Author Topic: Another Brissy noob  (Read 4539 times)

Offline Arapeta

Another Brissy noob
« on: January 15, 2013, 03:10:00 PM »
I have been lurking for a long time but just joined up.
Bought a 2009 Pajero GLX diesel auto for chrissy :)

I have been researching building a Teardrop trailer from scratch for about a 6 months and had just come to the conclusion I need to learn how to weld after getting some quotes to make the base trailer.  I am enrolled in TAFE for a 2 month course now.

my darling suggested we buy one of the Jayco Doves I was looking at and use it as I was muttering that they were too expensive to buy for the base trailer and scrap the superstructure.  she also sweetly added that refurbishing it would be good practice for making the teardrop.  She also wanted to get on the road before 2 years and thought a camper that was usable, albeit a bit rough was a good start.

so 2 weeks ago I became the owner of a mid 80's dove that was half (or less) refurbished.
pictures will be appearing in the build thread.
As a bit of a teaser - the roof has been replaced with a timber frame with rain proof shade cloth stretched over it.  The roof was put on so it didn't lift enough to fit the door, and it has no seal to make it wind/water or dust proof when closed - about a 10mm gap all round.  The sink plumbing hoses had been replaced with green garden hose that had been heated to stretch over brass fittings, and the plumber who looking at it for the gas certificate would only give me one after he had cut off the regulator and cooker and closed off the piping as the prior owner's work in "sorting the cooker" was so dodgy.  i.e. he certified it had no gas!  (He agreed to fix it back on once I got a cooker system that could be certified and was safe - the new cooker arrived last night)

That said - it has brand new canvas, a little stained by the grease they put on the lifters (which we are cleaning off - keeps coming back) and it is registered.

We have almost got it usable. which is good as we are planning to go to Goomburra for Australia day, even if we just use it to carry our tent!

More about me - I work in IT - I do cabinet making for a hobby and have a nice workshop set up for making sawdust - 2 bays of a 3 bay garage - My Darling insists on using the 3rd bay of the workshop for her car and complains it gets sawdust on it.  None of the timber work holds any worries for me but I have been avidly reading about the electrics and about the trailer making on the forum.  I now have all the bits needed to put an auxiliary battery in the Paj and a second one in the Dove.

We have a miniature poodle that will be going with us, so no National parks except when we get him babysat but with that caveat I look forward to seeing you on the road :cheers:
Refurbishing a 1984 Jayco Dove.  Dragging it around with a 2009 Pajero

Re: Another Brissy noob
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2013, 03:17:50 PM »
Welcome aboard mate :cheers:

BTW  :worthles:

« Reply #2 on: January 15, 2013, 03:37:26 PM »
Welcome to the friendliest place on the web.

Sounds like you have an interesting project or two on your hands :D

Ask lots of questions, get lots of good answers (and some funny ones too).

« Reply #3 on: January 15, 2013, 04:15:16 PM »
Welcome to MySwag, enjoy your stay

Sent from my GT-I9305T using Tapatalk 2

Offline StrvnMrvn

• I get payed to go camping!!
« Reply #4 on: January 15, 2013, 04:16:33 PM »
Welcome arapeta,

Another new swagger from brisvagas!! Nice to see! If you need anything or need to ask a question, please do, as I'm sure you'll find the answer your looking for!!

:cheers: and again, welcome to the clan!!

« Reply #5 on: January 15, 2013, 04:47:17 PM »
welcome mate, enjoy the forum

Offline ruskie

« Reply #6 on: January 15, 2013, 04:58:50 PM »
Welcome arapeta

I'm sure you'll enjoy your time here, lots of great people with great stories and advice...

I like the contrast of your work and hobby.

ruskie

Offline luxabout

« Reply #7 on: January 15, 2013, 05:00:26 PM »
G'day Arapeta,

Welcome to the forum mate!

Remember to take plenty of pics along the way and ask plenty of questions. I'm sure a few photos of the workshop wouldn't go astray either :)

I'm in IT too (software development) - seems like the "in" profession around here lately!

Hope to see you out on the road somewhere soon.

Bryan

« Reply #8 on: January 15, 2013, 05:12:52 PM »
Hi Arapeta and welcome My Swag

Cheers Brett

Sent from my HTC One XL using Tapatalk 2

« Reply #9 on: January 15, 2013, 07:20:16 PM »
G'day Arapeta,

Sounds like you're having a ball  ;D
As you're found there is plenty of great info here to help you out.
We have an old 82 model Swan and I've collected a few pdf files, some on the lift system to the jayco's that may be of some help. You can find them Here

Offline Arapeta

« Reply #10 on: January 16, 2013, 09:54:19 AM »
Thanks for the great welcome.
I will start a build thread (but from home where the pics are) and yes- I have heaps of questions.

Happy to put up pics of my crowded workshop- seemed so big when I first moved in!
Keeping it tidy is a constant battle and it seems every flat surface is covered with stuff for the Dove refurbish at present.

Refurbishing a 1984 Jayco Dove.  Dragging it around with a 2009 Pajero

Offline Taz64

• Just because you can, doesn't mean you should
« Reply #11 on: January 16, 2013, 12:20:46 PM »
Welcome Arapeta, as has been stated, heaps of helpful info on this site.  Enjoy the rebiuld/refurbish.  I loolk forward to watching it unfold over the next few months.

Taz   

2007 Toyota Hilux SR5 Turbo Diesel
Freetime semi-off road camper trailer

ZORDO

« Reply #12 on: January 16, 2013, 08:23:50 PM »
Welcome to the form  ;D

Offline mrw63

« Reply #13 on: January 20, 2013, 10:57:45 AM »
Hi there from one newbie to another and fellow Pajero owner  :cheers:.  Sounds like you have a bit of work to be getting on with  :D
2009 Mitsi Pajero NT GLS, 2015 Lifestyle Breakaway Icon and Oztent RV-4

« Reply #14 on: January 20, 2013, 02:27:21 PM »
Welcome to another Noob.
Looks like you have many fun hours ahead.
hope to see out there soon.

« Reply #15 on: January 20, 2013, 05:34:24 PM »
Welcome to the tribe.  Look forward to reading about you mods and the teardrop build.  We may possibly be at Goomburra for Aust Day.  May catch up.

« Reply #16 on: January 23, 2013, 10:35:22 PM »

Hello and Welcome to yet another BrisVegan!  I reckon you might spend a little bit more time here as life goes on ... it becomes something of an addiction, but one that's well worth the affliction.

Offline dungee

« Reply #17 on: January 24, 2013, 06:58:26 PM »
Welcome, enjoy the build.  Welding is my favourite thing to do on the weekend, after my other favourite things.  The beer always tastes better after an afternoon welding and grinding :-)
Chris

Nothing to see here - move on.