Author Topic: Work for the dole  (Read 40895 times)

Offline Hewy54

Re: Work for the dole
« Reply #75 on: August 14, 2015, 07:20:47 PM »
Then at some point he or his accountant is going to have to pay the piper. Sounds like a bit of bragging going on there.

I agree that our whole government structure, taxation and welfare need overhauling. In fact companies like EY have come up with some seriously impressive discussion papers on better ways we can run the country but as if the existing hierarchy are going to change the status of that.
Agree on all points. Son in law has an excellent accountant but still pays heaps of tax (and rightly so). As well as income tax gets stung for payroll tax and company tax.

80 Series
Vista Crossover XL

« Reply #76 on: August 14, 2015, 09:07:38 PM »
Stabicraft, what are the antiques included in your asset calculation?

My understanding is that it isn't necessary to include insured value in what you report to Centrelink.

'Fire sale' price of 'old second hand furniture' is OK.

Offline cruiser 91

« Reply #77 on: August 14, 2015, 09:09:26 PM »
Its called greed.
and unfortunately it is lorded over by the stupid.

So we have greedy, stupid people running the stuff.
That's why, if you have enough money, you can beat the stupid and pay little or no tax to the greedy.

The guy up the road from me owns his own business, has big boats, Jags and harleys.
lives in a big house on two blocks and has an overseas holiday every year.

His daughter was eligible for aus study though, and he told me he pays tax on $25k a year, thanks to his accountant.
Everything is claimable, from his house to the trips overseas, work expenses.
His parties are also claimed.

Suckers like me have no way to do this so I pay more tax than he actually claims as a wage.

The system is sick, broken and cant be fixed by the impotent, stupid, greedy bribe taking pollies and public servants we currently have.
And getting them out would be harder than getting a bush tic out of a a wool bound sheep.
Cant beat the system, I'm going to try and join it..............if I can

The so called system has been running for thousands of years and still will be running for another thousand. No point complaining, run with it to your benefit.

Everything is claimable if set up that way, on the flip side, everything that is claimable is also up for grabs when things go bad, including the house. Risky setup.

« Last Edit: August 14, 2015, 09:17:17 PM by cruiser 91 »
Hell's Gate, Worlds End, South Australia.

Offline dales133

« Reply #78 on: August 14, 2015, 09:20:45 PM »
Ill open up
The "assets are a boat , a camper, 2 cars and 100k in the bank plus my household furniture and my wife's antiques and tools.
They did an estimate and it just goes over the threshold...........of course.

The two years is based on my redundancy and payout which They say I can live on for two years.

I have my own home, and own everything, owe nothing to no one.

I have saved and slaved to own these things, including my boat and would like very much to get to use it, not sell it.

After yet another knock back today, not even an interview .....again, its looking like I have little choice.

Should have gone into politics or the public disservice, bummer
You want to try being a kiwi... you get that answer regardless of your assets.
You could be sleeping in your Y fronts on the lawn at parliment house after paying tax 30 years and your entitiled to nothing.
On the otherhand an aussie can get off a plane and sign up at work and income and 6 weeks later be on the rock n roll in NZ.
They can get 30 % of thier rent paid the first week if they have reciepts and a contract.
Ive been off work for 3 months here at the longest and a bunch of times for any thing up to 6 weeks here and there and my mrs cant even get rent assistance becasuse we have (or had ) 2 dependant kids living at home and had rent to pay.
Im not winging because i feel entitiled,was just refreshing the conversation

« Reply #79 on: August 15, 2015, 09:18:49 AM »

Seriously reduce the levels of government to two, and cut the numbers considerably, there are too many of them.

Agree with what you say, but this bit should go further - there only needs to be 1 Australian Government, with 1 set of laws country-wide.

If you can build a house in Brisbane, you should be able to build one in Perth; drive in Hobart = drive in Darwin & so on & so on...

Why do we have Federal Dept of Transport, State Dept of Transport then Council filling potholes; Federal & State Health & Council doing restaurant inspections & providing vaccinations?

The States should exist for ceremonial purposes only (so that Qld can continue to kick arse in State of Origin  >:D) with a much smaller "State" public service in place to administer the national laws, rather than rewrite them to apply to each state, then an even smaller Council to do the same sort of thing. Get rid of 2 layers of politicians & fat-cat bureaucrats, & their life-time entitlements & we'll save $ squillions /rant  >:(

Offline Murph

« Reply #80 on: August 15, 2015, 09:38:16 AM »
Couldn't agree more Fizze!  But to try and answer your question why do we have ect ! It's because we as a Nation are only a collection of states under a Federation and as such ,as we often see WA want to do,could seced from the Nation and go it alone ! Not one politician will touch this hot potato !

