Author Topic: 3 months to travel - where would you go?  (Read 7720 times)

3 months to travel - where would you go?
« on: April 01, 2011, 11:49:11 AM »
The wife has found out that she is entitled to long service leave so we have decided that for 3 months of 2012 we are going to pack up and go!

The dilemma is we are not sure how far we could cover in that time as we want don't want to get up and go every day, but on the other hand we would like to see as much as possible.

We have been to the Red Centre twice (inc Kakadu and Litchfield) so there is no point going there.  We are in Adelaide so Tasmania isn't far away so could leave that for another time, and we have also been to the High Country twice.  We will have the camper trailer so are thinking the Simpson wouldn't be suitable. 

We are thinking do we head up and see Cape York, or go over to the Kimberleys, or would we have enough time to do both?  We are also tossing up when would be better to go: either mid April to mid July, or alternatively early July to early October.

Looking forward to your replies.

Offline Joff

• "This is my Custom User Title"
Re: 3 months to travel - where would you go?
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2011, 12:28:04 PM »
Adelaide - Flinders - Birdsville - Simpson (camper will be fine) - Finke - Alice - Tanami (sucks but better than all the way around) - Wolfe Creek - CSR - Wiluna - Kalgoorlie - Anne Beadell - Coober Pedy - Home.

Too much dirt?  ;D
HDJ-105 full dresser plus modded Allterrain and NO BLING

« Reply #2 on: April 01, 2011, 01:02:12 PM »
Sounds good to me.

« Reply #3 on: April 01, 2011, 05:13:55 PM »
Adelaide - Flinders - Birdsville - Simpson (camper will be fine) - Finke - Alice - Tanami (sucks but better than all the way around) - Wolfe Creek - CSR - Wiluna - Kalgoorlie - Anne Beadell - Coober Pedy - Home.

Too much dirt?  ;D

If you throw in a week at the Bungles ... I'm coming too!

« Reply #4 on: April 01, 2011, 05:25:23 PM »
Can we start from Kalgoorlie?

Offline tonyw

• Tonys Travel Blogs
« Reply #5 on: April 01, 2011, 05:46:21 PM »
Out my front gate, turn right, and where ever i end up each day  :cup:

Probably get back to tassie for a month then back and across to S.A via the Coorong to the Yorke Peninsula then loop the Eyre Peninsula then up to Flinders Ranges then loop around through Camerons down through Menindi Lakes to Mungo then follow the Murray to back to Lake Alexandrina and home via the Grampians.

That would probably change as soon as i got out the gate though.

Offline rossbarb

« Reply #6 on: April 01, 2011, 07:08:27 PM »
we are in the same boat except it is hubby who has three months long service and I am taking it off without pay. We are thinking of doing the Kimberley just starting to look at how we are going to get there. We might catch up on the way we are leaving end of June
barb

Offline olddigger

« Reply #7 on: April 01, 2011, 10:51:55 PM »
At the risk of being flamed, I'd suggest: Bangkok, Hong Kong, Dubai, Madrid, London, Paris, Rome, Amsterdam, Berlin, New York, San Francisco, Auckland and home again with fond memories of fascinating places.

« Reply #8 on: April 02, 2011, 12:06:45 AM »

Too much dirt?  ;D

100%... Joff for Prime minister

Good point Kit-e.. loved the Bungles.. A Must Do.
« Last Edit: April 02, 2011, 12:08:20 AM by SteveandViv »

Offline albyback1

• Never too busy to go camping
« Reply #9 on: April 02, 2011, 08:18:38 AM »
At the risk of being flamed, I'd suggest: Bangkok, Hong Kong, Dubai, Madrid, London, Paris, Rome, Amsterdam, Berlin, New York, San Francisco, Auckland and home again with fond memories of fascinating places.

LOL

Great suggestion!
Every where I go I bring pleasure. Sometimes it's when I arrive... but usually its when I leave!

« Reply #10 on: April 02, 2011, 08:24:47 AM »
We plan the same idea for our next long service, 2015. We're going to do the west coast clockwise, starting at the bottom then down the centre and back to MEL.

Offline Joff

• "This is my Custom User Title"
« Reply #11 on: April 02, 2011, 09:03:06 AM »

not enugh dirt.. And besides, cost a bomb to get the Cruiser and camper to those places.. you'd have to stay in hotels and that would just suck  >:D
HDJ-105 full dresser plus modded Allterrain and NO BLING

« Reply #12 on: April 02, 2011, 09:46:37 AM »
Pack the rig
Out the front gate  , Flip coin left / heads  Tails / right  Droped / who cares
Go with the wind
Be up for any thing .
An overview could be handy but it will happen      eventully
when you get back you will have met many people , had interesting times seen lots & mostly unplanned . Now dosent that sound more exciting  :cheers:

« Reply #13 on: April 02, 2011, 03:58:36 PM »
If it was me I would do either the Kimberley or Cape York. Once you have made that decission then work out which way there and back.

