Author Topic: G'day  (Read 4443 times)

Offline Huck

• Soft Floor Camper user
G'day
« on: May 14, 2012, 05:25:57 PM »
Hello all, long time lurker new time member. Well where do we start.
The family is made up of 5,  My wife Jo, my Kids, Mitch 15, Lachy 13, Caity 10 and me Anthony (45 going on 15) We are a family who love the outdoors, we have a little holiday sahck on the Mitta river at Mitta Mitta which we use a lot. Then we have the "CFC" "Cowan Family Camper" this is a true one off original camper trailer. The trailer is my design with bits by me and bits by others. The rolling stock was built by Aus trailers in Mordialic Melb, as i said the design was mine and they did a great job putting my ideas into steel. The other bits include a couple of Drifta products, The kitchen is a modified DSO "Drifta Swing out" attached to the tailgate. We also have our "wardrobe" the DFSD storage drawer which slide into the tent and gives us a nice bench as well. I dont have a huge amount of pics so i will get off my butt and take few. The tent was purchased from EZYTRAIL and we have been pretty happy with it (some mods required)
The 12 volt system was my doing and consists of a 120 amp hr Deep River gel batt, with a dual stage Ctek and ABR sidewinder Dual batt management system. This powers a 60lt Engel along with 21lt Engel we use as a freezer. It also throws a bit of light about when required. We mainly free camp when travelling with the odd stop in more hospitable places when some washing or just a bit of domestication is required. It is now 2 years old and has done 2 big trips with numerous weekenders thrown in. The 2 big ones were 90% dirt with some pretty hard going involved, so you can say its been well tested and still going strong.
We are off to cape york in July and I am just making a few tweaks to the old girl. I will update when done.

NP DID Pajero, towing the "CFC" Cowan Family Camper, soft top.

Re: G'day
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2012, 05:53:01 PM »
G'day Huck and welcome to Myswag. Great setup to take north.  :cheers:

« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2012, 06:23:32 PM »
welcome to myswag Huck & family

« Reply #3 on: May 14, 2012, 06:27:36 PM »
Welcome to the forum. Sounds like you have it all sorted. :cheers:  Hope you have a ball going to the cape.   Kevin

Offline Huck

• Soft Floor Camper user
« Reply #4 on: May 14, 2012, 06:35:58 PM »
Welcome to the forum. Sounds like you have it all sorted. :cheers:  Hope you have a ball going to the cape.   Kevin

Thanks Kevin, I had to laugh at "The all sorted" comment, it is never "sorted" you always see stuff you want, see stuff you think "That would work". They are never "sorted" mate, or at least thats what I tell Jo, always something needs tweaking. I have just taken the front spare wheel mount off and fitted another box, now I am "adapting" a Kaymar swing out wheel carrier from a 100 series to do the job on the back. Then i reckon i should swap out the springs as the suspension has copped a flogging over the past 2 years, its currently a 7 leaf rebound (not so much rebound left :), pretty well flattened) I am sussing out some 8 leaf rebound units, just don't want to stiffen it up too much. Just trying to juggle ball wieght, GVM and all the other stuff. So i had to laugh out loud!
Thanks for the welcome.
NP DID Pajero, towing the "CFC" Cowan Family Camper, soft top.

« Reply #5 on: May 14, 2012, 06:46:44 PM »
Welcome aboard Huck

« Reply #6 on: May 14, 2012, 06:57:46 PM »
Welcome Huck,

Good 2 see another Northeasterner!

See you round the traps.

« Reply #7 on: May 14, 2012, 07:08:13 PM »
welcome Huck.... certainly looks like a great setup....

« Reply #8 on: May 14, 2012, 08:15:41 PM »
G'day Huck and family.
Welcome to the forum. Nice setup you have there mate.
Happy and safe travels to the tip guys. :D

« Reply #9 on: May 14, 2012, 09:01:48 PM »
Welcome to the forum Huck, keep us updated on your travels and local haunts

Offline Stan Bryant

« Reply #10 on: May 15, 2012, 03:26:06 PM »
Welcome aboard Huck,
I am a former Wodonga resident, [till I learnt the error of my ways lol]
Not a bad region your in.
see you around the tracks someday.
Cheers Stan
THE MIGHTY MUSSO
http://www.myswag.org/gallery/d/37530-2/PC260091.JPG

Offline Sicilianmama

« Reply #11 on: May 16, 2012, 07:58:59 AM »
Welcome Huck and family :)
2007 Holden Rodeo with 2012 Jayco Swan Outback :)

« Reply #12 on: May 16, 2012, 08:08:46 AM »
Hi Huck and welcome to My Swag

« Reply #13 on: June 04, 2012, 12:51:23 PM »
G'day & Welcome Huck.

I enjoyed reading your intro, and thought your comment below was too true not to reiterate.

Thanks Kevin, I had to laugh at "The all sorted" comment, it is never "sorted" you always see stuff you want, see stuff you think "That would work". They are never "sorted" mate, or at least thats what I tell Jo, always something needs tweaking. I have just taken the front spare wheel mount off and fitted another box, now I am "adapting" a Kaymar swing out wheel carrier from a 100 series to do the job on the back. Then i reckon i should swap out the springs as the suspension has copped a flogging over the past 2 years, its currently a 7 leaf rebound (not so much rebound left :), pretty well flattened) I am sussing out some 8 leaf rebound units, just don't want to stiffen it up too much. Just trying to juggle ball wieght, GVM and all the other stuff. So i had to laugh out loud!
Thanks for the welcome.