Author Topic: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?  (Read 1730556 times)

Offline Ynot

• Tony. Prado 150 GXL, Coromal 632RTP
Re: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?
« Reply #1400 on: March 23, 2014, 07:16:53 PM »

Just another coat or two on top and give the sides a couple of coats and the missus can throw a few lounges up there.
I know it is only a little deck but size doesn't matter...

How is education supposed to make me feel smarter? Besides, every time I learn something new, it pushes some old stuff out of my brain. Remember when I took that home winemaking course, and I forgot how to drive?  (Homer J Simpson).

Offline Trex_s4m1

• need more toys! :D
« Reply #1401 on: March 23, 2014, 08:26:12 PM »
its not about the size mate.. thats a good looking deck. hope many people get to sit on your deck ;)  :cheers:

Offline DRB120

« Reply #1402 on: March 23, 2014, 08:44:54 PM »
Mate that deck looks great.

Always nice to see a project come to life. Im sure you will enjoy many day out there.
2005 Prado 120 & 2013 Jawa Offshore 1

« Reply #1403 on: March 24, 2014, 03:49:52 PM »
Nothing wrong with a little deck......  :angel:

« Reply #1404 on: March 24, 2014, 03:56:26 PM »
Nothing wrong with ya deck mate
Small | Large

Offline JCAT

• Live for today, you may not be here tomorrow.
« Reply #1405 on: March 24, 2014, 05:03:59 PM »
Been working on my slide out pantry over the last week or two.

Settled on this combination for now. Cost less than $100 to do the lot. Cut down on weight by removing some of the wood and the support legs (very heavy). Got the idea from the Lifestyle stand at the show. The 'L' acts as a guide for the drawers to slide along, the flat bar acts as a cantilever to stop the drawer from tipping out or hitting my cutlery drawer.

At least a few hundred dollars cheaper than the drawer slides. Will give it a decent test over Easter.

2018 Prado GXL
2017 Vista Crossover XL

Offline ozstickman

• Just Grinning
« Reply #1406 on: March 24, 2014, 06:20:19 PM »
Small | Large

Don't complain! It could be worse, you could be six foot under or a brick of ashes!!
Our camper Barry - http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=31963.0

Offline Ynot

• Tony. Prado 150 GXL, Coromal 632RTP
« Reply #1407 on: March 24, 2014, 08:23:53 PM »
When I went to Bunnings a big rough looking guy served me and I said I want that wooden plank stuff to put down around the pool.
He was a big guy and sort of scary looking so when he said "you want decking mate!" I thought I better get a few in first so I head butted him and ran...

How is education supposed to make me feel smarter? Besides, every time I learn something new, it pushes some old stuff out of my brain. Remember when I took that home winemaking course, and I forgot how to drive?  (Homer J Simpson).

Offline ozstickman

• Just Grinning
« Reply #1408 on: March 24, 2014, 08:44:12 PM »
When I went to Bunnings a big rough looking guy served me and I said I want that wooden plank stuff to put down around the pool.
He was a big guy and sort of scary looking so when he said "you want decking mate!" I thought I better get a few in first so I head butted him and ran...

Don't complain! It could be worse, you could be six foot under or a brick of ashes!!

« Reply #1409 on: March 24, 2014, 09:08:31 PM »
Well, not me but the good woman.
She remotely opened  up the door to the garage this a.m. & a koala wandered in to the place. It took her a little while to get it out.
She reckons it was a male because it wouldn't listen to her!
Can't blame it, really! ;D
Thank God I'd left earlier.

« Reply #1410 on: March 24, 2014, 09:16:39 PM »
Yep it's defiantly a male. It's not that it wasn't listening to her, it was already sick of the nagging so turned off its hearing. Lol

« Reply #1411 on: March 25, 2014, 02:17:27 PM »
I was quietly cleaning out my garage today and found a strange structure covered in dust,dirt and cobwebs, so I dusted it off and it turned out to be my 8'x4' work bench, wondered where it went  ???

Offline ozstickman

• Just Grinning
« Reply #1412 on: March 25, 2014, 02:37:39 PM »
In the process of replacing a front wheel bearing on the xtrail. Problem the part won't be here till tomorrow. Everyone tells me it was ment to be a $&@#% of a job. Apart from the main nut on the drive shaft which I needed a truck wheel spanner for the rest was easy as.