« Reply #14 on: April 02, 2011, 04:06:38 PM »
If it was me I would do either the Kimberley or Cape York. Once you have made that decission then work out which way there and back.

That's just it - we want to do both - just wondering if we will have the time.

« Reply #15 on: April 02, 2011, 04:18:05 PM »
Well I think you should come and see us...The kimberly is looking good this year. Tons of rain so the Gibb will be great as well as all the Gorges along the way.. Wettest wet on record has to be worth a look...IMO

« Reply #16 on: April 02, 2011, 04:48:46 PM »
What is so fascinating about Amsterdam?
Just another city.

Offline Johnno convert

« Reply #17 on: April 02, 2011, 05:33:13 PM »
Must be the year of long service leave as we are going to do the same. We are considering going across to WA and doing the coast road through Esperance and working our way past Perth to the coral coast. I would love to go further (and have a fourbie to boot) but time and money dictate on both :-[
Anyone got a spare graft from a money tree laying around anywhere?? ;D

Offline Sharky

• AORC - Odyssey Export
« Reply #18 on: April 02, 2011, 07:26:24 PM »

We had three months Long Service Leave in '09 and briefly did the top end around Darwin (a week in Kakadu, a week in Darwin and a few days moving through the Territory) and then hit the Kimberley. That, and the travel there and back, took all of three months.

We had initially planned to do the Savannah Way but we thought three months wasn't enough to see it all in the detail that we wanted to. So we decided to concentrate on the location furthest from us and keep the Cape and Gulf country for a separate trip. Best decision we made!

BTW the Kimberley was fantastic - we did the GRR twice, Broome, Cape Leveque, Derby (Horizontal waterfalls) and Purnululu. I'd go back again in a heartbeat.

Enjoy!

Sharky
LC105 & AORC - Odyssey Export

« Reply #19 on: April 03, 2011, 07:47:49 AM »

Yes, you will have time to go to both, with a big BUT. Do you want to cross them of the list, or have a good look. I suggest if you want to have a good look and get to know the area, only do one.

« Reply #20 on: April 03, 2011, 09:43:54 AM »
Do a lap of the best country in the world
Got a book called Australian Bush Pubs I go & check them out , mite test the old lambs fry out a bit  lol
cheers all sheeds

« Reply #21 on: April 03, 2011, 01:17:16 PM »

JK,
Don't do both.
We now do a 3 month trip every year and do one major area each trip.
The great thing about 3 months is you get to stay longer at the best places but, we still never have enough time.
Do the Kimberley and do it well, you will have a ball.

Offline Johnno convert

« Reply #22 on: April 03, 2011, 03:19:18 PM »
3 month trip a year!! Thommo that is the life!!

Offline Alloy C/T

« Reply #23 on: April 03, 2011, 04:47:45 PM »
We did 6mths in 08 ,23,000klm [13,000 of that dirt], camper set up / packed up 52 times ,, its hard yakka , pick 1 or 2 places like the cape  or the gibb river rd and spend TIME to really see the places , not just moving to tick off the '' must do'' on the list.

Offline TOPNDR

« Reply #24 on: April 03, 2011, 07:30:38 PM »
G'day John,

Mrs T & I recently spent a month in Tassie, loosing two weeks due to a bingle.  However, you could easily spend three months or more there.  So much to see & do. You'll want a heater though.  We had ours on most nights (10 Jan-11 Feb).

You could give the Kimberley & Cape York a reasonable go in three months.  If the Tanami is open, Adelaide, Alice, Halls Ck, Fitzroy Crossing, Broome, Cape Leveque, GRR including Mitchell Plateau, Bungles, Halls Ck, Top Springs, Dunmarra, Cloncurry, Normanton, Mareeba (take a side trip to Kuranda & camp at Chateau TOPNDR), Cape York, home.

Take 6 days to get to Broome.  30 days in Kimberley (easily possible to spend more), 6 days to Mareeba from Halls Ck, 30 days Cape York (don't miss Cooktown), 6 days to Adelaide.  Leaves you at least 12 days for the unexpected.  ;D

ps, I towed a Kimberley Kamper across the Simopson in '08 with a 3 litre 'Trol (manual), so don't be put off doing that.

« Last Edit: April 03, 2011, 07:56:32 PM by TOPNDR »
'09 VX TTD Cruiser:- 6 speed auto, 650 nm torque plus bling
'09 Australian Off Road Quantum