General => General Discussion => Topic started by: MrCruza on May 25, 2018, 01:25:01 PM

Title: Price of Diesel
Post by: MrCruza on May 25, 2018, 01:25:01 PM
Any one around the Gold Coast, the Caltex opposite Harbour Town is selling at $1.33 ATM..
Title: Re: Price of Diesel
Post by: Bird on May 25, 2018, 01:40:03 PM
there are 3 servos on 3 corners near us - and 1 is 20cpl cheaper at moment - a United one.. Its always cheaper..

makes me wonder what they are putting in your tank
Post by: listo on May 25, 2018, 06:14:14 PM
We’ve got a United just opened up here in town, it’s 16c cheaper then the next cheapest in town. I’m surprised the others even have customers
Post by: Charlie Brown on May 25, 2018, 07:15:55 PM
Might be cheap but also might be bio diesel, or part bio.  Not something I want to put in my CRD tank.
Post by: MrCruza on May 25, 2018, 07:56:34 PM
Might be cheap but also might be bio diesel, or part bio.  Not something I want to put in my CRD tank.

All good stuff. Have filled up there many times. The cruiser is a fussy bitch when it comes to fuel and I've not had any issues.
Post by: Charlie Brown on May 25, 2018, 08:56:51 PM
All good stuff. Have filled up there many times. The cruiser is a fussy bitch when it comes to fuel and I've not had any issues.

Certainly was not referring to your Caltex suggestion or I would have quoted your OP in my reply.

I was making a general comment about cheap independants.
Post by: MrCruza on May 26, 2018, 07:55:05 AM
Certainly was not referring to your Caltex suggestion or I would have quoted your OP in my reply.

Post by: Fizzie on May 26, 2018, 09:21:40 AM

I know that a number of years ago I filled up at a 7/11 (ULP 91) as it was cheaper than my usual Caltex.

For a week, the car coughed, spluttered & farted like an old tractor, as well as having no power :'( :-[

Admittedly, that was back in the days before they used Mobil, so I believe things have changed now.
Post by: Bird on May 26, 2018, 02:57:22 PM
funny part is it all comes from 3 places now, doesnt matter what brand.
Post by: Charlie Brown on May 26, 2018, 09:19:36 PM
Most is imported from Asia.

Individual companies use different additives (mostly cleaning and not cetane boosting).  Some blend with bio.
Post by: Bird on May 26, 2018, 09:36:50 PM
Couldnt find a 95 octane pump for commodore tonight... Caltex's around us dont have 95 pumps anymore - double the amount of 91 and 1 or 2 98 pumps...
I asked and she said we dont have 95 - anyone know anything.. ??? All 95's are now yellow 91's.
Post by: OldPaj on May 26, 2018, 10:07:00 PM
Could be worse, my son is in the UK where he was saying that ULP is currently AU$2.20 per litre. He has a little Fiat something or other and still bitches about the cost of filling it up.

Up here in central Vic ULP 91 is currently 139.6. Diesel which is the fuel both of our vehicles use is 151.9
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on May 26, 2018, 10:16:51 PM
They're supposed to be getting rid of the Camel Urine and lining up with the rest of the world with Low Sulphur content fuels.
95Ron, 98 Ron and Diesel.  So much for government policy.
Post by: Mitch92 on May 27, 2018, 06:15:35 AM
Ours in gladstone is up to 1.55 at the moment
Post by: Pete79 on May 27, 2018, 06:52:29 AM
We shouldn’t feel so special here.

Brazil has been shutdown for 5 days and the government is talking about seizing fuel supplies to get things moving again.

“The mayor of Sao Paulo declared a state of emergency in Brazil's economic capital Friday due to a five-day-old truckers' strike that has left the country virtually paralyzed.

The measure would allow city authorities to "seize private goods such as fuel, for example, that is stored in a service station," the mayor's office said in a statement.

It also plans to set up a crisis committee and, if the shortages continue, may declare a public holiday.

Other measures that could be adopted include the suspension of non-essential administrative work to protect fuel reserves in the city of more than 12 million people.

The truckers have attempted to put a stranglehold on movement of goods in Brazil to protest fuel price rises.

The walkout has left much of the country virtually paralyzed and caused acute shortages of food and fuel.”
Post by: stephenh1235 on May 27, 2018, 08:23:48 AM
In Exmouth it is $1.73/litre at the moment,  would love to enjoy 20 - 30 cents cheaper like evertwhere else!
Post by: Steffo1 on May 27, 2018, 09:08:45 AM
 I can't work out the pricing and the Govt "Watchdog" can't justify their existence.

