General => General Discussion => Topic started by: landbarge on November 26, 2015, 12:28:56 AM

Title: Names for vehicles and campers
Post by: landbarge on November 26, 2015, 12:28:56 AM
I was wondering if any of you have a nick  name for your camper or car?

My car is The Landbarge or Atilla (the Hun.....dred series)

My camper hasn't had time to be blooded by the family yet. I will wait to see if one presents itself as something so important as a name can not be forced.

Campers/Caravans are female right?

Title: Re: Names for vehicles and campers
Post by: Swannie on November 26, 2015, 06:10:35 AM
Yep kids always name  my cars
1. The 80 series is a petrol guzzler so  we call him  "Frank the Tank" from the movie old school
2. The 200 is "Bruiser the Cruiser" kids named him as it was when I injured myself

Post by: Spada on November 26, 2015, 06:22:13 AM
We call the car "Elcie", as in LC for Land Cruiser.

The camper is called "William" the Conqueror.

Our neighbor has a Pajero that he call Vaj the PaJ, so we've named his camper "Ina"  ;D
Post by: Green rv on November 26, 2015, 07:56:55 AM
the 3 letters in my number plate are HWN,  its also a hilux
so it can be either Goldie lux or Goldie HWN(hawn)

i did have 3 cub campers at one time so they become the three bear cubs

goldie lux and the three bears

only have two cubs now so they're up for renaming (could go with Kate & Oliver Cubson)

Adam
Post by: Bird on November 26, 2015, 08:16:31 AM
no I don't..
Post by: Snow on November 26, 2015, 08:18:49 AM
Tow Buggy = Snowmobile

Camper = Snowcave

Here's a link to a previous similar topic.

http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=12632.0 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=12632.0)
Post by: Green rv on November 26, 2015, 08:22:30 AM
no I don't..

that's a common name for a patrol, normally followed by a few choice words  ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: BaseCamp on November 26, 2015, 08:23:18 AM
"Names for Vehicles and Campers"    ....expensive       ;D    ;D     ;D   
Post by: gronk on November 26, 2015, 10:53:56 AM
After trying a few choice names for the missus.........I never did get around to trying any for cars and campers !!!    :-* :-* :'(
Post by: StrvnMrvn on November 26, 2015, 10:56:01 AM
'Thomas' as the daughter loved Thomas the tank engine n the Hilux is dark blue.

Sent from my iPhone using the Tappy thing
Post by: GUEY on November 26, 2015, 11:08:16 AM
The GU = Gurty
The Swan = Lawn Ornament
Post by: edz on November 26, 2015, 12:27:23 PM
The V6 four runner usualy gets called the " Pig "   and the new  half finished camper gets refered to as  " Tha Tinny " [ built out of Galvanised  sheet metal ]..
Post by: slydar on November 26, 2015, 06:02:16 PM

"Campers/Caravans are female right?"

hmm - where's that going...

"Our neighbor has a Pajero that he call Vaj the PaJ, so we've named his camper "Ina" "

ok, maybe that's it - gee, I'm glad your not my neighbour though - I wonder if that's what my neighbours think of me?!

"i did have 3 cub campers at one time so they become the three bear cubs"

now, that really is cute...!

our 'paj' is called 'alf' - I know, its on his bonnet stone guard (no, when I first bought him it was his number plate in nsw)
the camper is 'the unit' (named by the missus - not sure if it was after she tried to kick a brick under its wheel to chock it - with bare feet...)

Post by: dales133 on November 26, 2015, 06:29:30 PM
Not one for naming inanimate objects but after persistance from a friend i might name the teardrop,a year in the making i guess it deserves a name.
The 80 series is just the wagon,
Title: Names for vehicles and campers
Post by: scarpsD40 on November 26, 2015, 06:44:27 PM
4by = Nav
CT = Trackie

When I hook them up together I call them Brangalina coz they look good together
Post by: dales133 on November 26, 2015, 06:45:18 PM
4by = Nav
CT = Trackie

When I hook them up together I call them Brangalina coz they look good together
Post by: aussie9 on November 26, 2015, 06:58:30 PM
80 series = the wagon
Evo = the blue car
Sportswagon = the red car
Camper = the camper
Boat = the boat

Post by: Palmer on November 26, 2015, 08:29:58 PM
Our 120 was named Princess by my daughter (when it was originally my wife's car). When it became my car, my daughter gave me the option to rename it, but I decided to stick with her original choice. Plus it gives those in my 4wd club something to laugh about - when Princess the Prado makes it throuGh sections that others can't.

