24 (8.1%)
Trackabout
5 (1.7%)
Mountain trail
5 (1.7%)
Tambo
1 (0.3%)

Total Members Voted: 274

Author Topic: If money was no object what camper trailer would you buy?  (Read 43805 times)

Re: If money was no object what camper trailer would you buy?
« Reply #100 on: November 03, 2010, 09:19:55 PM »
If money was no object I would still build it myself, but I would build it different to what I have now, just not sure how different.

Offline Cloud Basher

• Wheelin' the 3rd best thing sitting down!
« Reply #101 on: November 07, 2010, 04:33:53 PM »
Like Speewa said you guys need to think bigger.  Stop thinking like poor people!!!!!  A $50-60,000 camper is not a money no object solution to our camping needs!!!!!!
For me it would be the following:

My own B-Double with driver.
First trailer would be home on wheels, slide out sides, jason recliners, spa, king sized beds, queen sized beds, ensuite, separate bathroom for the kids etc etc
The rear would have
Large 4WD
Smaller 4WD
UEV490
Camprite
Helicopter
Motorbikes
Speed boat
Fishing boat
Armoury

As well there would also be an ocean going motor yacht following us around the coastline as my beckon call.

I also have my own aircraft to meet the b-double where ever I tell it to be.  Then I simply drive out my 4WD and choice of camper trailers or take the helicopter to scout the are to find the campsites etc.  Camp and explore the area for as long as I like and when I get bored tell the b-double to meet me where ever the next stop is.  Oh yeah I will need two drivers and they can also have their helo/pilots licences so I can call them up when ever and where ever and they deliver my wanted mode of transport to wherever I want it.

My base would be a house soemwhere in the hinterland of SE QLD with about 1000+ acres of bush with my own 4WD tracks, airfield and on a river with access to the ocean for my ocean going yacht and enough straight part for my seaplane to land as well.

The above is with about 5 minutes thought so I am sure sitting around the campfire with no money, dreaming of no boundaries, with numerous heart starters and other campers we could refine the above into THE ULTIMATE camping/living/exploring arrangement this country has ever seen!

Oh yeah - no TV (well not except for the cricket!!!!)

Now could we please add in my suggestion above to the poll for "money no object camper trailer setups"  I reckon it would get a few votes...

Oh yeah I voted for UEV490, but that would only cover about 10% of my camper trailer needs.  The above covers 50%.  The rest can be covered by Master Card...

CB
2017 200 Series Landcruiser as of 16/8/17
Custom made camping trailer; "The Slug"

« Reply #102 on: November 07, 2010, 05:09:50 PM »
Hey cloudbasher..............

Have you been talking to my wife???

Offline Monty94

« Reply #103 on: November 07, 2010, 05:24:33 PM »
Cloud Basher  I'll raise my hand and volunteer to drive the B-Double...........

Offline Joff

• "This is my Custom User Title"
« Reply #104 on: November 07, 2010, 05:45:58 PM »
None of that lot. How boring  ???

Stretch the cruiser into a ute, build a custom camper straight on the chassis then stick it in a container and send it to south america. When I'm done driving around the world I'd have a bus custom built as 'home', stick the cruiser in a fat arse trailer behind it along with my R1150GS and while away my days doing more laps of the island.

Oh, and if the cruiser is too tired after driving all over the world, I might get me a 4dr Jeep Rubicon and turn it into a 2up desert rat  :cheers: 
HDJ-105 full dresser plus modded Allterrain and NO BLING

Offline Cloud Basher

• Wheelin' the 3rd best thing sitting down!
« Reply #105 on: November 07, 2010, 06:46:36 PM »
Joff
I'll remember that as you pull up next to me and ask for a relaxing afternoon and ale in the spa watching the sunset over the bungle bungles!!! Bwahahahahahaha

Brian,
Not sure... Was she the woman with the...