In saying that, a medium (around 450ml) Maccas brewed coffee calcs at about $9.45 a litre so, if you are a Mccafe consumer, cutting three cups a week will give you $28 more for fuel ;D
Post by: MrCruza on May 27, 2018, 09:41:06 AM
I can't work out the pricing and the Govt "Watchdog" can't justify their existence.

In saying that, a medium (around 450ml) Maccas brewed coffee calcs at about $9.45 a litre so, if you are a Mccafe consumer, cutting three cups a week will give you $28 more for fuel ;D
Sorry to be pedantic BUT....
3x450ml=1.3Lt so that equates to just over $13.50 (medium flat white is ~$4.50) which is about 9Lt (@150c/Lt).
Post by: duggie on May 27, 2018, 10:52:26 AM
One less thing to upset my day .I do not look at the price per litre , if I need to fill up , I fill up and pay the price . 
Post by: Steffo1 on May 27, 2018, 12:21:37 PM
Sorry to be pedantic BUT....
3x450ml=1.3Lt so that equates to just over $13.50 (medium flat white is ~$4.50) which is about 9Lt (@150c/Lt).

Correct.  :cheers:
Post by: Champin on May 28, 2018, 01:06:57 PM
One less thing to upset my day .I do not look at the price per litre , if I need to fill up , I fill up and pay the price .
I agree. I'm more about fuel quality than price.

Sent from my TA-1024 using Tapatalk

Post by: Apples69 on May 29, 2018, 07:30:14 PM
I'm in toowoomba and have started filling up at the big non manned fuel depots. Saves between 0.10c and 0.15c each time - diesel only
Post by: MrCruza on May 29, 2018, 08:20:27 PM
The aforementioned Caltex is now selling for $1.58  :(
Post by: Charlie Brown on May 29, 2018, 09:30:05 PM
I'm in toowoomba and have started filling up at the big non manned fuel depots. Saves between 0.10c and 0.15c each time - diesel only

Which ones?  Thanks
Post by: Paddler Ed on May 29, 2018, 09:50:33 PM

I think you mean $0.10 and $0.15... 0.10c isn't worth worrying about... 10c or 15c is though...

I've just had a quick look on the NSW Fuel Check website/app (https://www.fuelcheck.nsw.gov.au/App/ (https://www.fuelcheck.nsw.gov.au/App/)), as I do need to put some diesel in the Land Cruiser and the cheapest is $1.439 (self serve automated Caltex depot) to $1.599 (Coles/Shell) for normal diesel and premium diesel is $1.549 (self serve automated Mobil depot) to $1.599 (Caltex servo... 2 in town are the same price, 2 are different...)

On the other hand, I filled the 2 wheel Land Cruiser (XT600 - literally, the engine is 1/6th the size of the Land Cruiser's old H motor) after 300km, it needed $25.70/ 16.something litres.... or 5.5L/100km.
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on May 29, 2018, 10:01:36 PM
For those in  Vic.

https://www.racv.com.au/on-the-road/driving-maintenance/fuel-prices.html (https://www.racv.com.au/on-the-road/driving-maintenance/fuel-prices.html)

or

https://petrolspy.com.au/map/latlng/-37.814107/144.96327999999994 (https://petrolspy.com.au/map/latlng/-37.814107/144.96327999999994)
Petrol Spy is apparently an Australia wide reference.
Post by: Bird on May 30, 2018, 09:37:09 AM
For those in  Vic.

https://www.racv.com.au/on-the-road/driving-maintenance/fuel-prices.html (https://www.racv.com.au/on-the-road/driving-maintenance/fuel-prices.html)

So according to that 1.38 is lowest and 1.59 is highest...

WTF on the difference ??? Its supposed to be the same Shit and only comes from a couple of places now...
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on May 30, 2018, 12:12:22 PM
That's why I put it up.
I don't understand either.
Some of those low price places musn't have much of a margin.
Post by: Paddler Ed on May 30, 2018, 01:11:26 PM
That's why I put it up.
I don't understand either.
Some of those low price places musn't have much of a margin.

I actually think that the low price places have a different underlying cost structure - Of the lowest priced places near me, 1 is part of the village shop that is owned by the family that run, another is part of an old larger block of automotive related businesses. In that respect, they have lower operating costs due to:
-Not having to rent/lease the place (They own it/mortgage it)
-Shared costs with more profitable enterprises

One of the 2 (the one sharing with other businesses) also do driveway service... how much harder does that make a drive off?

