Author Topic: Warn winch rebuild  (Read 36744 times)

Re: Warn winch rebuild
« Reply #25 on: July 12, 2015, 07:59:20 PM »
I did mine from new with advice from Mal. He was certainly very generous with his advise, I did explain to him I was in sydney and was a fitter with acess to machinery?. it would be a lot harder from used because things would cease up.  But it ain't rocket science. Oh and I did get the offset tierods from Mal think they were less than $60 posted.

I know the Runvas are like the holy grail atm and I even put a mate on to the seller here. But I can't see any winch going for long with repeated dunkings and minimal use?

Re: Re: 'Daily Rant Thread'
« Reply #26 on: July 12, 2015, 08:49:21 PM »
Mines in a TJM bar too :) But interesting to see, the drain hole is only at one end of the winch (motor or gearbox cant remember) which I find strange...

Is it mounted feet-down, or feet-forward? Is the drain hole at the bottom?

« Reply #27 on: July 12, 2015, 08:51:05 PM »
Quote from: GeoffA
Is it mounted feet-down, or feet-forward? Is the drain hole at the bottom?
mounted down and rotated to have drain at bottom.

I might do the phone call saying im interstate and have access to machinery :D

« Reply #28 on: July 12, 2015, 09:00:48 PM »

You own two comp trucks.

« Reply #29 on: July 12, 2015, 09:03:03 PM »

« Reply #30 on: July 12, 2015, 09:27:07 PM »

With another in the go with 2 sill mount winches also fitted

« Reply #31 on: July 12, 2015, 09:29:27 PM »
With another in the go with 2 sill mount winches also fitted
not only front and rear mounted, I have side and roof mounted...

« Reply #32 on: July 12, 2015, 09:34:12 PM »
not only front and rear mounted, I have side and roof mounted...

That's what I meant, sill mounted (door sill) 1 each side. Want an f1-11 to go with that?  :D ;D

« Reply #33 on: July 12, 2015, 09:57:48 PM »
so has anyone found any good pages on waterproofin XD9000's ??? I cant find Shit.. nothing on pootuber either

What grease are people using????

Offline Snapman007

• Beer
« Reply #34 on: July 12, 2015, 10:50:03 PM »
so has anyone found any good pages on waterproofin XD9000's ??? I cant find Shit.. nothing on pootuber either

No, but thanks for asking. ;D

2003 V8 Sahara
2010 Lifestyle Extenda Elite
Great haircut

Offline Snapman007

• Beer
« Reply #35 on: July 12, 2015, 11:04:53 PM »
Would packing them head to toe full of greece keep the water out?

2003 V8 Sahara
2010 Lifestyle Extenda Elite
Great haircut

« Reply #36 on: July 12, 2015, 11:22:12 PM »
Silcone will water proof it , then put a drain and breather in the end casing for the motor.  After I did mine I bought a  warn end casing already taped with a BSP port in it. Next time it's out Iam  Going to hook it up to a small blower motor that runs concurrently with the winch . Maybe with an override switch for after water crossing?

« Reply #37 on: July 12, 2015, 11:24:39 PM »

But thought you said you were lazy?

« Reply #38 on: July 13, 2015, 08:26:07 AM »
Quote from: achjimmy
But thought you said you were lazy?

Offline loanrangie

« Reply #39 on: July 13, 2015, 02:03:18 PM »
Would packing them head to toe full of greece keep the water out?

I know their economy is crap but i dont think they'll all fit  ;D.

I pulled my old M8000 out a few years ago after it failed to winch me out of my parents back yard (another story ) and expected it to be rooted since i hadnt touched it since fitting it 9 years ago.
  When i checked the motor it was totally dry and the gearbox was still greased just as i left it, in my ARB bar the winch is fitted feet up in a cradle between the end of the chassis rails.
 Exposed as it is it has never copped any damage, winch is at least 20-25yo so i expected it was cactus but it works perfectly now.
MY08 TDV6 SE D3,
2003 Dingo Offroad Camper Trailer.
1974 Kombi microbus
1958 FC special sedan
1998 Triumph Daytona T595

Offline raider

« Reply #40 on: July 13, 2015, 08:40:56 PM »

What grease are people using????
I saw a rebuild via Google where they used a grease / oil slurry of some sort .
Don't live a life of going-to-do's and die with nothing done

Offline V8CRSA

• Just waiting to hit the open road again......
« Reply #41 on: July 13, 2015, 09:24:24 PM »

When Mal did our winch it also cost is over $1100.....that was a bit of a surprise.
I know the grease you need to use is the EPL0 it's the thinnest grease, it's nearly oil, that's what Mal told me to use.

If it was my money again, I would buy a cheaper brand and just replace it every 5 years.......

2013 GXL TTD 200 SERIES CRUISER
Not quite "ATS" but working on it

« Reply #43 on: July 15, 2015, 05:16:26 PM »
Quote from: raider
I saw a rebuild via Google where they used a grease / oil slurry of some sort .

Interesting...
Anyway dropped in on a ex-R32 - now Audi Loving Freak (D4D knows wat im on about) that worked for ARB for 15 years and he said this is correct..
Use Moreys Oil Treatment in good Moly Grease and you'll be laughin..

« Reply #44 on: July 15, 2015, 05:19:54 PM »
Anyway dropped in on a ex-R32 - now Audi Loving Freak (D4D knows wat im on about) that worked for ARB for 15 years and he said this is correct..

How is the old fart?

« Reply #45 on: July 15, 2015, 08:35:22 PM »
Quote from: D4D
How is the old fart?
drivin an A3 something... repeats things a bit.. comes with old age.. Still knows his Shit though....

The story of the kid in the Magna taking out the R32 is interesting LOL

« Reply #46 on: July 18, 2015, 06:33:32 PM »
4 hours of work today, its cleaned up pretty good!!!

now to get a couple of bearings and gaskets
« Last Edit: July 22, 2015, 11:05:32 AM by Bird »

« Reply #47 on: July 18, 2015, 06:42:44 PM »
Good work.  :cup:

Total cost so far, and expected cost when finished??

« Reply #48 on: July 18, 2015, 06:55:57 PM »
how to get a couple of bearings and gaskets
Quality Bearings?
Are the gaskets just for sealing or do they add to end play?????
If they are just for sealing why not use Loctite flange sealant   :cheers:

« Reply #49 on: July 22, 2015, 10:51:06 AM »
2 bearings
6203 RS C3
6202Z