Our old camper van was Gypsy, with our new Swan now Nessy (don't know why).
Post by: landbarge on November 26, 2015, 10:28:37 PM
It is so nice that people are engaged. Some good names there

Post by: landbarge on November 26, 2015, 10:30:33 PM
Yep kids always name  my cars
1. The 80 series is a petrol guzzler so  we call him  "Frank the Tank" from the movie old school
2. The 200 is "Bruiser the Cruiser" kids named him as it was when I injured myself

Nothing for the camper Swannie?

Post by: landbarge on November 26, 2015, 10:37:26 PM
Ute = Snowmobile

Camper = Snowcave

Here's a link to a previous similar topic.

http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=12632.0 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=12632.0)

Are you telling me I am not original?

Post by: tracker on November 27, 2015, 03:10:13 AM
80 series = the wagon
Evo = the blue car
Sportswagon = the red car
Camper = the camper
Boat = the boat

Sounds like what i call my set up....... ;D ;D

Post by: rossmob on November 28, 2015, 03:18:43 AM
Challenger = Charlie
Trackabout Extenda = Ernie

If only we bought the car second it would have been called Bert

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk 2
Post by: slydar on November 28, 2015, 06:23:11 AM
Challenger = Charlie
Trackabout Extenda = Ernie

If only we bought the car second it would have been called Bert

good to see someone else doesn't allow himself to be manipulated into using female names for his cars - a lot of people (mostly female) are taken aback by my doing so

a car is a mate to me, as is the camper and the boat - they don't whinge, theyre always there for you and its not 'all about them' (although there are times...)
Post by: Bill on November 28, 2015, 06:33:32 AM
Navara - My Nav
Camper - My Camper
Barina - Her car
Post by: landbarge on November 28, 2015, 08:41:02 AM
Not one for naming inanimate objects but after persistance from a friend i might name the teardrop,a year in the making i guess it deserves a name.
The 80 series is just the wagon,
Geez you caught me on the edge of the fence with this. Yes you should have a name for the teardrop, especially when you're a year in to the build. Ya can't  force it though.

I have a few sketches and an off road 7x5 box trailer ready for a tear drop camper conversion. I had named it Salty.

"Campers/Caravans are female right?"

hmm - where's that going...

"Our neighbor has a Pajero that he call Vaj the PaJ, so we've named his camper "Ina" "

ok, maybe that's it - gee, I'm glad your not my neighbour though - I wonder if that's what my neighbours think of me?!

"i did have 3 cub campers at one time so they become the three bear cubs"

now, that really is cute...!

our 'paj' is called 'alf' - I know, its on his bonnet stone guard (no, when I first bought him it was his number plate in nsw)
the camper is 'the unit' (named by the missus - not sure if it was after she tried to kick a brick under its wheel to chock it - with bare feet...)

Post by: dales133 on November 28, 2015, 08:44:57 AM
Geez you caught me on the edge of the fence with this. Yes you should have a name for the teardrop, especially when you're a year in to the build. Ya can't  force it though.

I have a few sketches and an off road 7x5 box trailer ready for a tear drop camper conversion. I had named it Salty.

This friend suggested it looked like it belonged in "lost in space" so jupiter 2 in waterjet cut stainless in a 50s font is on the cards
Post by: landbarge on November 28, 2015, 08:53:59 AM
This friend suggested it looked like it belonged in "lost in space" so jupiter 2 in waterjet cut stainless in a 50s font is on the cards
Sounds great. You have inspired a theme for my new camper thing. I still can't work out if it's a caravan or a camper trailer.

Post by: rossmob on November 29, 2015, 06:06:06 AM

good to see someone else doesn't allow himself to be manipulated into using female names for his cars - a lot of people (mostly female) are taken aback by my doing so

a car is a mate to me, as is the camper and the boat - they don't whinge, theyre always there for you and its not 'all about them' (although there are times...)

I just couldn't have a fitted out challenger being called cherry, Charisse or some other chick name.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk 2
Post by: Brett on December 03, 2015, 09:41:30 PM
Jill loves to name our gear and we have a little fun with it.

Red Landcruiser - "Ruby"
Green Commodore - "Oscar"
Red Harley - "Cherry"
Huge Jayco - "Bertha"

Post by: Jillsy on December 03, 2015, 10:51:29 PM

Jill loves to name our gear and we have a little fun with it.

Red Landcruiser - "Ruby"
Green Commodore - "Oscar"
Red Harley - "Cherry"
Huge Jayco - "Bertha"

It works for our young fella too ie he knows which car to hop in when you say Ruby or Oscar...
Post by: Hewy54 on December 04, 2015, 06:28:56 AM
We go along the lines of many others.
The 80 series - the truck
The Commodore - your car
The Premier - my car
The crossover - the van
Post by: PenUltimate Destinations on December 05, 2015, 07:06:04 PM
Haven't named the Ultimate, but the LX is called Stan - Tan Stan thanks to his inspiring colour!

Post by: me217 on December 05, 2015, 09:01:44 PM
i sometimes call my grand vitara "the frittata"
Post by: Terry W4 on December 05, 2015, 09:32:17 PM
Prado is called The Tardis.
Post by: Rocky and Bullwinkle on December 06, 2015, 04:41:28 AM
Rocky for the ute because when we moved to the High Country a ute I was looking at was advertised by a person who called themselves Rocky. Did not buy that ute but it stuck for the old ute and now for the new one Of course who hangs a round with Rocky but Bullwinkle so the New camper got its name.
Post by: theins on December 06, 2015, 08:19:32 AM
Yep, both car and camper have been named

Snowy - our white D4
Rufus - our AS camper

Post by: r2d2 on December 06, 2015, 11:40:39 AM
We have R2D2 and C3PO, we thought about getting BB-8 for the trailer but couldn't justify the $550 for the plates on the camper.
Post by: landbarge on December 06, 2015, 11:54:25 AM
Post by: JD-120 on December 06, 2015, 12:02:06 PM
We have R2D2 and C3PO, we thought about getting BB-8 for the trailer but couldn't justify the $550 for the plates on the camper.
What's bb8? Big brother season 8
Post by: landbarge on December 06, 2015, 12:23:06 PM
Nice work. You should splurge and get the full set of plates.

Post by: slydar on December 06, 2015, 03:15:23 PM
ok we have splashed out on a prado (albeit second hand) and have no idea what to call it - act plates are so boring - can anyone make a suggestion? my pajero was 'alf' after its original nsw rego (and it seems to suit him), previous car (lh torana) was 'hewie' as its number plate was 'hew-...' but what can you do with 'yhq-...'?

hmm, maybe I can make this a competition...?
Post by: landbarge on December 06, 2015, 03:25:14 PM
Youth Head Quarters.

Post by: slydar on December 06, 2015, 03:46:35 PM
 >:(
Post by: landbarge on December 12, 2015, 12:53:30 AM
Your health, questionable

Post by: tracker on December 12, 2015, 01:55:11 AM

Hmmmmmm....never thought about naming tug or CT.

Post by: plusnq on December 12, 2015, 05:49:06 AM
Yogi's hot quad (yogi for short)
Your hard quest

Post by: slydar on December 12, 2015, 06:42:23 AM
Your health, questionable

hmm - not to mention the resulting pre-Christmas bank balance :-( - roof rack, voltage booster, rewiring for the fridge...
Post by: jamesroberts23 on December 12, 2015, 09:44:04 AM
Kids have named the nissan XTrail "the beast"  (just wait until a Patrol is in budget!) and our Cavalier camper is "Chuck". 

Sent from my A0001 using Tapatalk

Post by: Hewy54 on December 12, 2015, 12:11:08 PM
ok we have splashed out on a prado (albeit second hand) and have no idea what to call it - act plates are so boring - can anyone make a suggestion? my pajero was 'alf' after its original nsw rego (and it seems to suit him), previous car (lh torana) was 'hewie' as its number plate was 'hew-...' but what can you do with 'yhq-...'?

hmm, maybe I can make this a competition...?
Glad to see that I have a Torana named after me
Post by: landbarge on December 12, 2015, 02:51:27 PM
Kids have named the nissan XTrail "the beast"  (just wait until a Patrol is in budget!) and our Cavalier camper is "Chuck". 

Sent from my A0001 using Tapatalk
Has "The Beast" any beastly attributes? LS3 conversion with SAS maybe?

