Author Topic: Helinox - lightweight, super compact, camping gear  (Read 26566 times)

Helinox

Helinox - lightweight, super compact, camping gear
« on: May 18, 2015, 11:00:37 AM »
G'day MySwaggers,

Thought you might be interested in our range of lightweight camping gear.

Helinox equipment makes use of an advanced alloy – DAC TH72M – that was previously only used in the best lightweight expedition tents.

The result is gear that is super compact, very light and very strong.

Camp Chairs
[img width= height=]http://www.helinox.com.au/_bucket/Helinox-chairs-combo-640.jpg[/img]
From left to right:
Ground Chair – holds 120 kg, weighs 0.63 kg, packed length: 30 cm.
Chair One – holds 145 kg, weighs 0.89 kg, packed length: 35 cm.
Camp Chair – holds 145 kg, weighs 1.29 kg, packed length: 50 cm.
Sunset Chair – holds 145 kg, weighs 1.4 kg, packed length: 47 cm.

Given that the average camp chair weighs around 5 kg and is very bulky, switching to Helinox gear will save many kilograms and heaps of valuable space! A group of 5 using Helinox 'Camp Chair' will save over 18 kg just on chairs!

[img width= height=]http://www.helinox.com.au/_bucket/Helinox-camp-chair-handheld-500.jpg[/img]
Carry bag for Camp & Sunset chairs.

A lot of time has been spent making sure the chairs are also very comfortable. With the two larger chairs ('Camp' & 'Sunset') the seat fabric has been cut to provide good lower back support.

The carry bags can be attached to the frame during assembly for storage (or ballast in windy conditions as they are so light). For Sunset Chair we went a step further – stuff the carry bag with a rolled up towel and it attaches to the seat back for a neck pillow.

[img width= height=]http://www.helinox.com.au/_bucket/Helinox-camp-sunset-chairs-640.jpg[/img]

We also provide a range of other gear.

There's an Ultralight Table (just 0.66 kg) that's the perfect companion for Chair One.

[img width= height=]http://www.helinox.com.au/_bucket/Helinox-chair-one-table-640.jpg[/img]

Also 'Cot One', a very sturdy, lightweight camp stretcher. A unique lever-locking system provides excellent tension to the bed surface.

'Cot One' holds 150 kg, weighs less than 2 kg and packs down to 53 cm x 15 cm diameter. Compare that to your generic aluminium stretcher that only holds 100 kg, weighs 7.0 kg and is nearly a meter long when packed!

[img width= height=]http://www.helinox.com.au/_bucket/Helinox-cot-one-640.jpg[/img]

To keep prices down and the level of service & support up, we don't supply retailers. We sell direct via our website (www.helinox.com.au) or phone 1800 925 525.

Now comes the important part. Our mission is to create raving fans of our gear, so if you don't love it send it back within 7 days for a full refund!

Andrew

Re: Helinox - lightweight, super compact, camping gear
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2015, 11:01:57 AM »
Looks nice... :)

« Reply #2 on: May 18, 2015, 11:10:38 AM »
just checked out your website, gear looks good but TBH the pricing scares me a little! $300 plus  for a single stretcher & more than $170 for a chair.

In saying that if you wish to supply some gear for "testing" I will be more than happy to give an unbiased opinion on your products  :angel:

swannie
« Last Edit: May 18, 2015, 11:15:26 AM by swannie »
The following users thanked this post: Cookie120

Helinox

« Reply #3 on: May 18, 2015, 11:17:28 AM »
G'day Swannie,

The stretcher surface area is 190 x 67 cm and approx 16 cm off the ground.

Later this year we will introduce:
- 'Cot Max' (210 x 75 cm)
- 'High Cot' (190 x 67 cm, approx 38 cm high) with legs, allowing storage underneath.
- 'Lite Cot' (185 x 60 cm) just 1.3 kg (best for kids & slim builds).

Andrew

« Reply #4 on: May 18, 2015, 11:19:51 AM »
G'day Swannie,

The stretcher surface area is 190 x 67 cm and approx 16 cm off the ground.

Later this year we will introduce:
- 'Cot Max' (210 x 75 cm)
- 'High Cot' (190 x 67 cm, approx 38 cm high) with legs, allowing storage underneath.
- 'Lite Cot' (185 x 60 cm) just 1.3 kg (best for kids & slim builds).

Andrew

Thanks for your reply
swannie

Offline pajerokk

« Reply #5 on: May 18, 2015, 11:33:53 AM »
Looks the goods, nice and compact to strap on the back of the adventure bike
2015 Toyota Landcruiser 200 Series, Roadstar Safari Tamer

Helinox

« Reply #6 on: May 18, 2015, 11:53:04 AM »
Looks the goods, nice and compact to strap on the back of the adventure bike

Yes the gear has been very popular with adventure bikers, sea kayakers, pilots, bushwalkers, horse riders... a lot of situations where carrying a chair simply wasn't an option previously.

Helinox

« Reply #7 on: May 18, 2015, 11:57:20 AM »
just checked out your website, gear looks good but TBH the pricing scares me a little! $300 plus  for a single stretcher & more than $170 for a chair.

