Author Topic: Show us your bike (bicycle)  (Read 489071 times)

Re: Show us your bike (bicycle)
« Reply #1725 on: July 11, 2020, 07:25:40 AM »
OR, how bad a rider can you be ??

Even the best riders with inattention can have an oops.

« Reply #1726 on: July 11, 2020, 08:05:28 AM »
Even the best riders with inattention can have an oops.

A bit like my Dr. He says to me yesterday.........This is the first time ya seen me since my accident. Me ??? Okay He was down in Tassie with some mates and his MTB and crashed and ended up with 13 fractures. One was the full length of his chest.  :o

« Reply #1727 on: July 11, 2020, 08:58:10 AM »
A bit like my Dr. He says to me yesterday.........This is the first time ya seen me since my accident. Me ??? Okay He was down in Tassie with some mates and his MTB and crashed and ended up with 13 fractures. One was the full length of his chest.  :o

Yeh, a bit different to a lady who couldn't turn her pushie around on a boardwalk !  ;D

« Reply #1728 on: July 11, 2020, 09:06:41 AM »
Yeh, a bit different to a lady who couldn't turn her pushie around on a boardwalk !  ;D

Typically those boardwalks don't have a lot of grip and when/if wet are treacherous. They need to be rough sawn with chicken wire.

« Reply #1729 on: July 11, 2020, 10:39:45 AM »
Typically those boardwalks don't have a lot of grip and when/if wet are treacherous. They need to be rough sawn with chicken wire.

No, they need to fully fenced so novice riders can't fall off the side and impale themselves on a mangrove root.

OR, a sign saying training wheels must be used along this boardwalk !!  ;D ;D

Maybe a freak accident, but seriously, the stupid old duck didn't know how to handle her pushie...and hopefully, she doesn't want to sue, which is the common thing to do these days ..

Offline petrolburner

« Reply #1730 on: July 12, 2020, 07:06:19 AM »
Couldn’t let the kids have all the fun.
Bought myself an early 40th pressie and got it thoroughly muddy yesterday. It’s a Norco Fluid FS2, the shop kindly upgraded the plastic SX eagle derailleur with a GX unit and set it up tubeless for me.

There’s a mountain bike trail network only 15 minutes ride from my house, so decided to have an explore yesterday, nearly died on the way up and was terrified on the way down but looking forward to going again ;D was so much fun!!

Here’s a link of someone who actually can ride one of the sections I found yesterday
https://youtu.be/swq_4EPP13M

« Last Edit: July 12, 2020, 07:10:44 AM by petrolburner »
Complete Campsite Fraser XTE

2013 Nissan Patrol Y62 ST-L

« Reply #1731 on: July 12, 2020, 07:12:59 AM »
Well done, I'm a fan of the Norcos

Offline petrolburner

« Reply #1732 on: July 12, 2020, 07:24:10 AM »
I wanted the FS1 which is only $500 extra but much better spec front fork and Shimano SLX drivetrain. But there just isn’t any XL sized stock around or coming until near the end of the year.

I figure for a beginner this is more bike than I need anyway!

« Reply #1733 on: July 12, 2020, 07:37:05 AM »
You've got all you need in that bike. The only thing you gain with more expensive bikes is a weight saving and more adjustability. Getting your suspension setup correctly is the main thing.

« Reply #1734 on: July 12, 2020, 07:42:23 AM »
Bought myself an early 40th pressie and got it thoroughly muddy yesterday. It’s a Norco Fluid FS2, the shop kindly upgraded the plastic SX eagle derailleur with a GX unit and set it up tubeless for me.

There’s a mountain bike trail network only 15 minutes ride from my house, so decided to have an explore yesterday, nearly died on the way up and was terrified on the way down but looking forward to going again ;D was so much fun!!

Here’s a link of someone who actually can ride one of the sections I found yesterday

8) :cheers:

Offline Coolblue80

« Reply #1735 on: July 12, 2020, 07:44:43 AM »

I liken mountain bike riding to sex. The climb is foreplay (10mins to 30 mins of torture). The downhill is the other bit. All over in two minutes.
2015 Mitsi Pajero. Dobbo MRR Lift, ARB Bar, MM4X4 Lock Up Mate, Intervolt DC Pro DBS, 12,000lb Mako winch. Bla Bla Bla.

96 80 Series. Lots of mods, not enough wheeling. - Gone but not forgotten.
Gulf King Warrior soft floor camper & 19ft Jayco Van
The following users thanked this post: petrolburner

Offline petrolburner

« Reply #1736 on: July 12, 2020, 04:04:50 PM »
Also got all the bikes loaded onto the ISI

However in think I need to invest in a light board as four sets of wheels seems to effectively block the indicators of my Patrol.
Any good links to lights that work nicely on the ISI?

« Reply #1737 on: July 12, 2020, 04:07:27 PM »
However in think I need to invest in a light board as four sets of wheels seems to effectively block the indicators of my Patrol.
I DIY'd my own based off this design.
https://www.gripsport.com.au/product/gs-led-rack-light-assembly/

The following users thanked this post: petrolburner

« Reply #1738 on: July 12, 2020, 06:07:25 PM »
I liken mountain bike riding to sex. The climb is foreplay (10mins to 30 mins of torture). The downhill is the other bit. All over in two minutes.

;D ;D >:( >:( >:(

« Reply #1739 on: July 12, 2020, 06:44:24 PM »

Mate.....10 to 30 mins of torture......could you explain that bit ??  ;D

I'm over 60 yrs old and I'd forgotten how to even spell foreplay !!   ;D ;D      Is that the time it takes to get your gear off ??  ;D

« Reply #1740 on: July 12, 2020, 07:06:15 PM »
Also got all the bikes loaded onto the ISI

Going to make something up for mine soon. Have the lights just need some time.

Sent from my SM-N976B using Tapatalk

« Reply #1741 on: July 13, 2020, 04:17:10 PM »
Has anyone used something like this for tyre inflation on both MTB and road bike. Looking for some feedback.

https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/32x-Bike-Bicycle-Tyre-Air-Inflator-16g-Co2-Threaded-Cartridge-w-Cover-Pump/311925255049?_trkparms=ispr%3D1&hash=item48a031ab89:g:~akAAOSwIlxdcoQ2&enc=AQAFAAACcBaobrjLl8XobRIiIML1V4Imu%2Fn%2BzU5L90Z278x5ickkRjLZq23gAR%2BKma9gM2Z1hqe3fe4pfy4X9hC4EFs3v4Lq4oidcRzPDl8tgtK0QuTKbsoiWc5%2BI8RSZ3L0EndoriEgcVpySW8Qb4P4kf5wihkI2XGQ424iofcCWRVjpR03zoWZCFQ3hkrM31kE%2BEZJqJYUR7PVQEA6n%2BeYMqdj7dU8GM97Sr3NGqbTrpvEXYNhEVBGd4melXTx5YFsZZf8qUIChoBqBRxB08RtRzbWgQiNz3VoOAc5TiXScLyG6O0ehiG3Bxa8luRJls1YfAmr%2FjxlnkrF2nPTgpt6o36iR88u11vQjtvkf4AoOOFhxcU5anO0mDKydcs8KG2qZ4z2VDpLdPrWine8HyvxolSaGmnOIZnP%2F6jqMzVRL1YDiRtsg%2BKP7UynHfRQmWLMe1AoOGuZ27FVsEjO79K02OBzy1tEntqCjY149xGizn%2FbivyIbh7UzvYthtQ4X1ZLBvI48v5au2b5gse7nk9ZHpddaaLTG4rHveudrfvzk5IbaDfeyfaBU%2F97nlnPa9OQx7wsHJBEuMl5iENVk7IJ%2B79o8pVJC9kfANRdqg26uBLsLW%2BY5RGLpGXcN6XrpJ%2BT6HV85CyiO%2BnDs%2Bc%2F2zp4I0Uc6vVcOIc12tnSJl5To8KqhwVGBwuqKxAdQFsOCdccNBjbRSRJd%2FNZ%2Fs8P8PyouWuOfH3p6xSQB%2BGmS03zixjI%2BGL1HZck3URT8%2BHeHYzqcRFnMMrOAQDkBmy75LxNZtD4VNWouhrKJUEStT6pRN2a09gOK20QuNBM3%2FJDui2q4NeLYg%3D%3D&checksum=3119252550499373b238fc5d4b9aa1d05573f1ab4a1d

« Reply #1742 on: July 13, 2020, 04:25:34 PM »
Has anyone used something like this for tyre inflation on both MTB and road bike. Looking for some feedback.

https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/311925255049
in the 80's used them in Enduros on motorbikes... worked well. but it was all or nothing, not sure if you can regulate it these days.

