Author Topic: Will I regret this?  (Read 8707 times)

Offline Hewy54

Will I regret this?
« on: September 13, 2016, 05:50:25 PM »
I have had my beloved HZ Premier for nearly 20 years, having completed the restoration about 3 years ago.
I retired 2 years ago and intended using the car a bit but since then it has been out of the shed 3 times.
I have my 80 series for travelling and the wife has her Mazda 3 that we use most of the time.
Advertised the HZ on Gumtree and got the usual replies from oilrigs, but have now had a genuine offer of $12000 (was asking $14000). The guy is from Pt Lincoln and wants to fly over on the weekend.
Would love to see it go to a good home and be appreciated rather than sitting in my shed, and the money would be useful for some travel over the next few years.
Interested in people opinion as to whether I will regret selling the old girl.
« Last Edit: September 13, 2016, 06:11:46 PM by Hewy54 »

80 Series
Vista Crossover XL

Offline Fathom

Re: Will I regret this?
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2016, 05:53:14 PM »
Yes. Keep it.
Always give 100%... Unless you are giving blood.. then it may not go so well...

« Reply #2 on: September 13, 2016, 05:55:57 PM »
Yes . Big mistake to sell it.

scrapsD40

« Reply #3 on: September 13, 2016, 06:07:13 PM »
You may be more comfortable hopefully knowing it's going to a good home where it will be appreciated and respected.

« Reply #4 on: September 13, 2016, 06:17:17 PM »
Keep it, unless you need the money or space.

« Reply #5 on: September 13, 2016, 06:18:28 PM »
I think you have it too cheap to start with.

Check the prices being obtained by the Shannon's auctions.

Keep it, ya wombat.  :cheers:

Offline tombie

« Reply #6 on: September 13, 2016, 06:22:47 PM »
Keeping it and not driving it is criminal
If your interests lay elsewhere sell it to a new loving owner.

Cheers Tombie...
D4 "Storm" Remapped, APT armoured and Tweaked

Offline Discoduck

« Reply #7 on: September 13, 2016, 06:32:28 PM »
If you're not using it, sell it and move on. Who knows, you then free yourself for another project. While it sits in the shed unused, it is just an anchor on your mind.
Of course if you have children who would really appreciate it then hand it on when appropriate.
Nissan Patrol GU 4.2TD
Trakmaster Nullarbor, Air suspension

« Reply #8 on: September 13, 2016, 06:49:15 PM »
I have had my beloved HZ Premier for nearly 20 years, having completed the restoration about 3 years ago.
I retired 2 years ago and intended using the car a bit but since then it has been out of the shed 3 times.

Have you considered joining a Holden car club? A good way to get out and about in it....

« Reply #9 on: September 13, 2016, 06:54:59 PM »
You'll likely regret selling it the rest of your life, as is always the case with many things anyone sells...but life will still go on. If you aren't driving it, there's no real point in owning it, other then pose factor....which is fine if you don't really have anything better to do with the cash.

« Reply #10 on: September 13, 2016, 07:02:43 PM »
Turn the page & move along . l have chucked stuff out of my shed that l haven't used in a long time . into your experience will come a New Interest   . Brace Yourself              :cheers:

« Reply #11 on: September 13, 2016, 07:47:30 PM »
I say sell it and start a new project...
"The problem with the world is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?"

Offline ivan

« Reply #12 on: September 13, 2016, 08:17:56 PM »
I have an fb ute and consider selling it now and again til i drive it. Say no more.

Offline Sixtys Guy

« Reply #13 on: September 13, 2016, 08:24:59 PM »
Sell it, but stick to your asking price. If the guy is flying interstate he must been keen as. If he says no to the $14K, it wasn't meant to be.
2009 Dual Cab Hilux
2009 Southern Cross Canvas Bush Mate

« Reply #14 on: September 13, 2016, 08:26:24 PM »
just give it to me if ou really dont want it. i mean its just a crappy old holden. im looking for a new car to take to archerfeild speedway

« Reply #15 on: September 13, 2016, 08:31:06 PM »
I say sell it and start a new project...

I am still waiting for you to finish your current one.........bring back the Rocky lol........ :cheers:

« Reply #16 on: September 13, 2016, 08:39:35 PM »
I bought a VK Commodore new ( 134 pack ) and had it for 28yrs..

Do I wish I still had it....yep......do I regret selling it....no.

There's more things to do in life than hang on to something you don't use..

« Reply #17 on: September 13, 2016, 08:55:13 PM »
just give it to me if ou really dont want it. i mean its just a crappy old holden. im looking for a new car to take to archerfeild speedway
You'll be out of place, i thought they only ran stolen vehicles around the track?

« Reply #18 on: September 13, 2016, 08:59:07 PM »
Put it on club rego and keep it. costs nothing to sit in the shed.. will only go up in value for a few more years though

Offline heath74

« Reply #19 on: September 13, 2016, 09:14:41 PM »
Beautiful car mate, thanks for putting a pick up. I had the HX premier in brown, your pic has bought back so many memories.

I wish I still had it, but realistically I dont regret selling it.

Good luck either way

Offline Hewy54

« Reply #20 on: September 13, 2016, 09:28:47 PM »
Put it on club rego and keep it. costs nothing to sit in the shed.. will only go up in value for a few more years though
Build date is Sept 1979 and the cutoff for club rego is July 1979.
Also on dedicated LPG so in SA cannot have club rego.

80 Series
Vista Crossover XL

« Reply #21 on: September 13, 2016, 09:54:15 PM »
Quote from: Hewy54
Also on dedicated LPG so in SA cannot have club rego.
??? that's another illogical rule...

Offline Jason B

• "Mark Goldie recovery team coordinator"
  • 80 Series Turbo DX Cruiser, Kimberley Kamper 2013 SE
« Reply #22 on: September 13, 2016, 10:29:11 PM »
They are appreciating mate, so if you don’t need to sell it now and are unsure hang onto it for another couple of years and it will be worth a few more bucks.

I regret selling my toy group C car, sold it for $14k in 2002 and its work $80k now. I don’t regret buying the KK an spending the time with the family though.

Just depends on your immediate plans and need for the $$$

Offline NewieCamper

« Reply #23 on: September 13, 2016, 10:40:59 PM »
I had a 69 2 dr valiant. Loved it, but didn't drive it enough. I sold it so someone else could use it properly.

Do I regret selling it? Sometimes yes, I'm sure my boys would have loved it. But, it wasn't practical and wouldn't have been used enough. One day I might pickup another classic car, but for now it's about practicality.

If you aren't using it now, sell it. You'll miss it, but get over it.

« Reply #24 on: September 13, 2016, 10:44:59 PM »
Could always turn it into real $$$ .. Disassemble it ship it to china, get them to 3D scan all the body components and quick mould new limited run panel presses ..
spit out and import a Ship load of new body shells and panels and flog them off before some Alphabet company rips your idea off and goes into competition http://dynacornbodies.com/ or you could do a complete top to bottom front to rear up to turn key version like these Chev blokes do https://www.danchuk.com/ItemForm.aspx?Item=99934

https://www.motorsportauctions.com/category/329/Historic-Rally-Cars/listings/35372/Escort-Mk2-Brand-New-Bodyshells.html
« Last Edit: September 13, 2016, 11:08:30 PM by edz »