Author Topic: Show us your bike (bicycle)  (Read 488856 times)

Re: Show us your bike (bicycle)
« Reply #1200 on: January 16, 2019, 04:36:09 AM »
When are you going? Myself and a few mates going over on Friday night’s sailing - Derby to Maydena, back to Derby. Might see you there 😀

End of Feb, sounds like a good trip.

Offline Humphreythebear

« Reply #1201 on: January 16, 2019, 12:41:03 PM »
Tassie is Awesome - Maydena is very challenging .
Derby love the Atlas Trail .

D4D , if you are up for some fun , I'm local to the Wombat Trails ( Woodend ) due to my 'on a gap year ' status have been riding most days and exploring .

in the last three months - 1200kms of off road , trail riding ,adventure- this occasionally involves being lost ......awesome .
Outback Sturt , Holden SS Ute and a MTB for the Rough Stuff

« Reply #1202 on: January 16, 2019, 04:36:16 PM »
D4D , if you are up for some fun , I'm local to the Wombat Trails ( Woodend ) due to my 'on a gap year ' status have been riding most days and exploring .

Sounds good, I've been meaning to check out Wombat!

« Reply #1203 on: January 16, 2019, 09:10:49 PM »
Tassie is Awesome - Maydena is very challenging .
Derby love the Atlas Trail .

in the last three months - 1200kms of off road , trail riding ,adventure- this occasionally involves being lost ......awesome .

I’d be up for a ride I live in the Macedon ranges area mate but I’m a beginner 😂

Offline Humphreythebear

« Reply #1204 on: January 16, 2019, 09:28:42 PM »
MTB is social , plus I'm enjoying the exploring , finding the mining and logging history  theres even tunnels and a railway - which i have not located yet ....

But received my 1:250 too maps this arvo - hard to read need my glasses !

Might cut down on the "lost - ness "
Outback Sturt , Holden SS Ute and a MTB for the Rough Stuff

Offline BC66

« Reply #1205 on: January 16, 2019, 11:23:34 PM »
Any of you lot around Brisbane do up older bikes? I have a project bike I would give away to someone who's interested. It is a 1983 Alan Sprint, which is a fully threaded and glued aluminium frame. The frame is ok as I recall, the durace/suntour 7 speed gruppo has been neglected in a shed for a long while. Wolber clinchers are on it. At one stage it was an Optus sponsored race bike and when I got it there were tri bars on it. I was going to do it up but other projects came along. This is a very specialised frame with epoxy joints etc and will damage easily in the wrong hands - not for amateur restorers. It is not made for heavy riders either which also counts this Clydesdale out. Same frame as supplied to Guerciotti.
Hi, what size frame is it? I’m only 165 cm tall so I ride a 51 frame. I’m guessing here that being a race bike it is a larger 57-58 size?

Offline topcat

« Reply #1206 on: January 23, 2019, 08:28:26 PM »
When are you going? Myself and a few mates going over on Friday night’s sailing - Derby to Maydena, back to Derby. Might see you there 😀
TC

Over at Derby-blue tier and atlas at Derby are brilliant- Maydena is awesome- nothing like it in the northern island - gravity downhill is scary - schinter tightening - never been so scared in my life - but awesome after a few runs when you get used to it. D4D - you’ll have a ball - I’m still on  Ls and I’m rapt with the experience 😀
TC
Prado 150 GXL 6M + 2016 TVAN Murranji

2008 Trackabout 4x4 Deluxe Tourer - Sold (first love xox)

"If all ya got's a hammer, every problem is a nail"

« Reply #1207 on: January 24, 2019, 05:21:35 AM »
Over at Derby-blue tier and atlas at Derby are brilliant- Maydena is awesome- nothing like it in the northern island - gravity downhill is scary - schinter tightening - never been so scared in my life - but awesome after a few runs when you get used to it. D4D - you’ll have a ball - I’m still on  Ls and I’m rapt with the experience 😀
TC

I can't wait! I see they're closing Maydena on Friday due to fire risk.

« Reply #1208 on: January 24, 2019, 05:42:50 AM »
Hi, what size frame is it? I’m only 165 cm tall so I ride a 51 frame. I’m guessing here that being a race bike it is a larger 57-58 size?

It will be a 55 square frame I’d guess. I don’t have it here to measure. I ride a 58 and could ride it.

Offline topcat

« Reply #1209 on: January 26, 2019, 11:47:17 AM »
Just back from Derby / Maydena - awesome week!

I’d rate Derby as the better experience as it’s got everything- trail, downhill and most trails lead back to the town. I found Maydena to be mental - I’m riding MTB for about a year so not overly experienced.

Great vibe in Derby and the hotel / pizza joint / cafes had great food and couldn’t do enough for you. Lot of riders walking around with lumps / missing skin / bruises / blood on their legs and arms. Not many riding with elbow pads. 2 of us hired a full face helmet at Maydena- just $20/day - would really recommend it 😀.

D4D - you’ll have a ball!
TC
Prado 150 GXL 6M + 2016 TVAN Murranji

2008 Trackabout 4x4 Deluxe Tourer - Sold (first love xox)

"If all ya got's a hammer, every problem is a nail"

« Reply #1210 on: January 26, 2019, 02:57:53 PM »
Just back from Derby / Maydena - awesome week!

I’d rate Derby as the better experience as it’s got everything- trail, downhill and most trails lead back to the town. I found Maydena to be mental - I’m riding MTB for about a year so not overly experienced.

