Author Topic: The "Show us ya Garden - Landscaping" Thread  (Read 68043 times)

Re: The "Show us ya Garden - Landscaping" Thread
« Reply #25 on: January 01, 2015, 06:58:04 PM »
.......Some of us live on a trendy looking former swamp with high soil salinity due to the rising sea water below.... ;D

We have them down here too, complete with Greg Norman designed golf courses.......

« Reply #26 on: January 01, 2015, 07:57:37 PM »
Yer, too right, wot he said. Some of us live on a trendy looking former swamp with high soil salinity due to the rising sea water below, hey Oldmate..... ;D

Yes mate, some of us do mate  ;D ;D

Offline Woodsie

• Off the beaten track in this Great Country of Ours
« Reply #27 on: January 01, 2015, 11:47:49 PM »
We are on an Acre in West Aus, here are some pics of the yard....
Tony Woods 06 HZJ105 Turbo/IC
2012 Eureka Hard Floor Camper

Offline jeeps

• The Aussie Storm Shop
« Reply #28 on: January 02, 2015, 12:11:33 AM »
Here's mine DaveR:

Front yard:

Backyard:

I don't mow my backyard down near the creek ;)

www.aussiestormshop.com.au | www.aussieberkeyshop.com.au
Offroad Camper Trailer with an Austrack top & Drifta kitchen, mostly assembled by me :)

« Reply #29 on: January 02, 2015, 05:47:22 AM »
l have 154 acres to look  after  , mow , edge, weed , water 7 improve . The novelty wears off when l get home so sometimes l do the 3monthly mow to keep it looking nice  >:D >:D No lm not joking  :cheers:

« Reply #30 on: January 02, 2015, 05:50:34 AM »
We are on an Acre in West Aus, here are some pics of the yard....

Very nice Woodsie. Love the stonework... :cup: :cup:

« Reply #31 on: January 02, 2015, 08:41:08 AM »
Here's mine DaveR:

Front yard:

Backyard:

I don't mow my backyard down near the creek ;)

Now that's my kind of garden  :cup: :cheers: :cup: :cheers:

« Reply #32 on: January 04, 2015, 09:14:25 PM »
My previous home had a garden a lot like your jeeps, well, no garden at all, just bush with wallaby tracks. I spent time pulling the weeds all out and that was it.

« Reply #33 on: January 08, 2015, 06:43:56 PM »
Here are a few pics of my place Dave. Unfortunately I use roundup a fair bit. I do all my edges with roundup, haven't used a whipper snipper for years.

I took a couple of snaps today but it is a bit overcast here ATM. It looks like the wet season has finally arrived with our first wave of the monsoon. Some heavy rain coming and I expect our lawn to change to a rich dark green by the end of the month.

First two pics are the front, the next two are the back. If you zoom in on the first pic, you can see a waterfall on the mountain in the background.

Front yard

Back yard

Offline V8CRSA

• Just waiting to hit the open road again......
« Reply #34 on: January 08, 2015, 06:52:58 PM »
I would kill for some of that qld grass down here in Melbourne,so green and lush....looks great muzza :cup:

2013 GXL TTD 200 SERIES CRUISER
Not quite "ATS" but working on it

« Reply #35 on: January 08, 2015, 06:57:16 PM »
Do you run a few sheep or do you mow that lot Muzza  ;D ;D ;D

« Reply #36 on: January 08, 2015, 07:12:25 PM »
I would kill for some of that qld grass down here in Melbourne,so green and lush....looks great muzza :cup:

Do you run a few sheep or do you mow that lot Muzza  ;D ;D ;D

Thanks guys.
I use one of these, average about 65-70 minutes, but I can mow it all well under an hour if I am in a hurry.

Offline Clouty

« Reply #37 on: January 08, 2015, 07:50:53 PM »
Very nice muz :cup:

Nice tinny in the backyard ;D

« Reply #38 on: January 08, 2015, 09:23:11 PM »
Hey Muzza, how to you have a refreshment when driving these mowers, look a bit anti social to me for an hours work in the garden?
Looks great by the way,
When I lived in Edge Hill, an old mate lived near you on a big plot and I got volunteered to fix his ride on to carry a small esky

« Reply #39 on: January 08, 2015, 09:26:09 PM »
Hey Muzza, how to you have a refreshment when driving these mowers, look a bit anti social to me for an hours work in the garden?
Looks great by the way,
When I lived in Edge Hill, an old mate lived near you on a big plot and I got volunteered to fix his ride on to carry a small esky

If it's like my neighbours torro zero turn, it has drink holders  :cup:

« Reply #40 on: January 08, 2015, 09:38:37 PM »
Looks great by the way,
I like to keep my weekends free so I usually mow during the week after work. I normally mow the front one arvo and then the back the next arvo which is about 30 mins or one beer.

If it's like my neighbours torro zero turn, it has drink holders  :cup:

Yep, defo has a stubbie holder but I normally hold my beer in my hand and drive at the same time  :angel: :police:

« Reply #41 on: January 08, 2015, 09:41:20 PM »
I assumed your hands must be on the controls at all times, quiet a skill to hold the beer to then.....

Offline JD-120

« Reply #42 on: January 08, 2015, 09:50:58 PM »
heres our's, we live northside of brisbane.

bought the house, this is the only original pic of the front yard I have

ripped out al lthe trees in the front yard, got the machinery in to remove the hill and replaced with sandstone walls

next was to build fromt fence to keep the animals in and the kids safe.

lay the grass. plant the shrubs

add a deck at the front entrance

next project is the back yard, its a bit of a mess, so no pics of that :)

« Reply #43 on: January 09, 2015, 02:48:58 AM »
Very nice work there Justin, you'd have to be happy with that  :cup:

« Reply #44 on: January 09, 2015, 10:15:23 AM »
Very nice work there Justin, you'd have to be happy with that  :cup:
Agreed, big project.

Offline JD-120

« Reply #45 on: January 09, 2015, 10:27:20 AM »
Yeah thanks guys, it is satisfying to sit back and look at the finished product. These pics are about 18months old, so the garden has filled in now finishing it off nicely.

the missus has some grand plans for the back yard, but this is going to require some serious saving and will probably span a few years or phase's

« Reply #46 on: August 11, 2016, 07:07:49 PM »
I have decided that my front yard is in need for a face lift.

It was nearly 30 years and two divorces since I built up the front yard with off cut sleepers. They have been repaired/replaced a couple of times but it is time for a new look .

My front yard as it was last week.

My front yard as it is now.

I am pretty happy with the transformation that a bit of hard work and time has made .

Next up is to transform my drive way native garden area, again this was built up with sleeper off cut some years ago and between time and white ants it is in need of a face lift as well.

I intend to block this up with a combination of the Bauxite colour blocks mixed with a random pattern of Charcoal coloured blocks , then I intend to concrete the drive way with Charcoal coloured concrete.

« Reply #47 on: August 11, 2016, 07:12:40 PM »
Nice work Duggie

Offline Proudy

« Reply #48 on: August 11, 2016, 07:20:44 PM »
Just finished this in the backyard so now have a nice spot to sit with dogs in winter. Pool for summer. Fire pit for winter

Landcruiser 76 with lots of fruit

« Reply #49 on: August 11, 2016, 08:26:52 PM »
Yep, show ya back yard off time.

Now for those who like to garden with Roundup and Gravel please hit the back button now...   

A couple of those picture look like they contain gravel and from my experience roundup is the only effective gardening tool to use with that landscape feature.