Author Topic: 3 Mini Mokes doing the Cape  (Read 7337 times)

Offline MADCOW

• I Rescue Fish from Water and Beer from Bottles
3 Mini Mokes doing the Cape
« on: November 15, 2012, 07:00:00 AM »
One of my work colleagues has just come back from a trip up the Birdsville track and onto the Cape, Anyone see them in their travels? They were in the local rag in Weipa.
03 4.2 TDI Gu, Mountain Trail Extended Escape Camper,
 June 2018 Terrain Tamer Calendar

Re: 3 Mini Mokes doing the Cape
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2012, 07:43:10 AM »
Wow, I reckon that would be fun.

Not sure a wet rag like me would cope with the dust and no air con though....... :-[
I must be getting old.
Years ago I would have dreamt of things like that...

Best of luck to them.

Offline bushbandit

• Oh To Be On The Wallaby
« Reply #2 on: November 15, 2012, 08:22:23 AM »
No but on the way up to Dalby to pickup our CT we stayed overnight at Tamworth and there were about a hundred or more Mini Mokes gathering there for the annual rally i must say they spend some money on them.One guy even had a pull out tent of the rear .
2013 Mitsubishi Triton GLR 4x4
2015 Jayco Swift Outback

Offline MADCOW

« Reply #3 on: November 15, 2012, 08:27:12 AM »
Speaking to him this morning he had a blast with a few issues but the forum they use helped out a lot with chasing a prt for one of the group. He left with 12km on the clock after a full rebuild of both vehicle and engine. Swagged it all the way!

I have a copy of the paper they were in and will pdf it and try to get on here for you all to have a squizz

Offline GeeTee

• GT Campers premium off-road trailers and Toyota Hilux Expedition conversions
« Reply #4 on: November 15, 2012, 08:34:12 AM »
top stuff, that's travelling in style  ;D

GT Campers: Off-road touring trailer or Toyota Hilux Expedition
Purpose-designed and built off-road touring vehicles. Innovation not imitation!
Find us on Facebook

« Reply #5 on: November 15, 2012, 09:17:02 AM »
This year I believe overseas they are re-releasing the Moke...
http://www.mokeinternational.com/

Wonder how they would go with current ADR's..

Offline MADCOW

« Reply #6 on: November 15, 2012, 09:29:53 AM »
Sorry fellas I cannot get the file under the maximum size allowed

Offline mcm72

• Australia, Love it or leave it
« Reply #7 on: November 15, 2012, 10:26:40 AM »
could always upload to the FTP server and then put a link here :)
just a thought

MM
Navara D40 4x4
Camel Beachcomber CT

Australia,  Love it or Leave it :)

« Reply #8 on: November 15, 2012, 11:43:03 AM »
Ahh but then again if the Mokes were one of these ...Ive always wanted to build one, this beuty hales from NT, I think ... years back there used to be a Moke Jamborie type of event with big turn outs and trips to the cape and out back etc ..
4WD Moke any one ..

« Reply #9 on: November 15, 2012, 12:13:13 PM »
Never been to the cape, but I have seen some videos, just picturing a standard moke with 2" ground clearance trying to negotiate some of those I've seen in the videos.!
then two guys lifting and carrying them over a river crossing.

« Reply #10 on: November 15, 2012, 12:32:14 PM »
What a ripper idea, NEW MOKE  A mate of mine had 1 with the 1300 Cooper in it ,,,,,,,FLEWWWWWWWWW. Congers up all sorts of memories  >:D >:D >:D >:D >:D >:D    :cheers:

« Reply #11 on: November 15, 2012, 12:33:18 PM »
What a ripper idea, NEW MOKE  A mate of mine had 1 with the 1300 Cooper in it ,,,,,,,FLEWWWWWWWWW. Congers up all sorts of memories  >:D >:D >:D >:D >:D >:D    :cheers:
you need to go to the next shannons auctions
http://www.shannons.com.au/auctions/lot/CIDEH1DS9A59VZ0B but I think their price guide is dreaming $14,000 - $18,000
http://www.shannons.com.au/auctions/view/current/4

Offline GeeTee

• GT Campers premium off-road trailers and Toyota Hilux Expedition conversions
« Reply #12 on: November 15, 2012, 12:37:37 PM »
Nah Lost its not dreaming, I've heard (confirmed - not rumour) of sales in excess of $20K

GT Campers: Off-road touring trailer or Toyota Hilux Expedition
Purpose-designed and built off-road touring vehicles. Innovation not imitation!
Find us on Facebook

« Reply #13 on: November 15, 2012, 12:54:22 PM »
Sky Blue , polished Ally roll cage  , open top , lap sash belts . Went shell we say ,,,,, well  :cup:

« Reply #14 on: November 15, 2012, 12:59:09 PM »
Sky Blue , polished Ally roll cage  , open top , lap sash belts . Went shell we say ,,,,, well  :cup:

You??  in one of these????

« Reply #15 on: November 15, 2012, 01:08:10 PM »

« Reply #16 on: November 15, 2012, 01:10:28 PM »
Growing up we used to have a Moke parked in the driveway along with a Troopy, I learnt to drive in the Moke, It was amazing to see what tracks it would do around Jamieson. Some good climbs. Light weight easy to manoeuvre. It used to run a Winter Tread tyre pattern on it.

An engineering firm I was working for 2 years ago had on in the back of the factory. Easily over the 20k mark when restored.

« Reply #17 on: November 15, 2012, 01:15:07 PM »
Light weight easy to manoeuvre.

You mean it was easy to pick up and move when you bogged it or got stuck (probably somewhere wher you shouldnt have been) !  ;D

My BIL has a yellow rust bucket version.  Still going, you can  see thru the floor and the fuel is still visible if you take the rubbish bin lid tank cap off. Perhaps he better get it comprehensively insured again?

« Reply #18 on: November 16, 2012, 05:09:18 PM »
There was a company in Brisbane a while back (  not sure if they are still going ) that was building Mokes, you could choose from Stainless steel, aluminium, steel and fibre glass for the shells, pretty sure they were fitting mazda engines and running gear,using a coil over shock with fabricated wish bone suspension ..

« Reply #19 on: November 18, 2012, 08:51:23 AM »
na
these

Oh yeah baby....................I 'd love one of these!!!!!

« Reply #20 on: November 18, 2012, 11:34:28 AM »
Never been to the cape, but I have seen some videos, just picturing a standard moke with 2" ground clearance trying to negotiate some of those I've seen in the videos.!
then two guys lifting and carrying them over a river crossing.
i would assume they would have taken the developmental road all the way to the top and not gone the OTL, so not an issue for them really. many years ago i went on an Endevour car rally to Cape York, 99% of vehicles were 2wd and it's not that hard to do once the water has dropped, just corrogations are the worst part.

« Reply #21 on: November 18, 2012, 12:16:53 PM »
I still remember Mini Kingdom on Millerra road back in the 80's had a heap of Mini and Moke stuff left over from BL closing. He had brand new Moke shells, $1500 I think.

Offline pommiedic

« Reply #22 on: November 26, 2012, 01:42:33 PM »
I drive past a  Mini n Moke place most days.  Both appear to sell really well, with prices upto 25k for a Moke.  The Mokes appear to go out the door as soon as they hit the show room floor.  Seem popular with the surf dudes. 
Why is the 1st Tea of the day the best?

« Reply #23 on: November 26, 2012, 02:44:26 PM »
I remember back in the early 80's you could hire a Moke for around $10 a day on the Gold Coast. They were a hoot to drive around in and the tourists loved them. Have driven a few in my day but never owned one.

Offline bushbandit

• Oh To Be On The Wallaby
« Reply #24 on: December 10, 2012, 12:53:45 PM »
Just watched two eposoides of Pat Callans getting to the Cape ,how the hell do you get a Moke there when they have  41 vehicles that couldnt make one particular river crossing i think it was called Rolands Creek.There must be an easy way.
2013 Mitsubishi Triton GLR 4x4
2015 Jayco Swift Outback