CB
2017 200 Series Landcruiser as of 16/8/17
Custom made camping trailer; "The Slug"

« Reply #106 on: November 08, 2010, 06:19:01 AM »
Now you blokes are starting to get the hang of $ no object . THINK BIG ER
Cloud Basher that 1000 Ha bush block with the river link to the sea , dont you mean  the trench you had dug to the inland mariner for your fleet . Also you could have staff locvated around the country /world at call  , they cuold arrive set up & leave just as you arrive . Chairs set by the fire & coldies in Myswag cooler opened & waiting .  :cheers:

Offline Pete the Pirate

« Reply #107 on: November 08, 2010, 08:10:13 AM »
While I ticked Aussie Swag on the poll.......I don't think I'd change from my Kanga. Now had it for 5 years and travelled around 30000km with it in tow and never had an issue except when I inadvertently packed it up with a 'borer' insect trapped in the canvas.  Little bugger tried to chew it's way out and left me with 4 or 5 small holes to fix. But overall I've found the Kanga to be quality gear all round, comfortable, great to tow, reliable, easy to set up and pack away and it meets our needs in every respect.

Kanga Big Red DL Campertrailer
Nissan Navara D40 with lots of fruit

Offline danbo81

« Reply #108 on: November 08, 2010, 08:19:16 PM »
I'd have to go Ultimate or complete campsite see who could win me over
Cheers Dan

Aussie Spirit

« Reply #109 on: November 08, 2010, 08:30:34 PM »
Which one would I go for: I would have to go for the Ultimate for me.
« Last Edit: November 09, 2010, 01:28:02 PM by Aussie Spirit »

« Reply #110 on: November 08, 2010, 09:24:59 PM »
I'd still gt the Challenge Cape Yorke Extreme offroad, but would also  have had a closer loo at the complete campsite kakadu 16.

Offline Pebble

« Reply #111 on: November 14, 2010, 05:06:06 PM »
Ok got my vote in, we just went to the 4x4 and camping show in Perth, took a real liking to the Ultimate, so better start saving ey?
2015 LC Dual Cab
2017 Trakmaster Gibson

« Reply #112 on: November 14, 2010, 07:26:26 PM »
OK I just found one, maybe not strictly a camper trailer :)
http://www.sunlandcaravans.com.au/blueheeler-home.html

« Reply #113 on: November 14, 2010, 08:03:03 PM »
Vista !!....low weight, means true off road capable, and size, means can get anywhere a normal CT can !!
IMO these are the 2 key criteria.  

"Less is more" ... which probably rules out the Vista, I guess!
« Last Edit: November 21, 2010, 10:56:45 PM by barry1956 »

Offline deepop

• Living the dream.
« Reply #114 on: November 21, 2010, 12:49:39 PM »
I voted the Camprite.

I like the sleeping off the ground set up (something SWMBO wants for the kids as well as the important people).   Can do it in this with three kids.

I also like the manoeuverability and versatility of the size and weight of a camper trailer.

Happy to live and cook outside.
Manual petrol 105 series 'cruiser.
Aust. trailers semi off road trailer with Southern Cross Canvas tent, water, gas, kitchen and other stuff.

Offline Captain

• My Cruiser & AORC Quantum
    • My online pics
« Reply #115 on: November 21, 2010, 01:02:01 PM »
What a great choice with the Camprite  8)

Captain
My GXL TTD 200 Landcruiser and AORC Quantum loaded with Kayaks and bikes (my Camprite now sold )

Offline Nobby

« Reply #116 on: November 21, 2010, 05:44:07 PM »
For me it would be what I've got - a Pacific Aluminium Camper. Sleep inside in comfort and live and cook outside. No canvas getting wet, looks half descent and tows like a dream. Nobby

Offline Yoda42

• Beagle kisses don't grow hair
    • Travels With Beagles Blog
« Reply #117 on: November 21, 2010, 07:13:14 PM »
Aussie Swag - bring on March and it will be ours, all ours! (oh and the bank :'( )

Seeing we are going from an Oztent, we wanted a hard floor. The Aussie Swag we reckon has the best kitchen set up around - we saw too many that would have the fridge in the way of the prep area or on the other side of it, which didn't provide a logical "flow". Weren't keen on the Ultimate, with what we thought was wasted space under the bed bit even for shortarses and the internal kitchen. We were VERY tempted with the Conqueror 490. Tvan we thought wouldn't have enough ventilation for the tropics, and they don't recommend a 60L fridge on the drawbar.