The 2 lowest for diesel are right next to the distribution depots, so again they're owned property I suspect with the infrastructure well paid off.
Post by: Beachman on May 30, 2018, 02:41:34 PM
One of my mates owns a franchise for a relatively small Petrol Station and the most he can make is 2.5c per L profit from his fuel sales. He was saying more often than not he makes more profit from his coffee sales than money made from selling fuel.

But I’m sure the larger servo’s have more bargaining power and presume a lot depends on what price ‘Head office’ wants to sell them the fuel for.
Post by: Paddler Ed on May 30, 2018, 03:31:11 PM
One of my mates owns a franchise for a relatively small Petrol Station and the most he can make is 2.5c per L profit from his fuel sales. He was saying more often than not he makes more profit from his coffee sales than money made from selling fuel.

But I’m sure the larger servo’s have more bargaining power and presume a lot depends on what price ‘Head office’ wants to sell them the fuel for.

I think that's the other thing in our local cheap servo's favour - they aren't franchises...
Post by: rockrat on May 30, 2018, 07:48:01 PM
As per usual, it is the last person in the supply chain (and generally the one taking most of the risk) that makes the least profit.  From bitter personal experience, I will never get involved in retail ever again.
Post by: Bird on May 31, 2018, 09:12:49 AM
Quote from: rockrat
As per usual, it is the last person in the supply chain (and generally the one taking most of the risk) that makes the least profit.  From bitter personal experience, I will never get involved in retail ever again.
I always though that is how retail worked...  I know my boss at the bike shop was never rich, but the bloke up teh road that imported his own push bikes by the 40ft load in the late 80's was mad rich.
Post by: KeithB on June 01, 2018, 03:21:24 PM
I think that small servos always pay a higher price for their fuel if their tanks are big enough to take full 40,000 litre mixed loads. And the new environmental regulations have put a lot of the little servos out of business.
It's purely a personal view, but it seems to me that the old "discount wars" where the major oil companies were bidding selling profit margins down to a cent or two a litre are a thing of the past. That discounting seems to have stopped when the supermarkets started selling fuel. I think that these days, it is the supermarkets that are keeping prices up.
Post by: Apples69 on June 01, 2018, 06:25:06 PM
Charlie Brown - Heinemann road which is top of Taylor heading to Dalby - drive through the roundabout - three big ones out there
Post by: Apples69 on June 01, 2018, 06:28:51 PM
Paddler Ed - Correct - sorry missed the dollars sign
Post by: MrCruza on June 03, 2018, 09:40:32 AM
They are back down to $1.32 (Caltex @ Harbourtown). Considering my local Shell is currently $1.62 thats a potential saving of 30c/Lt.
Post by: rossm on June 03, 2018, 10:53:23 AM
Fuelled up yesterday for first time in a month or so (been away overseas) in Perth’s inner south.

Diesel up 10c a litre in that time to $1.559 with supermarket discount. Highest price I have paid in the two and a half years I have owned this car. 15c a litre dearer than the top price in the Pilbara last year.

Saw, and heard, heaps of cool trucks and big wagons while I was away. Canadian petrol was around  $C1.40 to $C1.50 a litre. Toyota Tundra with 5.7 litre V8 might be beyond my running costs budget, not to mention the Dodge Ram which sounded like a V8 supercar.

Post by: MrCruza on July 13, 2018, 07:32:28 PM
The United on Balham Rd Archerfield (northern end of the airport) has Diesel @ $1.39, petrol @ $1.34   :cup: :cheers:
Post by: Bird on July 13, 2018, 07:38:21 PM
nothing that cheap round here but theres a 20cent price diff on the one stretch of road here.
Post by: MrCruza on July 13, 2018, 08:54:33 PM
Put 205Lt in the Cruiser and saved myself about $43   :cup:
Post by: Wortho on August 07, 2018, 06:13:33 AM
I'm looking forward to getting back to Oz for some 'cheap' diesel after a 16,000 km Europe trip. Norway was the most expensive at around $2.50 a litre and Sweden not far off. Luckily the motorhome is pretty economical and averaged 8.5 litres per 100km, amazing really considering it's over 3 ton and 2.7 meters high and 6 meters long, Euro 6 motor and pretty impressive power for a 2liter motor and was quite happy sitting on 140kmh through Germany.
Post by: Rumpig on August 07, 2018, 11:49:14 AM
I'm looking forward to getting back to Oz for some 'cheap' diesel after a 16,000 km Europe trip. Norway was the most expensive at around $2.50 a litre and Sweden not far off. Luckily the motorhome is pretty economical and averaged 8.5 litres per 100km, amazing really considering it's over 3 ton and 2.7 meters high and 6 meters long, Euro 6 motor and pretty impressive power for a 2liter motor and was quite happy sitting on 140kmh through Germany.
guess it depends where in Oz you live....was paying between $2.00 and $2.25 a ltr whilst in Central Australia recently, though Coober Pedy was only $1.67 / ltr.
Post by: KingBilly on August 11, 2018, 08:17:56 AM
Lasr three fills were $3.60, $3.20 and $2.80.  Looking forward to city prices again.