Offline Brumbypt

• Trailers, trailers, trailers, trailers..
« Reply #1413 on: March 25, 2014, 05:58:34 PM »

Sorry for the late reply Brumbypt Not sure how I missed the notification ???
I did this myself with a kit.
The garage floor is painted with epoxy floor paint from
http://www.rustoleum.com/product-catalog/consumer-brands/epoxyshield/professional-floor-coating/
Painting the garage floor was easy, it only took an hour. But like all other jobs that involve paint the hardest and most time consuming part was the preparation.
Every crack was ground out, filled and then the concrete was ground flat. It was acid washed twice and left to dry for 4 weeks.
Total perpetration took around 2 months.
The paint is a little fussy and needs to be mixed correctly and left to cure for a certain time frame depending on the temperature, and must be painted before the epoxy goes off (drys and sets rock hard).
The paint is around 2 yrs old in that photo and is still perfect. No paint peeling from hot tyre pick up, and is very easy to keep clean.
The kit was $250 from memory, I bought it from the local paint shop. The other bits and pieces like acid wash, concrete grinder hire, crack fillers, brushes, rollers etc etc etc etc bought it up to around $700.
Keep clear of the cheaper water based epoxy kits.
cheers Campa

Thanks for this, it will not only help me but I hope several people may do this too.

The first step I need to take is grinding the concrete smoothe, I got heaps of stuff to move around so might have to do the floor in parts, total floor is 120 square m.

dont think I can stay out of the shed for 2 months.

Peter,
iPad with IOS 7.1 using Tapatalk HD
1993 80 series landcruiser

Offline Brumbypt

• Trailers, trailers, trailers, trailers..
« Reply #1414 on: March 25, 2014, 06:10:44 PM »
I made myself one of those recovery hitches out of an old hitch that I found lying around, I still havnt drilled the hole out for the bow shackle pin. But everything else is done.

Peter,
1993 80 series landcruiser

« Reply #1415 on: March 25, 2014, 06:18:44 PM »
I made myself one of those recovery hitches out of an old hitch that I found lying around, I still havnt drilled the hole out for the bow shackle pin. But everything else is done.

Peter,

Peter, can you put a photo up when you finish it please?

Offline lino6

• How repugnant
« Reply #1416 on: March 25, 2014, 06:33:48 PM »
Its what I did to the man cave today, put one side of the guttering and spouting up, one side to go.
SWMBO reminds me of a Prodigy song....
Driving - Mighty 89 2.8td Rodeo
Towing - Aussie Jays Big Red (with her DMax http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=33442.0)

« Reply #1417 on: March 25, 2014, 06:34:01 PM »
Peter, can you put a photo up when you finish it please?
Yeah, he needs 1 real quick he keeps sliding down hills  >:D >:D :D

« Reply #1418 on: March 25, 2014, 06:43:05 PM »
Yeah, he needs 1 real quick he keeps sliding down hills  >:D >:D :D

You are a funny man Xcvator...

« Reply #1419 on: March 25, 2014, 07:41:01 PM »
Came home from work slipped in to a comfy chair grabbed an Ale to check the working temp control on the Beer Fridge .
let me tell you after extensive random selection of cans it seem to be working well , though more testing is on the cards
                                                     ;D          :cup:        :cheers:

« Reply #1420 on: March 25, 2014, 07:48:43 PM »
Making telescopic light poles and heavey duty tent pegs  ;D

« Reply #1421 on: March 25, 2014, 07:50:40 PM »
Came home from work slipped in to a comfy chair grabbed an Ale to check the working temp control on the Beer Fridge .
let me tell you after extensive random selection of cans it seem to be working well , though more testing is on the cards
                                                     ;D          :cup:        :cheers:
It's a dirty job but some body's got to do it  :D

« Reply #1422 on: March 25, 2014, 08:03:27 PM »
Geez how manynhundredscare you making mate   >:D

« Reply #1423 on: March 25, 2014, 09:03:32 PM »
Just a couple  ;D

« Reply #1424 on: March 25, 2014, 09:12:40 PM »
Good boy ;)