« Reply #81 on: August 15, 2015, 04:43:16 PM »
The so called system has been running for thousands of years and still will be running for another thousand. No point complaining, run with it to your benefit.

Everything is claimable if set up that way, on the flip side, everything that is claimable is also up for grabs when things go bad, including the house. Risky setup.
Fair enough using the system to claim what you are entitled to, but their are some *'s that just totally rip it off, and mainly the ones who are better off than the average Joe Blow. But like you say, they still run the risk of losing big time if their crooked antics are found out. Not that I would dob in an * that was ripping off the system and causing me to pay higher taxes to his benefit... Like hell I wouldn't  >:D

If you are wondering what an * is, grab a mirror and bend over, it becomes obvious.
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan.

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
  • The more you spend the less you go ? make sense!
« Reply #82 on: August 15, 2015, 08:17:41 PM »
If I,m hungry and ask for a sandwich from someone ..I don't then complain about what's on it.

If you don't want to work for the dole ..don't ..its that simple.

If after 12mths of tax payer funded TIME to find employment if you have not, then I see no issue in being asked to do some work for the $$$ each week.

We all spend part of our income travelling to work.. but it all comes down to choice ..if you don't like the centre link system ..then don't be part of it. Its far from perfect no argument there but its still better than nothing.

I am sorry if I offend anyone but honestly, in this country we have welfare and people still complain about it. If I had no job and had tried to find work  for 12mths and then was asked to go do some work for the $$$ I was getting each fortnight I would happily do it.

Putting a $$ figure on your hours is not accurate as you are not in position to do that, you are unemployed being subsidised by the govt/tax payer.

For the OP and no offence ..how long should the govt pay you to keep looking for employment before they find you something.

I know this is a deeply personal situation and we all have opinions and I sincerely apologise in advance if mine has offended anyone but I just don't get the right to entitlement that this country has.

Jet ;D ;D
RV POWER SOLUTIONS
sales@rvpowersolutions.com.au
Solar and RV Power Specialists
https://www.facebook.com/pages/RV-Power-Solutions/1610471999204535

Offline JusyApples

« Reply #83 on: August 15, 2015, 08:22:20 PM »
Well said jet crew.
As the government says we are currently living in the age of entitlement. Everyone thinks they are entitled to everything for free and think the money grows on trees.
Bought a what?
Researching my next camper

Offline dales133

« Reply #84 on: August 15, 2015, 08:35:26 PM »
Well said mate

Offline stabicraft

« Reply #85 on: August 16, 2015, 08:52:15 AM »
Approx $50pa allows a single to have a good lifestyle in retirement..
(This is defined as OS trips; restaurant meals; etc...).

For a couple - the price is approx $80Kpa..

AMP has a really good website that explains all of this in a very clear way...

But that means you need between $1M and $2M in your super....

That's me F#$ked then, nowhere near that sort of money.
My wife has never worked, medical issues.
I have been sole earner all our married life and govco has contributed nothing because I have been earning a reasonable wage.
But the trouble with this is that I could not save as I should have as it went on medical and other expenses.

So I guess Ill be one of the destitute, Oh well S$%t happens.

I have been going over my "assets" suddenly everything is devalued.
My new boat is now worth $6k
My cars are old and worth less that $3k and $6k respectively
My wifes antiques, what antiques? they are just old cups and plates, hardly worth a thing.
My tools, all old, couldn't get 20 bucks for the lot.
Our clothes and furnishings, hardly worth the trouble to throw out
The electrical stuff, hey the newest thing we have is my computer and its second hand, the rest is more than 10 years old.

Overall, my assets have been devalued to less than $20k
Ill be putting my savings into my super in a few weeks so there will be nothing there either.

Suddenly Ill be free to get something from these parasites.
May they all rot and die

Offline camper48

« Reply #86 on: August 16, 2015, 09:00:45 AM »
hi all.
As the government says we are currently living in the age of entitlement

and the govt ministers we all know are living in the age of entitlement
with helicopter rides etc etc

so I suppose some ordinary folk try to do the same
enjoy life

Offline Hewy54

« Reply #87 on: August 16, 2015, 09:06:57 AM »
When I looked up some of the sites on retirement requirements, they seemed to be saying that a comfortable lifestyle is possible on $58k for a couple. The only thing they were vague on was how much you need in super/investment to be able to achieve this.

