixties and seventies was the one finger salute where the pointer was raised off the steering wheel as a greeting to all oncoming cars on country roads.
Remember well the hands on the windscreen to prevent stone chips.

Another was the quarter windows wide open for ventilation.
Post by: Fizzie on February 13, 2019, 08:25:37 AM
Adjusting the quarter-glasses to try & funnel some hot air into the car as you drove around in summer, trying not to touch the ht vinyl seat :'(. Metal seat belt buckles were an extra-special present from >:D
Post by: Fizzie on February 13, 2019, 08:27:07 AM
the front passenger and driver would put their hand on the windscreen to try to prevent a shattered screen.

& what was the theory of that one ???

You'd pressured the glass so that it wouldn't give way & crack or something ???
Post by: macca on February 13, 2019, 08:44:49 AM
& what was the theory of that one ???

You'd pressured the glass so that it wouldn't give way & crack or something ???
No, you just cut your hands when it did shatter

What do I remember about the 70's
Sunbury's
Rock Isle Mulwala
and the Melbourne pub scene, watched Rockwizs tribute to Vanda and Young the other night, what a fantastic time for Australian music

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

Post by: Jeepers Creepers on February 13, 2019, 08:45:46 AM
I don't know whether it ever saved a screen, but the idea was to absorb some of the impact.
Post by: Steffo1 on February 13, 2019, 09:05:48 AM
Metal seat belt buckles were an extra-special present from >:D

And bloody good bottle openers before twist tops. Also, most cool, young blokes cars had an STP sticker and a lot had stick-on bullet holes.
Post by: macca on February 13, 2019, 09:08:37 AM
I don't know whether it ever saved a screen, but the idea was to absorb some of the impact.
Everyone one used to do it, man i remember those old windscreens were something else when they shattered glass everywhere when you were belting along and got hit by a rock

Post by: krisandkev on February 13, 2019, 10:51:43 AM
And I still see people putting their hands on the windscreen. Makes me laugh every time.

I remember travelling over the border, from Qld to NSW to have a drink or two, legally that is, as the age was under 21 down there.  Ahhhh Tweed Heads and those clubs, not to mention those book shops. Then pulling up beside the Tweed River to sleep the night.  Back across to Coolangatta to Kev's Diner for pie, potato, pea and gravy sitting there listening to Crocodile Rock. Best at 3 am as it was open all night.  Drink and drive, well it did not seem an issue back then.....  Naturally not me  :angel:   Kevin
Post by: edz on February 13, 2019, 11:09:04 AM

Dad always told me it was so you could quickly push / punch a hole in the glass and see where you were going if the screen only shattered and didnt fall in on you ..
Had it happen a couple of times over the years .
Post by: Rumpig on February 13, 2019, 11:19:47 AM
About all I recall is service stations actually had driveway attendants to fuel your car up for you clean your windscreen and check the oil, they weren’t open at all on a Sunday (think they closed at lunch time on Saturday also didn’t they?) and if we needed fuel, mum would drive to the servo at Moorooka on Ipswich Rd that took 20 cent pieces in a self serve set up. The servo’s also sold crates of soft drink, you’d bring  the empty’s back in the crate to recycle the bottles and get a discount on refilling the crate again.
Post by: krisandkev on February 13, 2019, 11:30:34 AM
About all I recall is service stations actually had driveway attendants to fuel your car up for you clean your windscreen and check the oil, they weren’t open at all on a Sunday (think they closed at lunch time on Saturday also didn’t they?) and if we needed fuel, mum would drive to the servo at Moorooka on Ipswich Rd that took 20 cent pieces in a self serve set up. The servo’s also sold crates of soft drink, you’d bring  the empty’s back in the crate to recycle the bottles and get a discount on refilling the crate again.

Moorooka.  Back then it was the best. Building tree houses up on the mountain, Pegs Mountain I think we called it, hitchhiking into the city. Catching trams.   And yes, getting refunds off the bottles, then running around the back and getting the bottles back for another go.  Kevin
Post by: macca on February 13, 2019, 11:49:11 AM
Moorooka.  Back then it was the best. Building tree houses up on the mountain, Pegs Mountain I think we called it, hitchhiking into the city. Catching trams.   And yes, getting refunds off the bottles, then running around the back and getting the bottles back for another go.  Kevin
Maybe building tree houses in the sixtys Kev but by the seventies we only had one thing on our minds hang on, maybe two things, loud music, maybe three things, booze,  well maybe four, fast cars.

Post by: ronmac on February 13, 2019, 12:03:49 PM
On long trips in the old holden we'd pull into the esso servo to refuel and have our animated fuel books stamped. We had a tigers tail hanging from the fuel cap. The motto was Put a tiger in your tank.
Post by: Wukkers on February 13, 2019, 12:12:09 PM
I remember driving around 80 miles to buy beer on a Sunday afternoon of a long weekend.  Then heading to the midnight drive-in with mates in the boot and disturbing every other patron in the place.  And then driving around looking for the milkman to buy a choc milk.  It used to scare the crap out of the poor milkos.
Post by: Champin on February 13, 2019, 12:17:51 PM
Sitting in the very back of the station wagon on family trips.
Putting the milk bottles out with coins in them
Playing outside til the street lights came on ( the sign to get home or else)
Don't think you can do any of that today

Sent from my TA-1024 using Tapatalk

Post by: Jeepers Creepers on February 13, 2019, 12:25:28 PM
We use to have an Ice Cream Man, who had an olive green with white roof, EJ Holden wagon with stainless coolers in the back with dry ice.
Every Sunday arvo, he'd be around ringing his bell
A jellytip was 10 cents if we were good, a paddle pop was 5 cents if were average or a swift kick in the arse from the old man if were little turds that week.

I think, in all my years growing up, I only got one jellytip and maybe half a dozen paddle pops.
I also had few sore arses too.

Remember the old Mr. Whippy with green sleeves ??????? playing as he cruised around.

Going into Gatton on the right, up until around 78/79, there was still a Neptune signed service station.
The servo is still there and it stores tractors these days and the signage is loooong gone.
Post by: Pottsy on February 13, 2019, 12:33:31 PM

Going into Gatton on the right, up until around 78/79, there was still a Neptune signed service station.
The servo is still there and it stores tractors these days and the signage is loooong gone.

Got married in 82, Neptune Gardens in Darlington SA was where we had our wedding photos taken, the servo was gone by then but Neptunes statue still stood in the gardens.
Post by: Paddler Ed on February 13, 2019, 12:36:57 PM
Wasn't it all in Black and White?

(born in 1980... it's all colour since then)
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on February 13, 2019, 12:44:30 PM
Any of the Brisbane born and bred swaggers will remember the old rattlers.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fkiRjXipt-g (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fkiRjXipt-g)
Post by: #jonesy on February 13, 2019, 03:25:02 PM
And bloody good bottle openers before twist tops. Also, most cool, young blokes cars had an STP sticker and a lot had stick-on bullet holes.
Toolbox I made and sticker from the 80's
Post by: GeoffA on February 13, 2019, 03:44:28 PM
Floor mounted headlight dippers...
Post by: krisandkev on February 13, 2019, 03:56:04 PM
Any of the Brisbane born and bred swaggers will remember the old rattlers.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fkiRjXipt-g (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fkiRjXipt-g)

But how many would remember Rock and Roll George?
Kevin
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on February 13, 2019, 04:06:55 PM
Back in the 80's, a guy we drag raced with rebuilt the engine for Rock and Roll George.
The car was in fairly poor condition by the time ol George fell off his perch and ended up beak first in the newspaper and seeds.
Anyone out of Brisbane wouldn't have a clue Kev, would they.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bZ1JljEfxlY (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bZ1JljEfxlY)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vVCdMCKM73U (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vVCdMCKM73U)
Post by: Traveller on February 13, 2019, 04:18:54 PM
Floor mounted headlight dippers...

Come on Geoff, don't give up there. Had a pretty fiery FE Holden that hammered, but also vacuum operated wipers that would stop under acceleration. Not a good combination in the wet. Don't forget the 3 on the tree shifters, no seat belts, steering wheels so thin that your fingers wrapped around a couple of times, and they would also brand you in summer. No heaters or radios, drum brakes, cross ply tyres, head lights that covered about 20' in front of the car. Fold out paper licences, vinyl seats that retained your skin in summer, going for a ride in the back of a ute on a hot day was a must. Power steering was only for Seppos, 'air brakes' were like hen's teeth, and petrol was at give away prices (I had to carry loose change to fill up the bike).

Bench seats to get a cuddle on the go, drive-ins, discos with synchronised lights that did things to your brain, pubs supplying grub at 10 so they could stay open to 11.30 (whoo hoo, didn't we know how to live). Mobiles and computers were just a dream. Sixties and seventies fashions. I still remember mini skirts coming into fashion (God bless them) and at the same time bikinis, both of which are just accepted now. I am 6'2" but still wore platform soled shoes, skinny rib jumpers, flairs, geez it makes me want to rip out my eyes now.

The other point that really stays in my mind was having to drive for 25 miles (?) from home on a Sunday to get a drink.

My only real regret is letting some of the cars slip through my fingers, and maybe a girl or two. :'(

This is bringing back so many good memories that I am getting quite melancholy.
Post by: edz on February 13, 2019, 04:19:13 PM
Kevin

Saw him on the news a few times https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r7xwpoBC_M0 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r7xwpoBC_M0)
Post by: Pete79 on February 13, 2019, 04:33:08 PM
I know 2 people that would say the 70's where a really, really, really, really great time......

But after have such a great time in the 70s and conceiving 4 kids in very quick succession, I recon it's a safe bet to say those same 2 people think the 80s where really crap.  ;D ;D
Post by: Pottsy on February 13, 2019, 04:36:07 PM
Strip blinds in rear windows of cars, tinted glass visors, white wall tyres, sitting in the back of wagons with the tailgate up oblivious to the notion of carbon monoxide poisoning from the exhaust, speakers that you put on a partially wound down window at drive ins, suicide doors.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on February 13, 2019, 05:02:28 PM
suicide doors?  ???
Post by: Robbo on February 13, 2019, 05:22:25 PM
suicide doors?  ???
Yep. Doors that hinged at the  back and opened at the front.
Think Vauxall Wyvern, early 50's and Fiat 500. Quite a few Yank Tanks too.
Dangerous bloody things they were too, especially after a few bevys.

Sent from my SM-J600G using Tapatalk

Post by: Jeepers Creepers on February 13, 2019, 05:45:03 PM
I know what a friggin suicide door is....  :D I drag raced a 34 ford.

I was how ever, stumped on something from the 50's with them, but yes to the fiat and Vauxhall.

Can't think of any USA iron from the 50's or 60's with 'em.
Post by: Rumpig on February 13, 2019, 06:28:13 PM
Kevin
used to see him regularly at the footy, I think he supported Valleys from memory?
Post by: moeite on February 13, 2019, 07:06:57 PM
My only real regret is letting some of the cars slip through my fingers, and maybe a girl or two. :'(

This is bringing back so many good memories that I am getting quite melancholy.

To slide from melancholy to outright depression get on to carsales and have a look at the prices of the cars that you used to own back then. Hillman Superminx convertible, Fiat 850 Sport, Arbath 500, Morris Cooper S, Armstrong Sidley, Alpha 1750 Berlina. Had them all and got rid of them for basically give away prices. To be fair I got them all for giveaway prices too...

And who can forget crank handles.....
Post by: rags on February 13, 2019, 07:46:04 PM
Girls had an appreciation of the bush😀
Post by: Bird on February 13, 2019, 08:04:09 PM
things were made of ... I think it was called STEEL or METAL ???
Post by: rockrat on February 13, 2019, 08:19:12 PM
I used to love going down to Redhead Beach with dad after he got home from work during summer.
Post by: Pottsy on February 13, 2019, 08:23:47 PM
suicide doors?  ???

Might be of interest JC, list of cars with suicide doors, a few yanks amongst them from the 50s and 60s
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_cars_with_non-standard_door_designs

Pottsy
Post by: Troopy_03 on February 14, 2019, 08:54:12 AM
Drive in movies  ;D and being woken up in the back of the XB panel van by the guy wanting to shut the joint up. Could only wind the window down a tad cos the girlfriend (now the mrs) and I were both starkers.  >:D
Post by: Fizzie on February 14, 2019, 09:43:35 AM
Her name wasn't Susie, was it ;D
Post by: Steffo1 on February 14, 2019, 09:56:43 AM
Might be of interest JC, list of cars with suicide doors, a few yanks amongst them from the 50s and 60s
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_cars_with_non-standard_door_designs

Pottsy

Mate had a 2015 I think, Ranger extra cab model and the rear doors were suicides.
Post by: GBC on February 14, 2019, 10:14:02 AM
Kevin

Once he got booted out of the city precinct by the coppers he spent a lot of time around Moorooka and Highgate hill. His car was bought by one of the Hutchinson (builders) brothers and put in their museum I believe? I did my apprenticeship at Moorooka (partly), and every Saturday was pie day - the wood fired pie man at the magic mile. They were the best. I also played colts rugby at Souths in the 80's - coppers caught us doing nude pushups (nude Olympics on mad Monday) on the traffic island on Ipswich road.....we got away with it.
I can remember the smell of the weetbix factory as I write this...
Post by: krisandkev on February 14, 2019, 10:25:14 AM
Once he got booted out of the city precinct by the coppers he spent a lot of time around Moorooka and Highgate hill. His car was bought by one of the Hutchinson (builders) brothers and put in their museum I believe? I did my apprenticeship at Moorooka (partly), and every Saturday was pie day - the wood fired pie man at the magic mile. They were the best. I also played colts rugby at Souths in the 80's - coppers caught us doing nude pushups (nude Olympics on mad Monday) on the traffic island on Ipswich road.....we got away with it.
I can remember the smell of the weetbix factory as I write this...

If you recall the grain solos down beside the railway, I use to sell newspapers there and around the Rocklea pubs. Loved the small lifts in the solos. Would not be allowed on them now with WPH &S.  Had a great paper run at the main shops. Bit different there now. Little Sudan now. Kevin
Post by: GBC on February 14, 2019, 10:36:53 AM
If you recall the grain solos down beside the railway, I use to sell newspapers there and around the Rocklea pubs. Loved the small lifts in the solos. Would not be allowed on them now with WPH &S.  Had a great paper run at the main shops. Bit different there now. Little Sudan now. Kevin

Is that the flour mill silos? still going. The firies are down there a lot with bleach spills etc - a mate is at Rocklea station and lives in Moorooka. We prefer to use the more P.C. term "Moorookadishu" haha. Yes, changed a lot. I built a lot of units around there over the years. We did a block behind Woolies last year and needed fences and dogs to keep anything steel (scaffold etc) from being 'recycled' on the weekends. It was a great old suburb.
Again when I was an apprentice my boss used to drop me at Chardons or the Railway on a Saturday morning with $20 and he'd bugger off doing god knows what (or who)., and tell me to not get pissed because we had to go back to his place later. It worked well and I used to hang around with the old grey ghosts in the public bar and listen to Hector Thompson et al. One week I won the golden stubby (empty stubby with $100 wrapped around it). The whole 'don't get too pissed' thing didn't end so well that day :)
Post by: Chappie on February 14, 2019, 10:51:05 AM
Haven't heard the "Moorookadishu" my kids refer to it as Sudanooka.
Post by: Rumpig on February 14, 2019, 11:22:43 AM
i used to sell papers on the corner of Beaudesert and Granard Rds, also did a run down the back of Archerfield Airport to the wool sheds there and to some printing company on the other side of Ipswich Rd near Oxley Creek...which now just reminded me of the Mirage Waterslide Park that was where Maccas is on the other side of Oxley Creek....but this is all very early 80’s i’m talking about here.
Post by: Pottsy on February 14, 2019, 12:15:22 PM
i used to sell papers on the corner of Beaudesert and Granard Rds, also did a run down the back of Archerfield Airport to the wool sheds there and to some printing company on the other side of Ipswich Rd near Oxley Creek...which now just reminded me of the Mirage Waterslide Park that was where Maccas is on the other side of Oxley Creek....but this is all very early 80’s i’m talking about here.
I used to sell papers on the corner of Anzac Highway and Marion Rd by the pub in the early seventies, dodging traffic at the lights selling to people in their cars and about every half hour do a wander thru the pub, front bar, saloon and lounge. Usually had about 150 papers, from memory I hunk I used to get two cents a paper plus tips, used make a fiver for about two hours work plus a bonus drink or two if the punters were having a good day. Eleven years old and thought I was a media mogul. ;D ;D
Post by: kylarama on February 14, 2019, 01:17:42 PM
Morning paper round. Then the arvo round for the herald. Time permitting, sell some at the intersection.   Started when I was 11.

A few years later promoted to running the train station kiosk.   I made 2 times more taking orders for smokes at school, than what the newsagent paid me.

Post by: Jeepers Creepers on February 14, 2019, 04:29:36 PM
The only people with tattoos was the bikies or sailors mostly.

If ya had a hunk of steel in ya face, it had come off a lathe or a bench grinder.

Only girls wore earrings.

Chicks, birds and the like, was quite acceptable as a description of a female.

My wife got wolf whistled yesterday, and was quite chuffed about it. (rare these days)

We had hims and hers.

The music, well, some was good, some was great and then there was the rest. (no decade is perfect)

Cars had character, you could tell a Ford, a Holden, a Morris, they were easy to distinguish.

Yeah, they were slow, didn't stop, didn't handle.... but f*** me, we loved them.

People had respect (remember that) for each other.

Oh f*** it, i'm buying a Delorean and going back to the sixties.
Just gotta work out, how to jam over 18 and half feet of Cadillac in to one.

Post by: edz on February 14, 2019, 05:39:10 PM
Ya big lug, why try and take a 50 year old lump of steel back to a time when you could buy it brand new .. ;D
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on February 14, 2019, 05:59:38 PM
cause I like this one Magilla
Post by: Bird on February 14, 2019, 06:21:24 PM
Ya big lug, why try and take a 50 year old lump of steel back to a time when you could buy it brand new .. ;D
GOLD!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on February 15, 2019, 02:39:22 AM
Oh go away....  :D

Be my luck, i'd get caught in a vortex and disappear up my own astral plain.
Post by: Craig Tomkinson on February 15, 2019, 08:03:35 AM
I was born it 64, so the 60s do not remember that much but the 70s was orsome camping and fishing at DI every year or fraser or Teewah, hunting with my 22,and later dads 303 and then I bought a 308 at 15 to hunt pigs,  learning to drive around 12, bought my first boat at 15, had 3 months up fraser one year pro fishing with dad and my brother, My mob were not drinkers or smokers and were not religious, the biggest pain in the ass them days was 90 percent of blokes drank and got pissed and did absolutely stupid things like drive into the lagoon and my poor old dad would help them at 2am in the morning,I loved the freedom we had them days when the forestry controlled vast lots of country around home, you just got a free yearly permit and you could go anywhere you wanted to including Fraser and DI, Craig     
Post by: Bird on February 15, 2019, 08:35:22 AM
Quote from: Craig Tomkinson
,  learning to drive around 12,
This lots! I remember dad letting me change gears in the car for ages while he drove - letting me move the cars around at home on the property..
then one day he said you wanna drive home from school - Fark yea! 10klms home on the road... pick up a few mates that were hitching home with a massive Shit eatin grin on me face and the look of disbelief on their faces I was driving...

Kids dont get this chance anymore.
Post by: Troopy_03 on February 15, 2019, 11:12:57 AM
Her name wasn't Susie, was it ;D

Nope, but I'm pretty sure "I saw paradise by the dashboard lights"  >:D
Post by: Troopy_03 on February 15, 2019, 11:23:45 AM
My brother and I used to split an afternoon paper run, and a corner in town (Ipswich) and then sell the Sunday Truth in the pubs on a Saturday Night. The Saturday night was the best. We could go into the pubs even though it was 21yr old drinking age, we were 15 and 16. We used to go into the "Swinger Disco", and that was the first time I'd heard a live band. When the punters got up to dance, we used to sneak a jug of beer off a table and find a quiet corner to split it. One night the bouncer caught us before we got to drink any, and chucked us out. So we checked out the main bar to try sell some more papers, but it was empty, with only the manager behind the bar. We went up to him for a chat and the first thing he said was "What will it be boys?" Thinking he was joking of course, ones of us pipes up with "A whisky thanks mate" He says "I better not give you a whisky" but then poured us a 5oz beer each. Then he said but bloody hurry up, you'll get me locked up.  ;D funny days.
Post by: Craig Tomkinson on February 15, 2019, 12:19:00 PM
Thats for shore Bird,
Post by: edz on February 15, 2019, 12:32:56 PM
[quote ]

learning to drive around 12   

Yep learnt to steer / drive the tractor  and the old Landy  by 8 yro,  and was able to  give dad a break on long drives later on .
When I was 12 yro  I put the wind up him once though, Took over driving just out of Hernani just after midnight,   the old man was dog tired and fell asleep and  only woke up near Pottsville due to a large clap of thunder from the storm we were in, Freaked him out that I'd driven through Grafton , Casino , Lismore ,  Ballina and Brunswick Heads  ..
He was never concerned about me driving after that time .
Post by: gronk on February 15, 2019, 01:53:54 PM
I used to have a friend who was a black fella......and I used to call him a black fella ( and worse ) and he didn't mind one bit....because everything was tongue in cheek back then....before political correctness made everything "offensive" !!

I remember waking up the next morning after being out all night at the local club.....and driving home...and going out to check I actually drove home, and the car was still in one piece !!   :cheers:
Post by: Pottsy on February 15, 2019, 02:45:54 PM
I used to have a friend who was a black fella......and I used to call him a black fella ( and worse ) and he didn't mind one bit....because everything was tongue in cheek back then....before political correctness made everything "offensive" !!

I remember waking up the next morning after being out all night at the local club.....and driving home...and going out to check I actually drove home, and the car was still in one piece !!   :cheers:

I worked with a bloke who was black, we called him mudflap because he was black, flexible and willing to travel. ;D ;D
Post by: Bird on February 15, 2019, 02:47:07 PM
Quote from: gronk

I have a mate whose surname is Cooney.... well you can guess what his nickname has been since 1972 at school - and still is (its what he actually introduces himself as 'call me coon')...
Love to take him to Darwin and yell out his nickname and what beer would you like next :D

Wonder what they would call Dick Van Dyke in a PC world... Penis Peoplecarrier Artificially-Constructed-Wall
Post by: Fizzie on February 17, 2019, 03:42:57 PM
Nope, but I'm pretty sure "I saw paradise by the dashboard lights"  >:D

Ohhh, yeah ;D

(Well, it was a streetlight actually, but close enough ;)

? Mammaries ... ? - Oops, sorry, bit of a typo there :angel: - ? Memories ... ? >:D
Post by: edz on February 18, 2019, 09:59:40 AM
[quote ]
[/quote]

I miss my best mate "  Martian "    When we first met him on a bittlerly cold winters day in a high school class, he had a big thick roll neck green jumper on and someone in the class yelled out "  look its   Marvin the Martian "  [ Him being a black fella ] ..
 R.I.P 40 years ago today .
Post by: duggie on February 18, 2019, 10:38:10 AM
I fell in love with an older woman in 1973 when I was 14 , I still love her today .

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DV-sn2nyvqc (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DV-sn2nyvqc)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R7uoBquY-BA (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R7uoBquY-BA)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YLgGBiY3wxs (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YLgGBiY3wxs)
Post by: GBC on February 18, 2019, 01:44:29 PM
I fell in love with an older woman in 1973 when I was 14 , I still love her today .

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DV-sn2nyvqc (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DV-sn2nyvqc)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R7uoBquY-BA (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R7uoBquY-BA)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YLgGBiY3wxs (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YLgGBiY3wxs)

You missed one!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E-aJ_XnLdM0 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E-aJ_XnLdM0)

First saw her at Bundaberg raceway after watching Kenrick Tucker race at the velodrome - great days. Definitely love at first sight.

and another.....

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SeI42SvFy7Y (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SeI42SvFy7Y)
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on February 18, 2019, 02:03:02 PM
Myself and some mates, would catch the bus to the Valley from Carina.
Then we would walk straight through the Valley and up to Ekka Speedway on a Saturday night.(You'd be mugged or killed these days)

On the odd occasion, we'd prop at the pinball parlor along the way and have a play.
One night, we said, stuff the speedway played the pinnies all night until about 11 or 12 midnight.

The next day, my brother, being the wank that he is, says I didn't see you at the speedway.
What can I say, its a big place, but we were there and we didn't see you either.

Then he started with the ... did ya see the big crash at turn 2.
Nup, must of been getting a hot dog.
What about....
Did you see....
The prick tried it on and on and I wouldn't get drawn in. (Little bit street wise by 13)
He would be itching to say huh, that didn't happen, where were you?

The oldies, when they went to the Gold Coast and the drags were on, would drop toilet brush (Graham) and myself at the front gate.

The old man, was pretty stern, e would say, you be right here at 5pm or else.
We would watch the racing until we had seconds to spare and run like shoplifters to be at the gate on time.

We were always out of breath, often arriving as the old man was pulling up.  ;D

Post by: krisandkev on February 18, 2019, 04:32:24 PM
The speedway, remember racing out after each race to pick up one of the plastic goggles they would rip off when they got dirty. Before they made the fence heigher.  The noise, the smell and getting covered in dirt, brilliant. Not to mention the crashes. Kevin
Post by: Bird on February 18, 2019, 04:36:24 PM
The smell of kindergarden, no not poo, but the way they printed thigns out back then, the stuff they used had a really unique smell to it... almost metho/alcohol smell of some form.

Post by: Jeepers Creepers on February 18, 2019, 04:43:54 PM
Rich family upbringing huh Bird.

No kindergarten for me, straight to grade 1 and so on.
Post by: plusnq on February 18, 2019, 05:24:19 PM
Rich family upbringing huh Bird.

No kindergarten for me, straight to grade 1 and so on.

Grade 1 then off to work eh? 😂😂😂
Post by: Troopy_03 on February 18, 2019, 05:45:17 PM
The smell of kindergarden, no not poo, but the way they printed thigns out back then, the stuff they used had a really unique smell to it... almost metho/alcohol smell of some form.

The old Roneo machine, with the purple print?
Post by: Pottsy on February 18, 2019, 06:13:41 PM
I remember cranking the handle of the old Roneo, pumping out newsletters for the basketball club when I was a kid.
Post by: Bird on February 18, 2019, 06:15:03 PM
that could be it, really pale colour at our school, but then there werent 100's at the place LMAO
Post by: Rumpig on February 18, 2019, 06:27:51 PM
Myself and some mates, would catch the bus to the Valley from Carina.
Then we would walk straight through the Valley and up to Ekka Speedway on a Saturday night.(You'd be mugged or killed these days)
I can recall going to the Ekka to watch the Speedway a few times as a kid...a couple of years ago we were at the Ekka night time show, they wheeled out a few old sprint cars and did a few laps around the track in them, at the end they wound a couple of the cars right up around the track (was great to watch), but it surprised me from a safety point of view, being the lack of high fences there incase one flipped into the air...apparently the following nights they were much more sedate with the speed the laps were done in
Post by: archer63 on February 18, 2019, 06:45:26 PM
A carina boy hey Jeepers....small world hey.
So was I 👍
Post by: edz on February 18, 2019, 09:55:22 PM

Remember all too well standing in a very small / hot room with no ventilation  and passing out to the smell of this stuff in  grade three at Dorrigo Primary school .
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YqZEq9gTbfA (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YqZEq9gTbfA)
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on February 19, 2019, 04:12:22 AM
A carina boy hey Jeepers....small world hey.
So was I 👍

Yeah man.... where in Carina and what age are you?
We were on Stanley road.
Post by: GBC on February 19, 2019, 05:50:04 AM
We were on Stanley road.
We’ve been in camp hill 22 years now. The bloke who built the Stanley rd shops was our neighbour. The butcher there is still worth the drive.
Post by: noel_w on February 19, 2019, 10:20:18 AM
Getting hot bottles of milk at school smoko, if you were lucky you got a chocky one else you got strawberry. Learning to drive the old 7 ton Bedford with split diffs when I was 7 cause you had to and also driving the A554 tractor ploughing paddocks after you got home from school. The Bedford had bucket seats (5 gallon oil drums)  :laugh: :laugh:    No playing about when you grew up on a wheat farm.
Our entertainment was culling roos and pigs at night time with Dad's old ex army .303 and my brothers new Brno .243 running around in the FC ute.
Listening to the radio at night as TV didn't exist. It was a new experience when it came to our area. Channel 9 Tamworth started transmissions 10th April 1965 but we had to erect a 40ft tower to put our antenna on it just to get hazy black and white.
Dealing with Imperial currency  and weights and measures did my head in. 14th February 1966 didn't come fast enough. Can still remember that jingle.
Sitting in the car outside the pub for hours while Dad was inside "conducting business" Every 3 beers he would bring us out a Lemonade. He would then drive home afterwards. God knows how.
The 70's were a new era. Had my first registered car, a Datto 180B that was "warmed" up a bit. Extractors, twin 45DCOE webers and a Momo steering wheel. That old thing used to fly. Installed a Clarion Cassette player in it. Options other than AM radio - so cool. Did a 7.5 hour stint from Sydney to Lismore (average 75MPH), would get locked up for that now.
Sessions at the Bronte Charles most nights, Bondi Lifesavers, Selinas and Maroubra Seals to see live music.
Aaahhhh. Life is so boring now.
Post by: edz on February 19, 2019, 01:03:12 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GtyNLwqljzI (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GtyNLwqljzI)      Dollar Bill  ;D
Post by: archer63 on February 19, 2019, 01:31:06 PM
We were on Stanley road.

Just turned 55 and we lived in Pembroke St, with the park behind our back fence.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on February 19, 2019, 01:52:45 PM
Just turned 55 and we lived in Pembroke St, with the park behind our back fence.

I lived on the corner of Stanley road and Prembroke street. (Recently had units built there)

Let me think, up your way on the same side, there was the Carbines, Mark use to knock around with us for a little while.
Further up the street, was the Bunts... with a B.

If you remember, being 55,you might not, my old man use to be Clem Jones chauffeur and lots of people knew our place by the black cars.

Do you remember when the circus set up in that park.
A mate and I washed elephants with a hose to score a free ticket each.
Post by: Pottsy on February 19, 2019, 03:02:06 PM
I lived on the corner of Stanley road and Prembroke street. (Recently had units built there)

Let me think, up your way on the same side, there was the Carbines, Mark use to knock around with us for a little while.
Further up the street, was the Bunts... with a B.

If you remember, being 55,you might not, my old man use to be Clem Jones chauffeur and lots of people knew our place by the black cars.

Do you remember when the circus set up in that park.
A mate and I washed elephants with a hose to score a free ticket each.

Washing elephants probably gave you your love of big trunks, hence the cadillac ;D ;D
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on February 19, 2019, 03:17:05 PM
It wasn't much of a circus either, some smelly animal, some knob dressed up like a cross between a Nazi SS officer and bus conductor running the show.
Post by: archer63 on February 19, 2019, 06:41:25 PM
Jeepers...I remember as a little kid elephants from the circus coming right up to our back fence.
My dad used to go around the park with a wheelbarrow and pick up their droppings for the garden.

I also used to hang around M.Slack, the carbines, macphillips used to live across the road from me.

If you lived on the corner then my mum used to mind you as a kid sometimes !!

PM on the way 👍
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on February 20, 2019, 02:52:09 AM
Yep, as little kid in the 60's, archer63's Mum would mind me from time to time.  ;D

Hey, what ever became of Mark Carbine?
I can vaguely remember Martin Slack after I saw his name.... did he live at the bottom of the hill on the opposite side to you?