So we reckon the Aussie Swag is da bomb :cup:

Mrs Yoda
2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo, 2 beagles & an Lifestyle Reconn
http://travelswithbeagles.blogspot.com

« Reply #118 on: November 21, 2010, 10:59:50 PM »
Strong and light and I don't need heaps of room, so the Tvan would probably get my vote.  II really like their suspension!  8)

« Reply #119 on: November 22, 2010, 08:55:02 AM »
Strong and light and I don't need heaps of room, so the Tvan would probably get my vote.  II really like their suspension!  8)

Interesting that people think the T van, Ultimate etc are light ??

And everyone thinks the KK are heavy ??

Well.....they are all heavy.... tare weight for all of them starts approx 850KG and goes up to approx 1100KG with all their goodies....

Even some of the soft floors are now getting up to the same weight as the hard floors..

As an example of weights.. T van 850 to 990
                                     Ultimate 850
                                     KK 990 to 1100
                                     AORC 1000 to 1100
                                     Aussie Swag 1100 to 1200
                                     Vista 1100

These are all tare weights and can increase a lot depending on what size water tanks etc they each have ..
« Last Edit: November 22, 2010, 08:57:05 AM by gronk »

Offline kiva

« Reply #120 on: November 22, 2010, 09:04:15 AM »
As an example of weights.. T van 850 to 990
                                     Ultimate 850
                                     KK 990 to 1100
                                     AORC 1000 to 1100
                                     Aussie Swag 1100 to 1200
                                     Vista 1100

These are all tare weights and can increase a lot depending on what size water tanks etc they each have ..

For Ultimate, it depends on the model. Ours has a tare of 700kg (with a max of 1200) stamped on the plate.

LandCruiser GXL 105 Series. Complete Campsite Exodus 14.

Offline DANBRI

• "Canvas Undies Never Die"
  • www.campingaustralia.org
« Reply #121 on: November 22, 2010, 09:09:51 AM »
I don't get the ultimate. Cooking inside just doesn't seem to work for us. They're a nice unit but when we had a Jayco (I don't mean to compare - simply the principle of inside cooking) it either left a smell in the camper of whatever you cooked in it or, it just seemed to defeat the purpose of going camping. IE; cooking in the outdoors etc.

I'd still have one, but I wouldn't use the kitchen for anything other than boiling water for coffee.

I am surprised by the results of the poll. I thought KK would kill it, everyone seems to want one of them.

I'd take the Tvan if I was forced to drop 50k on a camper.

Offline toad

« Reply #122 on: November 22, 2010, 09:16:02 AM »
I don't get the ultimate. Cooking inside just doesn't seem to work for us. They're a nice unit but when we had a Jayco (I don't mean to compare - simply the principle of inside cooking) it either left a smell in the camper of whatever you cooked in it or, it just seemed to defeat the purpose of going camping. IE; cooking in the outdoors etc.

The very reason we crossed the Ultimate off our short list.
Gary
2009 Cruiser 200 TTD
2007 Navara D40 2.5TD - wife's shopping trolley
2014 AOR Quantum

Offline kiva

« Reply #123 on: November 22, 2010, 09:18:29 AM »
We cook outside most of the time even though there is an inside kitchen. On occasion, it has been very convenient to cook inside when the weather is crap or there are too many flies. Just having the option is sometimes useful.

LandCruiser GXL 105 Series. Complete Campsite Exodus 14.

Offline DANBRI

• "Canvas Undies Never Die"
  • www.campingaustralia.org
« Reply #124 on: November 22, 2010, 09:28:23 AM »
We cook outside most of the time even though there is an inside kitchen. On occasion, it has been very convenient to cook inside when the weather is crap or there are too many flies. Just having the option is sometimes useful.

Yes I agree.