80 Series
Vista Crossover XL

« Reply #88 on: August 16, 2015, 09:27:36 AM »
Sell it all up,  hitch up,  toss a coin '' decide left or right " hit the road in that direction, Become a traveller and enjoy the big country as you go, walk into a pub after knock off time or just  ask as you go "  if theres any work going "  maynot be this town or the next but you will jag it and be richer for it ...
The more I remember about it, thats what my dad did when we left the farm, resulted in life long working / friendships .. No dole or support systems for a single bloke and 4 kids to raise way back then.
I know of several people that have hit the road  in the past few years and they have that much work choice now in different parts of the country [  through contacts they have made ] and are so much better off finacialy than when they left  its not funny .
Soon as we can get the wifes health to a managable state, I reckon we will be Tossing that coin too, not long afterwards ...

Offline JusyApples

« Reply #89 on: August 16, 2015, 09:29:42 AM »
They had a segment on retirement savings this morning on channel 9. If anyone is interested they said the money magazine has an extensive article on how much is enough for your retirement. Although it's 30 years away for me it's something I better think more about.
Bought a what?
Researching my next camper

Offline Hewy54

« Reply #90 on: August 16, 2015, 09:44:13 AM »
Frustrating part about it is that my crystal ball has broke.
I taught financial maths for 40 years and kept many newspaper articles over the years.
The two that stick in my mind was that when the employer funded super was introduced in the late 80's I calculated that I would have $180k when I retired and would be able to live the good life.
In the mid to late 90's I saved an article saying that the aim should be for $450k.
The current situation is that they are suggesting $800k to $1.1mill. will be enough to fund retirement till age 85 with a comfortable lifestyle.
I decided that I would retire at age 60 (last year) , short of the recommended target, but 40 years of teaching had taken its toll.
Have spent 14 months getting things in order to take Edz advice, toss the coin, and hope that a bit of income supplement may happen on the way.
Just need to duck back to home base every now and then as my wife and I know we are going to miss the 6 grandkids.

80 Series
Vista Crossover XL

« Reply #91 on: August 16, 2015, 10:35:40 AM »
As I neared retirement I was concerned about how long our super would last us and being able to live how we want.  Then I realised that although we may live past 80, hopefully, we would not need as much to live on as the older we get.  I mean we travel a lot but that cannot go on forever. We have two cars, one day we will only need one, in fact we are getting close to that time now as next year we will be away for 12 months and our second car will be sitting in our garage.  So just be realistic when ‘they’ give figures how much you need to live on to live the good life until 84 etc.  Remember, time is matching on and you need to make the most of it while you can.  And when you get a serious medical condition diagnosed everything changes, believe me!  Kevin

Offline stabicraft

« Reply #92 on: August 16, 2015, 10:43:00 AM »
so..............

Is it [possible for a bloke and his wife to live a reasonable life on $45k a year?

We have no overheads other than rates, elect, water, rego and insurance.

Or do I have to get ionto politics and live an entitled life with no morals, no soul and no self respect?

« Reply #93 on: August 16, 2015, 10:45:18 AM »
Well said jet crew.
As the government says we are currently living in the age of entitlement. Everyone thinks they are entitled to everything for free and think the money grows on trees.
In my case..
Well said jet crew.
As the government says we are currently living in the age of entitlement. The Government thinks they are entitled to my labour for free and think that my labour grows on trees.

« Reply #94 on: August 16, 2015, 10:52:57 AM »
so..............

Is it [possible for a bloke and his wife to live a reasonable life on $45k a year?

We have no overheads other than rates, elect, water, rego and insurance.

Or do I have to get ionto politics and live an entitled life with no morals, no soul and no self respect?
Very possible - we are on about that with 3 kids own 3 cars the camper no debts apart from a very small mortgage,just the normal bills no credit cards a bit of money in the bank go on an interstate holiday 2 - 3 times a year not extravagant in the way we live but we survive just on that income.

« Reply #95 on: August 16, 2015, 01:15:52 PM »

And luckily, we live in a country where you can participate in the political system and try and make a change for the better.

Other countries are not so lucky.

This constant derision of all politicians being the source of all evil in our lives is getting a bit old.