In saying that if you wish to supply some gear for "testing" I will be more than happy to give an unbiased opinion on your products  :angel:

swannie

Thanks for the offer swannie!  ;D

We're trying to keep the prices down but the reality is that the alloy is expensive to manufacture. But you can't get the performance advantages in terms of strength for weight with any other material.

Over time, the weight and space saved, along with the quality of the gear does tend to pay for itself.

Andrew
« Last Edit: May 18, 2015, 12:01:21 PM by Helinox »

« Reply #8 on: May 18, 2015, 12:09:36 PM »
look good. i like the idea of light and compact, but comfort must come in also, if you dont supply retailers, where can one sit in a chair or lay on a stretcher before buying?

Offline JD-120

« Reply #9 on: May 18, 2015, 12:44:55 PM »
Good point old mate especially if you are dropping 150 on one chair. They look great, very compact, but to be honest, too expensive for my liking. I get the whole compact and weight benefits, but to kit everyone out in my family would cost 600 for 4 chairs.  Thanks for the info, and good luck with your sales

Helinox

« Reply #10 on: May 18, 2015, 12:59:01 PM »
look good. i like the idea of light and compact, but comfort must come in also, if you dont supply retailers, where can one sit in a chair or lay on a stretcher before buying?

Hi oldmate,

I know it's nice to be able to try out a product at a local retailer. The reality is that our prices would nearly double if we went via the normal wholesale/retail supply chain. So we offer our 7 day return policy. If you don't love the product, send it back for a full refund.

Also, there are a bunch of video reviews available that help show the gear in action:

Chair One & Table: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0H2vCpxJRv0 (Mark from Biker Bits)
Cot One: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W3tQids996Q (Mark from Biker Bits)
Camp Chair: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bkJ-t1R_Zrw (from USA distributor)

Andrew

« Reply #11 on: May 18, 2015, 03:45:23 PM »
If you don't love the product, send it back for a full refund.

A
Andrew

Cheers Andrew.  and you cover postage/freight in that refund?

Offline peterdeg

« Reply #12 on: May 18, 2015, 06:12:38 PM »
Keeping you in mind for when I finally find a new job.
Too much big/bulky stuff in the camper and I need to reorganise with more sensible equipment.
Peter.
Bluetongue Trekka Offroad
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=36718.0

Helinox

« Reply #13 on: May 18, 2015, 07:45:20 PM »
Cheers Andrew.  and you cover postage/freight in that refund?

No sorry, you'll have to pay for the return post. Think of it as a trip to visit a retailer and back.  :D

Offline marvellous_matt

« Reply #14 on: May 18, 2015, 08:02:49 PM »
thanks for posting, I've thought of importing one (chair one) and your pricing is good. I'll be grabbing one when a I get some overtime and money for toys! thanks for posting.

« Reply #15 on: May 18, 2015, 09:06:08 PM »
No sorry, you'll have to pay for the return post. Think of it as a trip to visit a retailer and back.  :D

Yeah cheers, so I notice your in Harvey bay, can people local come and test run and pick up? Save on postage?

Offline mudders

« Reply #16 on: May 19, 2015, 07:51:27 PM »
I can vouch for these chairs they are awesome , perfect for fishing along rivers or strapping to the back of the bike , I have one in the car and one on the bike with matching table and about to get a third for the camper .
Motor bikes are my passion, camping is the bonus so I don't have to come home .
The following users thanked this post: oldmate

Offline Outbeck

« Reply #17 on: May 30, 2015, 10:05:38 AM »
I bought myself a birthday present in January - the  Chair One.
I take it kayak camping.
I can vouch for the comfort factor.
Love it!

I'd like to get the bigger chair next.....one day!

Offline chisel

• Lifestyle Extenda 2012, Landcruiser 100 TD 2006
« Reply #18 on: June 04, 2015, 12:42:23 PM »
Plenty of the better camp chairs at BCF etc are over $100 so I don't think these are too ridiculously priced for what they are.
Great for hiking/biking.

Offline Palmer

« Reply #19 on: June 05, 2015, 11:18:53 PM »
Went for a trip with a few adventure bike riders and all had chair ones  -  and all raved about them.
I found the one I tried to be quite comfortable, but didn't get to stay in it long as was kicked out pronto by it's owner taking posession back

« Reply #20 on: June 05, 2015, 11:33:54 PM »
One of the blokes in the club had one of the chairs on a club trip recently, and they are VERY comfortable. ... and LIGHT!    8)

Offline kalex

« Reply #21 on: June 09, 2015, 11:08:36 PM »
Looks like awesome stuff.
Light weight is the future.
There are heaps of overweight vehicles out touring that need to go on a diet and your type of product will only get more popular.
Coming from a hiking background your prices are very reasonable. It cost money to make products that light. All the best with it.
The following users thanked this post: plusnq

Offline UmJamila

« Reply #22 on: May 10, 2018, 02:19:28 PM »
Any current thoughts on the helinox? thinking to save space in the car!
How are they for sitting at a table eating?

TIA :)

Offline smiles

« Reply #23 on: May 10, 2018, 07:57:11 PM »
Hi Andrew
Any ideas on when the sunset chairs will be back in stock.
I put in an order the other day based on good reviews.
Simo

« Reply #24 on: May 10, 2018, 08:32:10 PM »
Wheres the drink holder?  ;D