Author Topic: dome swags  (Read 16623 times)

Offline :vencho

dome swags
« on: May 05, 2013, 10:07:58 AM »
just bought a black widow quality looks good
has anybody tested in all conditions

Re: dome swags
« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2013, 11:33:27 AM »
Made by the same company in China as the BOAB swag and imported to Australia, the thing is Anaconda and Rays Outdoors have the BOAB double for $419, Black Widow's swag is $749 ???

Same swag
http://www.raysoutdoors.com.au/online-store/products/BOAB-Dome-Territory-Swag-Double.aspx?pid=325902&menuFrom=21206#Cross

« Reply #2 on: May 05, 2013, 11:37:01 AM »
Made by the same company in China as the BOAB swag and imported to Australia, the thing is Anaconda and Rays Outdoors have the BOAB double for $419, Black Widow's swag is $749 ???

Same swag
http://www.raysoutdoors.com.au/online-store/products/BOAB-Dome-Territory-Swag-Double.aspx?pid=325902&menuFrom=21206#Cross
Most Blackwidow things are $$$

Offline crykies

« Reply #3 on: May 05, 2013, 11:45:53 AM »
I have the boab and cant complain. Love it!!
www.beachloversleds.com.au

Offline crykies

« Reply #4 on: May 05, 2013, 11:46:55 AM »
My boab is made in india!
www.beachloversleds.com.au

Offline Smithyworld

dome swags
« Reply #5 on: May 05, 2013, 02:08:08 PM »
I bought the Oztrail Mitchel swag about 7 years ago for around $200. I still use it today, it's never leaked and has no tears etc also have the Oztrail double swag which is just as good.

Chris and Angie
Ford Ranger Wildtrak & Jayco Outback Eagle 2013
Www.chrissmithphotography.com.au
Chris

Ford Ranger Wildtrak and Jayco Outback Eagle 2013

www.chrissmithphotography.com.au

Offline Jason B

• "Mark Goldie recovery team coordinator"
  • 80 Series Turbo DX Cruiser, Kimberley Kamper 2013 SE
« Reply #6 on: May 05, 2013, 02:29:12 PM »
Both are more or less a copy of the Southern Cross Canvas double dome, made in Melbourne with WCT canvas from Oz also. I paid about $750 for mine 3 years ago and spend about 100 nights a year in it both recreationally and for work. I wouldn't buy Anything else. 

The design is great so if the one you have has the same design then you should be a happy camper.

Jas.

« Reply #7 on: May 05, 2013, 05:06:16 PM »
Jason, I too have a double Southern Cross.

Boss and I have travelled all over the place in it.
Even including the Jayco............I reckon its the best thing I ever bought.

Southern Cross gear is well worth the $$$.
Ours is now 16 years old and still like the day we bought it.
Doesn't get used so much now with the glamper and kids, but geez when I do, I love it.

My 8 yo son spends the occasional night in it with me and keeps asking for more.
Only problem is the boss gets jealous.

How good is life when your missus wants to go camping?  :angel: :angel: :angel: :angel: :angel: :angel: :angel:
I also now have a dedicated beer fridge.
Just don't tell the gubberment they'll tax it!!!!

« Reply #8 on: May 05, 2013, 05:37:55 PM »
What?? Black Widow importing from China? Naaaaawwwww, no way.

« Reply #9 on: May 05, 2013, 05:42:29 PM »
I also have 2 off the original Southern Cross dome swags,[1double and 1 single for daughter], had them for about 9 years and use the double one often and it is comfy and no signs of failing me,used in sub zero temps,rain,and summer. Until recently have had a SC centre pole canvas tent ,purchase in 1992 for approx $850 and just sold it for $500, which is testiment of the quality and value of the Southern Cross products. I have seen some of the new knock offs of these dome swags,and one first appearance they look ok but i do wonder if they would last the test of time, for me i would pay the price and get the Aust made Southern Cross product. Agree the dome design is great, just feel a little sorry that another aussie business has to contend with china knock offs,although if as posted above at $799 for a BW china one seems a bit steep in comparision of a similar priced SC  aust made one.
Enjoy which ever swag you may have.

« Reply #10 on: May 05, 2013, 06:17:12 PM »
Yeah I'm looking at this type of swag at the moment. Would love a SC but for the 6-10 times a year on the boys weekends its a bit much.. I like the boab  and also the travelander swaggit. I also like the australian made burke and wills coolibah which I'm lending towards.

Offline Jason B

• "Mark Goldie recovery team coordinator"
  • 80 Series Turbo DX Cruiser, Kimberley Kamper 2013 SE
« Reply #11 on: May 05, 2013, 06:31:16 PM »
Agree totally with the comments on the Southern Cross Canvas swags, I have a single and a double, the double is over 10 years old. I too has the SC ultimate trekka extended touring tent. I paid $700 for it (second hand) about ten years ago and recently sold it on eBay for $1100.

Their product is tops and they stand behind it. For a couple of bucks it seems a shame to get a knock off of what is a great Aussie design made by a great Aussie company with great Aussie materials. All of my staff except one have them now so we have 8 of them out in the feud be used and abused all over the country and have had no issues to date.

« Reply #12 on: May 06, 2013, 01:32:53 PM »
Yeah I'm looking at this type of swag at the moment. Would love a SC but for the 6-10 times a year on the boys weekends its a bit much.. I like the boab  and also the travelander swaggit. I also like the australian made burke and wills coolibah which I'm lending towards.

I have the Burke and Wills Redgum double, made in Australia, bloody great swag.

I also have a friend who bought the Travellander Swaggit, that is a very well designed swag, there are some great ideas on that swag.

« Reply #13 on: May 06, 2013, 01:57:11 PM »
I have the Burke and Wills Redgum double, made in Australia, bloody great swag.

I also have a friend who bought the Travellander Swaggit, that is a very well designed swag, there are some great ideas on that swag.

Hey Baz, would you buy a Burke & Wills again or go the swagit?

Offline Dice

« Reply #14 on: May 06, 2013, 05:03:22 PM »

I bought a Kulkyne Dome swag last year have spent about 40 nights in it with no problems quick to set up and I rarely even peg it down.

http://www.kulkyne.com/au/Queen-Super-Dome-Swag.html

Cheers Dice
2013 BT50 GT Auto, 2013 Jayco Swan Outback

Offline slave

« Reply #15 on: May 06, 2013, 08:18:50 PM »
What?? Black Widow importing from China? Naaaaawwwww, no way.

I would be very surprised in Black Widow Swags were made in China.
I do know how much time and money went into the research and develop the new drop down fridge slide
2003 Holden Ute
1996 Cub Camper

« Reply #16 on: May 07, 2013, 12:08:19 PM »
Hey Baz, would you buy a Burke & Wills again or go the swagit?

Jeez mate that's a hard one, King Kahuna's Swaggit looks pretty impressive, some of the features are are very good.