Author Topic: Another Jayco  (Read 4509 times)

Offline aquadux

• It's great to be outdoors
Another Jayco
« on: August 24, 2012, 01:38:37 PM »
Hi everyone. Let me start by saying that this forum is the best around.

We (my wife and 5yo son) have been tenting it for a long time, we finaaly bit the bullet and purchased a new Jayco swan, which is being pick up new Thursday (can't wait).

We are heading of of Friday to a local c/p, can anyone give me some advise as to any pitfalls we may encounter on our maiden voyage.
Toyota Prado diesel
Jayco Discovery

Re: Another Jayco
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2012, 02:18:16 PM »
Welcome to MySwag, there are a couple of Jayco's flaoting around the forum, you should get heaps of advice. What do you hook it up to for tansport??

« Reply #2 on: August 24, 2012, 03:23:12 PM »
Welcome, well done.

Thats very keen, 1 day then away!!

Just take the basics, dont take everything you think you mite use.  We all tend to pack far too much.

Where is "local"?

Offline flanders

« Reply #3 on: August 24, 2012, 03:33:30 PM »
Welcome mate, and welcome to the jayco club.  Shouldn't be any dramas, just keep an eye out, you will usually find a few little (hopefully only little) things that they will fix under warranty.  And if you wind the roof vent up, remember to put it down before you've packed up the whole van.  I've let a few swearwords go after finding this!
Land Rover Disco MY12 HSE 3.0L & Waiting on Expanda 17.56-1

« Reply #4 on: August 24, 2012, 03:38:21 PM »
Welcome aboard mate... I love a Jayco camper  ;D.. Don't be shy with any questions, we've all been there!!

« Reply #5 on: August 24, 2012, 10:20:04 PM »
Hi and welcome to My Swag

Cheers Brett

Sent from my MB526 using Tapatalk 2

« Reply #6 on: August 25, 2012, 06:26:46 AM »
G'day aquadux,

To MySwag,
Congrats on your new camper.
I agree with Mace, don't take everything with you, including the kitchen sink, only take the basics.
The more you use it the more you will find what works for you and what doesn't.
You will slowly fill it with gear that lives in the camper, so at a whim you can head off overnight to somewhere.
Swing on by What model Jayco do you own?
Make yourself familiar with the workings of the windup mechanism, just in case you need to repair it while away form home. I'm not saying you will have a problem with yours, but things happen.
Have a read through one of my pages that relate to this. repair a Jayco Lift System, Yours will be slightly different, but there are basically the same. I'm not trying to scare you, they are a great setup.
Also have a read through the trip section, there are some great places to take you Swan.
What do you tow it with? Are you looking at free camping and keeping away from parks?

« Last Edit: August 25, 2012, 06:30:11 AM by Hairs »

Offline aquadux

« Reply #7 on: August 25, 2012, 07:08:56 AM »
Hi Everyone and thanks for the welcome.

We have a Toyota Prado turbo diesel as our tug.

We are very keen to get away, we originally were going to spend the first night in the driveway at home, but decided to throw caution to the wind. (what could possibly go wrong ha-ha).

We have decided only to take with us what we would normally take camping (minus the tent and esky) and see how we go.

We are heading to a c/p in Shoalhaven been there a few times and had a great weekend.

My wife has discovered en suites in caravan parks so we are rather limited to the creature comforts of these, but its better to spend a weekend in a c/p than to be at home working around the house.

I will let you all know how the weekend goes.

Cheers Richard
Toyota Prado diesel
Jayco Discovery

« Reply #8 on: August 25, 2012, 07:13:52 AM »
G'day Richard,
Make sure you post up pictures, we love pictures here on Myswag.
Have fun guys.

« Reply #9 on: August 29, 2012, 08:38:05 PM »
G'day & Welcome Richard and family.

Good luck on your maiden voyage. Your question made me wonder if the bed ends on a Jayco need to be seasoned like other canvas does? Anyone?

You might want to take a hose and use their water on the first day, enough time for it to dry off after you've saturated it (if they require it).

Another Jayco
« Reply #10 on: August 29, 2012, 09:04:00 PM »
Well done on the Jayco mate and a nice choice of tug too :cheers:

« Last Edit: August 29, 2012, 09:08:22 PM by Black Diamond »

bunyip

« Reply #11 on: August 31, 2012, 10:12:10 AM »
Hi Richard,

Welcome and enjoy the forum. The guys here truly are about the friendliest I have met on the net.

I am surprised nobody has done it yet but here it is:

Offline aquadux

« Reply #12 on: August 31, 2012, 12:12:35 PM »
Hi Guys

Finally picked the Swan up from Jayco yesterday, spent the afternoon moving in.

Jayco told me that you do have to season the bag ends, that was the first thing I did when I got home.

Heading of this afternoon as soon as work is finished. I will let you guys know how we go.

Richard
Toyota Prado diesel
Jayco Discovery

« Reply #13 on: September 04, 2012, 06:40:39 AM »
G'day Richard,
How did it go?
Got any pics to post up?

Offline aquadux

« Reply #14 on: September 04, 2012, 02:11:20 PM »
Hi Everyone

Well the maiden voyage is completed, as it turned out we had a cold snap with lots of wind Friday night and all day Saturday.

A great weekend was had by the whole family, no problems with the swan, really glad we upgraded out of the tent.

Photos will be posted as soon as I work out how (I'm sure my wife Deb will work it out for me).

Looking forward now to our next trip which will be at the end of the month in Port Stephen. Can't wait.

Richard
Toyota Prado diesel
Jayco Discovery

Offline Smitty

Another Jayco
« Reply #15 on: September 04, 2012, 11:57:31 PM »
Glad the 1st trip went well for you. The swans are a very comfy camper.

Offline aquadux

« Reply #16 on: September 07, 2012, 06:38:53 PM »
Here is my baby, oh and my son.  Our maiden voyage and I am still married so things went well.

I have put two pictures, my tug, baby and son.....lol

Thanks for your comments and support.
Toyota Prado diesel
Jayco Discovery

« Reply #17 on: September 07, 2012, 06:40:38 PM »
Good to hear it well  ;D

« Reply #18 on: September 07, 2012, 07:07:02 PM »
Greta pics mate and I'm glad you all had fun.  Justa little observation with your bedflies mate, drop then untill they are only missing your bed canvas by about 2 inches.. If it does rain it will run off a lot better and ther will be less likelyhood of water pooling.

Offline aquadux

« Reply #19 on: September 10, 2012, 07:03:21 AM »
Thanks Greg,

We noticed that on Sunday morning when we started to pack up, will remember that nex time

Richard
Toyota Prado diesel
Jayco Discovery

Offline Janbo

• Jayco Eagle - Jeep Cherokee KK
« Reply #20 on: September 10, 2012, 06:40:58 PM »
Smashing pics, thanks for posting!!
We are all in the gutter....... But some of us are looking at the stars!!