Great vibe in Derby and the hotel / pizza joint / cafes had great food and couldn’t do enough for you. Lot of riders walking around with lumps / missing skin / bruises / blood on their legs and arms. Not many riding with elbow pads. 2 of us hired a full face helmet at Maydena- just $20/day - would really recommend it 😀.

D4D - you’ll have a ball!
TC

Awesome, I had heard that re Derby vs. Maydena.

I can't wait, I just need to fix my Reverb dropper as the hydraulic line has sprung a leak :(

Offline Coolblue80

« Reply #1211 on: January 27, 2019, 06:39:47 AM »
Just putting the finishing touches on the 3 race bikes as we are going to test out our clubs new track. We've totally rebuilt the track including a new 5m start ramp. Haven't raced for about 3.5 months, so this is going to hurt. I've had a noise in the front of My GT Cruiser that I haven't been able to find and fix. Nearly went out and bought some new carbon forks thinking mine were starting to let go, hence the noise. Pulled my front end out, cleaned and lightly greased it, inspected everything. Couldn't find anything out of the ordinary. As I was putting it back together, I only put one spacer back on the stem to give it a bit more thread to engage on, but it bottomed out and I couldn't quite get enough preload on the headset. But the upside was no noise. Pulled it apart and put the other spacer in and the noise has come back. Looks like a bit of friction between the 2 spacers creating the noise. Spray some silicon spray on there and the noise is gone. Saved myself about $300-400 on a new set of forks.
Wish me luck on the new track, I'm gonna need it.
Cheers, Mike.
« Last Edit: January 27, 2019, 09:14:22 AM by Coolblue80 »
2015 Mitsi Pajero. Dobbo MRR Lift, ARB Bar, MM4X4 Lock Up Mate, Intervolt DC Pro DBS, 12,000lb Mako winch. Bla Bla Bla.

96 80 Series. Lots of mods, not enough wheeling. - Gone but not forgotten.
Gulf King Warrior soft floor camper & 19ft Jayco Van

« Reply #1212 on: January 27, 2019, 06:44:46 AM »
^^^ Whoohoo ^^^

« Reply #1213 on: January 27, 2019, 06:46:19 AM »
Check these blokes and their bikes out,  :o makes you wonder about how good they'd go if they had some of our gear.  ???

https://www.facebook.com/720549844694398/videos/278804669420723/?t=3

The following users thanked this post: GBC

Offline Coolblue80

« Reply #1214 on: January 27, 2019, 09:07:32 AM »
All done ready to rock and roll.

2015 Mitsi Pajero. Dobbo MRR Lift, ARB Bar, MM4X4 Lock Up Mate, Intervolt DC Pro DBS, 12,000lb Mako winch. Bla Bla Bla.

96 80 Series. Lots of mods, not enough wheeling. - Gone but not forgotten.
Gulf King Warrior soft floor camper & 19ft Jayco Van

« Reply #1215 on: January 27, 2019, 09:25:57 AM »
Check these blokes and their bikes out,  :o makes you wonder about how good they'd go if they had some of our gear.  ???

https://www.facebook.com/720549844694398/videos/278804669420723/?t=3

theres some impressive cornering going on there with 50kgs of nana ballast!!!
reminds me of

Offline sparksy

« Reply #1216 on: January 27, 2019, 11:26:46 AM »
Clearing out the shed and thinking of getting rid of this.
1997 Wheeler 3100.   What do you guys think would be a fair asking price.

21.5" 54cm frame
Tektro brakes
RSX gears   Rear derallier serial RD A410
WL AR70 rims.
thanks
Wayne
« Last Edit: January 27, 2019, 12:11:43 PM by sparksy »

« Reply #1217 on: January 27, 2019, 11:28:54 AM »
1993 Wheeler 3100.   What do you guys think would be a fair asking price.

thanks
Wayne

What are the specs of it?  ???

« Reply #1218 on: January 27, 2019, 11:42:32 AM »
theres some impressive cornering going on there with 50kgs of nana ballast!!!
reminds me of

Qld nana farmers getting their produce to market quick and fresh! :D ;D

Offline sparksy

« Reply #1219 on: January 27, 2019, 12:10:30 PM »
What are the specs of it?  ???

21.5" 54cm frame
Tektro brakes
WL AR70 rims.

« Reply #1220 on: January 27, 2019, 12:17:25 PM »
1997 Wheeler 3100.   What do you guys think would be a fair asking price.

21.5" 54cm frame
Tektro brakes
WL AR70 rims.
thanks
Wayne

$250-$300 would probably pull you up and that is if it's in good condition. You have to take into account the age and low end parts.

Offline sparksy

« Reply #1221 on: January 27, 2019, 01:26:49 PM »
Thanks for that. It needs new tyres and has a bit of surface rust so by your reckoning if I get 150 I'm right .

The following users thanked this post: GBC

« Reply #1223 on: January 31, 2019, 09:41:57 AM »
Quote from: D4D
He who laughs last laughs loudest...
https://www.illawarramercury.com.au/story/5879248/cop-that-f-king-d-head-cyclists-were-off-duty-policemen/

So why werent they using the bike track even out of courtesy?

« Reply #1224 on: January 31, 2019, 09:55:00 AM »
So why werent they using the bike track even out of courtesy?

It is not a bike track it is shared path, big difference, and you can't ride two abreast on a shared path.