Post by: Fizzie on August 11, 2018, 09:29:19 AM
Where that, KB ??? :o
Post by: Humphreythebear on August 11, 2018, 10:46:41 AM
$1.39 @ Roxborough Park Caltex ...........$1.71 @ Caltex on Sydney Rd - Must be the extra 2kms to deliver !
Post by: corndog on August 11, 2018, 11:00:57 AM
We are being taken for a ride. And it's not in our cars and trucks. It's by the petrol companies. Making extra $billions from ripping us off.
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on August 11, 2018, 11:02:45 AM
Don't disagree Corndog.
Near me, I think it was $1.46.9.
Post by: Bird on August 11, 2018, 03:16:52 PM
Diesel or ULP as I came off westgate was $1.59... couldnt see properly through rain, only caught it out of corner of eye... thought thnk **** I filled up other day
Post by: corndog on August 11, 2018, 04:17:42 PM
Would these petrol companies be getting tax cuts from Turnbull's big business plan. Another bonus for them if they do.
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on August 11, 2018, 06:50:14 PM
Petrol is artificially kept high in cost, because of all the tax and duties imposed by the State AND Federal Governments.
It is in the Governments own interests to keep the price of fuel as high as they can.
The Fuel Companies only do the Governments bidding when it comes to setting the cost.
Post by: Bird on August 11, 2018, 08:33:28 PM
just now went out for dinnner

Petrol and diesel $1.60/ltr... :(
Post by: KingBilly on August 11, 2018, 08:36:18 PM
Where that, KB ??? :o

Kunawarritji, Parnngurr and Warrupura

Post by: Rumpig on August 11, 2018, 10:03:19 PM
Would these petrol companies be getting tax cuts from Turnbull's big business plan. Another bonus for them if they do.
who knows.....it's hardly like the Labor party has done anything about fuel prices over the years, so what's it matter....they are both as useless as each other  ::)
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on August 11, 2018, 10:15:10 PM
who knows.....it's hardly like the Labor party has done anything about fuel prices over the years, so what's it matter....they are both as useless as each other  ::)

Not as if the price would go down either, even if they got tax cuts.
Post by: Pottsy on August 12, 2018, 05:47:41 PM

Cheap Meal?  ;D
Post by: Marcus73 on August 12, 2018, 05:59:14 PM

Dude you need to find nicer places to eat. Servo food is crap

Post by: Bird on August 12, 2018, 06:07:14 PM
Quote from: Marcus73
Dude you need to find nicer places to eat. Servo food is crap
They have cheap pies on clearance :D
Post by: Rumpig on August 12, 2018, 07:54:54 PM
They have cheap pies on clearance :D
for a very good reason ;D
Post by: doc evil on August 16, 2018, 12:36:37 PM
Was $2.04 in Bamaga recently and pretty much $2.00 everywhere else up there.

The variance in fuel prices is absolutely ridiculous.........on our recent trip to cape york, the prices were between 10c and 20c a litre cheaper out of town than in the town itself however, the cape york "tax" still applies to anything and everything north of Cairns!!

