Author Topic: The Random Question of the Day Thread...  (Read 319556 times)

Offline raider

Re: The Random Question of the Day Thread...
« Reply #200 on: February 08, 2018, 11:23:21 AM »
Maybe someone can help - my agnostic, dyslexic, insomniac mate rang me at 3 o'clock this morning and asked - Is there a DOG ?
Don't live a life of going-to-do's and die with nothing done
The following users thanked this post: GBC

« Reply #201 on: February 08, 2018, 11:29:04 AM »
That's what I don't get.
It just dumb.

Sent from my SM-J320ZN using Tapatalk

All sides of politics are going down the renewables track, I have no quarrel with this if we have the ability to mix it with coal/hydro/nuclear power because as we are learning quickly when the wind don't blow and the sun don't shine we are in the Shit.

« Reply #202 on: February 08, 2018, 11:47:36 AM »
Maybe someone can help - my agnostic, dyslexic, insomniac mate rang me at 3 o'clock this morning and asked - Is there a DOG ?

I walked into the house the other day and my dyslexic mate was just finishing putting boot polish on his member.
"You idiot. Daylight saving has ended. I said you needed to turn you clock back!"
The following users thanked this post: raider, loanrangie

« Reply #203 on: February 08, 2018, 01:54:15 PM »
All sides of politics are going down the renewables track, I have no quarrel with this if we have the ability to mix it with coal/hydro/nuclear power because as we are learning quickly when the wind don't blow and the sun don't shine we are in the Shit.
I too do not have a problem moving towards renewable energy, but it doesn't many brains to know that when the wind is not blowing, the sun not shining power can not be produced.
We need base load power, and renewable's atm can not give this.

« Reply #204 on: February 08, 2018, 02:24:13 PM »
Quote from: Hairs
I too do not have a problem moving towards renewable energy, but it doesn't many brains to know that when the wind is not blowing, the sun not shining power can not be produced.

You dont remove an annual net output of 12,000 GWh (43,000 TJ) (Hazlewood) and have nothing to replace it with and not expect disaster.

« Reply #205 on: February 08, 2018, 02:26:36 PM »
You dont remove an annual net output of 12,000 GWh (43,000 TJ) (Hazlewood) and have nothing to replace it with and not expect disaster.
Apparently we Do 😲

« Reply #206 on: February 08, 2018, 02:34:56 PM »

How come everyone gets it but the dipShit pollies

« Reply #207 on: February 08, 2018, 02:50:04 PM »
Quote from: Pottsy
How come everyone gets it but the dipShit pollies

They have advisors - Yes men.. who are only interested in getting their masters re-elected.

« Reply #208 on: August 07, 2018, 09:23:10 PM »
Just saw this ad on the telly for the deadly Takata airbags...

www.IsMyAirBagSafe.com.au

Just punch in your rego number - and its a YES or NO.....

Brilliant!!

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

You get out and in to the world -- you take more @#&$. …You climb a little higher, ..you take less @#&$.  …Till one day -- you're up in the rarefied atmosphere -- and you've forgotten what @#&$ even looks like….  Welcome to the layer cake son.
The following users thanked this post: austastar

Offline DrewXT

« Reply #209 on: August 07, 2018, 11:00:06 PM »
Just saw this ad on the telly for the deadly Takata airbags...

www.IsMyAirBagSafe.com.au

Just punch in your rego number - and its a YES or NO.....

Brilliant!!

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk
My wife's VW Alltrack comes up as a Subaru Impreza when I put in her rego, but the Amarok comes up as an Amarok...

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

2013 Amarok Highline
2015 Customline Adventure Walkup

« Reply #210 on: August 08, 2018, 03:57:08 AM »
For the crew driving a 17-18 200 series
How often does it do a DPF burn?
As a mate has one that got a scotts rods exhaust system and
Re-mapping done and hasn't seen any lights advising of a burn occurring!
Thanks in advance

« Reply #211 on: August 11, 2018, 06:16:22 PM »
For the crew driving a 17-18 200 series
How often does it do a DPF burn?
As a mate has one that got a scotts rods exhaust system and
Re-mapping done and hasn't seen any lights advising of a burn occurring!
Thanks in advance

I reckon mine does it daily at the moment. At least every 70km's I Reckon.

« Reply #212 on: August 11, 2018, 06:37:31 PM »
I reckon mine does it daily at the moment. At least every 70km's I Reckon.
Do landrovers do this - I regularly see every while a small puff of black smoke come out the back of these Shitheaps when they are holding up traffic on cruise control... often wondered what it could be.

« Reply #213 on: August 13, 2018, 11:09:43 AM »
Random questions for the sparkies

Can you put dimmer switches on LED house lights

Find the power consumption great but the brilliant white light a little harsh

« Reply #214 on: August 13, 2018, 12:23:07 PM »
Do landrovers do this - I regularly see every while a small puff of black smoke come out the back of these Shitheaps when they are holding up traffic on cruise control... often wondered what it could be.

For reference. I did 450km to the goldcoast and back yesterday and it did it 4 time and was ready to go again when I stopped in the driveway at home. Not sure whether plodding down the highway at 100km/h reduces DP.

« Reply #215 on: August 13, 2018, 01:05:30 PM »

I have just been going through this. Clipspal universal dimmer should dim them ok.

Offline bruce93

« Reply #216 on: August 13, 2018, 07:47:33 PM »
Any Universal dimmer should work.

Sent from my SM-A310F using Tapatalk

« Reply #217 on: August 13, 2018, 08:41:39 PM »
Depends if they're dimmable LED lights.
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan. I miss being able to acces the little tracks off into the scrub.

« Reply #218 on: August 14, 2018, 07:12:49 AM »
On the subject of dimmable LEDs...

When you've got them dimmed, are you actually saving any power, or are they still using the same amount ??? :-[

Offline EagleBoy

« Reply #219 on: August 15, 2018, 05:21:17 PM »
Do twins ever consider that one of them was an unwanted pregnancy?   ???
2016 Amarok TDI420 Core
2015 Jayco Expanda 14.44-4

« Reply #220 on: August 15, 2018, 05:29:13 PM »

Obviously it is always the other sibling 😂😂😂

« Reply #221 on: August 30, 2018, 11:12:53 AM »
My twins know that they where a special....
A cheap Tuesday, 2 for 1 special that is....  ;D ;D

« Reply #222 on: September 02, 2018, 02:09:46 PM »
Question for the truckies out there ...

People a couple of doors down usually have their son drop in one weekend a month, driving his prime mover, which he parks out in the gutter! (without trailer attached, I hasten to add! :D)

He's there this weekend, & this morning, I noticed his trailers parked in an industrial area a few k away from home.

Question - are trailers "locked" in any way ??? I don't mean the doors, I mean is there anything stopping somebody with another prime mover just backing up to them, hooking them up & driving away ???

Offline Gazza00

« Reply #223 on: September 02, 2018, 03:10:03 PM »
There are  Tralier King Pin locks available to keep the honest thief's away

https://www.ebay.com/bhp/king-pin-lock

« Reply #224 on: September 02, 2018, 03:13:32 PM »
Thanks Gaz, but just to clarify, these are B-Double trailers we're talking about!