Author Topic: Interesting read on electric cars  (Read 146189 times)

Re: Interesting read on electric cars
« Reply #750 on: March 01, 2023, 08:43:04 AM »
So we should destroy our economy in the pointless pursuit of an ideal??

I don't understand the logic of that....
Shut down all the power stations... with nothing to replace them with....

« Last Edit: March 08, 2023, 01:30:07 PM by Bird »

Offline NZMarkb

« Reply #752 on: March 08, 2023, 03:03:23 PM »
If your not prepaired to stand behind our troops
Then feel free to stand in front of them

« Reply #753 on: March 08, 2023, 09:37:00 PM »
About time they were honest as most EVs take about 100000kms to wear off their manufacturing CO2-
https://www.msn.com/en-au/sport/other/france-prohibits-electric-vehicle-greenwashing-in-2023/ar-AA18l0Uv
and that's when they're only being charged with direct renewable power which our grids are a long way off as you can see here every night with the 'fuel mix' tab-
https://www.aemo.com.au/Energy-systems/Electricity/National-Electricity-Market-NEM/Data-NEM/Data-Dashboard-NEM
When fossil fuel generation sits around 70-85% now every night without solar you wonder when all those mooted EVs are going to be charging up on net zero at night. Fantasmagorical is the word I'm looking for.
There's no Great Evil conspiracy against consumers within engineering, manufacturing and supply. Just the many tradeoffs incurred to satisfy diverse tastes, priorities and wallets. But first comes all the insatiable Gummint eggsperts, nanny-staters and usual suspects.

« Reply #754 on: March 09, 2023, 09:14:19 AM »

Just another example that electric car drivers are just bludgers wanting the rest of us to subsidise them
wait for the nomads with their 600 series cruisers and 12 batteries....

Online Fizzie

« Reply #757 on: March 30, 2023, 06:54:29 AM »
But a cable or similar is going in under the "bonnet", but the explosion was in the boot at the back of the car ???

& was that a gas cylinder of some sort ???

Offline lloydus67

Interesting read on electric cars
« Reply #758 on: March 30, 2023, 09:49:18 AM »
I think that it was one of the battery banks

Sent from me
« Last Edit: March 30, 2023, 09:51:36 AM by lloydus67 »

Online Fizzie

« Reply #759 on: April 19, 2023, 10:29:45 AM »
https://www.abc.net.au/news/2023-04-19/electric-vehicle-ev-strategy-released-labor-chris-bowen/102239574

"The three focus areas for the government are the supply of EVs, the systems and infrastructure needed to support uptake, and demand from drivers for them.

there are six expected outcomes — a greater choice of EVs, a reduction in transport emissions, increasing ease of charging EVs nationally, an increase in local manufacturing and recycling of materials, making EVs more affordable and making it cheaper for people to run their vehicles."

Which all sounds great, but

"As expected the other key pillar of the strategy is the plan to introduce a fuel efficiency standard, which requires car makers to meet certain emissions limits for their entire fleet or else face penalties."

I hope they don't then start cracking down on older cars to get them off the road ASAP ??? ::) :'( >:(

& I still want to hear about the 'leccie car with ~3t tow capacity & 500k range ???

« Reply #760 on: April 19, 2023, 11:30:35 AM »
Quote from: Fizzie
I hope they don't then start cracking down on older cars to get them off the road ASAP ??? ::) :'( >:(
Cant see that happening - yet...
not everyone has 50+,000 layin round doing nothing to buy a car that doesnt suit their needs. 

& I still want to hear about the 'leccie car with ~3t tow capacity & 500k range ???
agree! and good offroad abilities.

Online Fizzie

« Reply #761 on: April 19, 2023, 01:15:43 PM »
Cant see that happening - yet...
not everyone has 50+,000 layin round doing nothing to buy a car that doesnt suit their needs. 

Problem is the pollies don't realise that, because they do have those $$$ handy >:(

agree! and good offroad abilities.

Thought about that bit afterwards!

« Reply #762 on: April 19, 2023, 02:45:05 PM »
Problem is the pollies don't realise that, because they do have those $$$ handy >:(
its the same overseas as it is here... rich ****s in charge so far out of touch with the average person or retiree..

'... UK Prime Minister Rishi Sunak's wife, Akshata Murty, lost about $91 million on Monday (Tuesday AEDT) after shares in the Indian technology company founded by her father fell sharply. She has a 0.93 per cent stake in the software company, Infosys, worth approximately $1 billion'

Online Fizzie

« Reply #763 on: April 20, 2023, 03:13:43 PM »
Today's follow up story: https://www.abc.net.au/news/2023-04-19/electric-vehicle-strategy-how-many-evs-on-the-road-and-cost/102240988

"Queensland has set a target for half of new car sales to be zero emissions by 2030, and the ACT has a target for 80 to 90 per cent of new car sales to be zero emissions by that time"

That's not very long to come up with EVs that can actually do the job that people want / need them to do, or for prices to drop to the reasonable level  :'(

« Reply #764 on: April 20, 2023, 04:15:14 PM »
That's not very long to come up with EVs that can actually do the job that people want / need them to do

Do you think that even enters their heads? In their pea sized minds people only drive 10 klms to work and back... Pack of AAA's will do.

Be seen to be doing something... doesnt matter if its right or wrong.. your only in power few years till you get the arse and your super and cushy gig overseas somewhere on more money than you or me have earned :(

The following users thanked this post: NZMarkb

« Reply #765 on: April 23, 2023, 01:56:02 AM »
Mitsubishi touts the benefits of PHEVs in certain circumstances-
https://www.carsguide.com.au/car-news/why-mitsubishi-says-plug-in-hybrids-are-better-than-evs-for-the-environment-even-though-it
There's no Great Evil conspiracy against consumers within engineering, manufacturing and supply. Just the many tradeoffs incurred to satisfy diverse tastes, priorities and wallets. But first comes all the insatiable Gummint eggsperts, nanny-staters and usual suspects.