"fuel map Australia" is an awesome app. Done by the wikicamp people. The more info you add to it, the better it becomes.
Post by: Rumpig on August 16, 2018, 06:28:47 PM

"fuel map Australia" is an awesome app. Done by the wikicamp people. The more info you add to it, the better it becomes.
found it quite handy on our recent outback trip...Roma and Barcaldine for instance were 2 places I bought at that had decent price differance between buying fuel in town or on it's outskirts
Post by: listo on August 16, 2018, 08:22:03 PM
found it quite handy on our recent outback trip...Roma and Barcaldine for instance were 2 places I bought at that had decent price differance between buying fuel in town or on it's outskirts
I was filling up at the new United when it first opened at 14c a litre cheaper than in town. I didn’t get very good mileage & the car ran like Shit after a few tanks. Trust my car to like the dear stuff. Back to BP for me.
We live pretty much over the road from there, at least we have a convenience store near by now
Post by: Rumpig on August 16, 2018, 08:32:21 PM
I was filling up at the new United when it first opened at 14c a litre cheaper than in town. I didn’t get very good mileage & the car ran like Shit after a few tanks. Trust my car to like the dear stuff. Back to BP for me.
We live pretty much over the road from there, at least we have a convenience store near by now
my cheapest local is a BP, so that's what the vehicle normally gets. I  can't say I noticed a huge differance in kilometers each tank on our trip though, and definately didn't drive any different with cheaper branded fuels onboard.
Post by: loanrangie on August 17, 2018, 01:12:22 PM
$1.41/ltr on camp road broady yesterday.
Post by: jwb on September 05, 2018, 09:54:20 PM
Try this
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180905/c51bdd553ff59aca1725cba52ef5cae9.jpg)

Post by: jwb on September 05, 2018, 09:55:35 PM
Only accessible pump fuel on the northern end of the CSR!

Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on September 05, 2018, 09:59:03 PM
Try this
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180905/c51bdd553ff59aca1725cba52ef5cae9.jpg)

No good if you don't tell us where it is.
Post by: KingBilly on September 05, 2018, 10:00:17 PM
Only accessible pump fuel on the northern end of the CSR!

Yeah but icecreams were reasonable  ;D

Post by: jwb on September 05, 2018, 10:04:48 PM
Read back 1 post :)

Post by: Bird on September 06, 2018, 10:06:48 AM
Quote from: jwb
Try this
I'd have to tell the kids to get out and push or sit and wait for the pay cheque to clear
Post by: speewa158 on September 06, 2018, 03:58:20 PM
l recently paid $1.479 at Speewah Tavern up in FNQ  the price in Cairns was 1.559  so l filled everything  .  :cheers:
Post by: Bird on September 29, 2018, 03:43:51 PM
price of petty reported by the awesome ACCC telling people they should shop around instead of them doing anything - prices said to be 38cents different around town...

WTF? Oh hang on- long weekend....
Post by: Pottsy on September 29, 2018, 04:04:48 PM
1.64.9 in Adelaide for diesel, some at 1.59.9
Post by: speewa158 on September 29, 2018, 05:26:23 PM
lm not going to SA to buy anything at that  price       :cheers:
 $1.519 in Wangaratta in the main drag yesterday   , not too bad     :cheers:
Post by: corndog on September 29, 2018, 07:44:09 PM
Filled up at the new Cosco outlet last week. Passed 4 others on the way there. Cosco was 20c per litre cheaper than all 4. Running 4 cars makes the 5 min drive worth while.
Post by: Hoyks on September 29, 2018, 08:01:44 PM
It was 8c cheaper in Glenn Innes  than it was in Heatherbrae (Newcastle) on Friday. I'm sure there was no long weekend price gouging going on there at all.
Post by: Paddler Ed on September 29, 2018, 08:10:00 PM
It was 8c cheaper in Glenn Innes  than it was in Heatherbrae (Newcastle) on Friday. I'm sure there was no long weekend price gouging going on there at all.

12c/Litre difference in Armidale between the chains and the independents for 95, but 5c/l difference for diesel between the Caltex depot and the indies - although the $3 is worth it for me not to smell of diesel after filling the Land Cruiser...

https://www.fuelcheck.nsw.gov.au/app (https://www.fuelcheck.nsw.gov.au/app)
Post by: Bird on September 29, 2018, 08:34:50 PM
1.90 for Shell 98 ...
Post by: tryagain on September 29, 2018, 08:53:42 PM
This page (https://projectzerothree.info/prices.php) shows where the cheapest 7/11 fuel is in the country, couple that with a GPS spoofing app plus their price lock app and the amount I have saved would be in the 100's. I just somehow always seem to find myself in the right part of the country to lock in the cheapest prices.  :cup:
Post by: speewa158 on September 30, 2018, 07:53:04 AM
Check out Petrol Spy  , a very worth while App  . For those that are wondering its on Fes
phone  .  :cheers: