Author Topic: Show us ya real bike!  (Read 72118 times)

Offline Joff

• "This is my Custom User Title"
Re: Show us ya real bike!
« Reply #25 on: August 03, 2016, 05:41:26 PM »
Nice, the lot of em.  :cup:

Keep em coming :worthles:
HDJ-105 full dresser plus modded Allterrain and NO BLING

Offline Bullant4x4

« Reply #26 on: August 03, 2016, 05:50:01 PM »
Have no bike now but here is a pair of stagg leathers I use to wear down Wonthaggi enduro race track back in the 70's when I was 5yr.
Dad rode with Kelvin Thomas and we use to ride with his boys.

« Reply #27 on: August 03, 2016, 06:02:12 PM »
That tree hugger thread needs a rival  >:D

Where are the real riders of Myswag??

Here's my current. I say current coz I just signed up for the BMW Test Ride day at Wisemans Ferry next Thrursday. Test riding the new GSA.

BTW, that's not me, that's my daughter (in case anyone thought I was small and wore yellow)

Love the photo, I lived at the top of that track for 25 plus years before moving north and now looking for a BMW GS like yours for riding on weekends. Have fun on the ride at wiseman.

Offline Joff

« Reply #28 on: August 03, 2016, 06:28:59 PM »
Love the photo, I lived at the top of that track for 25 plus years before moving north and now looking for a BMW GS like yours for riding on weekends. Have fun on the ride at wiseman.

You can have mine for $11500.  :cup:

« Reply #29 on: August 03, 2016, 06:33:07 PM »
A good representation of bikes across different types, uses......... keep em coming.

I had a bike licence as soon as I could get one, had a car lic too, but only rode bikes. Didn't own a car till kids come along in my early twenties, still had bikes then too for my commuting.....
Pre lic had an old DT250 yammie ( for trail riding and sneaking about town as a 15/16 yr old) flogged that thing mercilessly, couldn't kill it. Mate however killed it, stacked it creek side in Cairns on a high bank, bike did a few cart wheel to wards the bank drop off and continued to somersault until landing about 15mtrs out in deep swamp water....... we tried at low tide to retrieve, not a chance, she was silted over and vacuum stuck to the river bed....... prob still there now in part.

First bike with lic - XL250 (back in the 250cc restriction days.

Bought a 69 Triumph Trophy TR6 (partly mongrelised, but I thought it was the coolest beast)

GPZ750 Kwaka.

Honda CB750 with a 1000cc motor in it that had been given a wiseco big bore kit and worked accordingly (Brett Katana in Cairns gave it some 'special' treatment)...... in essence, motor was fit for drag racing, frame steering general handling was not, but I had plenty of fun and some scares on that thing.

Then over the years a few other trailie / commuter things TT350, XT250 DR350, all bought at different times to suit current situations.

I still like them now and frequently still buy mags and spend time on bike sales keeping up with research on whats new etc....

If I was to buy a bike now I'd be inclined to go for a cruiser type or adventure type...... No interest anymore in sports/speed bikes....... too fat, too old.  ;D

Oh and the Mrs has seen the Ural side car set ups...... she reckons they look like a fun way to spend a Sunday, I agree with her........ but for ~$20k I would have other more usable preferences first. A lotto win would definitely see one in the stable though, just for novelty value.

Offline topcat

« Reply #30 on: August 03, 2016, 06:34:08 PM »
current steed in Tassie early this year (been there 11 of the last 16 years!).
Just fitted K&N pods to the carbs - goes and sounds even better.

History is -
Honda CD175
Kawa Z200
Honda CB500/4
Honda CB750F1
Kawa Z400F
Kawa Z650C
Kawa GPZ750A1
Yam RD350 YPVS
Suzi GSXR750
Kawa ZRX1100
Kawa ZRX1200 (current)

Prado 150 GXL 6M + 2016 TVAN Murranji

2008 Trackabout 4x4 Deluxe Tourer - Sold (first love xox)

"If all ya got's a hammer, every problem is a nail"

« Reply #31 on: August 03, 2016, 06:37:20 PM »
I missed out on a 1929 Rudge (I think it was) my grandfather bought brand new - with sidecar on it several years back...
My Uncle had it in the UK and was selling it.. I told him I'd buy it and pay shipping and shout him a hour at brothel...  but the cocksucker wouldn't do it.. Needed full restore, but stayin in family all those years would have been awesome

Nice of him, he did send me a photo of it fully restored by the prick that won it on ebay... ****wit

My grandfather imported a Minerva around 1907.....possibly the 1st to be imported here....came in a box and had to be self assembled.
He used to also ride with Burt Munro in a Sydney motor cycle club when Burt used to live in Sydney !

Offline Bullant4x4

« Reply #32 on: August 03, 2016, 06:46:26 PM »
A good representation of bikes across different types, uses......... keep em coming.

I had a bike licence as soon as I could get one,s.

I had a Vic bike licence at the age of 16. Vicroads stuffed up and approved a British moped licence and let me ride. The moped licence came in the mail if you wrote away lol.

Offline Joff

« Reply #33 on: August 03, 2016, 06:51:41 PM »
current steed in Tassie early this year (been there 11 of the last 16 years!).

After numourous work trips to Tassie and comensurate number of rent-a-cars to hoon about the place in, i finally got to take a bike down there a few crissys ago. What a great place to ride for a few weeks. 2 up on the beemer, hot, cold, windy, hail, rain, sleet, hot again,,,,, and all that was in one day  :cheers:.

We will go back one day.
The following users thanked this post: Barrabart

« Reply #34 on: August 03, 2016, 07:10:44 PM »
2 up on the beemer.

/quote]

Hey Joff,

Always liked the idea of two up tripping about with the Mrs.
Obviously it would be on a suitable bike designed for this type of mile muching two up...... question is, I'm around 130kgs over 6' tall, and the Mrs while shorter is around the 85kgs.......
what sort of weights does it get to when it's considered just too much for two up riding...... Obviously we'd have gear on board too, suitable to either just day rides up to spending a week or so floating about.

I'd also be looking a beemer's in both road and adventure, also big Jap equivalents....... possibly even HD in a full dresser type or variant of.....

Your thoughts?

Offline J.R

« Reply #35 on: August 03, 2016, 07:11:48 PM »
2015 KLX250, 150 and 110.

Sold the 150 not long after purchase. Indonesia piece of Shit it was.

About to upgrade the 110 to a KLX140L and keep the 110 as the chook chaser.

It won't let me post a photo from my IPad as its 1.5mb.

« Reply #36 on: August 03, 2016, 07:34:21 PM »
Wife on her ex Aus Army XT600EB:

She called me on the UHF and said don't bother bringing the car down!

Offline Joff

« Reply #37 on: August 03, 2016, 07:59:38 PM »

Hey Joff,

Always liked the idea of two up tripping about with the Mrs.
Obviously it would be on a suitable bike designed for this type of mile muching two up...... question is, I'm around 130kgs over 6' tall, and the Mrs while shorter is around the 85kgs.......
what sort of weights does it get to when it's considered just too much for two up riding...... Obviously we'd have gear on board too, suitable to either just day rides up to spending a week or so floating about.

I'd also be looking a beemer's in both road and adventure, also big Jap equivalents....... possibly even HD in a full dresser type or variant of.....

Your thoughts?

Ha! We could be twins  :cheers:.

Im 125 - 130 depending on my last motion and the Mrs, while not 85 kegs (i wouldnt tell the mrs that you revealed that  >:D) isnt a 50kg weed either. The 1200GS tours quite fine with us plus loaded hard cases (not in photo below but they are the regular BMW Vario boxes), topbox and tankbag.i just screw the rear spring up and take it easy. It does touch down on the pegs a bit more but nothing that could be considered a problem.