Offline Black174

« Reply #766 on: April 23, 2023, 06:11:35 PM »
Interesting comments
I have a Tesla Model 3 performance and a Landcruiser 76, pre-DFP.
I drove both from Queensland to Victoria when I relocated.
People are dreaming if they believe 50% of new cars will be electric in 2030.
No real Ute with battery will survive a corrugated trip to Birdsville, I do not even mention cross the Simpson.
New car sale is like voting, the people will decided where to spend their money or vote.

If I have to choose between my Tesla and Landcruiser, the Landcruiser will win everyday.

Offline Harbourmaster

• Hard floor camper
« Reply #767 on: April 23, 2023, 08:43:21 PM »
Talking to a bloke I know from Adelaide on Friday, a new apartment block of 30 something units ranging from $1 mill to $9.5 for the penthouse, so an up market build they want to put quick chargers in for everyone's EVs. They are only allowed  15 because there isn't enough electricity to go round. Infrastructure is going to be a problem.
2013 ex Telstra GU Patrol 2004 Kimberley Kamper

Online Fizzie

« Reply #768 on: April 24, 2023, 07:05:54 AM »
People are dreaming if they believe 50% of new cars will be electric in 2030.

No argument from me!, I'm just quoting what the Powers-That-Be are saying ???

Mind you, 2030 is 7 years away so that's 2-3 elections, both State & Federal, so who knows what the current crop of pollies then will think ??? ::)

The following users thanked this post: Black174

« Reply #769 on: April 24, 2023, 07:27:06 AM »
Talking to a bloke I know from Adelaide on Friday, a new apartment block of 30 something units ranging from $1 mill to $9.5 for the penthouse, so an up market build they want to put quick chargers in for everyone's EVs. They are only allowed  15 because there isn't enough electricity to go round. Infrastructure is going to be a problem.

Thats the least of their worries, if they all turn on the A/C in the apartment they will be in trouble, let alone charging the EV Porche. Common problem in every apartment block I have built in the last 15 years

The following users thanked this post: Black174

Offline DandyD

« Reply #770 on: April 29, 2023, 08:58:10 AM »
Driver unleashes at Mercedes dealership after they charged him hundreds of dollars for an engine oil change - despite his car being electric.

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-12018617/Mercedes-Benz-dealer-charges-electric-vehicle-owner-oil-change.html

Offline Black174

« Reply #771 on: April 29, 2023, 10:34:44 AM »
That is funny, but then the Dealers will do anything to charge you for crap.

I took my Tesla for its first 'service' last month, bought it new in Sept 2019.
So, 3.5 years till first services.
Only took it in to replace the 12 volt small battery under warranty.
They checked all systems, balance, rotate and align tyres and the service cost me $250.
Not bad given I drove 34,000 km over 3.5 years with a total service cost of $250.

« Reply #772 on: April 30, 2023, 01:01:15 PM »
That is funny, but then the Dealers will do anything to charge you for crap.

I took my Tesla for its first 'service' last month, bought it new in Sept 2019.
So, 3.5 years till first services.
Only took it in to replace the 12 volt small battery under warranty.
They checked all systems, balance, rotate and align tyres and the service cost me $250.
Not bad given I drove 34,000 km over 3.5 years with a total service cost of $250.

Just curious,
What did it cost in Electric charging to travel 34000km's?
Or $$ per KW's per 1000k's

You don't use magic to disappear, ya use a 4x4 & Swag.
« Last Edit: April 30, 2023, 01:02:53 PM by Hairs »

Offline Black174

« Reply #773 on: April 30, 2023, 05:41:35 PM »
Difficult to calculate.
I have a Tesla Powerwall and Solar at my home in Queensland.
I worked out that if I chare the Tesla between 10am and 3pm my solar and Powerwall will fully charge it without using main power.

I do not have the same setup in Victoria and use the Tesla Supercharge network.
Cost about $20 to charge from 20% to 80% and it takes 45mins. I can drive about 380km to go from 80% down to 20%.
I use the Tesla Supercharger at Moonee Ponds since I can then do my shopping while the Tesla charge. I very seldom had to wait for a spot or completed my shopping and wait for the charge to reach 80%.

Very cheap to charge, convenient located super charger (for me) but I will still take the Landcruiser over the Tesla every day.
« Last Edit: April 30, 2023, 05:44:23 PM by Black174 »

« Reply #774 on: May 08, 2023, 09:51:04 AM »
Battery cars are fine for urban commuters with off street parking and charging and that largely spells Tesla and BYD at present as legacy ICE makers struggle to catch up- https://thedriven.io/2023/05/04/ford-loses-big-in-electric-vehicle-race-with-massive-deficit-for-model-e/
Yep that's startup for you alright with $100k AUD loss per car when you can currently buy the Great Wall treclic ute here for $93k. So much for any thought of e-Holdens in Oz as we got right out of taxpayer slush funded carmaking very fortuitously.

Yes a Tesla is cheap on refuelling and servicing but the catch as flippers and leasers are finding with their 2019 Model3s with 60k average kms on the clock is they're struggling not to lose $20k in depreciation while looking wistfully at 2019 RAV4 hybrid prices. Well if shelling out $93k+ORC for a Chinese EV ute doesn't float your boat with an eye on EV depreciation then here's a truck boss enlightening US Congress dreamers fantasising about switching the industry to e-semis- https://wattsupwiththat.com/2023/05/06/a-heavy-dose-of-reality-for-electric-truck-mandates/
Welcome to California Dreaming in Canberra at present.