« Reply #1743 on: July 13, 2020, 05:00:25 PM »

Yup, they'll get you home. You will need to refill your tyre with air afterwards as the Co2 will escape and your tyre will be flat the next day. I'd go for a name brand inflator though with a cover for the cartridge as they get real cold.

« Reply #1744 on: July 13, 2020, 06:27:15 PM »
in the 80's used them in Enduros on motorbikes... worked well. but it was all or nothing, not sure if you can regulate it these days.

Yes I once went trail riding with two blokes both A4DE and 3 x ISDE silver medallist’s and one of them got flat on the rear. Seriously never seen a puncture repaired that quick and re-inflated with the canisters.

Offline wakychapmans

« Reply #1745 on: July 13, 2020, 06:50:53 PM »
Yup, they'll get you home. You will need to refill your tyre with air afterwards as the Co2 will escape and your tyre will be flat the next day. I'd go for a name brand inflator though with a cover for the cartridge as they get real cold.

also worth being aware that C02 doesn't play that nicely with most tubeless sealant liquids. (particularly the more... ahem... well known brands)

it's fine for short periods. (as D4D mentioned, do what you have to do to get home/back to the car)

But it's well worth deflating and refilling with "normal" air once you get home.

Wayne & Kyria Chapman
(+ Tucker & Monty the Samoyeds)
www.youtube.com/@morepawstravels/about
105 series Landcruiser 1HZ (soooooo much power)
1994, Supreme Getaway 14' (a "renovators dream")
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=56736.0
2 x titanium fatbikes with 4.8" tyres

« Reply #1746 on: July 16, 2020, 10:53:19 AM »
Question to those with a quiver full of bikes...

It's there a big difference in ride comfort between Steel and Titanium?

Looking at a few gravel bikes, and there are some affordable titanium options out there.

Context - the last new bike I bought was 18 years ago, and I've logged over 130k on it, so I tend to get my money's worth

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

If you are talking road / gravel then no there is not much difference. The main difference in these types of bikes is the forks. If you go the little extra and get a carbon fork you will notice a massive difference in ride comfort as it dampens the vibrations coming up through the bike. If you go full aluminum it can act like a tuning fork in certain conditions. I know you mention steel but there is not much of those around these days as Aluminium frames have taken over and are no being replaced by carbon in the road bike scene

Offline wakychapmans

« Reply #1747 on: July 16, 2020, 02:00:09 PM »
I know you mention steel but there is not much of those around these days as Aluminium frames have taken over and are no being replaced by carbon in the road bike scene

http://www.dirtworksb2b.com.au/brand/ritchey/

Wayne & Kyria Chapman
(+ Tucker & Monty the Samoyeds)
www.youtube.com/@morepawstravels/about
105 series Landcruiser 1HZ (soooooo much power)
1994, Supreme Getaway 14' (a "renovators dream")
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=56736.0
2 x titanium fatbikes with 4.8" tyres

Offline petrolburner

« Reply #1748 on: July 18, 2020, 07:52:02 AM »
Question for the MTB gurus.

Wanting a bit of advice on air pressure for my kids bikes for some gravelly, rocky and rooty single tracks.

Eldest is on 27.5x2.35” tyres with inner tubes and weighs around 30kg

Youngest is on 24x2.2” tyres with inner tubes and weighs around 20kg

Ben

« Reply #1749 on: July 18, 2020, 08:09:47 AM »
Question for the MTB gurus.

Wanting a bit of advice on air pressure for my kids bikes for some gravelly, rocky and rooty single tracks.

Eldest is on 27.5x2.35” tyres with inner tubes and weighs around 30kg

Youngest is on 24x2.2” tyres with inner tubes and weighs around 20kg

Ben

I like to see a bit of tyre 'squish/compliance' but too much and you'll pinch flat. Kids are pretty light so unless they ride really hard you can run fairly low pressure even with tubes. I ran 20psi front 24psi rear on my son's 24" hardtail with tubes and that seemed to be ok. Also depends on the quality of the tyre, some are really hard and take lower pressure to deform. I'd convert the 27.5 to tubeless and run low 20s as well. It really is a trial and error process.