Do you remember, oh geez, not sure if I should admit to this, the time the park went up in flames?
It burnt right up to the houses, yours included.

Ummm, that was me....  :-[

There where piles of dead grass from the mowing and a couple got set alight by some other kids and just burnt themselves out.
So I set one off, the westerly wind kicked up and in seconds, the whole park went up and nearly burnt down a row of houses.

Man oh man, was my arse sorry for that one.
Sitting down was a whole new experience after the ol man got a hold of me.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on February 20, 2019, 02:53:00 AM
We’ve been in camp hill 22 years now. The bloke who built the Stanley rd shops was our neighbour. The butcher there is still worth the drive.

Where in Camp Hill?
Post by: archer63 on February 20, 2019, 05:41:18 AM
Martin became a cop and the last I saw him was in the 80’s in Emerald. No idea about Mark...never heard or seen him since the eighties.

There were fires occasionally but I don’t remember any particular one. I must have a been a good kid....oh ....except for blowing up people’s wooden letter boxes to pieces with combined half dozen double bungers together during cracker night week...oh and maybe a few other things 🤡

Not so strange that you’ve always had a connection to cars I suppose...I just can’t quite get my head around how some Shitboxes from the seventies are now seen as cool... like 180 b’s or those ugly 120 y’s like my cousin had 😳
Post by: GBC on February 20, 2019, 05:46:59 AM
We bought my wife’s grandparent’s little post war 10 square house in Raven st in the 90’s, then we moved to Citrine st (whites hill) in 2003. Still here. Also had a house in Clara st for a few years until the first home owners grants took all the tenants away. The company I work for built the woolies complex on Samuel st in 2003. We had a lot of issues with crap ground and digging piers. One old codger dropped by one day and told us the story of how his dad used to rent boats out on the lake that was there before Clemm Jones drained it to develop the suburb. Everything made more sense after that. Harold st was named after his dad apparently. We like this part of town a lot.
We’ve built a fair few blocks of units in Carina. It’s changing quickly now. One of the reasons we left Raven st was every block was being split. Ours was bought and split too.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on February 20, 2019, 06:01:07 AM
A mate of mine, Graham Kermond lived in Raven street.
About 3/4 of the way down on the right.

Mark Brown lived up the O.C. road end at the base of the hill, also on the right going down.

The area of Camp hill and Carina has changed so much, but stuff me sideways, some wicked fun was had in the day.
Post by: GBC on February 20, 2019, 09:47:41 AM
I just googled them, they were 77 we were 57. Did he ride a motorbike?
Post by: Redback on February 20, 2019, 11:31:47 AM
I know what a friggin suicide door is....  :D I drag raced a 34 ford.

I was how ever, stumped on something from the 50's with them, but yes to the fiat and Vauxhall.

Can't think of any USA iron from the 50's or 60's with 'em.

Lincoln Continental, 4 door Ford Thunderbirds are 2 that come to mind.

One of my memories is buying 45 records from the Shell servo for 5shillings then 50c after the conversion, going down to the fish & chip shop for  sixpence worth of chips and sharing them with your mates, standing outside Farmers electrical store watching TV with no sound, walking a couple of miles to school, walking to your mates place to see if he was home to go and have some fun(make sure you're home for tea, yes mum)slot cars, thick shakes with real icecream in them, pies with god knows in them, going to the drive-in in my purple FC Wagon lying on the mattress in the back with the back door open watching the movie(or not :angel:) buying a 9 gallon keg and going down to Belmont Sth beach for a party, I could go on.
Post by: Pottsy on February 20, 2019, 01:34:52 PM
You know what I really loved about the sixties and half of the seventies, I didn't pay for a thing. :D
Stupidly I got work in 76 at fifteen and the bills started rolling in and haven't stopped since. >:D
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on February 20, 2019, 01:44:00 PM
So what was everyone's first job, seeing pottsy bought it up. (Ya such a pottsy)

I did Caddy work at the golf course from age 12 and pumped petrol from the same age I think.
Post by: edz on February 20, 2019, 02:35:26 PM
First real job out of school was Boat building, 44 hrs a week and $64.10 in the pay packet.  ;D
First $1 ever earned at a  job was,  age 5 > 6 picking up buckets of chat potatoes after the pickers had been up the rows .
Odd jobs during the High school years were in a bakery making pies,  off siding with a courier truck driver and fencing work .
Post by: Pottsy on February 20, 2019, 03:14:45 PM
Age 12 selling papers on the weekend, age 14 school holidays as a truck jock on a timber delivery truck, age 15 1st full time job as a cabinetmakers apprentice, what a shock, 52 hour week with overtime, 8 hrs mon, we'd, fri, 12 hrs tue, thus and 4 hrs sat.
I reckon when I retired I was doing about 50 -55 hrs a week as Sales Manager for Irwin Tools (Newell Brands)
Hate to think how many hours worked, how many nights away from home, how many kilometres travelled. I tried to remember all the company cars I had the other night and gave up, got confused trying to work it out in my head. What a Pottsy!
Post by: Bird on February 20, 2019, 03:49:45 PM
its amazing the things that have gone, the milko coming round - glass bottles, paperboys - hating that initial 5 minutes in the rain!... the bread delivery, etc ... many more...

All jobs most of us had at sometime, all ****ed due to minimum wages bullShit and gettin to dangerous for kids to be out and about like that these day
Post by: archer63 on February 20, 2019, 04:03:45 PM
Hungry Jacks for 3 weeks at 15, picture framing place for a few months...then starting working for the great devil Qhealth at 16.5 for 38 years.
Post by: Onion on February 20, 2019, 06:04:20 PM
Me in the 70s and early 80s was crushing aluminium cans, paper boy, letterbox pamphlet delivery. Later in the 80s I was pumping petrol.

Then the first real job. Qantek (Qantas IT). Moved back to Sydney and was doing 4x 12 hour shifts (7am -> 7pm 2x days, then 7pm -> 7am 2 days). Four days on, four days off. Didn't those hours put a major hole in an 18 years olds social life!!!

I remember at the end of primary school (early 80s), if you could manage to spend $1 for little + big lunch, you didn't need dinner :-)
Post by: rockrat on February 20, 2019, 06:34:38 PM
Self employed from around 12yo.... collecting golf balls from the dams at the local golf course and selling them back to the golfers.

First “real” job was as a trainee engineer straight out of school, earning about $160/week.  Now that’s over 30 years ago so $160 bought a lot of  :cheers:, petrol and occasional “donation” to  :police:
Post by: GBC on February 20, 2019, 07:55:56 PM
Odd jobs on the cane farm up the road in primary school. Mainly feeding the irrigator. The farmer would move the old southern cross irrigator, run out the cable and set up the star pickets. Our job was to drive the old Commer truck around the farm and find it then run the irrigation pipes back to the tractor at the dam, then fire up the tractor and bugger off to school. The fun part of the comer was it had no floor pan or seat so you sat on a bit of metal and tried not to fall through the floor.
Post by: rags on February 20, 2019, 08:35:45 PM
1st payed job while at school was helping old man as a plumbers labourer in holidays etc and when in yr 10 I got a job wearing a white coat at Leichhardt Oval working at the ground each Wednesday night during the rugby league Amco Cup not doing much at all.
After school in 1981  I got a Plumbing apprenticeship with Public Works, great training back then.
Still in the industry some 38 years later although the tools are now packed away.
Post by: edz on February 21, 2019, 06:58:08 AM
This one could go in a few threads.. All this talk and Hype over Cyclone OMA  going to do this and that ......
 Its time I  reckon,  We need another Cherry Venture type grounding event on  Teewah   [ Highly unlikely due to the lack of shipping traffic these days though  ] https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nFagW_RTb_U (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nFagW_RTb_U)   ...      https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a3odV6wLMmY (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a3odV6wLMmY)  ....  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RTeb2_tHL0k (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RTeb2_tHL0k)      so the next generations can make memories of trips to the wreck .    ;D ;D
Post by: Redback on February 21, 2019, 07:17:40 AM
My first job was door to door sales for Sharp Bros Soft drinks, I was 14yrs old, I wasn't very good at it, started doing a paper run until I left school, did a couple of part time jobs(brickies labourer) good money too for 1971 $65 a week better than my next job as a delivery boy for Stewart & Lloyds in Newcastle(Tubemakers) $17.90 a week, when I left to do an apprenticeship as a painter I was getting $38, then moved to Wollongong to work on the railways in Port Kembla.
Post by: Hewy54 on February 21, 2019, 07:41:58 AM
First job was pumping petrol for 87c per hour when petrol was 35c a gallon.
Tried ceiling installation, spot welder at Holdens, spare parts salesman, fruit picking and swimming pool lifeguard.

People told me I had a few brains so decided to go to uni but money was tight. Took a teaching scholarship as that was the only way to get uni fees paid and thought I would be a teacher until I decided what I wanted to do.
After 40 years of teaching finally found what I really wanted to do - be retired.
Post by: Bobsan on February 21, 2019, 08:02:45 AM
My first job was as a apprentice in 1967 earning $16.93 per week paying $10 board per week and a long neck of beer of Melbourne bitter was 38 cents a bottle.
Post by: doc evil on February 21, 2019, 08:58:47 AM
its amazing the things that have gone, the milko coming round - glass bottles, paperboys - hating that initial 5 minutes in the rain!... the bread delivery, etc ... many more...

All jobs most of us had at sometime, all ****ed due to minimum wages bullShit and gettin to dangerous for kids to be out and about like that these day

the milko used to have a horse drawn dray, this was the early '70s and innerish suburbs of Melbourne (Carnegie/Murrumbeena).
Had the arvo papers stitched up, sellin em to the workers of WD&HO Wills (ciggie manufactures, made a motza selling the bootleg smokes I got from some of the workers at Oakleigh Tech and Murrumbeena High) and Paton's brakes (later Repco), morning papers on North Rd at the traffic lights after the paper round.

Not a care in the world back then.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on February 21, 2019, 10:11:35 AM
Martin became a cop and the last I saw him was in the 80’s in Emerald. No idea about Mark...never heard or seen him since the eighties.

There were fires occasionally but I don’t remember any particular one. I must have a been a good kid....oh ....except for blowing up people’s wooden letter boxes to pieces with combined half dozen double bungers together during cracker night week...oh and maybe a few other things 🤡

Not so strange that you’ve always had a connection to cars I suppose...I just can’t quite get my head around how some Shitboxes from the seventies are now seen as cool... like 180 b’s or those ugly 120 y’s like my cousin had 😳

Now, you've got me thinking and I may be wrong, BUT......

Did your parents have a salmon (pink) with a white roof, EK Holden wagon?
Post by: macca on February 21, 2019, 10:44:30 AM
I remember the milkman with the horse and cart, the horse would walk down the road and the milkman would be running from the cart to a house back to the cart and do on, was amazed how the horse used to know what corners to turn by itself, OHS would havea ball with that now, loved waking up to the clip clop of the horses hooves.
My first job was riding around all the chemists in Wangaratta after school and collecting the rolls of film and taking them to the lady who developed them, she would give me leather satchels with the developed photos to take back to the chemists .
The first year of my apprenticeship I was taking home $17.60 a week and thought I was king of the world

Post by: Jeepers Creepers on February 21, 2019, 10:54:23 AM

waking up to the clip clop of the horses hooves.

That would have a whole new meaning these days....  ;D

The ol man, always reckoned that Johnny Farhnam was a Horses Hoof. 
Post by: archer63 on February 21, 2019, 11:59:49 AM
Spot on JP....he did have an old EK wagon and I think is was originally salmon with a white roof....but I still remember he handed painted it blue with a paint brush.

My older brother used to have an FC that he used to hoon around the park in as well as a few old triumph motor bikes etc.

Post by: Jeepers Creepers on February 21, 2019, 12:48:42 PM
Post by: Champin on February 21, 2019, 01:04:21 PM
Remember the Newcastle song? What was that? The mid to late 70s?

Post by: archer63 on February 21, 2019, 01:44:49 PM
Yeah..think around 75 or 76.

Still got that I think on one of our records....and local radio played it just the other day.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on February 21, 2019, 02:07:29 PM
if Buddy Holly, Richie Valens and the Big Boppa hadn't been killed in 59, I wonder what affect it would had on the music of the 60's.

Probably more so Buddy, that was someone who was destined to go on to greater things, or so it have appeared, until late one night in early feb. 59.
Post by: doc evil on February 21, 2019, 02:31:03 PM
Remember the Newcastle song? What was that? The mid to late 70s?

This one...……... ;D

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yZSSYqHYjxY (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yZSSYqHYjxY)

And of course this one...……

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ITqh-Tzs3QM (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ITqh-Tzs3QM)

:cup: :cup: :cup:
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on February 21, 2019, 04:04:55 PM
one of the best songs of the sixties....

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xTeI65yrhGw (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xTeI65yrhGw)
Post by: edz on February 21, 2019, 06:52:56 PM
The way it was, not a care other than a car,  sheila's and mates https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AjthQl-L_RY (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AjthQl-L_RY)   ;D ;D
Post by: Metters on February 21, 2019, 09:30:10 PM
My memories of the 60s and 70s started at the age of fifteen but I can go back to the early 50s.  There was no TV then so family entertainment came via a valve radio, a piano, a pianola and a wind up gramaphone.  Us kids loved the radio serials like Biggles and Smokey Dawson but if we were still awake a few hours later we had to put up with our parents listening to Blue Hills and When a Girl Married.

I remember a couple of radio songs about dogs back then.  We had "How much is that doggie in the window" in the early 50s.  That was followed a few years later by "Hound Dog".  That song, plus a few more from the boy from Tupelo and his mates, left us in a frenzy and the adults looking like stunned mullets.   

The roads were saturated with English sports cars and monster chrome plated lounge rooms with huge tail fins from America.  I drove a few of them in the 60s and thought they were ok providing you did not want to stop them quickly or go around a corner.

The sixties brought the Sydney Showground Speedway on Saturday nights in summer and Westmead Showground on Sunday afternoons in winter.  I was one of a group of about twelve boys and girls that rarely missed a meeting.  We loved the smell of the bike exhaust fumes and all of us boys were sorry they did not make women's perfume that smelt like that.  We would have bought it by the gallon for our girl friends. 

The cars were always a battle between the Holdens and the American Offenhausers wiith around 25 to 30 thousand people screaming their heads off.

This DVD shows a little of it.   I was in the stand directly above the firey crash that night https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MDKD6HugS8w (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MDKD6HugS8w)  I also saw the incredable match race between Cunneen and Sherman from the US.

There was no alcohol or drugs in our group and Sunday was another day to get out and enjoy, not a day to recover from Saturday night.

Unfortunately the 60s brought the end of real Rock n Roll.   
Post by: Metters on February 21, 2019, 09:34:22 PM
xxxxxxxxx
Post by: edz on February 21, 2019, 09:42:55 PM
Ahh the radio programs before TV .. The "  Yes What " radio series with Green bottle and the gang were my call for bed time, that played on our local  station .
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Uha34VAmZCY (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Uha34VAmZCY)
Post by: Metters on February 21, 2019, 10:15:30 PM
Ahh the radio programs before TV .. The "  Yes What " radio series with Green bottle and the gang were my call for bed time, that played on our local  station .
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Uha34VAmZCY (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Uha34VAmZCY)

How could you ever forget them?  They were priceless. 

The 60s gave us the Three Stooges on TV.  Unfortunately they were banned from Sydney TV in about '68 because too many kids were playing Stooges and hitting each other on the head with hammers. 
Post by: bkim on February 22, 2019, 01:16:00 AM
My first job was as a apprentice in 1967 earning $16.93 per week paying $10 board per week and a long neck of beer of Melbourne bitter was 38 cents a bottle.

You were overpaid! 1st year plumbing apprentice in NQ was 9 pound a fortnight in 66 and went to $19 something a fortnight when decimal currency came in and paid $12 in board!, old commonwealth Dept of works paid fortnightly in cash either in the depot or anywhere the pay vehicle could get to  your worksite in the town area.

used to have an armed plain clothes cop and the paymaster was also armed, wouldn't happen nowadays
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on February 22, 2019, 04:37:53 AM
Camping and cars in, going by the models, 1960.

https://www.hemmings.com/r/ct/Njg1MTI5Ojg2ODAxNTQxOit6eGxEUEJNdUNn/www/blog/2019/02/20/mooloolaba-queensland-1960s/?refer=news (https://www.hemmings.com/r/ct/Njg1MTI5Ojg2ODAxNTQxOit6eGxEUEJNdUNn/www/blog/2019/02/20/mooloolaba-queensland-1960s/?refer=news)
Post by: krisandkev on February 22, 2019, 06:09:39 AM
How many made their own radio?  Remember the crystal radios?  Made from bits and pieces, long wire going outside for antenna and ear phones. No batteries required. Kevin
Post by: Bird on February 22, 2019, 08:51:06 AM
these guys were out there in 60's! didnt think much of the show guess i wasnt on the right pills at the time

https://www.theage.com.au/entertainment/music/peter-tork-monkees-lovable-bass-player-dead-at-77-20190222-p50zhq.html (https://www.theage.com.au/entertainment/music/peter-tork-monkees-lovable-bass-player-dead-at-77-20190222-p50zhq.html)
(https://www.thoughtco.com/thmb/6jUfbFyUdtRBtRu3t1_EHtq8MH4=/768x0/filters:no_upscale():max_bytes(150000):strip_icc():format(webp)/themonkees-56a95ba03df78cf772a62af7.jpg)
Post by: stephenh1235 on February 22, 2019, 10:19:04 AM
How many made their own radio?  Remember the crystal radios?  Made from bits and pieces, long wire going outside for antenna and ear phones. No batteries required. Kevin

Yep did this one, but totally forgotten about it ! My father in his working day was a radio tech , he also taught us to make & wind our own electric motors.
Post by: Troopy_03 on February 22, 2019, 10:27:27 AM
Spot on JP....he did have an old EK wagon and I think is was originally salmon Cameo Beige with a white roof....but I still remember he handed painted it blue with a paint brush.

My older brother used to have an FC that he used to hoon around the park in as well as a few old triumph motor bikes etc.

But yeah, it was a salmony colour....  ;D
Post by: Troopy_03 on February 22, 2019, 10:29:32 AM
these guys were out there in 60's! didnt think much of the show guess i wasnt on the right pills at the time

https://www.theage.com.au/entertainment/music/peter-tork-monkees-lovable-bass-player-dead-at-77-20190222-p50zhq.html (https://www.theage.com.au/entertainment/music/peter-tork-monkees-lovable-bass-player-dead-at-77-20190222-p50zhq.html)
(https://www.thoughtco.com/thmb/6jUfbFyUdtRBtRu3t1_EHtq8MH4=/768x0/filters:no_upscale():max_bytes(150000):strip_icc():format(webp)/themonkees-56a95ba03df78cf772a62af7.jpg)

I used to like The Banana Splits more LOL.
Post by: Bird on February 22, 2019, 10:39:38 AM
na, Sigmund...
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bfWPZ6vT1-k (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bfWPZ6vT1-k)
Post by: Troopy_03 on February 22, 2019, 11:01:16 AM
na, Sigmund...
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bfWPZ6vT1-k (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bfWPZ6vT1-k)

H.R. Puffenstuff... LOL
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on February 22, 2019, 11:41:16 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tL3l0ZEoKIg (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tL3l0ZEoKIg)
Post by: Bird on February 22, 2019, 11:48:01 AM
Quote from: Troopy_03
H.R. Puffenstuff... LOL

Dougal and the Magic Roundabout
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fcnKvqDMnKU (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fcnKvqDMnKU)
Post by: Foo on February 22, 2019, 05:04:04 PM
How could you ever forget them?  They were priceless. 

The 60s gave us the Three Stooges on TV.  Unfortunately they were banned from Sydney TV in about '68 because too many kids were playing Stooges and hitting each other on the head with hammers.

Arh Green Bottle n The Three Stooges, how good were these shows?  :cup:

Post by: Bird on February 23, 2019, 08:47:14 AM
Crawford Productions
https://youtu.be/Ri9Irsljhyk (https://youtu.be/Ri9Irsljhyk)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I0HpC3Q8hTs&t=4s (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I0HpC3Q8hTs&t=4s)

comedy that was actually funny.... unlike Shitcoms
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tlADJpNtS_s (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tlADJpNtS_s)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kx_G2a2hL6U (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kx_G2a2hL6U)

Fawlty Towers!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eUUyCjeTV7Y (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eUUyCjeTV7Y)

The Blues Bros
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9GnG7R93hfw (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9GnG7R93hfw)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JzzE6XLbC8M (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JzzE6XLbC8M)
Post by: edz on February 23, 2019, 09:11:44 AM
Yep #96 / The Box / Matlock police / The Sulivans / Solo one / Boney / F-Troop / Lost in Space / Spyforce / colditz / Catweasle / Dr who /  the beach combers /  The Rovers / Bellbird / on the busses / step toe and son and so many more
Post by: Bird on February 23, 2019, 09:26:53 AM
Yep #96 / The Box / Matlock police / The Sulivans / Solo one / Boney / F-Troop / Lost in Space / Spyforce / colditz / Catweasle / Dr who /  the beach combers /  The Rovers / Bellbird / on the busses / step toe and son and so many more
I looked up Crawford Productions to see what was available.. **** me, they certainly know how to clear the national debt!
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on February 23, 2019, 10:27:40 AM
The 60's and 70's, when items in the rear view mirror were where they appeared to be.
Post by: edz on February 23, 2019, 11:44:29 AM
Alvin Purple movies  and the TV shows ..   https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p4uXLA5A9qw (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p4uXLA5A9qw)   ...  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZTKYm_bF4JA (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZTKYm_bF4JA)    ;D
Post by: Redback on February 23, 2019, 02:53:34 PM
For me it was "The Magic Boomerang" Adventures of the Seaspray, Mr Squiggle, Aunty Jack, Bellbird and so on
Post by: Pottsy on February 23, 2019, 02:59:13 PM
Delvene Delaney, strops missus >:D
Post by: Steffo1 on February 23, 2019, 04:39:18 PM

In the early 70's I would catch the same Caboolture to Brissie train as Delvene. She was not only pleasing to the eye but an extremely nice, down to earth person.
Post by: Pottsy on February 23, 2019, 04:46:50 PM
In the early 70's I would catch the same Caboolture to Brissie train as Delvene. She was not only pleasing to the eye but an extremely nice, down to earth person.
Yep, she'd please a glass eye!
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on February 24, 2019, 03:59:23 AM
A mate of mine saw her recently, still a good looker he reckoned.
Post by: stephenh1235 on February 24, 2019, 07:53:02 AM
Early 70's my first car was a Morris Minor 1000,  push button ignition start, & if a flat battery wouldn't give her a start, out came the crank handle ( did get some cracked knuckles until I learnt)
Post by: speewa158 on February 24, 2019, 08:30:49 AM

& now it   " The Dilly Sisters   "            8) 8)
Post by: speewa158 on February 24, 2019, 08:32:13 AM
       :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:
Post by: Metters on February 24, 2019, 10:52:36 PM
Early 70's my first car was a Morris Minor 1000,  push button ignition start, & if a flat battery wouldn't give her a start, out came the crank handle ( did get some cracked knuckles until I learnt)

There was no shortage of them on the roads from the 50s on to about the early 80s.  I occasionally say a hot low light Morrie in the car park at the North Sydney Technical College in the early 60s.  Its engine was a screaming hot Peugeot.  There was story in one of the magazines after it clocked 118 miles per hour on a flying 1/8 of a mile run on the old Castlereagh airstrip in western Sydney a couple of years before it became a drag strip.

Then there was the Goggomobile sedan with its supercharged Goliath flat four mounted where the back seat used to be.  It ran 14 1/5 second quarter mile times at Castlereagh and I saw it a few times at Hornsby with the owner's wife doing the shopping in it.

The 50s and 60s were a great time for fibreglass sports car bodies with the Buckle coupe being on of the best.  http://www.bucklecoupe.com.au/BuckleMotors01.htm (http://www.bucklecoupe.com.au/BuckleMotors01.htm)  The Milano GT was not bad either along with the Bolwell.  http://www.bolwellcarclubnsw.com/page23.htm (http://www.bolwellcarclubnsw.com/page23.htm)
Post by: edz on February 24, 2019, 11:29:24 PM
A mate had a 48 Moggy  low light two door fitted up with a heavily worked Cooper S motor mounted North South taken out to 1375 cc running a side draught Weber sucking  Avgas  / Datto 1200 4 speed and diff .. Was a scary ride at well over a 100 mph . But smelled and sounded great due to the Avgas .
Post by: Bird on February 25, 2019, 09:10:34 AM
A mate of mine saw her recently, still a good looker he reckoned.
Gee, you'd never recognise strop!
https://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/entertainment/sydney-confidential/stars-hit-the-red-carpet-for-winter-wonderland-snow-ball-raising-funds-for-cancer-research-and-awareness/news-story/c0e9fcc64fa949f89baac767d72a9009 (https://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/entertainment/sydney-confidential/stars-hit-the-red-carpet-for-winter-wonderland-snow-ball-raising-funds-for-cancer-research-and-awareness/news-story/c0e9fcc64fa949f89baac767d72a9009)
https://www.northernstar.com.au/news/cornell-delaney-sell-up-byron-properties/1655614/ (https://www.northernstar.com.au/news/cornell-delaney-sell-up-byron-properties/1655614/)
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on March 08, 2019, 01:45:12 PM
Love the speech form 1966. its like... fully sic...oh my gawd

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EpfFBzzST24 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EpfFBzzST24)
Post by: macca on March 09, 2019, 09:41:33 PM
Post by: Bird on March 13, 2019, 02:14:52 PM
Spud Guns LMAO!

One of our mates who was badly hooked on hammer tried to hold up Elouera Shops with a spud gun.. might have worked if he didnt have teh potato in his other hand... got laughed out of the shop.
(https://images-na.ssl-images-amazon.com/images/I/91H9Yb6ZFQL._SY355_.jpg)
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on March 15, 2019, 01:59:55 PM
everything that was cool and hip during the 60's and 70's, was quickly corrected in the 80's.

Oh dear....  ???

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NW7VnHnX3LQ (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NW7VnHnX3LQ)
Post by: Spada on March 15, 2019, 04:32:10 PM
Remember when every traveler (they weren't called tourists back then) had one of these ?

Post by: macca on March 15, 2019, 04:56:08 PM
Remember when every traveler (they weren't called tourists back then) had one of these ?
My old man always had one of them bolted to the front of the car, the EH wagon and HR are two I can remember

Post by: Bird on March 15, 2019, 04:58:04 PM
My old man always had one of them bolted to the front of the car, the EH wagon and HR are two I can remember

Yep had one on the front of the Kombi too
Post by: Fizzie on March 15, 2019, 05:04:39 PM

Yep, & the wire covers over the headlights as well!
Post by: KingBilly on March 15, 2019, 05:11:35 PM
Still buy them

https://www.amazon.com/Headlight-Cover-Black-Halogen-Stone/dp/B01A9RYYCS (https://www.amazon.com/Headlight-Cover-Black-Halogen-Stone/dp/B01A9RYYCS)

Post by: Spada on March 15, 2019, 05:19:41 PM
Yep, & the wire covers over the headlights as well!

and you weren't a real traveler unless you had a sun visor and a stone protector for your windscreen
Post by: Kangaron on March 15, 2019, 05:37:10 PM
I still have / use one.

Sent from my Moto G (4) using Tapatalk

Post by: speewa158 on March 17, 2019, 06:41:46 AM
Could be a new line for Sara Canvas  ??? ???                   :cheers:
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on April 02, 2019, 04:51:05 AM
It will be 50 years ago on the 13th of this month since the Brisbane trams stopped running.

I was 9 at the time, but remembered the trams well.....

Anyone remember the tram depot opposite the P A Hospital on Ipswich road?
Or the Crown Stoves factory on Logan road at Holland park? 
Post by: archer63 on April 02, 2019, 08:14:47 AM
Yep, sure do.
Still remember catching the tram from the Carina shops to school and Stones Corner.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on April 02, 2019, 08:20:16 AM

50 years ago yesterday, since the Carina bus depot opened too.
Post by: Rumpig on April 02, 2019, 11:22:40 AM
It will be 50 years ago on the 13th of this month since the Brisbane trams stopped running.

I was 9 at the time, but remembered the trams well.....

Anyone remember the tram depot opposite the P A Hospital on Ipswich road?
well before my time that one old fella ;D
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on April 02, 2019, 01:00:09 PM
Really.....  ???

They've been pretty hard years... hey Rummy.
Post by: Redback on April 02, 2019, 01:19:58 PM
Speaking of trams, when I joined Sydney Buses back 1977, a lot of the old tram drivers and conductors where still on the job as Bus Drivers and conductors, the meal room was a very interesting place, with the old Tram Conductors in one corner old trams drivers in another and Bus drivers and bus conductors using the other two corners and they did not like the new bus driver/conductor blow ins, it was a silent bus if you got a shift with an old tram driver or conductor ;D
Post by: GBC on April 02, 2019, 01:41:25 PM

50 years ago yesterday, since the Carina bus depot opened too.

Mate of mine's mrs has run that place for the last 10 years.

My managing director's family had the caravan park just up creek Rd from there too.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on April 02, 2019, 03:40:22 PM
Long gone now.....
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on April 02, 2019, 04:28:47 PM
well before my time that one old fella ;D

Hey Mal.... this one is for you.

Would be lucky to find one car with air cond is this clip.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_v-cq7HK4kU (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_v-cq7HK4kU)
Post by: rags on April 02, 2019, 07:21:03 PM
Speaking of trams, when I joined Sydney Buses back 1977, a lot of the old tram drivers and conductors where still on the job as Bus Drivers and conductors, the meal room was a very interesting place, with the old Tram Conductors in one corner old trams drivers in another and Bus drivers and bus conductors using the other two corners and they did not like the new bus driver/conductor blow ins, it was a silent bus if you got a shift with an old tram driver or conductor ;D

Sounds a bit like what QRail is like these days, the existing drivers and guards will put barriers up to stop new staff joining and training, but that is a union sanctioned outcome endorsed by the labour government.
Post by: Rumpig on April 02, 2019, 07:23:10 PM
Really.....  ???

They've been pretty hard years... hey Rummy.
sadly yep....lol
Post by: bkim on April 03, 2019, 12:26:35 AM

My Grandparents lived a little bit further up the road (Sackeral St or similar?)  beside Crown Stoves from the late thirties till 1961, My grandfather was gassed in world war 1 and worked as a tram conductor for most of his life after returning home as he only had half of one lung functional and couldn't do heavy work, so the council retrained him as a conductor.

Used to love going done there as a kid in the early fifties, he used to take me all over the place to all the points the trams ran too, as he had a free pass
Post by: #jonesy on April 03, 2019, 05:14:35 AM
"Wonderful World of Disney"
Saw part of the opening credits the other night on TV. Not sure why it was on but instant flashback to being a kid and watching a Disney movie on Sunday nights with the family.
Post by: GBC on April 03, 2019, 06:10:56 AM
My Grandparents lived a little bit further up the road (Sackeral St or similar?)  beside Crown Stoves from the late thirties till 1961, My grandfather was gassed in world war 1 and worked as a tram conductor for most of his life after returning home as he only had half of one lung functional and couldn't do heavy work, so the council retrained him as a conductor.

Used to love going done there as a kid in the early fifties, he used to take me all over the place to all the points the trams ran too, as he had a free pass

Sackville st? I worked at gourmet pizza Greenslopes in the 90’s so I got to remember lots of unimportant things like street names as a delivery driver.
Post by: Fizzie on April 03, 2019, 08:07:54 AM
and watching a Disney movie on Sunday nights with the family.