Any of the bigger bikes would be ok with you and your mrs. They do have GVMs etc but i have never even bothered to look mine up or weigh us. I just ride and have fun.  :cup:

Pic is actually from that Tassie trip but it was a day trip out from a nice BnB in Huonville so big panniers are off

The following users thanked this post: Barrabart

« Reply #38 on: August 03, 2016, 08:08:30 PM »
Similar thread here with heaps of entries, will merge them soon

http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=7497.msg110754#msg110754

« Reply #39 on: August 03, 2016, 08:14:33 PM »
You can get suspension setup for nearly any weight these days on any bike...
either standard suspension, or after market, but Ohlins etc are extremely expensive, but you can do some amazing stuff with them

« Reply #40 on: August 03, 2016, 08:15:02 PM »
And here's a pics of my Deckson Daredevil.

That's a bit flasher than my first bike......a mower engine between 2 wheel-barrow wheels  :cup:.......but it was heaven on a stick for a 12yo

« Reply #41 on: August 03, 2016, 10:19:52 PM »
Here is my ride. A 2015 Yamaha FJR1300AEF. Being a sports touring tragic this bike is my motorcycle nirvana. And Mrs Snow loves it too.  ;D

« Reply #42 on: August 03, 2016, 10:47:02 PM »
Geez I had a few I  can't remember

Some funny mini bike made here
Honda step thru
TS 90 Suzuki
YAMAHA DT250
Suzuki A5
Kawasaki A1 250 (still got it)
Ducati 125
Ducati 860 GT x2
Ducati 860 GTS
Ducati Darmah
YAMAHA R something 900
BMW 650
Ducati Pantah 500 (still got it)

« Reply #43 on: August 03, 2016, 11:53:57 PM »

and the Mrs, while not 85 kegs (i wouldnt tell the mrs that you revealed that  >:D) isnt a 50kg weed either.

Oh don't worry, she's a proud 85kg, curves in all the right places type of girl............  :cup: ..... And my motto is, "no body likes to cuddle a stick"  ;D  :cheers:

Offline MrNoodle

« Reply #44 on: August 04, 2016, 12:48:54 AM »
Enduro riding is where it's at. 2013 Husaberg FE 350. Got about 230 hours on it and coming up towards 7000 km's I think.

« Last Edit: August 04, 2016, 12:53:47 AM by MrNoodle »

Offline VAGRANT

« Reply #45 on: August 04, 2016, 06:47:55 AM »
Ive only been riding for about 12 years, I though that I should wait until I was older and more mature as I was a bit stupid in cars when I was younger, the jury is still out as to whether I have waited long enough.

91 Honda VFR
04 Aprila RST1000
04 Aprila Tuono
06 KTM 950SM
07 Triumph Tiger
08 Yamaha FZ1
01 YAMAHA FZ1 in NZ
09 KTM SMT
09 KTM ADV R
11 Aprila V4 TUONO
14 BMW S1000R

The bottom one is me finding my limits.

« Last Edit: August 04, 2016, 08:59:32 PM by VAGRANT »
Toyota 200 Series
AOR

« Reply #46 on: August 04, 2016, 07:29:41 AM »
Here is my ride. A 2015 Yamaha FJR1300AEF. Being a sports touring tragic this bike is my motorcycle nirvana. And Mrs Snow loves it too.  ;D

You might be interested in this ?

Next to camping, this is my other hobby - http://farriders.com.au/index.php

My 2 biggest efforts were Brisbane - Ross (Tasmania) - Brisbane in 83 hours (24 of them on the boat), and Brisbane - Renmark - Brisbane in 44 hours ;D

Family life has slowed me down a hell of a lot, but I still get out when I can...............................not often enough though.

Offline Joff

« Reply #47 on: August 04, 2016, 01:05:41 PM »
This is from a few years ago. The little fella is nudging 18 now - and as big as me  :angel:

Offline Jimmi

« Reply #48 on: August 04, 2016, 08:29:04 PM »

2012 Kawasaki KLR 650

« Reply #49 on: August 04, 2016, 08:45:43 PM »
My trusty steed, unfortunately I wasn't using it much, so got rid of it.

I miss my bike :-[