Yes, I'll agree that some politicians are not the best people getting around, but there are plenty of politicians that actually do care about their constituents and try and do the best for their area of responsibility.

The political system, whilst it has its faults, is certainly better than a lot of alternatives around the world.

As someone who is directly benefiting from government funding for mental health issues for my two sons, I get a bit disgusted with people who say that the government does nothing.

Be thankful that you don't need to avail the government of this type of funding and help.

I'd be happy to invite you to my house and you can see the real benefits that plenty of people get through this type of government help.
The following users thanked this post: Barry G, rossbarb, Hewy54, Terry W4

Offline Terry W4

• Retired - loving every minute of it
« Reply #96 on: August 16, 2015, 06:12:48 PM »
Have to agree with Paceman. I have a daughter (now 23) who has CP and both intellectual and mental disabilities. She receives government assistance to lead a reasonable life with support from the NDIS.

I am about to turn 70 - I am retired. In the ACT I will get free bus travel and the renewal of my licence last week was $0.  I have superannuation but qualify for a small pension. This entitles me to subsidised medication for blood pressure.

I am active in my community and participate politically at the local level.  I don't agree with what some politicians do on either side but appreciate what both the Federal and ACT governments does for us.

But enjoy my Prado and camper to get out and about and meet lots of very interesting people out there. The second hand Prado and camper were retirement presents to myself so I could.

Terry - Canberra ACT
2008 Prado 120 D4D and 2009 Swan Outback
Blog Travels with Terry: https://terrywalls.wordpress.com
The following users thanked this post: paceman

Offline stabicraft

« Reply #97 on: August 16, 2015, 06:40:00 PM »
Looks more and more like I will be surviving on my cash, so be it.

I have put my name down for Marine rescue and Im also thinking about the rural fire or whatever the volunteer group is.

I have been looking around for mens sheds, with the skills I have I can possibly help out here as well.

One thing I dont want, and that is to sit around and vegetate.
I can go fishing, but even that starts to get expensive after a while with fuel etc.

Ill let you guys know how it all goes, but the best outcome would be to actually manage to get a job.

The following users thanked this post: Mytyt

« Reply #98 on: August 16, 2015, 07:19:23 PM »
Looks more and more like I will be surviving on my cash, so be it.

I have put my name down for Marine rescue and Im also thinking about the rural fire or whatever the volunteer group is.

I have been looking around for mens sheds, with the skills I have I can possibly help out here as well.

One thing I dont want, and that is to sit around and vegetate.
I can go fishing, but even that starts to get expensive after a while with fuel etc.

Ill let you guys know how it all goes, but the best outcome would be to actually manage to get a job.

From what I understand about superannuation, the multi million $ estimates of what is needed are based on living off just the earnings.  Significantly less is needed if you assume use of some capital over time and inclusion of part pension when you reach eligible age.
Good luck with it all. Health issues throw many a poor deal as far as the options to save are concerned.
Many years ago when paying off our home at high interest rates and unemployed for a couple of months I thought it particularly unfair that, while we would qualify for rent assistance, the same amount, or even a percentage, was not available as mortgage assistance. Yet another example of adverse effect of the system on those who were struggling to provide for themselves.

Offline stabicraft

« Reply #99 on: August 17, 2015, 07:16:36 AM »
Yeah B$B I have had that discussion with other government departments in the past.

Its all down to the fact that they refuse to help someone in owning their own home, but are happy to help pay off someones investment with rent assistance, probably because some government minister owns properties.

That's not an issue for me now anyway.
I own my own home, payed it off during those nasty 18% interest days.
They were hard times, we were living off less than $50.00 a week after mortgage, petrol to get to work and insurances, the necessities.
There was no living in the age of entitlements in those years, we were struggling to survive, nearly lost the house.

Oh and I was earning $18.00 a week too much to get that lovely first home owners grant that was available?
Did anyone , except those in privileged positions or ministerial jobs, actually get that grant?
While I was told I earned $18.00 a week too much, but the banks told me I earned too little to qualify for a loan.
It took some lucky coincidence, a lot of negotiation and a bit of fiddling to secure a loan at all.

Love the system don't ya?

Thinking back on it, I should have pissed all my money up the wall, spent up big and wasted everything I earned.
Could have had a great time travelling and just living beyond my means, then when I was all clapped out I could just go to centafink and pleaded poor, get given a lovely free ride for the rest of my life with rent assistance and the dole.
Stuff that hard work and saving crap.