Yep, 6.30 was a family movie then an adult movie at 8.30 when the kids went to bed.
Post by: Spada on April 03, 2019, 10:01:07 AM
Yep, 6.30 was a family movie then an adult movie at 8.30.

and the tv shows actually started and ended on time, the same movie now would take an extra hour to watch because of all the extra ad's, and would still start and end later than the advertised times.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on April 03, 2019, 10:22:28 AM
I wonder how many could remember the Gabba dental place above the fire station.

Shit, they weren't too concerned about a bit of hurt doing ya teeth.

Across from the there was the big Gabba cop shop. (Friggin rabbit warren it was in there too)
Post by: krisandkev on April 03, 2019, 11:05:35 AM
Speaking of the Gabba, how many remember when the trains would cross and someone walked in front waving a warning flag, or what about the police post in the middle of the 5 ways. Kevin
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on April 03, 2019, 12:30:34 PM
Here ya go Kev.....

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nRDbFryPWY4 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nRDbFryPWY4)
Post by: Redback on April 03, 2019, 01:17:08 PM
For those in Sydney that remember the trams, platforms 1 & 2 at Wynyard and Town Hall and the tunnels are still there, it's why the train platforms at Wynyard and Town Hall start at 3, the 2 lanes on the left of the Harbour Bridge(now are part of the Cahill Expressway) were tram lines, the tracks are still there apparently, just covered over.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on April 03, 2019, 02:53:17 PM
This a ripper clip on the Paddington Tram Depot Fire from 1962. (I was 18 months old when I happened)  ;D

you'd never know it was there these days.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1MUxj8Hx3dM (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1MUxj8Hx3dM)
Post by: Beachman on April 03, 2019, 03:01:29 PM
While on the subject of the Gabba, who remembers sitting on the hill watching the cricket drinking heavy beer and young ladies walking past (Presume they were hired from a local brothel up the road) and giving the hill a flash?
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on April 03, 2019, 03:13:47 PM
geez, wasn't there some knock shops around the area....

Sally's House of Pain and Pleasure.
Eat me.. Beat me... Fuk me.... Suck me... this is Sharon, how can I help.
Post by: Kangaron on April 03, 2019, 03:23:38 PM
Have a gander at the NFSA channel, some good vintage stuff in there.
https://www.youtube.com/user/FILMAUSTRALIA (https://www.youtube.com/user/FILMAUSTRALIA)
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on April 03, 2019, 03:23:47 PM
I tell ya what, these days, the word hero gets used for just about anything and everything.

I'm not sure if I remember this or not... I was 9 and for some reason, i think i can remember it, but i'm not sure.

True hero's in my book.  :cup:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oBWtGJJZqSc (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oBWtGJJZqSc)
Post by: Bird on April 03, 2019, 03:45:16 PM
Have a gander at the NFSA channel, some good vintage stuff in there.
https://www.youtube.com/user/FILMAUSTRALIA (https://www.youtube.com/user/FILMAUSTRALIA)
like this LMAO!!!!!!!!

1 car for every 6 people.... LMAO!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rhmZP8iuZUg (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rhmZP8iuZUg)
Post by: edz on April 03, 2019, 03:54:52 PM
I tell ya what, these days, the word hero gets used for just about anything and everything.

I'm not sure if I remember this or not... I was 9 and for some reason, i think i can remember it, but i'm not sure.

True hero's in my book.  :cup:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oBWtGJJZqSc (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oBWtGJJZqSc)

Real men Hooking in / Using their Nous / adapting on the move and doing what ever it took to get the job done ..   :cup:
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on April 03, 2019, 04:06:30 PM
Good to see the pushbike riders were treated fairly...  :cheers:

Pity about the FJ at the end.
Post by: GBC on April 03, 2019, 08:12:36 PM
While on the subject of the Gabba, who remembers sitting on the hill watching the cricket drinking heavy beer and young ladies walking past (Presume they were hired from a local brothel up the road) and giving the hill a flash?
One of the last big old school matches I went to was the Allan Border Testimonial. The old Gabba pub opened at 0700 and we were in it. On the hill hurling roast chooks into the members stand and holding one of the backpack keg guys on the hill so we had non stop beers. Then Vautin took the screamer in front of the hill. Great day out.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on April 04, 2019, 06:27:40 AM
I really miss, some of the things you could say in jest too..... and were funny as hell.

Now, ya just get a bunch of wowsers getting offended with every second word.

Ha, back when you buy a packet of fags, gollywog biscuits, choco babies as opposed to jelly babies.

At least back then, if ya told someone you just had Gaytime and had bit of ice cream still on ya lips, they knew you were just a messy eater.

Post by: Bird on April 04, 2019, 08:36:19 AM
Quote from: Jeepers Creepers
I really miss, some of the things you could say in jest too..... and were funny as hell.

THIS LOTS!!!!

(https://images7.memedroid.com/images/UPLOADED107/563ad16c41680.jpeg)
Post by: Fizzie on April 04, 2019, 08:51:36 AM
Speaking of the Gabba, how many remember when the trains would cross and someone walked in front waving a warning flag,

Yep, remember my Granddad taking us up for the day just to watch :D

Here ya go Kev.....

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nRDbFryPWY4 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nRDbFryPWY4)

They said about going through the tunnel to the Wharf (Skippy Point ???). Where would the tunnel have run & what happened to it ???
Post by: Troopy_03 on April 04, 2019, 09:02:40 AM

Now, ya just get a bunch of wowsers getting offended with every second word.

Ha, back when you buy a packet of fags, gollywog biscuits, choco babies as opposed to jelly babies.

At least back then, if ya told someone you just had Gaytime and had bit of ice cream still on ya lips, they knew you were just a messy eater.

I remember the days when, if someone did say something utterly obnoxious and offensive you could bust them in the mouth, without the likelyhood of being sued or spending time in gaol for it.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on April 04, 2019, 01:31:58 PM

They said about going through the tunnel to the Wharf (Skippy Point ???). Where would the tunnel have run & what happened to it ???

It would have gone under Vulture street coming from the Gabba rail yards and the freeway took it out when that was built.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on April 08, 2019, 08:05:14 AM
A cool shot for out North Queenslanders.

https://scontent.fbne6-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/26169132_181717822573188_1777885606593775999_n.jpg?_nc_cat=105&_nc_ht=scontent.fbne6-1.fna&oh=145136c066543294e2213a7d7cecf471&oe=5D382BFB

https://scontent.fbne6-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/26169718_181717239239913_995111432652965263_n.jpg?_nc_cat=101&_nc_ht=scontent.fbne6-1.fna&oh=14e499c3f0c43402e6fc670015c837af&oe=5D3F1C7F

My step brother Ray, is the driver.  :cup: Yeah, I know it was in 1989.  :D
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on April 10, 2019, 05:32:34 AM
Anyone remember the smell from the Weet Bix/Vita Brits factory near the Gabba.

It was near the Wellington road, Logan road, Balaclava street intersection.
Be buggered if I can place exactly where it was though.
Post by: GBC on April 10, 2019, 06:44:23 AM

In my time (80’s) it was at Gow st Moorooka?
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on April 10, 2019, 07:02:03 AM
Only a young fella huh.

I'm thinking hard on this, it might have been on the corner of Nile street and Wellington road... would've been classed as East Brisbane I think
Post by: Fizzie on April 10, 2019, 07:07:39 AM

Yep, remember it whenever we came int town along Logan Rd.

Like you though, buggered if I know where it actually was ???
Post by: doc evil on April 10, 2019, 08:36:10 AM
Think this thread needs to be named.......

The 60's and 70's what a great time...............in Brisbane........... ::) ;D ;D :P
Post by: Troopy_03 on April 10, 2019, 10:10:57 AM
Who remembers when you couldn't legally buy a beer in Queensland till you were 21. I'd been in the RAAF nearly 2 years, got posted to Amberley, walked into a pub in Brisbane and got refused service because I was under age.. Luckily my younger brother could pass muster, and used to buy the beers  ;D  Then they made the legal age 18 a couple of months later.
Post by: Rumpig on April 10, 2019, 11:27:41 AM
In my time (80’s) it was at Gow st Moorooka?
Sanitarian is still at Moorooka on Ipswich Rd....vaguely recall not that long back smelling Weetbix as we went past that area.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on April 10, 2019, 12:28:17 PM

The 60's and 70's what a great time...............in Brisbane........... ::) ;D ;D :P

So post something about "your hometown".... ;D
Post by: GBC on April 10, 2019, 12:32:31 PM
Only a young fella huh.

I'm thinking hard on this, it might have been on the corner of Nile street and Wellington road... would've been classed as East Brisbane I think

I grew up in Hervey Bay, only got to the Southside in the 80's. Still a bit younger than you I reckon - I'm not quite 50.
Post by: Steffo1 on April 10, 2019, 01:14:07 PM

I'll go "Northside Brissie" ;D

Mentioning memories of smells, who remembers the delightful aromas emanating from the old tannery in Stafford ?
Post by: Beachman on April 10, 2019, 02:29:13 PM
I'll go "Northside Brissie" ;D

Mentioning memories of smells, who remembers the delightful aromas emanating from the old tannery in Stafford ?

Use to live just up the road and that really was a disgusting smell.
Post by: Beachman on April 10, 2019, 02:38:31 PM
Who remembers when you couldn't legally buy a beer in Queensland till you were 21. I'd been in the RAAF nearly 2 years, got posted to Amberley, walked into a pub in Brisbane and got refused service because I was under age.. Luckily my younger brother could pass muster, and used to buy the beers  ;D  Then they made the legal age 18 a couple of months later.

This was probably more in the early 80's, but I used to go fishing to Fraser Island with my Father and his mates. Leave home 3pm Saturday morning and have a few cans in the car, pull into the shops at Rainbow Beach at 7.30am with a can in your hand and no one cared or were shocked. Go to the bakery for a pie and then walk across the road to the pub and buy more beer at 8am because the pub was open (unofficially)

Camp at Fraser and the ranger would come around and can of beer was put in the rangers hand and that was the permit taken care of.   
Post by: austastar on April 10, 2019, 02:45:01 PM
    I used to shoot rabbits on what is now Mortgage Hill.
It was open paddocks back when I was a kid. Now nearly all million dollar mansions.

Sent from my SM-T380 using Tapatalk

Post by: edz on April 10, 2019, 04:00:23 PM

Camp at Fraser and the ranger would come around and can of beer was put in the rangers hand and that was the permit taken care of.

Fraser in the  90's was still a bit like this, though we did  have our permits, Ranger would call in to say G,Day, drag a beer out for him and have a chat . Even had a few female Rangers stop for a talk and have a drink with us too over the years .
Now days mostly the only time you see them if at all, theyre just driving around .
Post by: Beachman on April 10, 2019, 08:25:32 PM
About 15 years ago I was camping at Moreton as I was in a fishing club with about 30 guys. The police were driving past as stopped for a chat and left 5 hours later and no word of a lie they where flat out walking after enjoying our hospitability  :cheers:

They hinted that the next day they were running a drink driving blitz in front of our camp so none of our group drove, but to there credit each car they pulled over who was over the limit they gave they 2 option. First option was to sit in the sun until they sobered up or the 2nd option was a police boat back to Redcliffe Police station to be charged.

Lets just say there were quiet a few Men/Ladies who were happy to sit in the sun for a couple of hours.
Post by: GBC on April 11, 2019, 06:07:41 AM
This was probably more in the early 80's, but I used to go fishing to Fraser Island with my Father and his mates. Leave home 3pm Saturday morning and have a few cans in the car, pull into the shops at Rainbow Beach at 7.30am with a can in your hand and no one cared or were shocked. Go to the bakery for a pie and then walk across the road to the pub and buy more beer at 8am because the pub was open (unofficially)

70’s was no rangers, forestry ran the place. All tracks were open and there was 10 times as many. The fun part was there was no signs. They were all marked with tree blazes and code so you needed a forestry map to find your way around. There were shacks ON Waddy point - the gardens are still there., the Indian head bypass was scary, the middle rocks goat track was worse and the ‘jumpup’ behind the champagne pools required emptying the (Ex pmg) landcruiser, carrying everything up the hill, then helping push the Ute - no corduroy back then. Parking at each lake was on the beach. The back beach still had pigweed gardens growing out the ocean side of Eli etc, and brumbies. The tour busses were open air ww2 surplus blitzes. Loud, noisy, awesome fun, aluminium corrugated roofs that were deafening as tree branches dragged along them, and nests of tree ants would explode over the tourists. We kids could camp at moon point on our own over the school holidays. We just had to present ourselves to Noel on the Watoomba 2 barge once a day and he would tell our parents we where alive. It was a pretty cool place to spend a large part of my childhood.
Post by: krisandkev on April 11, 2019, 06:17:07 AM

Would love to hear stories about other places, so go for it.  :cheers:  Kevin
Post by: stephenh1235 on April 11, 2019, 07:55:59 AM

Yep, had a water bag on the vehicle myself in 1975 on my 1965 HD X2 Wagon.
Post by: Bird on April 11, 2019, 11:16:23 AM
PC's were simple...my first... LOL

(http://oldcomputers.net/pics/trs80-i.jpg)

DVD's?
(https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-X7n8-r32_HM/XK6TI4z6ITI/AAAAAAAACs4/ZtTe3fKxszYOiUfbbGHh0qFWIbMbp9bYQCK8BGAs/s0/2019-04-10.png)
Post by: edz on April 11, 2019, 12:16:01 PM
Spending hours at a mates place playing " PONG " on wet saturday arvo's  on their " NEW "  big 26" screen colour TV   /  Hoyking a frisbee at each other as we jogged along Kingscliff beach  / backyard cricket test matches after school ..   ;D

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-vbGBlxVxcQ (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-vbGBlxVxcQ)
Post by: Fizzie on April 11, 2019, 01:07:16 PM
Going round to a mate's place & using his slug gun to shoot targets in the back yard - in a normal residential street! ;D

FiL spoke many times of going to the rifle range for the day - walk out of the house with his .303 in it's case over his shoulder & carrying his dilly bag with ammo, lunch & a thermos, down the street to the station, on a train out to Redbank range (Ipswich), where he & 3 or 4 other blokes would get out & walk down to the range.

End of day, same thing in reverse; & the most anybody would have to say about blokes carrying rifles on the train or down the street, was "How'd you go" ??? :'(
Post by: #jonesy on April 11, 2019, 01:33:35 PM
Sports day at high school included clay target shooting. Kids would be riding to school with shotguns slung over their shoulder.
Post by: Bird on April 11, 2019, 01:34:58 PM
Sports day at high school included clay target shooting. Kids would be riding to school with shotguns slung over their shoulder.
**** imagine the 000 calls and STAY IN DOORS.. KEEP ALL WINDOWS AND DOORS LOCKED warnings if that happened today LMAO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: Bird on April 11, 2019, 01:41:21 PM
Leg room in sardine class, as it was the only class... hows the food going too!

Meals served to economy class on Qantas during the 1960s. Photo: Qantas
(https://www.smh.com.au/content/dam/images/h/1/d/c/s/d/image.imgtype.articleLeadwide.620x349.png/1554896003910.jpg)

The huge interior of the Boeing 747 jumbo jet, after its arrival at London Airport. Photo: Alamy
(https://www.smh.com.au/content/dam/images/h/1/d/c/s/f/image.imgtype.articleLeadwide.620x349.png/1554895131302.jpg)
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on April 11, 2019, 01:47:33 PM
ha ha ha ha, the bloke in the second row..... massive head of hair looking at baldy with the drink.

Probably laughing under his breath.... I would be.
Post by: doc evil on April 11, 2019, 08:47:27 PM

My home town was overrun with aluminum roadblocks last weekend for the man from snowy river festival.
If I talked about so n so down the road no one would know who I was on about ;)
Post by: bkim on April 12, 2019, 12:46:44 AM
Carrying a .310 Martini- Henry action single shot rifle as hand luggage on a DC9 flight from Townsville to Cairns in 1966, and no one had the slightest concerns! wouldn't fit in the overhead compartment, so the hostess suggested just laying it on the floor between my feet and under the seat in front.

Just see that happening today!
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on April 12, 2019, 06:07:31 AM
As kids, the most trouble most got into was nicking the neighbours milk money.  ::)

These days, they'd steal the 2 year old BMW, joy ride through a red light as speed, crash and then do a runner, regardless of death or injuries to any of the parties involved.  >:(

Anyone remember, those goofy little plastic pourer tops we used on the old milk bottles.  8)
Post by: GBC on April 12, 2019, 06:33:36 AM
Carrying a .310 Martini- Henry action single shot rifle as hand luggage on a DC9 flight from Townsville to Cairns in 1966, and no one had the slightest concerns! wouldn't fit in the overhead compartment, so the hostess suggested just laying it on the floor between my feet and under the seat in front.

Just see that happening today!
In boarding school in the 80’s it wasn’t uncommon for a few of the country boys to nick up to Carl Shult’s gun shop at red hill and take rifles home with them at the end of term hols.
Post by: stephenh1235 on April 12, 2019, 07:00:02 AM
Leg room in sardine class, as it was the only class... hows the food going too!

Meals served to economy class on Qantas during the 1960s. Photo: Qantas
(https://www.smh.com.au/content/dam/images/h/1/d/c/s/d/image.imgtype.articleLeadwide.620x349.png/1554896003910.jpg)

The huge interior of the Boeing 747 jumbo jet, after its arrival at London Airport. Photo: Alamy
(https://www.smh.com.au/content/dam/images/h/1/d/c/s/f/image.imgtype.articleLeadwide.620x349.png/1554895131302.jpg)

I remember flying on the jumbos in the 70s Perth to Bali, can't believe we had a smoking & non smoking area separated by an invisible barrier!!  For some reason the smoking section was also the drinking section.
Post by: Bird on April 12, 2019, 10:01:52 AM
Quote from: Jeepers Creepers
Anyone remember, those goofy little plastic pourer tops we used on the old milk bottles.  8)
this one?
(https://i.ebayimg.com/images/g/LHUAAOxyEoFSaSFi/s-l500.jpg)
Post by: bmwfreak on April 12, 2019, 10:36:10 AM
In summer, playing cricket - Winter up and under footy, in the middle of the road in suburban Blacktown, NSW. Used to do this barefoot on an unsealed road. Gawd we had disgusting feet back then🤮
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on April 12, 2019, 01:27:37 PM
this one?
(https://i.ebayimg.com/images/g/LHUAAOxyEoFSaSFi/s-l500.jpg)

Nah, bit smaller in height and had a little fip up pourer/cap thingy.
Post by: edz on April 12, 2019, 02:16:12 PM
can still buy a version of them
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on April 12, 2019, 04:47:29 PM
Times sure have changed.

https://scontent.fbne6-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/57104187_2963335047009919_1920137791933513728_n.jpg?_nc_cat=100&_nc_ht=scontent.fbne6-1.fna&oh=92252933f4fa10c8f24fc13ac1b63e75&oe=5D498741
Post by: Steffo1 on April 12, 2019, 05:36:18 PM
Gold.
https://youtu.be/KbukeJZftOs
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on April 13, 2019, 04:47:42 AM
The original cordless drill.

https://scontent.fbne6-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/28276913_1340467166059328_5004191308150630325_n.jpg?_nc_cat=105&_nc_eui2=AeFUwwfOBsoC4umtETHfQjwNUI_YH6HUdTsGHrj1-_cK6df4ark_rw9cJUYdhWZFCugQHYVdG3eYST4PIusx1oMtAKMJBBjkgvjg1p5fWmW_gw&_nc_ht=scontent.fbne6-1.fna&oh=a1ca1bcfbb192161ff057930b3505a5c&oe=5D4109B0
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on April 13, 2019, 07:16:58 AM

I hope this link works ok for you.

http://www.petan.net/railway/images/g-wharf.gif (http://www.petan.net/railway/images/g-wharf.gif)

http://www.petan.net/railway/images/g-fiveways.gif (http://www.petan.net/railway/images/g-fiveways.gif)
Post by: Fizzie on April 13, 2019, 01:07:23 PM
Perfect!

Thanks, mate :cup:
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on April 13, 2019, 02:51:14 PM
Here is a pic straight out of the 70's....  :-[

I've been told, i'm the one on the right.... i'm not 100% sure on that though.
I did enjoy a rum and coke back then though and I am prone to poking fun at people.
Tony sitting in the centre swears it's me

https://scontent.fbne6-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/56815947_2124730104312990_5165288791572742144_n.jpg?_nc_cat=111&_nc_eui2=AeHSCPtjrDKl7iIy2GlBM8mbbGOpOZxaJfP32_mlxErNyrwkQMBqEKLfjRW0xhp0GJ7MEqj2tDjRG_dT6wcAPvWNv36tyeHh9waEUIPltlcONw&_nc_ht=scontent.fbne6-1.fna&oh=eed84dd5968769cf3c0dc0cd800039a1&oe=5D39033C
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on April 17, 2019, 03:46:28 PM
You'd never know these days....

For a time after it closed, you could still make the place out.... not now though.

https://scontent.fbne6-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/57232138_2276047952416561_2452251477897379840_n.jpg?_nc_cat=110&_nc_ht=scontent.fbne6-1.fna&oh=4083fedbd3c3c24e6cf01418a8902ff0&oe=5D3281E9