Post by: Hairs on December 12, 2015, 04:56:43 PM
The tug(80 series 1hdt), The Bus.
It was a school bus a few years ago, not only taking the kids to school, when I had the third row seats in, we would take another three kids to sport events.
The Camper, Touche(as in Touche the Turtle) (http://www.hairfysh.com/images/Icons/Smileys/Touche%20Turtle.gif)
Post by: landbarge on January 08, 2016, 03:11:58 AM
I had forgotten that lil fella even existed.

Post by: Hairs on January 08, 2016, 07:23:17 PM
I had forgotten that lil fella even existed.
Showing my age or miss spent childhood  :cheers:
Post by: landbarge on January 08, 2016, 07:26:58 PM
Showing my age or miss spent childhood  :cheers:
Hardly misspent if that's your guide
Post by: Hairs on January 08, 2016, 07:45:35 PM
Hardly misspent if that's your guide
Thank you  ;D
Post by: jeffr on January 29, 2016, 09:29:45 PM
The tug is "Max", both the name of a now departed pet, and shorthand for the Isuzu DMax.

She naturally names things, so the van got a moniker as well. I wanted call it "MightyVan" (as in "My TVan"), complete with a small cartoon of Mighty Mouse on the rear deck; but in the flawed democracy that is marriage, it turns out "Molly" was the right name after all, and any pimping has to be dragons...

(http://i63.tinypic.com/28hfktw.jpg)
Post by: Ozsnowman on January 30, 2016, 04:26:03 PM
Camper just gets called the trailer lol. Ute is 'Humpty' (as in Humpty fell off a (Great) Wall), or fried rice
Post by: tashem on January 31, 2016, 05:34:27 PM
I'm glad we aren't the only ones! Our non camper friends laugh when we refer to our vehicles by name.

The previous challenger was Charlie (seems to be popular), and when we upgraded to essentially the same vehicle (same model same colour) we had to keep Charlie so he now gets Charlie II, CJ (Charlie Junior) or Charlie Boi

The previous camper was Thomas. We are now in the process of debating new names for the new camper.

The other vehicle is Tommy Tiida, and the old x-trail was Noddy.
Post by: Liege on January 31, 2016, 08:10:30 PM
my old defender was called "Fergie", blew smoke like and shared a top speed with a Ferguson Tractor

My new defender was named "Pepper" after I parked it next to our old one. one was white and one was black. I'll let you guess which one pepper is.

(https://scontent-lax3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ash2/v/t1.0-9/556530_10151709134274285_1392781255_n.jpg?oh=88d31609743fe9241a565afab07f10dd&oe=57368057)
Post by: Mitch 83 on September 02, 2021, 07:26:20 PM
Help me out with a name. I've had the hzj105 for 12 months now but can't think of a name for it.
Post by: Bird on September 02, 2021, 07:28:52 PM
barry
Post by: Mitch 83 on September 02, 2021, 07:35:40 PM
Hmm. Not a fan of Barry. My old GU was Laurie.
Post by: xcvator on September 03, 2021, 09:47:29 AM
Our van skippy  "is called "   for obvious reasons   ;D
Post by: Bird on September 03, 2021, 10:12:18 AM
Reggie... ?
Post by: Pottsy on September 03, 2021, 10:55:15 AM
Marilyn, the blonde bombshell
Post by: austastar on September 03, 2021, 05:26:49 PM
   Mate had a converted Toyota Coaster with "For Play" written above the windscreen.
Another mate, Mervyn, had "Mervana" on the back of his caravan.

Sent from my SM-T380 using Tapatalk

Post by: Troopy_03 on September 03, 2021, 07:55:49 PM
I don't have a name for my vehicle.. but it's a Toyota HDJ78R, so everyone just calls it .... Legend  ;D
Post by: plusnq on September 03, 2021, 08:09:03 PM
I don't have a name for my vehicle.. but it's a Toyota HDJ78R, so everyone just calls it .... Legend  ;D

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Fizzie on September 04, 2021, 07:57:44 AM
so everyone just calls it .... Legend  ;D

So the van is Lunchbox ??? >:D ;D
Post by: Troopy_03 on September 05, 2021, 02:58:16 PM
So the van is Lunchbox ??? >:D ;D

Don't know about the lunchbox, but it does remind me of a refrigerator....
Post by: Jillsy on September 07, 2021, 03:52:05 AM
Our Chevrolet Silverado - Sylvester