Author Topic: Myswaggers that ride dirt bikes  (Read 23274 times)

Offline PWE

Re: Myswaggers that ride dirt bikes
« Reply #75 on: June 21, 2020, 10:29:18 PM »
Have anyone bought an ex army bike?
Suzuki DR-Z400E

Are they any good?
Change is good, so smile and enjoy life!
Landcruiser 76 tourer

« Reply #76 on: June 21, 2020, 10:46:55 PM »
Have anyone bought an ex army bike?
Suzuki DR-Z400E

Are they any good?

We've got an ex-Army Yam XT600, not sure which number owner we are ex-Army, but certainly the 2nd.

It needed a key (for the XT600, a proper barrel was going to cost ~$200.... on a $1,000 bike), and the wiring for the lights was all a bit interesting (once you worked out what it all did...)

There are things that are problematic in it, and you can tell it's been squaddy'd over the years - brakes are the same front and rear, rather than different (means one sort of pads only are needed) and there have been occasions where I reckon they've looked at and thought there's an empty hole there, it needs a bolt in it like the others have.... well, no it didn't need those 3 holes filling with bolts, but that's a whole other story...

But it came with a long range fuel tank, and has done us about 5,000km over the last few years as a hack bike.

If anyone's interested we might be tempted to sell it... we do have a slightly large fleet of vehicles at the moment...
The following users thanked this post: PWE

« Reply #77 on: June 22, 2020, 05:57:05 PM »
I have 4 Kwaka's in the shed.

KLX for riding into town etc.
Kx 450 for having fun.
My sons KX 250
My daughters KLX 140.

All good bikes and fun to ride.
Wouldn't know life without a bike anymore. I mean there's important things in life, like food and water, but bikes really are essential. ;D
No pics as I'm far too lazy to find them and upload them  :'(
(Besides - they're just boring stock bikes!)

« Reply #78 on: June 08, 2022, 12:23:51 PM »
NSW riders sign this petition
https://bit.ly/trailsnsw

The picture attached shows a bunch of us riding some single track through Zig Zag, in our happy place, having a ball.

NPWS NSW are taking over the management of this area & according to their, “Policy”, this “Illegal”, activity will be prohibited in the near future. 

The area is big enough to cater for all recreational users & the tracks we have been using for 40 years can be managed & maintained so they can be continued to be used into the future.  According to “Policy”, it’s good enough for mining & commercial activities, (zip lining etc), then surely it’s good enough for riding single track on managed tracks, like mountain biking will be.

We are not environmental butchers & think we are legitimate bush users, like so many others.   We need to see single track riding legalized, the E Petition below needs 20,000 signatures before NSW parliament will even consider our plight.

So, whoever you are, click the link & sign the thing, NSW family, kids & friends can sign it, then pass it on for others to sign. 

What’s next in their sights, Sunny Corner, Lidsdale, Watagans, Nowra, Buladelah for all bikes and 4wding. 

Sign it now, on your phone, tablet, on any device, 20,000 is a lot of signatures, do it now, for you, me, everybody...
https://www.parliament.nsw.gov.au/la/pages/epetition-details.aspx?q=v-uI_XJvXXqZ0xGjxALAow&fbclid=IwAR0g51TP3NuKbXaU9Mn5urCh8db-3Wi2yHMj2LhJNmr6ABiK2HvZeuvX9gY

The following users thanked this post: NZMarkb

Offline NZMarkb

« Reply #79 on: June 08, 2022, 12:32:12 PM »

The picture attached shows a bunch of us riding some single track through Zig Zag, in our happy place, having a ball.

NPWS NSW are taking over the management of this area & according to their, “Policy”, this “Illegal”, activity will be prohibited in the near future. 

The area is big enough to cater for all recreational users & the tracks we have been using for 40 years can be managed & maintained so they can be continued to be used into the future.  According to “Policy”, it’s good enough for mining & commercial activities, (zip lining etc), then surely it’s good enough for riding single track on managed tracks, like mountain biking will be.

We are not environmental butchers & think we are legitimate bush users, like so many others.   We need to see single track riding legalized, the E Petition below needs 20,000 signatures before NSW parliament will even consider our plight.

So, whoever you are, click the link & sign the thing, NSW family, kids & friends can sign it, then pass it on for others to sign. 

What’s next in their sights, Sunny Corner, Lidsdale, Watagans, Nowra, Buladelah for all bikes and 4wding. 

Sign it now, on your phone, tablet, on any device, 20,000 is a lot of signatures, do it now, for you, me, everybody...
https://www.parliament.nsw.gov.au/la/pages/epetition-details.aspx?q=v-uI_XJvXXqZ0xGjxALAow&fbclid=IwAR0g51TP3NuKbXaU9Mn5urCh8db-3Wi2yHMj2LhJNmr6ABiK2HvZeuvX9gY

Get stuck into them Bird or this will just be the thin end of the wedge
Unfortunately this is happening all around the world
As you say We are legitimate recreational bush users too
If your not prepaired to stand behind our troops
Then feel free to stand in front of them

Offline vern

« Reply #80 on: June 08, 2022, 07:44:20 PM »
Signed.
Now, is there a legislation for Rec Rego? Like in Victoria?
One of the only things I miss about Victoria, oh and the footy, and the night life, but not the weather, definitely not the weather.

Sent from my SM-A526B using Tapatalk

« Reply #81 on: June 08, 2022, 10:26:35 PM »
Signed.
Now, is there a legislation for Rec Rego? Like in Victoria
nope.. but its one thing they've been trying to get approved for a long long time...

« Reply #82 on: June 09, 2022, 02:25:30 PM »

The same thing will happen if the application to create the Great Koala National Park goes ahead.  There will be no free bush left for recreational well being in the area.   

https://www.nbnnews.com.au/2022/06/06/great-national-koala-park-bill-to-be-debated-this-week/

https://www.koalapark.org.au/